Related to: 'Into the Magic Shop'

Sceptre

Factfulness

Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Authors:
Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Sceptre

Lost and Found

Jules Montague
Authors:
Jules Montague

*Irish Bestseller**Telegraph bestseller* An unforgettable book for fans of Henry Marsh and Atul Gawande about how we lose ourselves and those around us - and how we can be found again.Who do we become when our minds misbehave? If a loved one changes as a result of a brain disorder, are they still the same person? Could a brain disorder enhance your identity rather than damage it? From dementia and brain injury to sleep disorders, coma, and multiple personality disorder, leading neurologist and journalist Dr Jules Montague explores what remains of the person left behind when the pieces of their mind go missing. Along the way she answers fascinating questions about how we remember, think and behave. Why do some memories endure and others fade? Why do you sometimes forget why you went into a room? And what if rather than losing memories, your mind creates false ones - are they still yours, and do they still make you, you?'This is a book for anyone wanting to understand the human brain and personhood; it is a book for anyone with a loved one with dementia and for those of us who fear dementia... Montague takes the reader on an exquisite journey into the human brain and beyond that, to the metaphysics of personhood... Occasionally we come across a physicist or economist who, despite their subject matter, can stop you in your tracks. They reel you in without you realising. Montague is a neurologist who does exactly that. She has a rare gift: she makes her craft look simple... Throughout this book Montague displays a maturity and wisdom not always observed in clinicians or indeed any other kind of human.' Irish Times'A profoundly moving, revelatory book... Like the late Oliver Sacks, Jules Montague writes about bizarre cases. ...And yet, she is also writing about what it is to be human and the surprising fragility of our sense of self.' Daily Mail

Yellow Kite

10% Happier

Dan Harris
Authors:
Dan Harris
Hodder & Stoughton

Soulfulness

Brian Draper
Authors:
Brian Draper
John Murray

Black Box Thinking

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

The Sunday Times No.1 Bestseller From the Bestselling Author of BounceWhat links the Mercedes Formula One team with Google?What links Team Sky and the aviation industry?What connects James Dyson and David Beckham?They are all Black Box Thinkers.Black Box Thinking is a new approach to high performance, a means of finding an edge in a complex and fast-changing world. It is not just about sport, but has powerful implications for business and politics, as well as for parents and students. In other words, all of us.Drawing on a dizzying array of case studies and real-world examples, together with cutting-edge research on marginal gains, creativity and grit, Matthew Syed tells the inside story of how success really happens - and how we cannot grow unless we are prepared to learn from our mistakes.

John Murray Learning

Small Data

Martin Lindstrom
Authors:
Martin Lindstrom

Hodder & Stoughton

Not in God's Name

Jonathan Sacks
Authors:
Jonathan Sacks

Despite predictions of continuing secularisation, the twenty-first century has witnessed a surge of religious extremism and violence in the name of God.In this powerful and timely book, Jonathan Sacks explores the roots of violence and its relationship to religion, focusing on the historic tensions between the three Abrahamic faiths: Judaism, Christianity and Islam.Drawing on arguments from evolutionary psychology, game theory, history, philosophy, ethics and theology, Sacks shows how a tendency to violence can subvert even the most compassionate of religions. Through a close reading of key biblical texts at the heart of the Abrahamic faiths, Sacks then challenges those who claim that religion is intrinsically a cause of violence, and argues that theology must become part of the solution if it is not to remain at the heart of the problem.This book is a rebuke to all those who kill in the name of the God of life, wage war in the name of the God of peace, hate in the name of the God of love, and practise cruelty in the name of the God of compassion.For the sake of humanity and the free world, the time has come for people of all faiths and none to stand together and declare: Not In God's Name.

Yellow Kite

Mindfulness on the Go

Padraig O'Morain
Authors:
Padraig O'Morain
Hodder Paperbacks

The Emotional Life of Your Brain

Sharon Begley, Richard Davidson
Authors:
Sharon Begley, Richard Davidson

Why we behave the way we do has been the life study of pioneering neuroscientist Richard Davidson.Helping us to understand our own emotional responses and discover our unique 'emotional style', Davidson & Begley also show how we can retrain our brains through mindfulness and meditation to alter lifelong patterns of destructive or unhelpful behaviour. Practical and illuminating, this book expands our view of what it means to be human.

Two Roads

The End of Your Life Book Club

Will Schwalbe
Authors:
Will Schwalbe
Teach Yourself

Mindfulness Made Easy: Teach Yourself

Martha Langley
Authors:
Martha Langley

Mindful meditation has been around for thousands of years, and now it is being used by top therapists as a highly effective way of overcoming anxiety, depression and a number of other emotional difficulties. If you are suffering from low mood, feeling anxious, or just want to learn an amazing technique for gaining control of your mind and feelings, this book is a clear and approachable introduction to the power of Mindfulness. The most straightforward guide available, it gives step-by-step instructions on how to practice Mindfulness, showing you a variety of different exercises, before explaining exactly how to use Mindfulness to overcome almost anything, from depression and anxiety to over-eating and relationship difficulties. Discover how to be Mindful in your daily life, and find a new, more peaceful path to walk every day.

