Related to: 'Teach Yourself to Fly'

About JM Learning

Hodder & Stoughton

Khazana

Saliha Mahmood Ahmed
Authors:
Saliha Mahmood Ahmed

When the first Mughal emperor, Babur came from Persia to rule over India, he bought camel loads full of musk and damask roses with him. His love affair with roses was such that each one of Babur's daughters was given a rose related name: Gulchihra (rose-cheeked), Gulrukh (rose-faced), Gulbadan (rose-body) and Gulrang (rose colour), and his chefs sought to please him by feeding chickens with rose water to scent the flavour of their dishes. Such is the romance in the culinary traditions of the Mughal dynasty that ruled over much of India from the early-16th to the mid-19th century.Steeped in Persian flavours, Khazana, which means treasure trove, is a cookbook that promises to be the next step in our on-going love affair with the Indian sub-continent, introducing recipes like Smokey Chicken and Basil Kebabs with Buttermilk Riata, Moghul Fish Korma with Almond Rice and Sandlewood Ice Cream with Toasted Almond Brittle.Author Saliha Mahmood Ahmed, who won over the MasterChef judges with her fusion of Indo-Persian food, has written a book that will delight. Steeped in the rich culinary heritage of the region and Saliha's own travels in modern day India and Pakistan, the recipes are bang up-to-date and will inspire 21st century food lovers.

Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Bible for Journalling and Verse Mapping

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version
John Murray Learning

On Editing

Helen Corner-Bryant, Kathryn Price
Authors:
Helen Corner-Bryant, Kathryn Price
Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

'It's a book to read and then read again.' The Book Bag'A beautifully written debut that's both moving and humorous with characters I truly cared about. I loved everything about it!' Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Local Girl Missing and Last Seen Alive'I loved The Maid's Room with its exquisite writing, married with a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion.' Katie Marsh, author of A Life Without You and This Beautiful Life'A beautifully written and deeply moving novel . . . crafted with a mixture of grim detail, dark humour and poignancy, at times it's hard to believe that this book is a work of fiction. Genuinely excellent. *****' Heat******'This is where she sleeps. A cupboard. A bedroom. A windowless box.'Sisters Dolly and Tala have never felt further from home. In the blistering heat of Singapore, they spend their days enabling ex-pats to have lives they could never afford for themselves.Even though she has little freedom, Dolly can just about live with her job if it means she's able to support her beloved young daughter back in the Philippines. One day - if she's lucky - Dolly may even be able to go back and see her.Tala, however, just can't keep her mouth shut about the restrictive, archaic rules maids are forced to abide by on pain of deportation. She risks everything to help her fellow maids, who have struggled to have their voices heard for far too long.In a world where domestic workers are treated so poorly, The Maid's Room explores how women can come together to change each other's lives, and be the architects of their own futures.

Hodder & Stoughton

WTF

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell
Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Where the Wild Winds Are

Nick Hunt
Authors:
Nick Hunt
Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

Hidden Christmas

Timothy Keller
Authors:
Timothy Keller

One of bestselling New York pastor Tim Keller's most popular Christmas sermons, expanded and published in a beautiful gift edition.The New Testament begins not with a dramatic narrative or lofty poetry but with a genealogy. Provocatively, Matthew's gospel includes women in Jesus' family line - something that wasn't customary in an ancient culture, where women were largely powerless and uninfluential. In this surprising take on the Christmas story, Tim Keller reveals how, by focusing on the women in Jesus' birth narratives, a colourful, scandalous, and refreshing tale of grace emerges.

Hodder & Stoughton

Poison City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley

Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher. Poison City is 'a huge amount of fun' SciFiNowThe name's Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things - finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I'm going to do to the bastard when I catch him. I have two friends in my life. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone's mother than a cop. Don't let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks. He's an alcoholic. And he's a mean drunk. Life is pretty routine - I solve crimes, I search for my daughter's killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I'm called out to the murder of a ramanga - a low-key vampire. It looks like an open and shut case. There's even CCTV footage of the killer.Except... the face on the CCTV footage? It's the face of the man who killed my daughter. And that's just the beginning of the trouble I'm about to get into.

