Related to: 'A Game of Ghosts'

Hodder & Stoughton

A Book of Bones

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

An extraordinary recreation of one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel & Hardy.Winner of the 2017 Ryan Tubridy Show Listener's Choice Award at the Irish Book Awards.John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.An extraordinary reimagining of the life of one of the greatest screen comedians the world has ever known: a man who knew both adoration and humiliation; who loved, and was loved in turn; who betrayed, and was betrayed; who never sought to cause pain to others, yet left a trail of affairs and broken marriages in his wake . . . And whose life was ultimately defined by one relationship of such tenderness and devotion that only death could sever it: his partnership with the man he knew as Babe.he is Stan Laurel.But he did not really exist. Stan Laurel was a fiction.With he, John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity, the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists, and one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel & Hardy.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Lost Things 10th Anniversary Edition

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

A Time of Torment

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Jerome Burnel was once a hero. He intervened to prevent multiple killings and in doing so damned himself. His life was torn apart. He was imprisoned, brutalized.But in his final days, with the hunters circling, he tells his story to private detective Charlie Parker. He speaks of the girl who was marked for death but was saved, of the ones who tormented him, and an entity that hides in a ruined stockade.Parker is not like other men. He died, and was reborn. He is ready to wage war.Now he will descend upon a strange, isolated community called the Cut, and face down a force of men who rule by terror, intimidation, and murder.All in the name of the being they serve.All in the name of the Dead King.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Song of Shadows

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wolf in Winter

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlie Parker Collection 1-4

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlie Parker Collection 5-8

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Books 5-8 in the Charlie Parker series, available together as a digital-only package. Charlie Parker's latest case in THE BLACK ANGEL starts with the disappearance of a young woman in New York. His hunt turns into an epic quest and marks a dawning realisation in Parker that there is another dimension to his crusade, a dangerous dimension that affects his personal life.In THE UNQUIET, Daniel Clay, a once-respected psychiatrist, has been missing for years following revelations about harm done to the children in his care. As Parker's investigation progresses, he finds himself trapped between those who want the truth about Daniel Clay to be revealed, and those who want it to remain hidden at all costs.Angel and Louis take centre stage in THE REAPERS, where the elite killers themselves become targets. A wealthy recluse sends them north to a town that no longer exists on a map. There they find themselves trapped, isolated and at the mercy of a killer feared above all others: the assassin of assassins, Bliss. Thanks to Parker, help is on its way. THE LOVERS shows Parker engaged on his most personal case yet: an investigation into his own origins and the circumstances surrounding the death of his father. Parker's quest for that explanation reveals lies, secrets and betrayal.

Hodder & Stoughton

Books to Die For

John Connolly, Declan Burke
Authors:
John Connolly, Declan Burke

With so many mystery novels to choose from and so many new titles appearing each year, where should the reader start? What are the classics of the genre? Which are the hidden gems?In the most ambitious anthology of its kind yet attempted, the world's leading mystery writers have come together to champion the greatest mystery novels ever written. In a series of personal essays that often reveal as much about themselves and their work work as they do about the books that they love, more than 120 authors from twenty countries have created a guide that will be indispensable for generations of readers and writers. From Christie to Child and Poe to PD James, from Sherlock Holmes to Hannibal Lecter and Philip Marlowe to Peter Wimsey, BOOKS TO DIE FOR brings together the cream of the mystery world for a feast of reading pleasure, a treasure trove for those new to the genre and those who believe that there is nothing new left to discover. This is the one essential book for every reader who has ever finished a mystery novel and thought . . . I want more! www.bookstodiefor.net

Hodder & Stoughton

The Burning Soul

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Whisperers

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The White Road

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Killing Kind

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Charlie Parker returns with a thrilling case - perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.Did Grace Peltier commit suicide? When a mass grave in northern Maine reveals the final resting place of a religious community that disappeared almost forty years earlier, private detective Charlie Parker, hired to investigate the circumstances of her death, realises that their deaths and the violent passing of Grace Peltier are part of the same mystery, one that has its roots in her family history and in the origins of the shadowy organisation known as the Fellowship. Aided by the genial killers Angel and Louis, Parker must descend into the depths of a honeycomb world populated by dark angels and lost souls, a world where the ghosts of the dead wait for justice and the unwary are prey for the worst kind of creatures.The killing kind. . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Unquiet

