Related to: 'Sight'

Yellow Kite

Light Your Life

Karl Ryberg
Authors:
Karl Ryberg
Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart is a Noisy Room

Ronald Boyd-MacMillan
Authors:
Ronald Boyd-MacMillan

Mindfulness. CBT. Opioids. The world is full of people trying to deal with their inner narratives - whether by stilling, talking back, or numbing. In this book Dr Ronald Boyd-MacMillan argues that our hearts are noisy rooms full of voices. They can be crushingly negative - telling us we'll never amount to anything. Or they can be positive - and keep us addicted to achievement. We're not mad to have these inner narratives, but we are foolish not to be more aware of them. If we stay oblivious to them, our voices will run our lives. If we stay in their grip, they will ruin our lives. But when we know how to relate to them, our voices become our friends and our guides - so that even in the battleground of life, we can be truly present to ourselves, and become everything we were meant to be.

Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley

Winner of the 2017 Edgar Award for Best NovelSelected by The Sunday Times as one of the top page-turners of summer 2017FROM THE CREATOR OF THE AWARD WINNING FARGO AND LEGION TV SERIES'Hawley's sublime prose glows on every page in this literary thriller of the highest quality' Daily MailFrom the creator of the award winning FARGO and LEGION TV series comes the stunning thriller that critics are calling '[a] literary thriller of the highest quality' (Daily Mail) and 'an unequivocally excellent book' (Literary Review).THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT. BUT FATE IS BLIND.A private jet plunges into the sea.The only survivors are down-on his luck artist Scott Burroughs and JJ Bateman, the four year old son of a super-rich TV executive.For saving the boy, Scott is suddenly a hero.And then, as the official investigation is rapidly overtaken by a media frenzy, it seems he may also be a villain. Why was he on the plane in the first place, and why did it crash?(P)2017 Oakhill Publishing

Chambers

The Mysterium

Jo Keeling, David Bramwell
Authors:
Jo Keeling, David Bramwell
Yellow Kite

The State Of Affairs

Esther Perel
Authors:
Esther Perel
Hodder & Stoughton

Thinking Out Loud

Rio Ferdinand
Authors:
Rio Ferdinand

The Sunday Times bestseller'Achingly raw and emotional' SUNDAY TIMES MAGAZINE'Tender, heartbreaking ... An extraordinary and unforgettable book. *****' HEAT'Rio's honesty is astonishing, and will change how men grieve and how men think about their feelings. This is a ground-breaking book' JULIA SAMUEL, Founder Patron of Child Bereavement UK and bestselling author of GRIEF WORKS'Ferdinand's powerful new book [is] a detailed and inevitably very raw description of how he has tried to cope with life after the loss of his wife' THE TIMES* * * * * *'Nothing can ever ease the pain of the death of someone you love, nothing can magic it away. But if I can help anyone else facing what we have gone through, of what we're still going through, by sharing what I've learnt, our loss won't feel completely meaningless.'In 2015, former England football star Rio Ferdinand suddenly and tragically lost his wife and soulmate Rebecca, aged 34, to cancer. It was a profound shock and Rio found himself struggling to cope not just with the pain of his grief, but also with his new role as both mum and dad to their three young children. Rio's BBC1 documentary, Being Mum and Dad, touched everyone who watched it and won huge praise for the honesty and bravery he showed in talking about his emotions and experiences. His book now shares the story of meeting, marrying and losing Rebecca, his own and the family's grief - as well as the advice and support that get him through each day as they strive to piece themselves back together. It is written in the hope that he can inspire others struggling with loss and grief to find the help they need through this most difficult of times.

John Murray

An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Hodder Paperbacks

Keeping Faith

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Mercy

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Exploring highly charged emotional and ethical issues, MERCY is the thought-provoking novel from New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult.There is no doubt that Jamie Macdonald killed his wife. But was it murder, or mercy?The case divides the small town of Wheelock. For Police Chief Cameron Macdonald, there's no question that he should be tried and face life imprisonment for Murder One.But Jamie's victim was dying of cancer. He claims she asked for his help to die. And there are those who believe he has suffered enough . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Preaching and Preachers

Martyn Lloyd-Jones
Authors:
Martyn Lloyd-Jones

A treasured Christian classic, PREACHING AND PREACHERS has inspired and encouraged generations of readers in the vital area of Christian ministry. This edition, part of the Hodder Contemporary Classics series, is a valuable introduction to the well-loved works of Dr Martyn Lloyd-Jones.

