Related to: 'This is Planet Earth'

About JM Learning

Hodder & Stoughton

Khazana

Saliha Mahmood Ahmed
Authors:
Saliha Mahmood Ahmed

When the first Mughal emperor, Babur came from Persia to rule over India, he bought camel loads full of musk and damask roses with him. His love affair with roses was such that each one of Babur's daughters was given a rose related name: Gulchihra (rose-cheeked), Gulrukh (rose-faced), Gulbadan (rose-body) and Gulrang (rose colour), and his chefs sought to please him by feeding chickens with rose water to scent the flavour of their dishes. Such is the romance in the culinary traditions of the Mughal dynasty that ruled over much of India from the early-16th to the mid-19th century.Steeped in Persian flavours, Khazana, which means treasure trove, is a cookbook that promises to be the next step in our on-going love affair with the Indian sub-continent, introducing recipes like Smokey Chicken and Basil Kebabs with Buttermilk Riata, Moghul Fish Korma with Almond Rice and Sandlewood Ice Cream with Toasted Almond Brittle.Author Saliha Mahmood Ahmed, who won over the MasterChef judges with her fusion of Indo-Persian food, has written a book that will delight. Steeped in the rich culinary heritage of the region and Saliha's own travels in modern day India and Pakistan, the recipes are bang up-to-date and will inspire 21st century food lovers.

Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Bible for Journalling and Verse Mapping

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version

Coronet

Killing for the Company

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
John Murray Learning

On Editing

Helen Corner-Bryant, Kathryn Price
Authors:
Helen Corner-Bryant, Kathryn Price

'Nothing is unreal as long as you can imagine like a crow.' Munia Khan.Conventional wisdom says that a crow can not be tamed. These intelligent creatures are often understood as harbingers of doubt and uncertainty, whose high nesting grants them an unusually elevated perspective. For the writer, the crows of doubt circle over every project. This book shows they can be tamed.Writing is a magical hobby and form of expression but getting words on the page is not the same as finalising material which you are happy to send out and share. This book is a complete toolkit which will help you to tame doubts and insecurities and engage with your internal critic in order to assert control over your manuscript and elevate your writing.Written by the team behind one of the world's most successful literary consultancies, Taming The Crows will show you how to master the art of self-editing - perhaps the least understood but most vital skill in the writer's toolkit. You will learn to compose, draft and edit while sharpening your writing and ensuring that your novel is structurally sound, authentic, well-written and ready for submission.ABOUT THE SERIESThe Teach Yourself Creative Writing series helps aspiring authors tell their stories. Covering a range of genres from science fiction and romantic novels to illustrated children's books and comedy, this series is packed with advice, exercises, and tips for unlocking creativity and improving your writing. And because we know how daunting the blank page can be, we set up the Just Write online community, at tyjustwrite.com, for budding authors and successful writers to connect and share.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

'It's a book to read and then read again.' The Book Bag'A beautifully written debut that's both moving and humorous with characters I truly cared about. I loved everything about it!' Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Local Girl Missing and Last Seen Alive'I loved The Maid's Room with its exquisite writing, married with a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion.' Katie Marsh, author of A Life Without You and This Beautiful Life'A beautifully written and deeply moving novel . . . crafted with a mixture of grim detail, dark humour and poignancy, at times it's hard to believe that this book is a work of fiction. Genuinely excellent. *****' Heat******'This is where she sleeps. A cupboard. A bedroom. A windowless box.'Sisters Dolly and Tala have never felt further from home. In the blistering heat of Singapore, they spend their days enabling ex-pats to have lives they could never afford for themselves.Even though she has little freedom, Dolly can just about live with her job if it means she's able to support her beloved young daughter back in the Philippines. One day - if she's lucky - Dolly may even be able to go back and see her.Tala, however, just can't keep her mouth shut about the restrictive, archaic rules maids are forced to abide by on pain of deportation. She risks everything to help her fellow maids, who have struggled to have their voices heard for far too long.In a world where domestic workers are treated so poorly, The Maid's Room explores how women can come together to change each other's lives, and be the architects of their own futures.