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Hollow

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Charlie Parker returns in a gruesome new thriller, not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.Still raw from the brutal slayings of his wife and daughter, and the events surrounding the capture of their killer, The Travelling Man, Charlie Parker retreats to the wintry Maine landscape of his childhood. By following in the steps of his beloved grandfather, Parker hopes to heal his spirit and get through the bitter anniversary of Jennifer and Susan's murder. But the echoes of the past that await him are not all benign. In a gruesome re-enactment of Parker's own nightmares, another young woman is killed with her child and his brief involvement in their lives impels Parker to hunt their vicious murderer. As the death toll mounts, Parker comes to realise that the true answer to the puzzle lies thirty years in the past, in a tree with strange fruit, in his own grandfather's history, and in the perverted desires of a monster incarnate - Caleb Kyle.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Black Angel

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Detective Charlie Parker returns with a complex new case - not to be missed for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.The Black Angel is not an object. The Black Angel is not a myth. The Black Angel lives.A young woman goes missing from the streets of New York. Those who have taken her believe that nobody cares about her, and that no one will come looking for her. They are wrong. She is 'blood' to the killer Louis, the man who stands at the right hand of private detective Charlie Parker, and Louis will tear apart anyone who stands in the way of his attempts to find her. But as Louis's violent search progresses, Parker comes to realize that the disappearance is part of an older mystery, one that is linked to an ornate church of bones in Eastern Europe, to the slaughter at a French monastery in 1944, and to the quest for a mythical prize that has been sought for centuries by evil men: the Black Angel.Yet the Black Angel is more than a myth. It is conscious. It dreams. It is alive.And men are not the only creatures that seek it . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Every Dead Thing

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reapers

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The gripping seventh Charlie Parker thriller - perfect for fans of Stephen King and Jeffery Deaver.'Connolly is a unique talent' - Sunday TelegraphThey are the Reapers, the elite among killers. Men so terrifying that their names are mentioned only in whispers. The assassin Louis is one of them. But now Louis, and his partner, Angel, are themselves targets. And there is no shortage of suspects. A wealthy recluse sends them north to a town that no longer exists on a map. A town ruled by a man with very personal reasons for wanting Louis's blood spilt. There they find themselves trapped, isolated, and at the mercy of a killer feared above all others: the assassin of assassins, Bliss. Thanks to former detective Charlie Parker, help is on its way. But can Angel and Louis stay alive long enough for it to reach them?

Hodder & Stoughton

Bad Men

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

In 1693, the settlers on the small Maine island of Sanctuary were betrayed to their enemies and slaughtered. Since then, the island has known three hundred years of peace. Until now. For men are descending on Sanctuary, their purpose to hunt down and kill the wife of their leader and retrieve the money that she stole from him. All that stands in their way are a young rookie officer, Sharon Macy, and the island's strange, troubled policeman, the giant known as Melancholy Joe Dupree. But Joe Dupree is no ordinary policeman. He is the guardian of the island's secrets, the repository of its memories. He knows that Sanctuary has been steeped in blood once; it will tolerate the shedding of blood no longer. Now a band of killers is set to desecrate Sanctuary and unleash the fury of its ghosts upon themselves and all who stand by them. On Sanctuary, evil is about to meet its match.

Hodder Paperbacks

Nocturnes

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Take his hand and follow him into the darkness . . .John Connolly, bestselling author of seven brilliantly scary mystery novels, now turns his pen to the short story to give us a volume of chilling tales of the supernatural. In this macabre collection, echoing masters of the genre from M R James to Stephen King, Connolly delves into our darkest fears - lost lovers, missing children, subterranean creatures and predatory demons.Framing the collection are two substantial novellas - THE CANCER COWBOY RIDES charts the fatal progress of a modern-day grim reaper, while THE REFLECTING EYE is a haunted house tale with a twist and marks the return of private detective Charlie Parker, the troubled hero of Connolly's crime novels. This edition contains two additional stories - THE CYCLE and MR GRAY'S FOLLY - not previously included. NOCTURNES is a masterly volume to be read with the lights on - menace has never been so seductive . . .