Related to: 'Kazuaki Takano'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
John Murray Learning

Way of the Wolf

Jordan Belfort
Authors:
Jordan Belfort
Mulholland Books

The Alienist

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr

THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING SENSATION NOW AVAILABLE FOR THE FIRST TIME IN EBOOKTV series starring Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning and Daniel Brühl coming to Netflix 19th AprilOver 3 million copies sold worldwide108,000 Goodreads ratings For fans of Mindhunter and Sherlock Holmes************************ New York City, 1896. Hypocrisy in high places is rife, police corruption commonplace, and a brutal killer is terrorising young male prostitutes. Forensics and psychological profiling are still in their infancy, but as the body count rises, Police Commissioner Theodore Roosevelt calls on eminent psychologist or 'alienist', Dr Laszlo Kreizler and crime reporter John Schuyler Moore to trial these new methods.Kreizler, Moore and their team must venture to the darkest corners of New York - and the human mind - to catch the sadistic killer before they strike again.************************Praise for The Alienist'The Alienist isn't only an ingenious thriller. Carr brings enormous gusto to his portrait of old New York' Independent'Gripping, atmospheric, intelligent, and entertaining'USA Today'Richly atmospheric . . . You can smell the fear in the air' New York Times

Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

The gripping summer read perfect for fans of Megan Abbott's The Fever and Louise O'Neill's Asking For It . 'Prods at the dark underbelly of society.' Red Best Summer Beach ReadsA Prima Best Summer Read'Compelling story characters readers will recognize and come to love and writing that makes it effortless to turn page after page.' Vancouver SunTHE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a page-turning Canadian bestseller about a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school. He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack. On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip. His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her. Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah. Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay. With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?'Whittall places the reader right at the centre of their pain. It's the best depiction of female suffering I've read since Jane Smiley eloquently tackled sexual abuse in A Thousand Acres.' Toronto Star

Sceptre

Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight

Naoki Higashida
Authors:
Naoki Higashida
Hodder & Stoughton

I Can't Make This Up: Life Lessons

Kevin Hart
Authors:
Kevin Hart

Superstar comedian and Hollywood box office star Kevin Hart turns his immense talent to the written word by writing some words. Some of those words include: the, a, for, above, and even even. Put them together and you have the funniest, most heartfelt, and most inspirational memoir on survival, success, and the importance of believing in yourself since Old Yeller.The question you're probably asking yourself right now is: What does Kevin Hart have that a book also has?According to the three people who have seen Kevin Hart and a book in the same room, the answer is clear:A book is compact. Kevin Hart is compact.A book has a spine that holds it together. Kevin Hart has a spine that holds him together.A book has a beginning. Kevin Hart's life uniquely qualifies him to write this book by also having a beginning.It begins in North Philadelphia. He was born an accident, unwanted by his parents. His father was a drug addict who was in and out of jail. His brother was a crack dealer and petty thief. And his mother was overwhelmingly strict, beating him with belts, frying pans, and his own toys.The odds, in short, were stacked against our young hero, just like the odds that are stacked against the release of a new book in this era of social media (where Hart has a following of over 100 million, by the way).But Kevin Hart, like Ernest Hemingway, JK Rowling, and Chocolate Droppa before him, was able to defy the odds and turn it around. In his literary debut, he takes the reader on a journey through what his life was, what it is today, and how he's overcome each challenge to become the man he is today.And that man happens to be the biggest comedian in the world, with tours that sell out football stadiums and films that have collectively grossed over $3.5 billion.He achieved this not just through hard work, determination, and talent: It was through his unique way of looking at the world. Because just like a book has chapters, Hart sees life as a collection of chapters that each person gets to write for himself or herself."Not only do you get to choose how you interpret each chapter, but your interpretation writes the next chapter," he says. "So why not choose the interpretation that serves your life the best?"

