Related to: 'The Iberian Flame'

14th June 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Here at Mulholland, we're busy gearing up for the publication of a very exciting book indeed. Lexicon is the new novel from Max Barry, the author of cult hit Jennifer Government, and has been described by SciFi Now as "highly entertaining and engrossing". It follows Emily Ruff as she enters into an elite organisation of 'poets': masters of manipulation who use language to warp others to their will, as well as Wil Parke who doesn't know why he's immune to their powers, only that he has to run from them. You can read tor.com's review of Lexicon here: Say the Magic Word: Lexicon by Max Barry As you can imagine, the power of words is the main theme of Lexicon, and this is illustrated brilliantly by intriguing excerpts scattered throughout the book. You can read a selection of them on Facebook, in handy picture form that are perfect for sharing. Words Are Weapons on Facebook To see if she's good enough to become a Poet, Emily is asked a series of strange questions. We'd love to see how you'd answer them, so take a look at the link below. Could you become a Poet? on Facebook Lexicon publishes in hardback on the 20th June and we are going to be shouting about it for all of next week. An excerpt will be available on the Mulholland Uncovered Facebook page on Monday, so we hope you check it out!

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

This will be the twenty-first novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series - perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail. 'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Hodder & Stoughton

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's famous sea action aboard Tyger has snatched his reputation from ignominy. He is the hero of the hour. But though Britain's Navy remains imperious, a succession of battles has seen Napoleon victorious on mainland Europe. In an attempt to prevent the French from taking control of Denmark's navy, Kydd's great friend Nicholas Renzi - now Lord Farndon - is sent on a desperate diplomatic mission to persuade the Danes to give up their fleet to Britain. But the Danes are caught between two implacable forces and will not yield, opting instead for the inferno of battle . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Tyger

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Pasha

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 4

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

The Thomas Kydd novels are the story of one man's journey from pressed man to Admiral during the Great Age of Fighting Sail.Invasion: Napoleon's forces are poised to invade Britain, and Commander Thomas Kydd's ship is at the forefront of the fleet defending the English coast. But Kydd is abruptly withdrawn from the fleet and sent back to Dover on a secret mission to guard a mysterious American inventor.Victory: Commander Thomas Kydd is eager to play his part in thwarting Bonaparte's plans for the invasion of England. Joining Admiral Nelson's command, Kydd and his ship soon find themselves at the heart of the action that leads up to the famous clash of the mighty British and French fleets at Trafalgar.Conquest: Captain Thomas Kydd joins an expedition to take Dutch-held Cape Town, a strategic harbor that will give England a rich trade route to India. With enemies lurking on all sides, Kydd and his men must defend the fragile colony while braving Africa's vast and hostile hinterland.'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 3

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 2

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 1

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Caribbee

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Betrayal

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Victory

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Treachery

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - GuardianThomas Kydd has dragged himself up in the navy from press-ganged seaman to captain of his own ship. Now he faces disgrace.After losing favour with his superiors, and suffering terrible personal tragedy, Kydd and his ship are sent to guard the Channel Islands from Napoleon's forces. When he is brutally betrayed off the Normandy Coast and removed from command, only his old friend Renzi is willing to stick by him.Kydd is determined to clear his name, but soon finds himself fighting yet another battle he seems to have no chance of winning. Can he defeat his enemies on both sides, and win back the glory taken from him?*************What readers are saying about TREACHERY'Another enthralling story of our hero' - 5 stars'I'm a fan for life' - 5 stars'Stockwin does it once again! A spell is cast over the reader to haul them into the world of Thomas Kydd' - 5 stars'Excellent in all respects' - 5 stars'A thrilling read, as usual' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Tenacious

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Invasion

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

The Admiral's Daughter

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Command

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Quarterdeck

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Thomas Kydd was promoted to acting lieutenant at the bloody Battle of Camperdown in October 1797. Now, he must sit an examination to confirm his rank - or face an inglorious return before the mast. But this is only the first of many obstacles for a man who was pressed into the King's Service and discovered a calling for the sea. Kydd is from humble origins, yet he attains the lofty heights of the quarterdeck as an officer in His Majesty's Navy. If he is to avoid spending the rest of his career as a tarpaulin officer, he must also become a gentleman. Kydd and his enigmatic friend Nicholas Renzi set sail in HMS Tenacious for the North American station. Aboard the old 64-gun ship, Kydd comes to doubt he will ever match up to the high-born gentlemen officers.

Hodder & Stoughton

Mutiny

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Kydd

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Artemis

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin