Related to: 'Corrie Ten Boom'

John Murray

D-Day

Giles Milton
Authors:
Giles Milton

'Fantastic' Dan Snow'Compellingly authentic, revelatory and beautifully written. A gripping tour de force' Damien LewisAlmost seventy-five years have passed since D-Day, the day of the greatest seaborne invasion in history. The outcome of the Second World War hung in the balance on that chill June morning. If Allied forces succeeded in gaining a foothold in northern France, the road to victory would be open. But if the Allies could be driven back into the sea, the invasion would be stalled for years, perhaps forever.An epic battle that involved 156,000 men, 7,000 ships and 20,000 armoured vehicles, the desperate struggle that unfolded on 6 June 1944 was, above all, a story of individual heroics - of men who were driven to keep fighting until the German defences were smashed and the precarious beachheads secured. Their authentic human story - Allied, German, French - has never fully been told.Giles Milton's bold new history narrates the day's events through the tales of survivors from all sides: the teenage Allied conscript, the crack German defender, the French resistance fighter. From the military architects at Supreme Headquarters to the young schoolboy in the Wehrmacht's bunkers, D-Day: The Soldiers' Story lays bare the absolute terror of those trapped in the frontline of Operation Overlord. It also gives voice to those hitherto unheard - the French butcher's daughter, the Panzer Commander's wife, the chauffeur to the General Staff.This vast canvas of human bravado reveals 'the longest day' as never before - less as a masterpiece of strategic planning than a day on which thousands of scared young men found themselves staring death in the face. It is drawn in its entirety from the raw, unvarnished experiences of those who were there.

John Murray

The Escape Artists

Neal Bascomb
Authors:
Neal Bascomb
John Murray

When Paris Went Dark

Ronald Rosbottom
Authors:
Ronald Rosbottom

In May and June 1940 almost four million people fled Paris and its suburbs in anticipation of a German invasion. On June 14, the German Army tentatively entered the silent and eerily empty French capital. Without one shot being fired in its defence, the Occupation of Paris had begun. When Paris Went Dark tells the extraordinary story of Germany's capture and Occupation of Paris, Hitler's relationship with the City of Light, and its citizens' attempts at living in an environment that was almost untouched by war, but which had become uncanny overnight. Beginning with the Phoney War and Hitler's first visit to the city, acclaimed literary historian and critic Ronald Rosbottom takes us through the German Army's almost unopposed seizure of Paris, its bureaucratic re-organization of that city, with the aid of collaborationist Frenchmen, and the daily adjustments Parisians had to make to this new oppressive presence. Using memoirs, interviews and published eye-witness accounts, Rosbottom expertly weaves a narrative of daily life for both the Occupier and the Occupied. He shows its effects on the Parisian celebrity circles of Pablo Picasso, Simone de Beauvoir, Colette, Jean Cocteau, and Jean-Paul Sartre, and on the ordinary citizens of its twenty arrondissements. But Paris is the protagonist of this story, and Rosbottom provides us with a template for seeing the City of Light as more than a place of pleasure and beauty.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

The Greatest Escape

Peter Grose
Authors:
Peter Grose
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

A Good Place to Hide

Peter Grose
Authors:
Peter Grose
Hodder Paperbacks

After Auschwitz

Eva Schloss
Authors:
Eva Schloss
Hodder & Stoughton

Light Force

Brother Andrew, Al Janssen
Authors:
Brother Andrew, Al Janssen

When the phenomenal success of GOD'S SMUGGLER made it too dangerous for his contacts in the underground church, Brother Andrew decided he could not return to Eastern Europe. He quietly turned his attention the the Middle East, and for the last thirty-five years he has been serving the Christian Church there, as well as witnessing to Jews and Muslims. His impassioned message is that there is a radical Christian approach to the stalemate of Middle East conflict. Only the gospel of love has the answer, and Christians are called to allow God to use them to demonstrate the example of Jesus. Now available with a fantastic new look to coincide with the B format edition of Brother Andrew's bestselling SECRET BELIEVERS, LIGHT FORCE brings Brother Andrew's story right up to date. It is every bit as exciting as GOD'S SMUGGLER, as Andrew has put his life on the line time and again in God's service.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz

Denis Avey, Rob Broomby
Authors:
Denis Avey, Rob Broomby

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, After Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes the extraordinary true story of a British soldier who marched willingly into Buna-Monowitz, the concentration camp known as Auschwitz III.In the summer of 1944, Denis Avey was being held in a POW labour camp, E715, near Auschwitz III. He had heard of the brutality meted out to the prisoners there and he was determined to witness what he could. He hatched a plan to swap places with a Jewish inmate and smuggled himself into his sector of the camp. He spent the night there on two occasions and experienced at first-hand the cruelty of a place where slave workers, had been sentenced to death through labour. Astonishingly, he survived to witness the aftermath of the Death March where thousands of prisoners were murdered by the Nazis as the Soviet Army advanced. After his own long trek right across central Europe he was repatriated to Britain. For decades he couldn't bring himself to revisit the past, but now Denis Avey feels able to tell the full story - a tale as gripping as it is moving - which offers us a unique insight into the mind of an ordinary man whose moral and physical courage are almost beyond belief.

