Related to: 'The Secret of Happy Ever After'

14th June 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Here at Mulholland, we're busy gearing up for the publication of a very exciting book indeed. Lexicon is the new novel from Max Barry, the author of cult hit Jennifer Government, and has been described by SciFi Now as "highly entertaining and engrossing". It follows Emily Ruff as she enters into an elite organisation of 'poets': masters of manipulation who use language to warp others to their will, as well as Wil Parke who doesn't know why he's immune to their powers, only that he has to run from them. You can read tor.com's review of Lexicon here: Say the Magic Word: Lexicon by Max Barry As you can imagine, the power of words is the main theme of Lexicon, and this is illustrated brilliantly by intriguing excerpts scattered throughout the book. You can read a selection of them on Facebook, in handy picture form that are perfect for sharing. Words Are Weapons on Facebook To see if she's good enough to become a Poet, Emily is asked a series of strange questions. We'd love to see how you'd answer them, so take a look at the link below. Could you become a Poet? on Facebook Lexicon publishes in hardback on the 20th June and we are going to be shouting about it for all of next week. An excerpt will be available on the Mulholland Uncovered Facebook page on Monday, so we hope you check it out!

Hodder Paperbacks

All I Ever Wanted

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder Paperbacks

One Small Act of Kindness

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder Paperbacks

A Hundred Pieces of Me

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon

WINNER OF THE ROMANTIC NOVELISTS' ASSOCIATION CONTEMPORARY ROMANTIC NOVEL AWARD, 2015.As heart wrenching and life-affirming as One Day or Me Before You, A HUNDRED PIECES OF ME is a story about what it means to finally live life to the full.Letters from the only man she's ever truly loved.A keepsake of the father she never really knew.A blue glass vase that catches the light on a grey day.Gina Bellamy is starting again, after a few years she'd rather forget. But the belongings she's treasured for so long don't seem to fit who she is now.So Gina makes a resolution. She'll keep just a hundred special items - the rest can go.But that means coming to terms with her past and learning to embrace the future, whatever it might bring . . .'Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better.' Jojo Moyes'Such a brilliant book. So satisfying and clever and deeply moving. I'll be passing it on to all my friends.' Sophie Kinsella'This vibrant and uplifting novel has not only entertained me hugely, but made me change the way I look at life.' Katie Fforde

Hodder Paperbacks

The Class

Erich Segal
Authors:
Erich Segal

They were Harvard '58, the class who thought they could change the world.Danny, the musical prodigy, risks all for Harvard, even a break with his domineering father. Yet his real problems are too much fame too soon - and too many women.Ted spends four years as an outsider. He is obsessed with climbing to the top of the academic ladder, whatever the cost.Jason, the golden boy - handsome, charismatic, athletic - learns at Harvard that he cannot ignore his Jewish background. Only in tragedy will he find his true identity.George, a Hungarian refugee, comes to Harvard with the barest knowledge of English. But with ruthless determination he masters not only the language but the power structure of his new country.Andrew is haunted by three centuries of Harvard ancestors who cast giant shadows on his confidence.It is not until their dramatic 25th reunion that the men must confront their classmates, and the value of their lives.

Coronet

It's Up to You, New York

Tess Daly
Authors:
Tess Daly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Hope

Herman Wouk
Authors:
Herman Wouk

The Hope is the new State of Israel, and its servants include Zev Barak, a young army officer who rises to become military attaché in Washington; Sam Pasternak, arms procurer and master of shuttle diplomacy who heads up military intelligence; Benny Luria, fighter pilot whose finest hour comes over Sinai; Yael, the girl soldier with a penchant for powerful men; Nakhama, the beautiful Moroccan immigrant wife and mother; Kishote, the man with a charmed life who leads an armoured brigade through the desert; and, in America, there is the remarkable Virginia headmistress Emily, whose father is in the CIA.The towering story of modern Israel from Independence to the triumph of the Six-Day War is told through the bittersweet agonies of these people, who between them help create the Hope.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Glory

Herman Wouk
Authors:
Herman Wouk

Committed to fight in the air and on the ground against the monumental resources of the Soviet Union, The Glory charts Israel's successes over Egypt and the commando raid on Fatah HQ in Beirut, the first missile-to-sea fight in history, which helped tip the balance in the Yom Kippur War, and the famous counter-terrorism raid on Entebbe. Shifting between Jerusalem and Washington, Los Angeles and Paris, this is the story of a beleaguered country and the men and women who fought for Israeli Independence and triumphed in the Six-Day War but know their fragile nationhood still hangs by a thread as their own children go into battle.