Hodder & Stoughton

WTF

Robert Peston
Authors:
Robert Peston
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell
Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Cleave uses words like lethal weapons' New York Times Book Review'Dark, bloody, and gripping ... classic noir fiction' John ConnollyAn international bestseller and one of the top-selling novels in New Zealand's history, Paul Cleave's dark thriller is a brilliant, bloody masterpiece.Joe is in control of everything in his simple life - both his day job as a janitor for the police department and his "night work." He isn't bothered by the daily news reports of the Christchurch Carver, who, they say, has murdered seven women. Joe knows, though, that the Carver killed only six. He knows that for a fact, and he's determined to find the copycat. He'll punish him for the one, then frame him for the other six. It's the perfect plan because he already knows he can outwit the police. All he needs now is to take care of all the women who keep getting in his way, including his odd, overprotective mother and Sally, the maintenance worker who sees him as a replacement for her dead brother. Then there's the mysterious Melissa, the only woman to have ever understood him, but whose fantasies of blackmail and torture don't have a place in Joe's investigation.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Where the Wild Winds Are

Nick Hunt
Authors:
Nick Hunt

*A Spectator Book of the Year*'Travel writing in excelsis' -Jan Morris, author of Venice'A thrilling and gorgeous tale, packed with meteorological wonder' -Amy Liptrot, author of The OutrunNick Hunt sets off on an unlikely quest: to follow four of Europe's winds across the continent...His wind-walks begin on Cross Fell, the highest point of the Pennines, as he chases the roaring Helm - the only named wind in Britain. In southern Europe he follows the Bora - a bitter northerly that blows from Trieste through Slovenia and down the Croatian coast. His hunt for the 'snow-eating' Foehn becomes a meandering journey of exhilaration and despair through the Alpine valleys of Switzerland, and his final walk traces an ancient pilgrims' path in the south of France on the trail of the Mistral - the 'wind of madness' which animated and tormented Vincent Van Gogh.These are journeys into wild wind, but also into wild landscapes and the people who inhabit them - a cast of meteorologists, storm chasers, mountain men, eccentric wind enthusiasts, sailors and shepherds. Soon Nick finds himself borne along by the very forces he is pursuing, through rain, blizzards, howling gales, and back through time itself. For, where the wild winds are, there are also myths and legends, history and hearsay, science and superstition - and occasionally remote mountain cabins packed with pickles, cured meats and homemade alcohol.Where the Wild Winds Are is a beautiful, unconventional travelogue that makes the invisible visible.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and master of suspense Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme thriller. For Rhyme's new opponent, the Composer, the victim's dying breaths are music to his ears... When a man is snatched from a New York street in broad daylight, the only clue is a miniature noose left on the pavement. By the time criminal forensic scientist Lincoln Rhyme is involved, a video of the missing man is already online, his dying breaths set to a grisly music by someone calling himself The Composer. Rhyme and fellow investigator Amelia Sachs must follow The Composer across the globe as he continues his horrifying creation, kidnapping further victims to add their last breaths to his piece. But with Rhyme and Sachs in a whole new world with its own rules, how can they possibly guess what danger they're in when the music finally stops?

Hodder & Stoughton

Hidden Christmas

Timothy Keller
Authors:
Timothy Keller
Hodder & Stoughton

Poison City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley

Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher. Poison City is 'a huge amount of fun' SciFiNowThe name's Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things - finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I'm going to do to the bastard when I catch him. I have two friends in my life. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone's mother than a cop. Don't let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks. He's an alcoholic. And he's a mean drunk. Life is pretty routine - I solve crimes, I search for my daughter's killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I'm called out to the murder of a ramanga - a low-key vampire. It looks like an open and shut case. There's even CCTV footage of the killer.Except... the face on the CCTV footage? It's the face of the man who killed my daughter. And that's just the beginning of the trouble I'm about to get into.

Sceptre

Slade House

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell
John Murray

Duel in the Snows

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen
Hodder Paperbacks

Handle with Care

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Lone Wolf

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Keeping Faith

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Mercy

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Sceptre

The Art of Thinking Clearly: Better Thinking, Better Decisions

Rolf Dobelli
Authors:
Rolf Dobelli

David Mitchell

Born in 1969, David Mitchell grew up in Worcestershire. After graduating from Kent University, he taught English in Japan, where he wrote his first novel, Ghostwritten. Published in 1999, it was awarded the Mail on Sunday John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award. His second novel, number9dream, was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and in 2003, David Mitchell was selected as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists. His third novel, Cloud Atlas, was shortlisted for six awards including the Man Booker Prize, and adapted for film in 2012. It was followed by Black Swan Green, shortlisted for the Costa Novel of the Year Award, and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, which was a No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller. Both were also longlisted for the Booker. In 2013, The Reason I Jump: One Boy's Voice From the Silence of Autism by Naoki Higashida was published in a translation from the Japanese by David Mitchell and KA Yoshida. It was an immediate bestseller in the UK and later in the US as well.