Search results for: 'robyn young'

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder Paperbacks

Sons of the Blood

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Kingdom

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Requiem

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

It is 1295. The Christian empire in the Holy Land lies in ruins and Will Campbell has barely escaped with his life.After years of fighting in the desert sun - and secretly working for peace with the Brethren - Will returns to Scotland to find his homeland under attack by King Edward I of England.Soon caught up in a bloody conflict, Will is unaware that an even more ominous threat is rising. A warrior king on the throne of France has a desire for supremacy and will stop at nothing to fulfil his twisted ambitions.A stunning, epic novel of war, savagery and the fall of the Templars in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.(P)2013 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Brethren Trilogy

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Renegade

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

King Edward I of England marches on Scotland, inspired by an Arthurian prophecy and aiming to unite the British Isles under a single crown.One man alone can thwart Edward's plan. But on the run in Ireland, hunted by a relentless assassin, Robert Bruce seems a long way from achieving his ambition.Born to a line of kings, Robert will not bow to a conqueror. Robert finds that to survive he must abandon everything he holds dear. He was always prepared to die on the battlefield - but who else must he sacrifice to keep his hopes alive?Renegade is a dazzling story of conspiracy and divided loyalties, battle and betrayal, and a superb portrait of the medieval world.

Hodder & Stoughton

Crusade

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

Hodder & Stoughton

Brethren

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

From the burning plains of Syria to the filthy backstreets of Paris and London, Brethren is the story of Will Campbell, coming of age in a time of conspiracy, passion, politics and war. Will longs to become a Knight Templar, but first he must serve as an apprentice to the foul-tempered scholar Everard, a man of dangerous secrets. Meanwhile, a new star is rising in the east. Amir Baybars has fought his way from slavery to become a fearsome commander, driven by an unquenchable desire to free the Holy Land from the European invaders. In the epic tradition of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Manda Scott, Brethren brilliantly evokes that extraordinary clash of civilizations known in the West as the Crusades.(P)2007 Isis Publishing Ltd

Hodder Paperbacks

Brethren (flipback edition)

From the burning plains of Syria to the filthy backstreets of Paris and London, Brethren is the story of Will Campbell, coming of age in a time of conspiracy, passion, politics and war.Will has been brought up from boyhood in the ways of the all-powerful Order of the Knights Templar. With a tragedy in his past that looms over his future, he faces a long, hard apprenticeship to the foul-tempered scholar Everard, before he can have any chance of becoming a Knight. As he struggles to survive in the harsh discipline of the Temple, Will must try to make sense of many things: his own past, the dangerous mystery that surrounds Everard, and his confused feelings for Elwen, the strong-willed young woman whose path seems always to cross his own.Meanwhile, a new star is rising in the East. A ruthless fighter and brilliant tactician, the former slave Baybars has become one of the greatest generals and rulers of his time. Haunted by his early life, he is driven by an unquenchable desire to free his people from the European invaders of his homeland.With page-turning suspense and thrilling action, Brethren brilliantly evokes that extraordinary clash of civilizations known in the West as the Crusades. Robyn Young portrays a rich cast of characters, reflecting on each side greed, ambition and religious fanaticism, as well as courage, love and faith.

Hodder & Stoughton

Insurrection

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

1286 A.D. Scotland is in the grip of the worst winter in living memory. Some say the Day of Judgement has arrived.The King of Scotland rides out from Edinburgh into the stormy night. On the road he is murdered by one of his own men, leaving the succession to the throne wide open. Civil war threatens as the powerful Scottish families jostle for power, not knowing that King Edward I of England has set his own plans for conquest in motion.But all is not destined to go Edward's way. Through the ashes of war, through blood feuds and divided loyalties, a young squire will rise to defy England's greatest king. His name is Robert Bruce. Insurrection is the first in an addictive and action-packed trilogy in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.

Official Robyn Young Facebook Page

The official page of author Robyn Young.

The bestselling author writes about the experience

Robyn Young spends World Book Day 2011 visiting the printers

Author Robyn Young celebrated World Book Day by taking a trip to our bookprinters, Clays.

Video

Watch Robyn Young on BBC's Meet the Author series

Robyn Young talks about INSURRECTION as part of BBC's Meet the Author series.

Robyn Young

Robyn Young was born in Oxford and grew up in the Midlands and Devon. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Sussex and lives and writes in Brighton full-time. Her first novel, BRETHREN, was the bestselling hardback debut novel of 2006, with the paperback also going straight into the top ten bestseller list. Two more bestsellers followed, CRUSADE and REQUIEM, completing the Brethren trilogy, which has now sold over a million copies and been translated into nineteen languages.The inspiration for Robyn's new trilogy, which began with INSURRECTION and continues in RENEGADE, grew out of an earlier research trip to Scotland. Robyn explains: 'Day by day, out of the pages of history and the wild landscape, one figure came striding, larger, clearer than all the others - Robert the Bruce. He swept me off my feet and carried me into a story of bitter family feuds, two civil wars and the struggle for the crown. I realised there was no way this character could play a cameo role in another man's story. His tale was too powerful, too intricate and too good to be cut down and boxed to fit.'To find out more about Robyn Young and her historical novels, visit her website at www.robynyoung.com and her Facebook page at www.facebook.com/RobynYoungAuthor and follow her on Twitter @RobynYoung36

Robyn Young on location in Scotland

It’s June, and I’m in Scotland, on research for book three of the Insurrection trilogy, following in the fourteenth century footsteps of my protagonist, Robert Bruce...

Robyn Young

The author talks about writing action scenes

@RobynYoung36

Follow Robyn on Twitter

For the latest news from the bestselling author.

Robyn Young on writing the Brethren trilogy

It was an evening like any other...

Bestselling author Robyn Young reflects on the end of her Brethren trilogy.

A community for history lovers

H For History

Join H for History for news and features on all of your favourite historical fiction authors, including Robyn Young, John Henry Clay, Rory Clements and more.

History Lives

Join our History Lives for news and features on all of your favourite historical fiction authors, including Robyn Young, John Henry Clay and more. History Lives at Hodder.