Related to: 'Salem Street'

Hodder Paperbacks

Gifts For Our Time

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

High Street

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

The second in the heartwarming Lancashire saga series that began with SALEM STREET, by beloved author Anna Jacobs.In 1845 Annie Gibson can finally leave Salem Street. Her dreams of being able to open an elegant dressmaking salon in the High Street of Bilsden, a Lancashire mill town, have come true. And she is going to take her father and his second family with her, away from poverty, away from the Rows.But Annie has not left trouble behind. Someone is trying to undermine her business. Her family have their own ideas about what they want to do with their lives. And several men are persistently trying to win favour with the beautiful young widow - including Frederick Hallam, the mill owner, and Daniel O'Connor, her childhood friend.As Annie gets better acquainted with both, she becomes increasingly confused about her feelings. Can she really be in love And can she risk trusting any man again

Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Reward

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Gift

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Dream

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Sister

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Wife

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Singapore in the 1860s is exotic and yet terrifying for Isabella Saunders, a penniless Englishwoman, alone and vulnerable after her mother's death. Too pretty to obtain a governess's job, she accepts an offer from Mr Lee, a Singapore merchant, to teach him English and live with his family.Two years later Bram Deagan arrives in the country, determined to make his fortune as a trader. Mr Lee sees a way to expand his business connections and persuades Isabella to marry Bram, and she bravely sets sail for a new land and life. But the past casts a long shadow and together they face unexpected dangers. Will they ever be able to achieve their dreams - and find happiness together along the way?*******************What readers are saying about THE TRADER'S WIFE'This is women's fiction at its very best' - 5 stars'I loved this book' - 5 stars'Fantastic, couldn't put it down' - 5 stars'I love Anna Jacobs books and never want them to end' - 5 stars'Like all her books, excellent' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Spinners Lake

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

**The final installment in the beautifully heartwarming Gibson Family series, perfect for fans of 'Call the Midwife', Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson**Lancashire, 1860. In the mill town of Bilsden, Annie Hallam's husband Frederick is dying. On top of that, a spurned suitor of her sister Joanie is determined to have her, whatever the cost. And he is not the only one who wants to harm the Gibson family. Meanwhile, times are hard in Bilsden and unemployment is rife. Annie has to rebuild her life after the worst happens and plans to create Spinners Lake, an extraordinary project that will keep her workers from destitution and assuage her own grief. And then a ghost from her past returns from the American Civil War . . . Can the secret plans that Frederick made for Annie on his deathbed bring her hope and happiness once again?**************Praise for Anna Jacobs:'Catherine Cookson fans will cheer!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph'Anna Jacobs' books have an impressive grasp of human emotions' - Sunday Times'Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around' - Historical Novels Reviews

Hodder & Stoughton

Our Eva

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

She thought she could trust him . . .Eva Kershaw thought she would never marry, and is happy living a quiet life with her dear friend Alice. But Alice is ill, and her nephew, Gus, has thrust himself into their household. Alice's dearest wish is that Eva should not make the same mistakes she did, and she alters her will so that Eva and Gus are strongly compelled to marry. Eva obliges to fulfil her dead friend's wishes.But Gus is not all he seems to be: he is not Alice's kind nephew, but a robber, confidence trickster, and not even Gus Blake. And Eva is in terrible danger . . .*********************What readers are saying about OUR EVA'Yet another fantastic story in the Kershaw Sisters series . . . Anna Jacobs is an amazing author' - 5 stars'Another fantastic book you won't want to put down' - 5 starsA great read from great writer' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Our Mary Ann

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

She thought the worst was behind her . . . Life is tough in Lancashire in 1905 - and especially so for fifteen-year-old Mary Ann, who was born out of wedlock. When her new stepfather begins to abuse her, Mary Ann doesn't know how much more she can take - until the worst happens and she is sent away to bear his child. After the birth, she manages to escape to Blackpool with the help of her new friend Gabriel.Years later, the Great War brings Mary Ann many new opportunities, and brings Gabriel back into her life - but circumstances mean they can never be together. When her mother dies, Mary Ann decides it's finally time to return to Lancashire and uncover the secrets of her past. But an unknown danger threatens both her and the child she thought she'd lost forever . . . Will history repeat itself - or will Mary Ann's courage win her the happiness she deserves?************************What readers are saying about OUR MARY ANN'Spellbinding' - 5 stars'I couldn't put this book down. A tale of a strong woman who managed to keep her head and heart up against adversity' - 5 stars'First class!' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Sunset

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Twopenny Rainbows

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Threepenny Dreams

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Sometimes the worst has to happen . . . Recently widowed, Hannah Firth is still young - young enough to dream of a new life. When her spiteful daughter-in-law uses her as an unpaid servant, Hannah tries to leave, but she is unaware of the depths that Patty's spite will lead her to.Nathaniel King's life is ruined when his landlord's son lays waste to his market garden for a prank - and the resulting feud puts Nathaniel's livelihood at stake. Hannah has only a few coins and dreams of a happier future to sustain her as she tramps the roads and evades pursuit. When she meets Nathaniel, the attraction between them cannot be denied and they join forces. But their enemies have money and powerful allies on their side and will stop at nothing to get rid of them . . .**********************What readers are saying about THREEPENNY DREAMS'Such a lovely book, with characters you felt you knew . . . I was sorry to finish it' - 5 stars'Could not put this book down. I love the way Anna Jacobs makes you feel as though you know all the people and she is a great storyteller' - 5 stars'Anna Jacobs has done it again!!!' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Freedom's Land

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Calico Road

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

'This is one of the best books I've ever read' - 5-star reader reviewCalico Road runs through a tiny Lancashire hamlet up on the edge of the moors, miles from anywhere. Its folk are an independent breed - and in 1827 they are a thorn in the side of the vicious mill owner in the valley below.Toby Fletcher's father ignored his bastard son while alive. Now Toby is the new owner of the rambling old inn, an unwitting keeper of its secrets. Then Meg Staley comes to Calico - a woman who was strong enough to survive one tragedy, but found it harder to withstand a second blow. Toby finds her wandering the moors, cold and starving, and brings her back to the inn. Working there, Meg starts to rebuild her life and find a fragile happiness.But then the secrets of Calico Road come crashing down on her and those she has grown to love . . .*******************What readers are saying about CALICO ROAD'Anna Jacobs' writing is sooo good' - 5 stars'Full of excitement, didn't want to put it down' - 5 stars'Another lovely book by Anna Jacobs' - 5 stars'An amazing read' - 5 stars'A brilliant series' - 5 stars'Could not put it down' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

A Pennyworth of Sunshine

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Lancashire Legacy

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

'I felt as if this book was my addiction . . . A truly remarkable author' - 5-star reader reviewAt eighteen, Cathie longs for more than life as a settler in the Australian bush. So when her uncle offers her the chance to send her to England, she grabs the opportunity with both hands and runs away from her family. But little does she know that he is using her to get revenge on his sister, Liza.Attacked at the docks in Liverpool, Cathie takes refuge with the man who saved her, a man who has his own troubles. But as she slowly regains her memory and meets her Lancashire relatives, she must confront the legacy of her mother's past.And even in 1876, the same wealthy families who forced her mother to leave Lancashire are still powerful enough to threaten Cathie's happiness and safety - as well as that of anyone close to her . . .**********************What readers are saying about LANCASHIRE LEGACY'Another brilliant read from Anna. Love it' - 5 stars'Riveting' - 5 stars'Brilliant story, as always. Didn't want it to end' - 5 stars'WOW, such a good read' - 5 stars'I couldn't put this down' - 5 stars

Hodder Paperbacks

Lancashire Lass

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Our Lizzie

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Lizzie Kershaw is an independent spirit; ever since her father's death she has had to be a survivor.She makes an ill-advised marriage in order to escape her harsh home life. However, she quickly discovers that she has married a selfish and violent man. His beatings are ceaseless and she finds herself compelled to run away. With the help of some suffragettes she escapes to Manchester, where she finds work in a munitions factory for a while. Sam manages to find her and drags her home. It is only when his violence causes her to lose their unborn baby that Lizzie really finds the strength to make things change, and to find happiness with a man who loves her.

Hodder Paperbacks

Ridge Hill

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Book threein the heartwarming Lancashire-based Gibson series by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. It's 1848 and preparations are underway for Annie Gibson's wedding to Bilsden's wealthy millwoner, Frederick Hallam. But not everyone is as pleased as they are. Frederick's daughter, Beatrice, is horrified at the prospect of a new attractive stepmother arriving at the house on Ridge Hill. Even Annie's own family feels threatened. The only person who seems pleased is Tom, Annie's brother. Soon, however, real troubles begin to pile up for the Gibsons. Tom's happiness is jeopardised by the news that he is father to a child he never knew about. Annie's son, William, is devastated to find out that his real father is not the man who brought him up. And even Annie's joy cannot last. Because someone has uncovered the secrets she has fought so hard to keep hidden...