Sceptre

Slade House

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell
John Murray

Duel in the Snows

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen
Sceptre

The Art of Thinking Clearly: Better Thinking, Better Decisions

Rolf Dobelli
Authors:
Rolf Dobelli

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERTHE TIMES BESTSELLERGUARDIAN BESTSELLER AMAZON TOP TEN BESTSELLERTHE SECRETS OF PERFECT DECISION-MAKINGHave you ever... Invested time in something that, with hindsight, just wasn't worth it?Overpaid in an Ebay auction? Continued doing something you knew was bad for you?Sold stocks too late, or too early? Taken credit for success, but blamed failure on external circumstances? Backed the wrong horse?These are examples of cognitive biases, simple errors we all make in our day-to-day thinking. But by knowing what they are and how to spot them, we can avoid them and make better choices - whether dealing with a personal problem or a business negotiation; trying to save money or make money; working out what we do or don't want in life, and how best to get it.Already an international bestseller, THE ART OF THINKING CLEARLY is essential reading for anyone with important decisions to make. It reveals, in 100 short chapters, the most common errors of judgement, and how to avoid them. Simple, clear and always surprising, this indispensable book will change the way you think and transform your decision-making - at work, at home, every day.

Hodder Paperbacks

Handle with Care

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

** THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER **It was meant to be the holiday of a lifetime.But instead of a hotel, the O'Keefes spend the first night in jail, their youngest daughter in hospital, and her sister in care.Willow O'Keefe has brittle bone disease, and without a doctor's note the breaks in her body look like the worst kind of abuse.Back home, still reeling from their ordeal, her parents know something must be done. So when a lawyer offers to take their case, it feels like a lifeline.Even though it means suing their closest friend - and claiming they wish Willow had never been born . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Keeping Faith

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Mercy

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Hodder & Stoughton

Lone Wolf

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

When Luke Warren is involved in a car accident which leaves him in a coma, his family are gathered together against the odds; they face an impossible dilemma.His daughter Cara is praying for a miracle: she will fight everything and everyone to save her father's life.His son Edward can't imagine that a man who once ran with wolves could ever be happy with a different life. But Edward hasn't spoken to Luke for six years. How can he dare to speak on his father's behalf?Somehow, they must choose:Do they keep Luke alive?Or do they let him go?

Coronet

Killing for the Company

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Former SAS legend Chris Ryan brings you his sixteenth novel and it is full of all his trademark action, thrills and inside knowledge. 2003. Invalided out of the SAS Chet Freeman makes his living in high-end security, on a temporary contract for an American corporation called the Grosvenor Group. He catches a young woman, a peace campaigner, eavesdropping on a meeting the Group is holding with the British Prime Minister. The Group's interests include arms manufacture, and what Chet and the young woman overhear seems to imply that it is bribing the Prime Minister to take his country into an illegal war. Could this possibly be true?Somebody believes that this is a secret that needs covering up, because Chet and the girl are attacked. Hunted down, they go into hiding, and a deadly game of cat and mouse begins.Nearly ten years later tension is reaching breaking point in Jerusalem. The now ex-Prime Minister is working as a Middle East peace envoy. As the city descends into anarchy and rival armies are poised to turn it into a battlefield, Chet's best buddy, Luke, is part of a team tasked by the Regiment with extracting the ex-Prime Minister.At the height of the battle Luke discovers a conspiracy far more devastating than any arms deal.(P)2011 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Airs Above the Ground

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original writer of romantic suspense, Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey across mid-century Europe in this tale of adventure and deception, sure to be loved by fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.'From opening to finale, this zestful romantic adventure grips, amuses, frightens and delights' Sunday Telegraph'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentVanessa March's husband Lewis is meant to be on a business trip in Stockholm - so why does he briefly appear in newsreel footage of a fire at a circus in Vienna, with his arm around another woman? Vanessa flies to Austria to find her husband, inadvertently becoming involved in a mystery that spans three countries... and the famous dancing stallions of the Spanish Riding School.The moonlight flooded the meadow, blanching all colours to its own ghostly silver. The pines were very black. As the stallion rose in the last magnificent rear of the levande, the moonlight poured over him bleaching his hide so that for perhaps five or six seconds he was no longer an old broken-down piebald, but a haute école stallion of the oldest line in Europe.'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times