Related to: 'Madam and Will You Talk?'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost One

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wind Off the Small Isles

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now back in print for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.'Now she would spell love her own way...'In 1879, a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and most wild of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery... The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back to print in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Crystal Cave

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

The Hollow Hills

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Born on Christmas Eve, Arthur Pendragon is the illegitimate son of the married duchess Ygraine and Uther Pendragon, brother of a great king: a union Merlin arranged. But Arthur's birth is not welcomed by everyone: his father demands he be hidden until a legitimate son can be born, and Merlin is forced to give the babe to his own childhood nurse for safekeeping and go into hiding. In a dream, Merlin learns of a sword of unparalleled beauty and extraordinary craftsmanship, hidden in a long-deserted Roman temple. Merlin retrieves the sword and hides it in a cave on an island in the centre of a lake, where it remains for years.But what is hidden must be revealed. For it is foretold that the irrepressible young man named Arthur will find a sword and claim his birthright: as heir to Uther Pendragon and king of the Britons.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Last Enchantment

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

By land and water shall it go home, and lie hidden in the floating stone until by fire it shall be raised again.Arthur has raised the sword and claimed his birthright as High King of Briton, determined to unite the many tiny kingdoms that make up his country. Now he sits upon his throne at Camelot with Merlin by his side, his most trusted adviser.But Merlin is growing old, and his sight is dimming. He knows that Mordred, child of Arthur's unknowing union with his half-sister Morgause, will be Arthur's downfall. But he cannot see the future clearly enough to know why, or how - or when.And he's distracted: his gifted young apprentice, Niniane, is more than meets the eye. As Merlin teaches her to control her powers, he seems to lose his own.Merlin has secured Arthur's place in history. Now he must take his own.The Arthurian Saga, begun in The Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills and The Last Enchantment continues in The Wicked Day, the story of Arthur's last battle...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wicked Day

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Pilgrim

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Thornyhold

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansThe rambling house called Thornyhold is like something out of a fairy tale. Left to Gilly Ramsey by the cousin whose occasional visits brightened her childhood, the cottage, set deep in a wild wood, has come just in time to save her from a bleak future. With its reputation for magic and its resident black cat, Thornyhold offers Gilly more than just a new home. It offers her a chance to start over. The old house, with it tufts of rosy houseleek and the spreading gilt of the lichens, was beautiful. Even the prisoning hedges were beautiful, protective with their rusty thorns, their bastions of holly and juniper, and at the corners, like towers, their thick columns of yews.

Hodder & Stoughton

Wildfire at Midnight

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Thunder on the Right

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

My Brother Michael

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a journey of murder and deceit through the dusty roads of mid-century Greece in this tale that fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym are sure to love.'The contemporary thriller at its very best' Guardian'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'Nothing ever happens to me...' So begins Camilla Haven's letter home during her quiet holiday in Athens. But when a stranger begs her to drive a car to Delphi, swearing that it is a matter of life and death, Camilla impulsively takes the opportunity she's been offered. Before long she is caught up in a whirlwind of intrigue, deceit and murder as she spins along the dusty Greek roads in a race against time to solve a fourteen-year-old mystery.The longer I waited the less possible it seemed to walk out of the café and leave everything to settle itself without me, and the more insidiously did the other possibility begin to present itself. Dry-mouthed, I pushed it aside, but there it was, a challenge, a gift, a dare from the gods . . . 'One of the best British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

Hodder & Stoughton

Airs Above the Ground

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Gabriel Hounds

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansLegend has it that when the Gabriel Hounds run howling over the crumbling palace of Dar Ibrahim, high in the Adonis Valley of Lebanon, death will follow on their heels. When rich, spoilt Christie Mansel arrives at the decaying palace to look after her eccentric Aunt Harriet, she arrives to the sound of howling dogs. The palace is riddled with hidden passages and the servants are unwilling to let anyone see Harriet during the day. It seems the palace hides an extraordinary secret . . . one that somebody is willing to kill to keep.The deep blue oblong of sky above the open court was pricking already with brilliant stars. No ugly diffusion of city light spoiled the deep velvet of that sky; even hanging as it was above the glittering and crowded richness of the Damascus oasis, it spoke of the desert and the vast empty silence beyond the last palm tree.

Hodder & Stoughton

Touch Not the Cat

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansAshley Court: the tumbledown ancestral home of the Ashley family, all blessed with 'the gift' of being able to speak to each other without words. When Bryony Ashley's father dies under mysterious circumstances, his final words a cryptic warning to her, Bryony returns from abroad to uncover Ashley Court's secrets. What did her father's message mean? What lies at the centre of the overgrown maze in the gardens? And who is trying to prevent Bryony from discovering the truth?Tell Bryony. The cat, it's in the cat on the pavement. The map. The letter. In the brook. Tell Bryony. My little Bryony to be careful. Danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

Stormy Petrel

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansWhen Rose Fenemore takes a desperately needed holiday to an isolated cottage on the Scottish island of Moila she doesn't expect much in the way of adventure - just a few quiet weeks of writing, walking and bird-watching. And then, late one night during a wild storm, two young men appear in her doorway, seeking shelter from the wind and rain. Neither man is quite who he claims, and the question of who to trust will put Rose in grave peril . . . The stormy petrels. The fragile, tiny black birds, nocturnal and solitary, that come ashore to nest but spend most of the lives flying close above the sea-waves, come storm or shine.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ivy Tree

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Moon-Spinners

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Nine Coaches Waiting

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart transports her readers to mid-century Savoy for a plot of danger and deception, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'Mary Stewart is magic' New York TimesLinda Martin understands what is to be lonely: her parents died when she was young, and she was raised in an orphanage. When she is hired as a governess to the orphaned young Philippe, Comte de Valmy, Linda finds a kindred spirit in the lonely little boy. But Philippe is the heir to a vast estate in Savoy, and his dangerously handsome uncle may be willing to kill to ensure that Philippe never inherits it.Mary Stewart's wonderful novel of suspense and intrigue set in the idyllic countryside of Savoy. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.'A wonderful wordsmith' Scotsman'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best' Herald

Hodder Paperbacks

Rose Cottage

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansSummer, 1947. Kate Herrick, a war widow, returns to her childhood home for a final visit before the house is sold. But Rose Cottage is not the idyllic paradise she remembers from her youth and someone has been there before her. As Kate uncovers an old secret that haunts the home she thought she knew, she is forced to confront a dark truth from her own past . . . Beyond the weedy garden with its riot of rose bushes, nothing had changed. And someone was crossing the bridge to approach the garden gate. Someone I knew well . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

This Rough Magic

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentLucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events. I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald