Related to: 'All is Not Enough'

Tom Peters

The Excellence Dividend

.

Hodder & Stoughton

Abel's Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A dramatic tale of a wronged woman who rises above adversity to grasp love and happiness at last. For fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Shocked beyond measure at her wrongful imprisonment, Phoebe Pardoe finds it hard to adjust to the harshness of life in the infamous Handsworth Prison. Abused and beaten, she struggles to maintain her unconquered spirit, little suspecting that her arrest is the work of her jealous Aunt Annie.Phoebe has a guardian angel in the form of Sir William Dartmouth, who eventually engineers her release. But even so, cruelly disinherited, Phoebe must strive to make a living for herself in a man's world. Especially as Annie has not given up her perverse quest for revenge...

Hodder & Stoughton

Friendship's Bond

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Child of Sin

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Agnes Ridley has a cruel tongue and a heart of stone: when she discovers housemaid Lizzie Burton has fallen pregnant, she turns her out with only the clothes on her back. If it weren't for loyal Debbie, who follows her friend into exile, Lizzie would be friendless as well as destitute.The girls are blessed when they meet big-hearted Sadie Trent, who takes them in and cherishes them like her own. But even Sadie cannot protect the girls from the vicious malice of Abe Turley, who is determined to take his pleasure - and then his revenge; and from sinister Fleur Masson, who hides an evil trade behind the respectable facade of a fashion house. After such tribulations, can there ever be true happiness for a child of sin?

Hodder & Stoughton

A Penny Dip

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

One of five sisters, Margaret Rose Astbury grew up in Wednesbury during the first half of the twentieth century. Despite the constant struggle to make ends meet, and the hardship and worry of wartime, life in the Black Country was not all doom and gloom. In the crowded terraced houses and teeming communal yards, there was love and laughter aplenty.Meg was no angel, and was often up to her armpits in mischief. But she knew she could rely on her sisters to stick up for her and her mom and dad were too soft-hearted to punish any of their beloved daughters.With all the humour and narrative skill that have made her novels bestsellers, Meg Hutchinson paints a loving portrait of family life in a more innocent age.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sister's Tears

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

For The Love Of A Sister

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

When Myra Brent's sister Eden visits her at Moorcroft House, instead of being welcomed, Eden receives a stinging slap. Eden is devastated by her sister's cruel behaviour. Myra is simply trying to prevent her beloved sister from catching the predatory eye of Ava Russell, the cruel mistress of Moorcroft House. But her action is to have dire consequences. Believing herself abandoned, Eden sets off, penniless, to make her way in the world alone. Eden will enjoy the kindness of strangers; but her path will also cross that of vicious evildoers, bent only on drawing innocents into their web of depravity and corruption. And in the meantime, Myra makes the greatest sacrifice of all -- for the love of her sister.

Hodder & Stoughton

Ties of Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Don't go, Amber, don't leave Denny an' me alone, I be feared of this house.'If only she had heeded her ten-year-old sister's words! But Amber Neale returns from India to the devastating news of Bethany's death and her brother's disappearance. The man she holds responsible is mine-owner Uriah Buckley, a powerful man in Darlaston, and Amber knows he will make her life a living hell if crossed. But loyalty to her siblings prevails, and she determines to seek out the truth. Amber's only ally is Rani, the gentle Indian girl who owes Amber her life. Together they create a line of floral face creams and cosmetics, and go on to found a successful beauty salon. But wealth and success do not fill the heart. Amber still aches with the loss of her beloved family, and demons from her life in India haunt her dreams. Meanwhile the vile Uriah Buckley waits in the wings, determined to despoil the innocent girl rather than see her uncover his vicious secret.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Unholy Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Young Philippa Cranley is living a lie. Her tyrannical father Archer forces her to masquerade as a man in order to comply with the terms of her maternal grandfather's Will, and enable him to inherit the glassworks. By threatening her fragile mother with imprisonment in a mental institution, he forces Philippa to become Philip, wearing men's clothes and unable to reveal her identity to anyone.To increase her humiliation, Archer Cranley forces 'Philip' to do a stint in the glassworks, which puts her in danger from her rough co-workers as well as from the machinery itself. There the girl is befriended by Joshua Fairley, whose pity is aroused by the gentle 'lad'. But soon Joshua finds his feelings for 'Philip' are more than just pity, and is tormented by the thought that he is being tempted into a homosexual relationship. Luckily, by the end of the novel Philippa is able to reveal the truth and marry Joshua.