Hodder Paperbacks

V.I. for Short

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

'Grace Notes' sees V.I. delve into her family history after discovering a newfound Italian cousin, Vico. But what does Vico want after all this time? And what danger will it lead to?In 'The Pietro Andromache', V.I.'s friend Lotty Herschel finds herself in hot water when her rival is robbed and killed. Lotty ticks all the right boxes, but who's the real culprit?And in 'Strung Out', V.I. investigates the daughter of an old friend, suspected of murdering her father with a racket string . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Hard Time

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

While driving home after celebrating friend Murray Ryerson's big break into TV hosting, V.I. almost collides with a fatally wounded woman lying in the street.The deceased is Nicola Aguinaldo, former employee of security giant B.B. Baladine and recent prison runaway. Taking on the case, V.I. finds herself plunged into a sinister network of corruption that pits her against the police, the prison and the entertainment industry - with potentially lethal results.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Stag and Hen Weekend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

The Stag and Hen Weekend is the story of Phil and Helen, a couple in their thirties about to commit their lives to one another . . . that is of course if they can just manage to get through their respective stag and hen weekends (his: Amsterdam; hers: a country house and day spa in the Peak District) without falling apart. Told in the unique form of two separate stories that have common characters as well as themes and conclusion, The Stag and Hen Weekend can be read from front to back or from back to front putting the reader in the driver's seat as to which story they wish to read first. Feisty, fun and thought provoking.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Sister

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Ismay Deagan has one wish in the world - to leave Ireland and join her brother, Bram, in Australia. However, her father has other ideas and orders her to marry their vicious neighbour Rory Flynn, even though she loathes him. But after Rory brutally attacks her Ismay realises she has to escape. So, disguising herself as an impoverished young widow, she sets sail for Australia, hoping to be reunited with her brother.When she meets Adam Treagar on the ship, she finally starts to believe her dreams of future happiness may come true. But before they even reach their destination they are flung into adventures in Suez, Ceylon and Singapore . . . Can Ismay tell Adam the truth about who she really is? What secrets is Adam himself hiding? And will Ismay's past catch up with her and threaten her new life in Australia, before it has even begun?

Hodder Paperbacks

Thinner

Richard Bachman, Stephen King
Authors:
Richard Bachman, Stephen King

'Thinner' - the old gypsy man barely whispers the word. Billy feels the touch of a withered hand on his cheek.Billy Halleck, prosperous if overweight citizen, happily married, shuddered then turned angrily away. The old woman's death had been none of his fault. The courts had cleared him. She'd just stumbled in front of his car. Now he simply wanted to forget the whole messy business.Later, when the scales told him he was losing weight, it was what the doctor ordered. His wife was pleased - as she should have been. But . . .'Thinner' - the word, the old man's curse, has lodged in Billy's mind like a fattening worm, eating at his flesh, at his reason. And with his despair, comes violence.

Hodder Paperbacks

Advent

James Treadwell
Authors:
James Treadwell

For centuries it has been locked away Lost beneath the sea Warded from earth, air, water, fire, spirits, thought and sight.But now magic is rising to the world once more.And a boy called Gavin, who thinks only that he is a city kid with parents who hate him, and knows only that he sees things no one else will believe, is boarding a train, alone, to Cornwall.No one will be there to meet him.

Hodder Paperbacks

Kingdom

Jack Hight, Jack Hight
Authors:
Jack Hight, Jack Hight
Hodder Paperbacks

Winter Wonderland

Belinda Jones
Authors:
Belinda Jones

Imagine waking up in a snow globe. . . That's how travel journalist Krista feels when she arrives in magical Quebec to report on Canada's glittering Winter Carnival.Over ten sub-zero days Krista's formerly frozen heart begins to melt as she discovers an enchanting world of ice palaces, husky dog-sledding and maple-syrup treats galore. And then she meets Jacques, a man as handsome and rugged as he is mysterious. . . The two share a secret that could bond them forever, but can they find a way to break through the protective layers around their hearts to warm up this winter wonderland?. . . let the snow-spangled adventure begin The irresistibly gorgeous new novel from Belinda Jones will completely melt your heart, perfect for those looking to escape in an exhilarating, romantic story with a little extra magic. Fans of Lindsey Kelk, Milly Johnson and Carole Matthews will love Belinda Jones's unique blend of humour, adventure and delectable romance.Find Belinda on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pages/Belinda-Jones-Travel-Club or visit her website www.belindajones.com.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Charm Bracelet

Melissa Hill
Authors:
Melissa Hill
Coronet

The Christmas Spirits

Whitley Strieber
Authors:
Whitley Strieber
Hodder & Stoughton

Walking Back To Happiness

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder Paperbacks

Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder Paperbacks

The Ballroom Class

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon