Related to: 'The Ivy Tree'

Hodder & Stoughton

Thornyhold

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansThe rambling house called Thornyhold is like something out of a fairy tale. Left to Gilly Ramsey by the cousin whose occasional visits brightened her childhood, the cottage, set deep in a wild wood, has come just in time to save her from a bleak future. With its reputation for magic and its resident black cat, Thornyhold offers Gilly more than just a new home. It offers her a chance to start over. The old house, with it tufts of rosy houseleek and the spreading gilt of the lichens, was beautiful. Even the prisoning hedges were beautiful, protective with their rusty thorns, their bastions of holly and juniper, and at the corners, like towers, their thick columns of yews.

Hodder & Stoughton

Thunder on the Right

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Stormy Petrel

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansWhen Rose Fenemore takes a desperately needed holiday to an isolated cottage on the Scottish island of Moila she doesn't expect much in the way of adventure - just a few quiet weeks of writing, walking and bird-watching. And then, late one night during a wild storm, two young men appear in her doorway, seeking shelter from the wind and rain. Neither man is quite who he claims, and the question of who to trust will put Rose in grave peril . . . The stormy petrels. The fragile, tiny black birds, nocturnal and solitary, that come ashore to nest but spend most of the lives flying close above the sea-waves, come storm or shine.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Gabriel Hounds

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Nine Coaches Waiting

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Airs Above the Ground

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost One

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Hodder & Stoughton

The Crystal Cave

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

This is what happened. I saw it, and it is a true tale.So begins the story of Merlin, born the illegitimate son of a Welsh princess in fifth century Britain, a world ravaged by war. Small and neglected, with his mother unwilling to reveal his father's identity, Merlin must disguise his intelligence - and hide his occasional ability to know things before they happen - in order to keep himself safe.One beautiful afternoon, while exploring the countryside near his home, Merlin stumbles across a cave filled with books and papers and hiding a room lined with crystals. It is the home of Galapas, who becomes Merlin's tutor and friend, and who teaches Merlin to understand the world around him... and to harness the power of the crystal cave to see the future.Merlin will rise to power and enter history - and legend - as advisor to King Arthur. But all stories must begin somewhere. And this is his. The Crystal Cave is the first of Mary Stewart's brilliant Arthurian Saga, telling the story of King Arthur from the perspective of the extraordinary, mysterious Merlin.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Enchantment

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

By land and water shall it go home, and lie hidden in the floating stone until by fire it shall be raised again.Arthur has raised the sword and claimed his birthright as High King of Briton, determined to unite the many tiny kingdoms that make up his country. Now he sits upon his throne at Camelot with Merlin by his side, his most trusted adviser.But Merlin is growing old, and his sight is dimming. He knows that Mordred, child of Arthur's unknowing union with his half-sister Morgause, will be Arthur's downfall. But he cannot see the future clearly enough to know why, or how - or when.And he's distracted: his gifted young apprentice, Niniane, is more than meets the eye. As Merlin teaches her to control her powers, he seems to lose his own.Merlin has secured Arthur's place in history. Now he must take his own.The Arthurian Saga, begun in The Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills and The Last Enchantment continues in The Wicked Day, the story of Arthur's last battle...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Pilgrim

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Alexander the Fatherless: nephew of the villainous King March of Cornwall, who murdered his father. Burning with vengeance, Alexander sets out on a journey to Camelot to seek justice from King Arthur. His path will lead him to the Dark Tower, where the sorceress Morgan le Fay lies in wait. Morgan seduces Alexander and sends him on a quest to Jerusalem to recover the Holy Grail - which she believes will help her take the throne.Alice the Pilgrim: daughter of a man who has sworn to journey to Jerusalem every three years, Alice grows to womanhood on the pilgrim's trail. And then she meets a boy who carries a cup - which he claims is the Holy Grail. Alice and her father will move heaven and earth to bring the Grail back to Britain. And Alexander will do anything to find it. Their quests will bring them together, and the day that Alexander and Alice meet will go down in legend. The Prince & the Pilgrim is the final installment of Mary Stewart's classic Arthurian Saga, a must-read for all fans of history, fantasy and great literature alike.

Hodder & Stoughton

Madam, Will You Talk?

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense, Mary Stewart leads listeners on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for. Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon... the last brief lull before the thunder.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Hodder & Stoughton

Wildfire at Midnight

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wind Off the Small Isles

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now back in print for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.'Now she would spell love her own way...'In 1879, a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and most wild of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery... The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back to print in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

Hodder Paperbacks

This Rough Magic

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Touch Not the Cat

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

My Brother Michael

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a journey of murder and deceit through the dusty roads of mid-century Greece in this tale that fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym are sure to love.'The contemporary thriller at its very best' Guardian'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'Nothing ever happens to me...' So begins Camilla Haven's letter home during her quiet holiday in Athens. But when a stranger begs her to drive a car to Delphi, swearing that it is a matter of life and death, Camilla impulsively takes the opportunity she's been offered. Before long she is caught up in a whirlwind of intrigue, deceit and murder as she spins along the dusty Greek roads in a race against time to solve a fourteen-year-old mystery.The longer I waited the less possible it seemed to walk out of the café and leave everything to settle itself without me, and the more insidiously did the other possibility begin to present itself. Dry-mouthed, I pushed it aside, but there it was, a challenge, a gift, a dare from the gods . . . 'One of the best British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

The Moon-Spinners

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart transports her readers to the idyllic hills of mid-century Crete in this tale of peril and intrigue that will keep fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym on the edge of their seats. 'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentWhile on a walking holiday through the beautiful, deserted hills of Crete, Nicola Ferris stumbles across a critically injured Englishman, guarded by a fierce Greek. Nicola cannot abandon them and so sets off on a perilous search for their lost companion - all the while being pursued by someone who wants to make sure none of them leave the island . . . When the big white bird flew suddenly up among the glossy leaves and the lemon flowers, and wheeled into the mountain, I followed it.'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Hodder Paperbacks

Rose Cottage

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansSummer, 1947. Kate Herrick, a war widow, returns to her childhood home for a final visit before the house is sold. But Rose Cottage is not the idyllic paradise she remembers from her youth and someone has been there before her. As Kate uncovers an old secret that haunts the home she thought she knew, she is forced to confront a dark truth from her own past . . . Beyond the weedy garden with its riot of rose bushes, nothing had changed. And someone was crossing the bridge to approach the garden gate. Someone I knew well . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wicked Day

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Coronet

The Hollow Hills

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart