Related to: 'The End of Loneliness'

Hodder Paperbacks

The Class

Erich Segal
Authors:
Erich Segal
Hodder Paperbacks

Sleepwalker

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

When rookie cop Micayla Lange arrests a man she discovers breaking into her old family friend Nicco Marino's mansion, her troubles have only just begun.Because, as she pulls a gun on professional thief Jason Davis, he drops the bag he's stolen - and it spills open to reveal photographs of Micayla's genial 'uncle' Nicco handing money to a number of Detroit's most powerful politicians and law-makers. No one was meant to see those photos, least of all a police officer. And - with closed circuit cameras capturing every moment of Micayla's realisation that Uncle Nicco is seriously involved with the mob - she may now be in mortal danger. But Jason has a suggestion. Perhaps if they team up - then maybe there's a chance they'll both get out alive . . . He's her only hope. But can she trust him with her life?

Sceptre

The Art of Thinking Clearly: Better Thinking, Better Decisions

Rolf Dobelli
Authors:
Rolf Dobelli

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERTHE TIMES BESTSELLERMAIL ON SUNDAY BESTSELLERGUARDIAN BESTSELLER AMAZON TOP TEN BESTSELLERLIVE MAGAZINE BESTSELLERIRISH TIMES NUMBER 1 BESTSELLERTHE SECRETS OF PERFECT DECISION-MAKINGHave you ever...Invested time in something that, with hindsight, just wasn't worth it?Overpaid in an Ebay auction?Continued doing something you knew was bad for you?Sold stocks too late, or too early?Taken credit for success, but blamed failure on external circumstances?Backed the wrong horse?These are examples of cognitive biases, simple errors we all make in our day-to-day thinking. But by knowing what they are and how to spot them, we can avoid them and make better choices - whether dealing with a personal problem or a business negotiation; trying to save money or make money; working out what we do or don't want in life, and how best to get it.Already an international bestseller, THE ART OF THINKING CLEARLY is essential reading for anyone with important decisions to make. It reveals, in 100 short chapters, the most common errors of judgement, and how to avoid them. Simple, clear and always surprising, this indispensable book will change the way you think and transform your decision-making - at work, at home, every day.

Hodder Paperbacks

Perdition

James Jackson
Authors:
James Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

You Don't Want to Know

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

Two years ago, Ava Garrison's cherished two-year-old son Noah disappeared.There was no ransom demand; his body was never found. Ava, wracked with grief, has been in and out of mental institutions since that night.Back on the family estate now, though, Ava is having strangely lifelike visions - visions of Noah on the dock of her island estate, or in his nursery. Visions that seem to be urging her to risk her own life . . .Ava doesn't trust anyone now. Not her husband. Not her cousins. Not the servants her wealth is paying for.They know more than they are saying. They appear to be anxious about her well-being. But the truth is more dangerous than Ava can imagine; and the price is higher than she ever thought to pay.

Hodder Paperbacks

Never Google Heartbreak

Emma Garcia
Authors:
Emma Garcia

A refreshingly honest, achingly funny read for fans of Bridesmaids, Caitlin Moran, and Pinot Grigio.When her fiancé Rob breaks off their engagement for the third time, Viv does what any girl would do - she Googles heartbreak.Confronted by tales of misery, she decides to set-up her own self-help website for the broken-hearted. But as Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it's not too late to try and get Rob back. When things get out of hand after a drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment, Viv's scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Viv starts to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all this time, and now - one ex and a massive error of judgement later - she has to face the question:What's the craziest thing you'll do for love?Readers of Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella and Paige Toon won't be able to put this down. Never has heartbreak been so hilarious...

