Related to: 'Pasos 2 (Fourth Edition) Spanish Intermediate Course'

John Murray Learning

Pasos 1 Spanish Beginner's Course (Fourth Edition)

Martyn Ellis, Rosa Maria Martin
Authors:
Martyn Ellis, Rosa Maria Martin
John Murray Learning

Living Spanish

R P Littlewood, Rosa Maria Martin
Authors:
R P Littlewood, Rosa Maria Martin

This new 5th edition includes an up-to-date culture and vocabulary guide, allowing you to broaden your knowledge of contemporary language and customs.Do you want to learn Spanish or brush up what you know already? Are you looking for a course with a traditional approach to language learning, based on solid grammatical foundations, translation skills and practical vocabulary? If so, this is the course for you.The material covers a variety of everyday topics in a simple, concise manner. There are plenty of examples and explanations to illustrate how the language works and to build confidence. Each unit, designed to build systematically on what you have already learned, contains:- clear grammar explanations- vocabulary lists- reading material consisting of a story, dialogue or letter- questions for speaking practice- exercises- 32pp test-yourself section giving you extra practice and allowing you to monitor your progress as you go through the course, helping you keep on top of tricky grammar points and regularly testing the vocabulary you're learning.There are also revision units to help you practise what you are learning. At the back of the book, an exercise key enables you to check your answers while grammar and vocabulary sections provide a useful reference.The accompanying online audio will help you with listening and speaking. In addition to a full pronunciation section, it contains reading passages and dialogues from the course book, followed by comprehension questions in Spanish, together with model answers.Download our free app, Teach Yourself Library, from the App Store or Google Play to access the free audio.

Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Worry Make Money

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

This collection of 100 essays contains strategies for achieving financial success by giving up stress, worry, anger and fear. Carlson takes the reader through the steps needed to create a more relaxed attitude to money and the ways that this can result in successful money-making ventures.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pasos 2 3ed Spanish Intermediate Course

Martyn Ellis, Rosa Maria Martin
Authors:
Martyn Ellis, Rosa Maria Martin
Hodder & Stoughton

Child of Sin

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Agnes Ridley has a cruel tongue and a heart of stone: when she discovers housemaid Lizzie Burton has fallen pregnant, she turns her out with only the clothes on her back. If it weren't for loyal Debbie, who follows her friend into exile, Lizzie would be friendless as well as destitute.The girls are blessed when they meet big-hearted Sadie Trent, who takes them in and cherishes them like her own. But even Sadie cannot protect the girls from the vicious malice of Abe Turley, who is determined to take his pleasure - and then his revenge; and from sinister Fleur Masson, who hides an evil trade behind the respectable facade of a fashion house. After such tribulations, can there ever be true happiness for a child of sin?

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Dead

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Shiver

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Absolute Fear

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

YOU CAN'T OUTRUN THE PAST ...A spine-tingling thriller from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson. A must-read for fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Rose.Eve Renner has struggled to remember the night of her brush with death. She remembers the anxious phone call, the friend lying in a pool of blood and her lover Cole Dennis's face and then the gunshot plunged her into darkness. When she comes to New Orleans her memories start to return and each one is luring her back to the ruins of Our Lady of Virtues Hospital. But someone is waiting to strike. Someone is deadlier than she could ever have imagined and closer than she knows ...

Hodder & Stoughton

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

With mounting disbelief, Regan Trent realises that the death of her beloved mother has left her totally at her stepfather's mercy. But mercy is a foreign concept to Sherwyn Huntley. To this ruthless man, Regan is simply an obstacle between him and the Trent fortune. Denied a place at her mother's funeral, cruelly separated from her younger brother, promised in marriage to a sadistic pervert, Regan prefers to take her chance in the wide world. But Huntley will stop at nothing to achieve his cruel ambitions . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Fatal Burn

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

He's been waiting for this very moment. With every kill he can feel her getting closer. Very soon - just a few more victims to go. All he needed was the girl, Dani, and now that he has her, his plan is in motion and no one can stop it.The police don't believe Shannon Flannery when she says someone is out there, watching her, trying to kill her. The only person on her side is Travis Settler. The former Special Forces agent is convinced Shannon's dark past has something to do with the disappearance of his daughter, Dani - a child whose connection to Shannon is just the beginning of the nightmare.Secrets have been kept from Shannon. Dark, dangerous, fatal secrets. Now, with no one to trust but a man who has every reason to doubt her, Shannon is determined to discover the shocking truth, even if it brings her face to face with a serial killer whose slow burn for vengeance will not be denied...

Hodder & Stoughton

Deep Freeze

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Pennyworth of Sunshine

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Maura Deverell is a young Irish peasant girl whose mother is dying of consumption. Their cruel landlord threatens to throw them out of their cottage unless Maura agrees to marry his young son, Liam Riordan. But before Maura can decide, she is brutally raped by Liam's brother Padraig, who gloats that once she is under their roof, Maura will be at his mercy - his sexual slave.Weak though she is, Maura's mother does not let this vicious act go unavenged. She curses the Riordans and then, on her deathbed, makes Maura promise to leave Ireland for good. Maura ends up in Birmingham, after many narrow escapes from rape and death. Even when she makes staunch friends, and discovers a protector in the shape of Aiden Shanley, she longs to go home, stopped only by her promise to her mother. Eventually the wicked Riordans meet a well deserved sticky end and Maura is persuaded to return and marry Liam after all.

Hodder & Stoughton

Down Weavers Lane

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Emmy Carter's mother is a prostitute - and her life has made Emmy determined to avoid the same fate. But Emmy is beautiful, so attracts unwanted attention; her mother's protector has his eye on her, as does evil Marcus Armistead, her employer's nephew. Marcus is excited by Emmy's virginity and has her kidnapped, but Emmy hits him over the head and escapes. Marcus, futher enraged, kills her mother and becomes even more determined to rape Emmy, but the combined efforts of the local parson and Emmy's young suitor manage to keep her safe from harm. Finally Emmy sees Marcus get his just desserts, finds out who her father was, and attains the respectability she has so longed for.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Judas Touch

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Bitter Seed

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

No Place of Angels

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Carys Beddows has never understood why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way, and throws Carys out of the house to fend for herself. Befriended by Alice, a young woman in domestic service, Carys herself takes a job as a housemaid and is lucky enough to find in the mistress of the house a friend and patron. Maria continues with her vicious schemes until fate intervenes to punish her wicked ways; but for Carys, the reward of virtue is lasting love.

Hodder & Stoughton

Hallam Square

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Ridge Hill

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Salem Street

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

In 1820 Salem Street is sparkling and new: eight small terraced houses built by a Lancashire mill owner for his best workers. Annie Gibson's family is one of the first to move in - a step up in the world for them. But when her mother dies, Annie's happy childhood ends and she is left to bring up her brother and sister. Red-haired, intelligent and startlingly pretty, Annie soon finds herself banished from home by a jealous stepmother. She finds work in the local doctor's household where she learns about the fascinating world outside Salem Street. And when her adored childhood friend Matt asks her to marry him, Annie thikns her dreams are coming true. But suddenly everything turns upside-down. Abandoned and pregant, Annie returns to Salem Street, where an unexpected offer gives her independence. One day, she vows, she will move into the wider world again. One day...