Yellow Kite

Stillness Speaks

Eckhart Tolle
Authors:
Eckhart Tolle

Eckhart Tolle's writings on the power of living in the moment fast became the most sought-after modern classic on spiritual enlightenment. Now, in this new life-transforming book, we are shown how to become our true selves by embracing silence and stillness. When we are no longer limited by our thinking mind, suffering and pain disappears and we are able to move towards a new understanding of our relationships, of nature, and of the profound wisdom that is to be found in stillness.

Yellow Kite

Practising The Power Of Now

Eckhart Tolle
Authors:
Eckhart Tolle
Yellow Kite

The Power of Now

Eckhart Tolle
Authors:
Eckhart Tolle

The bestselling self-help book of its generation - which has now sold over a million copies in the UK alone. Eckhart Tolle demonstrates how to live a healthier and happier life by living in the present moment. To make the journey into The Power of Now we will need to leave our analytical mind and its false created self, the ego, behind. Although the journey is challenging, Eckhart Tolle offers simple language and a question and answer format to show us how to silence our thoughts and create a liberated life.Surrender to the present moment, where problems do not exist. It is here we find our joy, are able to embrace our true selves and discover that we are already complete and perfect. If we are able to be fully present and take each step in the Now we will be opening ourselves to the transforming experience of The Power of Now. It is in your hands. Discover The Power of Now.

James Doty

Dr James Doty is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at Stanford University, and the Director of the Center for Compassion and Altruism Research and Education, which he cofounded with the Dalai Lama. As the Director of CCARE, he has spearheaded many research projects on compassion and altruism, and their relationship to the brain. He is also an inventor and philanthropist, sitting on the board of a number of charities, including Friends of New Orleans (FONO) and the Dalai Lama Foundation of which he is Chairman.

Eckhart Tolle

Eckhart Tolle was born in Germany and educated at the Universities of London and Cambridge. At the age of twenty-nine a profound inner transformation radically changed the course of his life. The next few years were devoted to understanding, integrating and deepening that transformation, which marked the beginning of an intense inward journey. Later, he began to work in London with individuals and small groups as a counselor and spiritual teacher. Since 1995 he has lived in Vancouver, Canada.Eckhart Tolle is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Power of Now (translated into 33 languages) which is widely regarded as one of the most influential spiritual books of our time.Eckhart's profound yet simple teachings have already helped countless people throughout the world find inner peace and greater fulfillment in their lives. At the core of the teachings lies the transformation of consciousness, a spiritual awakening that he sees as the next step in human evolution. An essential aspect of this awakening consists in transcending our ego-based state of consciousness. This is a prerequisite not only for personal happiness but also for the ending of violent conflict endemic on our planet.Eckhart is a sought-after public speaker and teaches and travels extensively throughout the world. Most of the teachings are given in English, but occasionally Eckhart also gives talks in German and Spanish. In addition to The Power of Now, Eckhart has written a book designed for meditative reading entitled Stillness Speaks. A book consisting of selections from The Power of Now is also available, entitled Practicing the Power of Now.

Padraig O'Morain

Padraig O'Morain has practised mindfulness for 25 years and taught mindfulness for more than a decade. He runs workshops in his native Ireland where the inspiration for this book was sparked by an encounter with a very busy woman who took 4 years to get to one of his courses (and still had to dash to a meeting in the middle of it) and who has since reported that mindfulness changed her life - for the better.

Brian Draper

Brian Draper is the author of Spiritual Intelligence, Less is More and most recently What Matters Most? He is a regular presenter on BBC Radio 4's Thought for the Day, and works with leaders and organisations to help nurture their spiritual intelligence. He is a writer, speaker, facilitator, as well as a retreat guide, and has introduced countless people to the ancient art of walking labyrinths.He often writes for U2.com and was formerly editor of the Christian current affairs magazine Third Way.

Jeremy Howick

An Oxford researcher with over 75 publications and a classic textbook, Jeremy Howick is well qualified to write Doctor You. A world-renowned placebo researcher and his work has been featured in The Times and The Washington Post, as well as on Sky News, and the BBC.

Matthew Syed

Matthew Syed is a leading columnist and feature writer for The Times and the host of the UK's biggest podcast: Flintoff, Savage and the Ping Pong Guy on BBC Radio 5. Matthew also gives business talks to major international corporate clients including. Before becoming a writer Matthew was the England table tennis number one for almost a decade, three times Commonwealth Champion, and he twice represented Great Britain in the Olympic Games.Matthew Syed's first book, Bounce: The Myth of Talent and the Power of Practice, was shortlisted for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year. His second, Black Box Thinking, was a Sunday Times No.1 bestseller. He has also published a collection of his award-winning sports columns in The Greatest.