Hodder Paperbacks

Picture Perfect

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

The compelling Number One bestseller from the author of MY SISTER'S KEEPER and KEEPING FAITH.A woman wakes to find herself in a graveyard, hurt and bleeding, her memory wiped clean. She doesn't know what she's doing there - or even who she is.She is rescued by a police officer, himself a newcomer to Los Angeles. After days of waiting, she is taken by complete surprise when she is finally identified by Alex Rivers, Hollywood's biggest movie star - and her husband.Cassie is dazzled and bewildered by the fairytale in which she suddenly finds herself. But everything is not quite right, and there is something dark and disturbing behind this glamorous facade. It is only as her memory gradually returns that her picture perfect life comes crumbling down, and Cassie is faced with choices she never dreamed she would have to make.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lady Catherine and the Real Downton Abbey

The Countess Of Carnarvon
Authors:
The Countess Of Carnarvon

Hodder Paperbacks

The Pact

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones, Number One bestselling author Jodi Picoult returns with the deeply moving THE PACT.When Chris wakes up in hospital, Emily is the first person he asks for. She is the love of his life. But Emily is dead, and Chris is the sole witness to what happened in the park that night.He claims it was a suicide pact: they were both meant to die.Then the investigation turns up motive for murder, and there is only one suspect . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders

Gyles Brandreth
Authors:
Gyles Brandreth

In OSCAR WILDE AND THE VATICAN MURDERS, the fifth in Gyles Brandreth's acclaimed Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries series featuring Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle, the two must penetrate the highest echelons of the Catholic Church to solve a macabre series of killings. 'Intelligent, amusing and entertaining' Alexander McCall Smith In 1892 Arthur Conan Doyle, exhausted by his creation Sherlock Holmes, retires to the spa at Bad Homburg. But his rest cure does not go as planned. The first person he encounters is Oscar Wilde, and when the two friends make a series of macabre discoveries amongst the portmanteau of fan mail Conan Doyle has brought to answer - a severed finger, a lock of hair and finally an entire severed hand - the game is once more afoot.The trail leads to Rome, to the very heart of the Eternal City, the Vatican itself. Pope Pius IX has just died. These are uncertain times. To uncover the mystery and why the creator of Sherlock Holmes has been summoned in this way, Oscar and Conan Doyle must penetrate the innermost circle of the Catholic Church - seven men who have a very great deal to lose.

Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Worry Make Money

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

This collection of 100 essays contains strategies for achieving financial success by giving up stress, worry, anger and fear. Carlson takes the reader through the steps needed to create a more relaxed attitude to money and the ways that this can result in successful money-making ventures.

Hodder & Stoughton

Gerald's Game

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

Now a Netflix movie directed by Mike Flanagan (Oculus, Hush) and starring Carla Gugino and Bruce Greenwood.A game. A husband and wife game. Gerald's Game.But this time Jesse didn't want to play. Lying there, spreadeagled and handcuffed to the bedstead while he'd loomed and drooled over her, she felt angry and humiliated. So she'd kicked out hard. Aimed to hit him where it hurt.He wasn't meant to die, leaving Jesse alone and helpless in a lakeside holiday cabin. Miles from anywhere. No-one to hear her screams. Alone. Except for the voices in her head that had begun to chatter and argue and sneer . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Prayer

Philip Yancey
Authors:
Philip Yancey

Multi-award winning spirituality writer Philip Yancey is loved throughout the world for his honest, insightful and inspirational writing. PRAYER: DOES IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE? carries all the hallmarks of classic Yancey, a journalist by training. His quest to unravel the mysteries of prayer reads as the journal of a fellow traveller: questioning, challenging, lamenting the unexplainable and rejoicing in the discovery of awesome insights. His journey is beautifully illustrated with moving true stories drawn from around the world.PRAYER: DOES IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE? tackles the following questions: What is prayer? What difference does it make? Why and how should we pray? What about unanswered prayer? How should we understand prayer for physical healing?Focusing on such a universal theme, this is potentially Yancey's biggest book yet. To date, his books have sold over 14 million copies, and have been translated into 25 languages. His first book with Hodder, SOUL SURVIVOR, sold over 90,000 copies in just five years.

John Murray

Trains and Buttered Toast

John Betjeman, Stephen Games
Authors:
John Betjeman, Stephen Games

Eccentric, sentimental and homespun, John Betjeman's passions were mostly self-taught. He saw his country being devastated by war and progress and he waged a private war to save it. His only weapons were words - the poetry for which he is best known and, even more influential, the radio talks that first made him a phenomenon. From fervent pleas for provincial preservation to humoresques on eccentric vicars and his own personal demons, Betjeman's talks combined wit, nostalgia and criticism in a way that touched the soul of his listeners from the 1930s to the 1950s. Now collected in book form for the first time, his broadcasts represent one of the most compelling archives of twentieth-century broadcasting, reawakening the modern reader to Betjeman's unique perspective and the compelling magic of the golden age of wireless.

Hodder Paperbacks

Conversations With God

Neale Donald Walsch
Authors:
Neale Donald Walsch

Arnold van de Laar

Arnold van de Laar is a surgeon in the Slotervaart Hospital in Amsterdam, specialising in laparoscopic surgery. Born in 1969 in the Dutch town of 's-Hertogenbosch, van de Laar became fascinated by how the human body works in school biology lessons and went on to study medicine at the Belgian University of Leuven. Having travelled the world - the Himalayas, Bhutan, Tibet, Nepal, Kashmir, and extensively in Africa - van de Laar took his first job as general surgeon on the Caribbean Island of Sint Maarten. He started writing pieces on surgical history in the Dutch medical journal Nederlands Tijdschrift voor Heelkunde in 2009. He now lives in Amsterdam with his wife and two children where, a true Dutchman, he cycles to work every day. This is his first book.