Hodder Paperbacks

V.I. for Short

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

'Grace Notes' sees V.I. delve into her family history after discovering a newfound Italian cousin, Vico. But what does Vico want after all this time? And what danger will it lead to?In 'The Pietro Andromache', V.I.'s friend Lotty Herschel finds herself in hot water when her rival is robbed and killed. Lotty ticks all the right boxes, but who's the real culprit?And in 'Strung Out', V.I. investigates the daughter of an old friend, suspected of murdering her father with a racket string . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Hard Time

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder Paperbacks

The Map of Lost Memories

Kim Fay
Authors:
Kim Fay
Sceptre

The Marlowe Papers

Ros Barber
Authors:
Ros Barber

*WINNER OF THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2013*On May 30th, 1593, a celebrated young playwright was killed in a tavern brawl in London. That, at least, was the official version. Now Christopher Marlowe reveals the truth: that his 'death' was an elaborate ruse to avoid being convicted of heresy; that he was spirited across the Channel to live on in lonely exile; that he continued to write plays and poetry, hiding behind the name of a colourless man from Stratford - one William Shakespeare. With the grip of a thriller and the emotional force of a sonnet, this remarkable novel in verse gives voice to a man who was brilliant, passionate and mercurial. A cobbler's son who counted nobles among his friends, a spy in the Queen's service, a fickle lover and a declared religious sceptic, he was always courting trouble. Memoir, love letter, confession, settling of accounts and a cry for recognition as the creator of some of the most sublime works in the English language, The Marlowe Papers brings Christopher Marlowe and his era to vivid life. Written by a poet and scholar, it is a work of exceptional art, erudition and imagination.

Hodder Paperbacks

Love Story

Erich Segal
Authors:
Erich Segal

He is Oliver Barrett IV, a rich jock from a stuffy WASP family on his way to a Harvard degree and a career in law.She is Jenny Cavilleri, a wisecracking working-class beauty studying music at Radcliffe. Opposites in nearly every way. But they fell in love.This is their story.

Hodder Paperbacks

Oliver's Story

Erich Segal
Authors:
Erich Segal
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Shot

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder Paperbacks

Burn Marks

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

V.I. Warshawski receives an unwelcome shock when her aunt Elena arrives on her doorstep in the middle of the night, having fled from her burning hotel. But things go from bad to worse when Elena mysteriously vanishes and the corpse of her aunt's friend is discovered at a construction site.As V.I.'s investigation plunges her deep into the workings of the construction industry and county politics, she finds herself part of a dangerous game of corruption where her life is the prize. Someone's out to silence her, and they won't stop until they do . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Guardian Angel

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder Paperbacks

Tunnel Vision

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

The discovery of a destitute family in her office basement leads V.I. Warshawski to homeless charity Home Free. But the organisation's frosty reception gives V.I. cause for concern, especially when one of its board members is then found murdered, sprawled across her desk . . .Taking on the case, V.I. uncovers a framework of domestic abuse and fraud which spreads across the whole of Chicago, as well as into the abandoned tunnels beneath the city streets - where more dark secrets have been buried . . .

Two Roads

The Sea on Our Skin

Madeleine Tobert
Authors:
Madeleine Tobert
Hodder Paperbacks

The Last Victim

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Just Like Proper Grown-Ups

Christina Hopkinson
Authors:
Christina Hopkinson

'You don't really grow up until you either have a kid or one of your parents dies.' Glamorously carefree and nearing forty, Tess shows no sign of settling down. That is, until she drops a bombshell on four of her friends: she's pregnant, and has chosen them as godparents.Yet while they rally round the single mother, each one is struggling to face the realities of adulthood. Sierra may be only twenty-three but her mother is so irresponsible that she's had to grow up fast. Michael is too busy searching for Mrs Right to worry about collecting the essential accessories of spice racks or investment saucepans, while Owen eases the pain of a mid-life identity crisis with a string of unsuitable fiancées. Only Lucy has the trappings and offspring of a proper grown-up, but is terrified of ageing.On a challenging and hilarious journey through birth, Botox, bad sex and beyond, all five friends must discover that while growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Good Father

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley