Related to: 'A Game of Ghosts'

Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Winner of the 2017 Ryan Tubridy Show Listener's Choice Award at the Irish Book Awards.John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.An extraordinary reimagining of the life of one of the greatest screen comedians the world has ever known: a man who knew both adoration and humiliation; who loved, and was loved in turn; who betrayed, and was betrayed; who never sought to cause pain to others, yet left a trail of affairs and broken marriages in his wake . . . And whose life was ultimately defined by one relationship of such tenderness and devotion that only death could sever it: his partnership with the man he knew as Babe.he is Stan Laurel.But he did not really exist. Stan Laurel was a fiction.With he, John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity, the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists, and one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel &Hardy.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Lost Things 10th Anniversary Edition

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

A Time of Torment

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The Number One bestseller, now out in paperback.Jerome Burnel was once a hero. He intervened to prevent multiple killings and in doing so damned himself. His life was torn apart. He was imprisoned, brutalized.But in his final days, with the hunters circling, he tells his story to private detective Charlie Parker. He speaks of the girl who was marked for death but was saved, of the ones who tormented him, and an entity that hides in a ruined stockade.Parker is not like other men. He died, and was reborn. He is ready to wage war.Now he will descend upon a strange, isolated community called the Cut, and face down a force of men who rule by terror, intimidation, and murder.All in the name of the being they serve.All in the name of the Dead King.'One of the writer's finest achievements . . . new readers - start here' Independent'A consistently excellent series . . .a dizzying ride to hell and back' Sunday Herald'Magical, horrific, poetic, gothic. Unique and rewarding' Maxim Jakubowski

Hodder & Stoughton

A Song of Shadows

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wolf in Winter

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Books to Die For

John Connolly, Declan Burke
Authors:
John Connolly, Declan Burke
Hodder & Stoughton

The Creeps

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wrath of Angels

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

A gripping Charlie Parker thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.'Haunting, scary and addictive' - Independent on SundayIn the depths of the Maine woods, the wreckage of an aeroplane is discovered. There are no bodies. No such plane has ever been reported missing, but men both good and evil have been seeking it for a long, long time. Hidden in the plane is a list of names, a record of those who have struck a deal with the Devil. Now a battle is about to commence between those who want the list to remain secret and those who believe that it represents a crucial weapon in the struggle against the forces of darkness.The race to secure the prize draws in private detective Charlie Parker, a man who knows more than most about the nature of the terrible evil that seeks to impose itself on the world, and who fears that his own name may be on the list. It lures others too. But as the rival forces descend upon this northern state, the woods prepare to meet them, for the forest depths hide other secrets.Someone has survived the crash. Some thing has survived the crash.And it is waiting . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlie Parker Collection 1-4

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The first four novels in the Charlie Parker series, available together as a digital-only package. Former NYPD Charlie Parker first appears in EVERY DEAD THING on a quest for the killer of his wife and daughter. He is a man consumed by violence, guilt and the desire for revenge. When his ex-partner asks him to track down a missing girl, Parker embarks on a grim odyssey through the bowels of organised crime to a unique serial killer: The Travelling Man.In DARK HOLLOW, Private detective Charlie Parker embarks on a nerve-shredding manhunt and closes in on his prime suspect. But someone else is tracking them both.Parker's empathy with the powerless victims of crime is growing ever stronger. It makes him a natural choice to investigate the death of Grace Peltier in THE KILLING KIND - a death that appears to be a suicide. Genial killers Angel and Louis join Parker again as he descends into a honeycomb world populated by dark angels and lost souls.In THE WHITE ROAD, a black youth faces the death penalty for rape and murder; his victim, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in South Carolina. It is a case with its roots in old evil, and old evil is Charlie Parker's speciality. Evil men from his past unite to exact a terrible revenge on the private detective.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlie Parker Collection 5-8

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Books 5-8 in the Charlie Parker series, available together as a digital-only package. Charlie Parker's latest case in THE BLACK ANGEL starts with the disappearance of a young woman in New York. His hunt turns into an epic quest and marks a dawning realisation in Parker that there is another dimension to his crusade, a dangerous dimension that affects his personal life.In THE UNQUIET, Daniel Clay, a once-respected psychiatrist, has been missing for years following revelations about harm done to the children in his care. As Parker's investigation progresses, he finds himself trapped between those who want the truth about Daniel Clay to be revealed, and those who want it to remain hidden at all costs.Angel and Louis take centre stage in THE REAPERS, where the elite killers themselves become targets. A wealthy recluse sends them north to a town that no longer exists on a map. There they find themselves trapped, isolated and at the mercy of a killer feared above all others: the assassin of assassins, Bliss. Thanks to Parker, help is on its way. THE LOVERS shows Parker engaged on his most personal case yet: an investigation into his own origins and the circumstances surrounding the death of his father. Parker's quest for that explanation reveals lies, secrets and betrayal.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Burning Soul

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

A thrilling Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly.'Another creepy thriller from a modern master' - Daily MirrorRandall Haight has a secret: when he was a teenager, he and his friend killed a 14-year-old girl.Randall did his time and built a new life in the small Maine town of Pastor's Bay, but somebody has discovered the truth about Randall. He is being tormented by anonymous messages, haunting reminders of his past crime, and he wants private detective Charlie Parker to make it stop.But another 14-year-old girl has gone missing, this time from Pastor's Bay, and the missing girl's family has its own secrets to protect. Now Parker must unravel a web of deceit involving the police, the FBI, a doomed mobster named Tommy Morris, and Randall Haight himself.Because Randall Haight is telling lies . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Bad Men

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Hell's Bells

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Whisperers

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reapers

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

Every Dead Thing

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The gripping first Charlie Parker novel from bestselling author John Connolly - perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver.Tormented and racked with guilt over the brutal slaying of his wife and daughter, Charlie Parker, ex-cop with the NYPD, agrees to track down a missing girl. It is a search that will lead him into an abyss of evil. At the same time, he is warned by an old black woman in Louisiana that 'The Travelling Man' is about to strike again. Multiple strands converge with a horrific confrontation in which hunter and hunted are intimately connected by guilt.

Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Hollow

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Charlie Parker returns in a gruesome new thriller, not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.Still raw from the brutal slayings of his wife and daughter, and the events surrounding the capture of their killer, The Travelling Man, Charlie Parker retreats to the wintry Maine landscape of his childhood. By following in the steps of his beloved grandfather, Parker hopes to heal his spirit and get through the bitter anniversary of Jennifer and Susan's murder. But the echoes of the past that await him are not all benign. In a gruesome re-enactment of Parker's own nightmares, another young woman is killed with her child and his brief involvement in their lives impels Parker to hunt their vicious murderer. As the death toll mounts, Parker comes to realise that the true answer to the puzzle lies thirty years in the past, in a tree with strange fruit, in his own grandfather's history, and in the perverted desires of a monster incarnate - Caleb Kyle.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Killing Kind

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The White Road

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Lovers

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

A chilling thriller featuring Detective Charlie Parker from bestselling author John Connolly. Not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.When Charlie Parker was still a boy, his father, a NYPD cop, killed a young couple, a boy and a girl barely older than his son, then took his own life. There was no explanation for his actions.Stripped of his private investigator's license, and watched by the police, Parker is working in a Portland bar, holding down a job and staying out of trouble. But in the background, he is working on his most personal case yet, an investigation into his own origins and the circumstances surrounding the death of his father, Will.It is an investigation that will reveal a life haunted by lies, by his mother's loss and his father's betrayal, by secrets kept and loyalties compromised.And by two figures in the shadows, a man and a woman, with only one purpose: to bring an end to Charlie Parker's existence . . .