Related to: 'Child of Sin'

Tom Peters

The Excellence Dividend

.

Hodder Paperbacks

Friendship's Bond

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Abel's Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

No Place for a Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Penny Dip

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

One of five sisters, Margaret Rose Astbury grew up in Wednesbury during the first half of the twentieth century. Despite the constant struggle to make ends meet, and the hardship and worry of wartime, life in the Black Country was not all doom and gloom. In the crowded terraced houses and teeming communal yards, there was love and laughter aplenty.Meg was no angel, and was often up to her armpits in mischief. But she knew she could rely on her sisters to stick up for her and her mom and dad were too soft-hearted to punish any of their beloved daughters.With all the humour and narrative skill that have made her novels bestsellers, Meg Hutchinson paints a loving portrait of family life in a more innocent age.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sister's Tears

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Her upstairs d'aint want nobody becomin' privy to what that husband of her'n be up to! Her knowed the ways of Fenton Gilmore . . . may the devil tek him! Her knows his temper, felt his fist many a time. And there be others as knows, women he's paid to keep silent about the blows they've suffered, for it tek more'n a roll in bed to satisfy Fenton Gilmore.'Emma Lawrence has reason to fear the base cruelty of the man she must call uncle. She and her sister Rachel had been taken into the Gilmore household on the death of their parents and have known nothing but unkindness at the hands of Fenton and his wife. And now Rachel is dead, brutally raped and strangled, and Emma must dry her tears and flee if she is to escape the same fate. Emma falls in with two other orphans, and Timothy and Lily become as dear to her as her own departed sister. But Fenton Gilmore does not give up so easily. His evil ambition is to own a brothel and Emma is vital to his perverted plan ... Meg Hutchinson is back in vintage form with this absorbing tale of a vulnerable young woman who overcomes hardship and tragedy to reap the rewards of a virtuous life.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'You be a cheat and a liar Katy Hawley, no wonder your folks d'aint want you! Well we don't want you neither, do we girls?'It was only a playground spat but the cruel words burned like acid into Katrin Hawley's brain. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold and Katrin waited until she could hit her persecutors where it hurt. However, in her pursuit of vengeance, Katrin takes a fatal step too far. Meg Hutchinson's new novel chronicles the ruthlessly destructive quest of one damaged woman at a time when the onslaught of German bombs was daily robbing families of their loved ones. Just as the stalwart men and women of the Black Country were pulling together for victory, one obsessive woman sought only to satisfy her own malignant, vindictive craving for retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

For The Love Of A Sister

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Ties of Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Don't go, Amber, don't leave Denny an' me alone, I be feared of this house.'If only she had heeded her ten-year-old sister's words! But Amber Neale returns from India to the devastating news of Bethany's death and her brother's disappearance. The man she holds responsible is mine-owner Uriah Buckley, a powerful man in Darlaston, and Amber knows he will make her life a living hell if crossed. But loyalty to her siblings prevails, and she determines to seek out the truth. Amber's only ally is Rani, the gentle Indian girl who owes Amber her life. Together they create a line of floral face creams and cosmetics, and go on to found a successful beauty salon. But wealth and success do not fill the heart. Amber still aches with the loss of her beloved family, and demons from her life in India haunt her dreams. Meanwhile the vile Uriah Buckley waits in the wings, determined to despoil the innocent girl rather than see her uncover his vicious secret.

Coronet

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Maura Deverell is a young Irish peasant girl whose mother is dying of consumption. Their cruel landlord threatens to throw them out of their cottage unless Maura agrees to marry his young son, Liam Riordan. But before Maura can decide, she is brutally raped by Liam's brother Padraig, who gloats that once she is under their roof, Maura will be at his mercy - his sexual slave.Weak though she is, Maura's mother does not let this vicious act go unavenged. She curses the Riordans and then, on her deathbed, makes Maura promise to leave Ireland for good. Maura ends up in Birmingham, after many narrow escapes from rape and death. Even when she makes staunch friends, and discovers a protector in the shape of Aiden Shanley, she longs to go home, stopped only by her promise to her mother. Eventually the wicked Riordans meet a well deserved sticky end and Maura is persuaded to return and marry Liam after all.

Hodder & Stoughton

Unholy Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Young Philippa Cranley is living a lie. Her tyrannical father Archer forces her to masquerade as a man in order to comply with the terms of her maternal grandfather's Will, and enable him to inherit the glassworks. By threatening her fragile mother with imprisonment in a mental institution, he forces Philippa to become Philip, wearing men's clothes and unable to reveal her identity to anyone.To increase her humiliation, Archer Cranley forces 'Philip' to do a stint in the glassworks, which puts her in danger from her rough co-workers as well as from the machinery itself. There the girl is befriended by Joshua Fairley, whose pity is aroused by the gentle 'lad'. But soon Joshua finds his feelings for 'Philip' are more than just pity, and is tormented by the thought that he is being tempted into a homosexual relationship. Luckily, by the end of the novel Philippa is able to reveal the truth and marry Joshua.

Hodder Paperbacks

Peppercorn Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Throw it to the dogs! Do as I say or by Christ I'll do it myself and throw you in after it!'Tyler Cadell's cruel order spells heartbreak for his wife Garnet and their new-born baby. She flees to save herself, but cannot save her child and the memory of that tragic loss haunts her days.Taken in by a band of Black Country Romanies, Garnet is touched by the warmth and generosity of the gypsy people, even if not all of them offer her an equally charitable welcome. Although loved by their leader, Judah Kane, Garnet moves on once she has regained her strength and determines to take revenge on her husband. Meanwhile Tyler has assumed the role of grieving widower in order to ally his fortune with that of Lady Olivia Denton: the reappearance of his legal wife would be a major inconvenience. Indulging his voracious sexual appetite with the sensual gypsy girl, Marisa, Tyler learns of Garnet's whereabouts and determines to be rid of her once and for all.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Judas Touch

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Pit Bank Wench

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

A Love Forbidden

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Bitter Seed

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Promise Given

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Stunned by her stepmother's accusation that she killed her beloved little brother, Rachel Cade is even more shocked to find she is at the mercy of the village's evil Magistrate Bedworth who sends her to the workhouse to await trial. There, Rachel is convinced her fate is sealed, but she has reckoned without the actions of handsome landowner Jared Lytton who comes to her rescue.Despite being vindicated, Rachel is forced to leave the village. Life is tough and she has to struggle to survive until she meets the widow Beulah Thomas and her son William. Working on their farm, she is treated with kindness and when William asks for her hand in marriage, she agrees - more out of gratitude than out of love. But Rachel cannot forget Jared Lytton, whose path seems destined to cross hers.

Hodder & Stoughton

No Place of Angels

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A captivating saga for fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Carys Beddows cannot understand why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way and throws Carys out to fend for herself.Good fortune leads the girl to Ridge House, and a position as housemaid. The mistress there takes a shine to the gentle girl with the tragic past, and recognises her talent for drawing when she sees Carys's sketches of a young man on the heath. This young man is Reuben Fereday, and he is destined to meet Carys again.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Handful of Silver

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Ezra Cosmore sentences his son, Morgan, to a loveless marriage with wheelchair-bound Esther Kerral, believing the girl will bring with her a dowry to save his failing business. But Morgan's affections have long lain in another, perverse, direction and poor Esther must struggle as best as she can not only to find happiness, but also to build a business of her own. It takes courage and determination, but Esther triumphs over her disability, is reconciled with her father - and at last finds a man who is worthy of her.

Hodder Paperbacks

For The Sake Of Her Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson