Search results for: 'Catriona McPherson'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Turning Tide

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

The 14th in the Dandy Gilver series

Hodder & Stoughton

A Step So Grave

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and the Unpleasantness in the Ballroom

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.Glasgow,1932, is a city in the grip of dance-fever. Public ballrooms and backstreet dancehalls are thronged every night and competition for professional titles is fierce. Even after the sudden death of one of last year's hopefuls there are plenty willing to take his place, and few who stop to wonder why he died.In the melting pot of the Locarno Ballroom in Sauchiehall Street, a debutante rubs shoulders with denizens of Glasgow's meanest streets, her respectable fiancé oblivious, her parents dismayed.When she starts receiving threats from a rival, they grow frantic enough to call on Dandy Gilver to save their precious daughter from harm.But as Dandy and her sidekick, Alec Osborne, begin to unravel the secrets of the dancehall, they soon discover that the rot goes much deeper than rivalry and there's more at stake than a silver cup. Despite the pretty frocks and dancing shoes, this apparently glittering world is a darker place than they've ever been before . . .Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas.But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that's exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk's wedding season as well as the mystery. Between age-old traditions and brand-new horrors, Dandy must think the unthinkable to solve her grisliest case yet.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder Paperbacks

Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Winter Ground

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder Paperbacks

Bury Her Deep

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson was born in the village of Queensferry in south-east Scotland in 1965 and educated at Edinburgh University. She left with a PhD in Linguistics and spent a few years as a university lecturer before beginning to write fiction. The first Dandy Gilver novel was short-listed for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger 2005 and the second was long-listed for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award 2007. In 2012 DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT OF BLOODSTAINS was nominated for a Historical Macavity Award. Catriona writes full-time and divides her time between southern Scotland and northern California.www.dandygilver.comwww.catrionamcpherson.comwww.twitter.com/CatrionaMcP

List of events

Click through to find out all about the various events at Harrogate this year. Yrsa Sigurdardottir and Catriona McPherson will be two of the authors taking part in the Bond Murder Mystery Dinner. Catriona will also be part of the panel discussion: Slaughtering the Sacred Cows. Erin Kelly will be on the panel for the discussion 'Social Media: Who Are you?'

10 Books to Boost Your Burns' Night

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

By Annie Camp

Top Literary Holiday Destinations