John Murray

Villa Air-Bel

Rosemary Sullivan
Authors:
Rosemary Sullivan

The Franco-German armistice, signed in June 1940 following the German invasion of France, called on the Vichy government to surrender on demand all refugees considered enemies of the Third Reich. Suddenly, thousands of artists, scientists and other intellectuals feared for their lives. The Emergency Rescue Committee, based in New York, compiled a list of two hundred people it considered the most endangered, including artists and writers André Breton, Max Ernst and Benjamin Péret. The committee sent Varian Fry to set up its headquarters in Marseilles, with the aim of helping these artists to escape. A number of them were sheltered at the Villa Air-Bel. Amidst the chaos and terror of wartime France, the villa became an oasis of calm, and a centre of creativity. Rosemary Sullivan explores the diaries, memoirs and letters of the individuals involved as she uncovers their private worlds and the web of relationships they developed. Central to her task is to understand what it must feel like to move from freedom to occupation: to feel threatened, administered, restrained. Villa Air-Bel brilliantly dramatizes the slow, relentless process by which ordinary lives were turned into lives lived in terror. In the end every artist in the house, as well as two thousand others, found asylum outside of France through the courageous intervention of Fry and his committee.

Hodder & Stoughton

In My Father's House: The Years before 'The Hiding Place'

Corrie Ten Boom
Authors:
Corrie Ten Boom

Concentrating upon her family and their life in Holland before the war, this inspiring and revealing book describes in moving detail living above the family watch shop in Harlem and her memories of the family together before their lives changed for ever with the advent of war and persecution.Corrie believed that this life helped prepare them for carrying out God's work later and gave her the strength to survive the war, brutal hardship and persecution and begin her worldwide ministry.This much loved book is being re-issued in B format with a contemporary cover.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tramp for the Lord: The Years after 'The Hiding Place'

Corrie Ten Boom, Jamie Buckingham
Authors:
Corrie Ten Boom, Jamie Buckingham

Tramp for the Lord tells of Corrie's experiences after the Second World War. She began to minister world wide and travel widely visiting those she felt were suffering and who were in need of leading to the Lord in places as diverse as Africa and Germany. The book also tells of her meeting with one of her guards from the concentration camp and her forgiveness for him. An impressive and inspiring book telling Corrie's story in the years after the events of the best-selling Hiding Place.This much loved book is being re-issued in B format with a contemporary cover.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hiding Place

Corrie Ten Boom, Elizabeth Sherill, John Sherrill
Authors:
Corrie Ten Boom, Elizabeth Sherill, John Sherrill
Chapter One

BROKEN HARBOUR, by Tana French

Read the first chapter of Tana French's newest novel, BROKEN HARBOUR.

Chapter One: Suicide Corner

SCARP by Nick Papadimitriou

Read the first chapter of Nick Papadimitriou's SCARP.

Chapter One

A MOST WANTED MAN, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's A MOST WANTED MAN.

Chapter One

SUNNYSIDE, by Glen David Gold

Read the first chapter of Glen David Gold's SUNNYSIDE.

Chapter One: A Faraway Land

A LONG LONG TIME AGO AND ESSENTIALLY TRUE, by Brigid Pasulka

Read the first chapter of Brigid Pasulka's A LONG LONG TIME AGO AND ESSENTIALLY TRUE.

Brother Andrew

Brother Andrew was born in Holland and became a Christian while serving in the Dutch army. After leaving the army he applied for Bible school in the UK and studied at the Bible Training Institute (now the International Christian College) in Glasgow, Scotland. He has worked tirelessly to strengthen the persecuted church all over the world, encouraging believers in their faith and sharing the gospel with some of the most unlikely people.His book GOD'S SMUGGLER tells the story of the start of his work, smuggling Bibles into communist countries illegally during the Cold War, which developed into the worldwide ministry now called Open Doors International. GOD'S SMUGGLER became an international best-seller with over ten million copies sold in English.After the fall of communism in Europe, Brother Andrew shifted his focus to China and the Middle East, and the incredible story of his ongoing ministry can be read in his next book LIGHT FORCE.His most recent book is SECRET BELIEVERS: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN MUSLIMS TURN TO CHRIST?.

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.

An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.