Hodder Paperbacks

Peppercorn Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Throw it to the dogs! Do as I say or by Christ I'll do it myself and throw you in after it!'Tyler Cadell's cruel order spells heartbreak for his wife Garnet and their new-born baby. She flees to save herself, but cannot save her child and the memory of that tragic loss haunts her days.Taken in by a band of Black Country Romanies, Garnet is touched by the warmth and generosity of the gypsy people, even if not all of them offer her an equally charitable welcome. Although loved by their leader, Judah Kane, Garnet moves on once she has regained her strength and determines to take revenge on her husband. Meanwhile Tyler has assumed the role of grieving widower in order to ally his fortune with that of Lady Olivia Denton: the reappearance of his legal wife would be a major inconvenience. Indulging his voracious sexual appetite with the sensual gypsy girl, Marisa, Tyler learns of Garnet's whereabouts and determines to be rid of her once and for all.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Judas Touch

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

No Place for a Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Laura Cadman had always assumed she would marry Edmund Shaw, the son of her father's partner, and keep the Shaw and Cadman name. But Edmund's violent refusal is just the beginning. When Jabez Shaw dies, Edmund takes advantage of Laura's father and cheats him out of the engineering works. Not content with that, he manufactures an accusation that lands Mr Cadman in Winson Green Prison. Penniless, her pride hurt and her heart broken, Laura vows to repay every pound that Edmund claims he is owed.Rafe Travers is often at hand when Laura is in trouble, but Edmund's cruel words blind her to Rafe's love. Only when he saves her from Edmund's final wickedness can she believe he loves her, and embrace happiness at last.

Hodder Paperbacks

Pit Bank Wench

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A compelling tale of good and evil for fans of Josephine Cox.Emma Price is only a pit bank wench, but her corn-coloured hair and blue eyes win the love of Paul Felton, younger brother of the colliery owner. Carver Felton has no intention of seeing his brother throw away his future on such a humble girl and savagely rapes Emma, leaving her isolated and pregnant with his bastard child.It looks as though she is destined for the workhouse, but there are kindly folk in Wednesbury: Emma is taken in by butcher Samuel Hollington and his wife and gives birth to her son, Paul, under their care.But Carver Felton has not forgotten the girl he wronged. Once he has ruthlessly achieved his business ambitions, he turns his attentions to finding an heir to the Felton fortune - and he determines to track down Emma and her child.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Love Forbidden

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Bitter Seed

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Set against the backdrop of World War I, this is a heartbreaking tale for fans of Josephine Cox.Having suffered much cruelty at the hands of her father, Isabel Kenton is shocked to hear after his death that he was not her real father.Isabel inherits their house while her twin brother Mark is left the family steel works. But when World War I breaks out, Mark joins the RAF, and Isabel must take responsibility for the management of the business, much to the displeasure of the town's industrialists.Struggling to keep the business alive, she must also discover who she really is. Along the way she will make enemies, but she will also find answers - and love.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Promise Given

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Stunned by her stepmother's accusation that she killed her beloved little brother, Rachel Cade is even more shocked to find she is at the mercy of the village's evil Magistrate Bedworth who sends her to the workhouse to await trial. There, Rachel is convinced her fate is sealed, but she has reckoned without the actions of handsome landowner Jared Lytton who comes to her rescue.Despite being vindicated, Rachel is forced to leave the village. Life is tough and she has to struggle to survive until she meets the widow Beulah Thomas and her son William. Working on their farm, she is treated with kindness and when William asks for her hand in marriage, she agrees - more out of gratitude than out of love. But Rachel cannot forget Jared Lytton, whose path seems destined to cross hers.

Hodder & Stoughton

No Place of Angels

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A captivating saga for fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Carys Beddows cannot understand why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way and throws Carys out to fend for herself.Good fortune leads the girl to Ridge House, and a position as housemaid. The mistress there takes a shine to the gentle girl with the tragic past, and recognises her talent for drawing when she sees Carys's sketches of a young man on the heath. This young man is Reuben Fereday, and he is destined to meet Carys again.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Handful of Silver

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Ezra Cosmore sentences his son, Morgan, to a loveless marriage with wheelchair-bound Esther Kerral, believing the girl will bring with her a dowry to save his failing business. But Morgan's affections have long lain in another, perverse, direction and poor Esther must struggle as best as she can not only to find happiness, but also to build a business of her own. It takes courage and determination, but Esther triumphs over her disability, is reconciled with her father - and at last finds a man who is worthy of her.

Hodder Paperbacks

For The Sake Of Her Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson