Related to: 'The Sealwoman's Gift'

Hodder Paperbacks

Ring Of Clay

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Mulholland Books

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark
Authors:
D.M. Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method?The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Hodder & Stoughton

Kit

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

An unforgettable historical romance based on an astonishing true story from international bestseller Mariano Fiorato - perfect for fans of Poldark and The Scandalous Lady W.Dublin 1702. Irish beauty Kit Kavanagh has everything she could want in life. Newly married, she runs a successful alehouse with her beloved husband Richard. The wars that rage in Europe over the Spanish throne seem a world away.But everything changes on the night that Richard simply disappears. Finding the Queen's shilling at the bottom of Richard's tankard, Kit realizes that her husband has been taken for a soldier.Kit follows Richard's trail across the battlefields of Italy in the Duke of Marlborough's regiment. Living as a man, risking her life in battle, she forms a close bond with her wry and handsome commanding officer Captain Ross. When she is forced to flee the regiment following a duel, she evades capture by dressing once more as a woman. But the war is not over for Kit. Her beauty catches the eye of the scheming Duke of Ormonde, who recruits her to spy upon the French. In her finery she meets Captain Ross once again, who seems just as drawn to the woman as he was to the soldier.Torn between Captain Ross and her loyalty to her husband, and under the orders of the English Crown, Kit finds that her life is in more danger now than on the battlefield.

Two Roads

Where Memories Go

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder & Stoughton

MacGregor's Gathering

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Price of a Princess

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unicorn Rampant

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

The year 1617 was a fateful one for Scotland - and especially for youngJohn Stewart of Methven, bastard son of the Duke of Lennox.King James VI of Scotland and I of England made a rare and disastrousvisit to his homeland of which he had been an absentee monarch forfourteen years. Knighted in a rash moment by the eccentric King Jamie,John became the reluctant servant of the court.Much against his will he was commanded to return with the King toLondon, and was soon caught up in a net of murky political intrigue...A story of politics and greed in 17th century Scotland, told by NigelTranter, master of Scottish historical fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Folly of Princes

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Scotland at the dawn of the 15th century was a wretched spectacle. Whilethe feeble Robert III still clung to his throne, his kingdom rang withthe sound of conflict as his son and brother grappled for power.Sir James Douglas of Aberdour, married as he was to the King'sillegitimate sister, had to tread a hazardous path through the warringfactions. But having a conscience made life harder still. For in thosedays - and in that company - a conscience could cost a man dear...The second volume of Nigel Tranter's epic House of Stewart trilogy tellsof the last days of King Robert III of Scotland and the struggle for histhrone.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Captive Crown

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Patriot

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1678, Scotland liesunder the dark threat of union with England. In an era of intrigue and bloodshed, Andrew Fletcher, laird of Saltoun, stands out as a man of ideals and integrity. His fearless and dogged opposition to the Treaty becomes a thirty-year campaign fought in Europe as well as his native Scotland. His eventual defeat is the defeat of a hero and of a cause so dear to his people that his name is glorified in Scottish history.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Past Master

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Past Master tells the story of Patrick, Master of Gray, in the era of Queen Elizabeth I and Mary Queen of Scots, and of his remarkable daughter Mary. With the end of Elizabeth I's long reign in sight, Patrick, Master of Gray, is determined that James VI should succeed to the English throne.Nothing can be allowed to stand in his way - not even his own daughter's happiness.And so Mary Gray and her lover, Ludovick, Duke of Lennox, are to be caught up in a savage game of power politics, shaped by personal ambition and religious bigotry.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Anthony Riches

Anthony Riches began his lifelong interest in war and soldiers when he first heard his father's stories about World War II. This led to a degree in Military Studies at Manchester University. He began writing the story that would become Wounds of Honour after a visit to Housesteads in 1996. He lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and three children.www.anthonyriches.comwww.twitter.com/AnthonyRiches

D.M. Mark

D.M. Mark is the historical alter ego of David Mark, who was a crime journalist before becoming a novelist. He has written six novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity, Dead Pretty and Cruel Mercy, as well as two McAvoy novellas, A Bad Death and Fire of Lies, which are available in ebook. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. The Zealot's Bones is his first historical crime novel. He chose to delve into the past after deciding that some stories served up by his twisted imagination are just too disturbing to feature in the present. He lives in East Yorkshire and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

Jake Arnott

Jake Arnott was born in 1961, and lives in London. He is the author of THE LONG FIRM, published by Sceptre in 1999 and subsequently made into an acclaimed BBC TV series. His second novel, HE KILLS COPPERS, was also made into a series by Channel 4. He has since published the novels TRUECRIME, JOHNNY COME HOME, THE DEVIL'S PAINTBRUSH and THE HOUSE OF RUMOUR.

Julian Stockwin

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. In Vietnam he saw active service in a carrier task force. After leaving the Navy (rated Petty Officer), Julian practised as an educational psychologist. He lived for some time in Hong Kong, where he was commissioned into the Royal Naval Reserve. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.julianstockwin.com.

Margaret Kaine

Born and educated in Stoke-on-Trent, Margaret Kaine now lives in Eastbourne. Her short stories have been published in women's magazines in Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, South Africa and Norway. She won the 2002 Romantic Novelists' Association/Reader's Digest Of Love and Life New Writer's Award and also the Society of Authors' Sagittarius Prize for her first novel, Ring of Clay, published in 2002.Visit her at www.margaretkaine.com.

Marina Fiorato

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice, where she read for a master's degree in Shakespeare. After university she studied art and worked in the film and music industries, creating visuals for U2, The Rolling Stones and the Queen musical We Will Rock You. Her novels Daughter of Siena and Beatrice & Benedick were shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Association Historial Fiction Award. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. You can find out more about Marina and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com and follow her on Twitter @marinafiorato

Nigel Tranter

One of Scotland's best-loved authors, Nigel Tranter wrote over ninety novels on Scottish history. He died at the age of ninety on 9 January 2000.

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Author of the bestselling Thora Gudmundsdottir crime series and several stand-alone thrillers, Yrsa Sigurdardottir was born in Reykjavik, Iceland, in 1963 and works as a civil engineer. She made her crime fiction debut in 2005 with LAST RITUALS, the first instalment in the Thora Gudmundsdottir series, and has been translated into more than 30 languages. Her work stands 'comparison with the finest contemporary crime writing anywhere in the world' according to the Times Literary Supplement. The second instalment in the Thora Gudmundsdottir series, MY SOUL TO TAKE, was shortlisted for the 2010 Shamus Award. In 2011 her stand-alone horror novel I REMEMBER YOU was awarded the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and was nominated for The Glass Key. Her novel THE SILENCE OF THE SEA won the Petrona Award in 2015.