Mulholland Books

Genocide Of One

Kazuaki Takano
Authors:
Kazuaki Takano
Sceptre

The Reason I Jump: one boy's voice from the silence of autism

Naoki Higashida
Authors:
Naoki Higashida
Two Roads

Catching the Wolf of Wall Street

Jordan Belfort
Authors:
Jordan Belfort
Hodder Paperbacks

Freddie Mercury: The Definitive Biography

Lesley-Ann Jones
Authors:
Lesley-Ann Jones

'Exactly the sort of tribute Mercury himself would have wanted' SPECTATORThis is the definitive biography of Freddie Mercury. Written by an award-winning rock journalist, Lesley-Ann Jones toured widely with Queen forming lasting friendships with the band. Now, having secured access to the remaining band members and those who were closest to Freddie, from childhood to death, Lesley-Ann has written the most in depth account of one of music's best loved and most complex figures. Meticulously researched, sympathetic, unsensational, the book - like the forthcoming film - will focus on the period in the 1980s when Queen began to fragment, before their Live Aid performance put them back in the frame. In her journey to understand the man behind the legend, Lesley-Ann Jones has travelled from London to Zanzibar to India. Packed with exclusive interviews and told with the invaluable perspective that the twenty years since Mercury's death presents, Freddie Mercury is the most up to date portrait of a legendary man.

Sceptre

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Words of Life January - April 2011

The Salvation Army
Authors:
The Salvation Army

This edition of WORDS OF LIFE starts with young King Solomon's singular initial task of fulfilling his father's vision by building the splendid Temple in Jerusalem. From a king using costly materials we turn to lessons from commonplace objects of pottery. Then guest writer Major Anita Caldwell challenges us to pursue the splendour of everyday holiness before the apostle John's writings aid our thinking as we move towards the Easter victory of our radiant Risen Lord. On Sundays we discover more nuggets in the psalms.'The mystery in a nutshell is just this: Christ is in you, so therefore you can look forward to sharing in God's glory.' (Colossians 1:27, The Message).

Sceptre

Black Swan Green

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell

The dazzling novel from critically-acclaimed David Mitchell.Shortlisted for the 2006 Costa Novel AwardLonglisted for the Man Booker Prize 2006January, 1982. Thirteen-year-old Jason Taylor - covert stammerer and reluctant poet - anticipates a stultifying year in his backwater English village. But he hasn't reckoned with bullies, simmering family discord, the Falklands War, a threatened gypsy invasion and those mysterious entities known as girls. Charting thirteen months in the black hole between childhood and adolescence, this is a captivating novel, wry, painful and vibrant with the stuff of life.

Sceptre

Oxygen

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

Shortlisted for the 2001 Booker Prize and Whitbread Novel of the Year AwardIn the summer of 1997, four people reach a turning point: Alice Valentine, who lies gravely ill in her West Country home; her two sons, one still searching for a sense of direction, the other fighting to keep his acting career and marriage afloat; and László Lázár, who leads a comfortable life in Paris yet is plagued by his memories of the 1956 Hungarian uprising. For each, the time has come to assess what matters in life, and all will be forced to take part in an act of liberation - though not necessarily the one foreseen.

Sceptre

number9dream

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2001The second novel from the critically-acclaimed author of GHOSTWRITTEN and CLOUD ATLAS.As Eiji Miyake's twentieth birthday nears, he arrives in Tokyo with a mission - to locate the father he has never met. So begins a search that takes him into the seething city's underworld, its lost property offices and video arcades, and on a journey that zigzags from reality to the realm of dreams. But until Eiji has fallen in love and exorcised his childhood demons, the belonging he craves will remain, tantalizingly, just beyond his grasp.

Sceptre

Ghostwritten

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell
Reading Group Guide

ONE MORNING LIKE A BIRD by Andrew Miller

Reading group guide for Andrew Miller's ONE MORNING LIKE A BIRD.

Sceptre to publish on 2nd September 2014

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell to be published by Sceptre

New book from David Mitchell

Naoki Higashida

Naoki Higashida was born in Kimitsu, Japan in 1992. He was diagnosed with severe autism in 1998 and subsequently attended a school for students with special needs, then (by correspondence) Atmark Cosmopolitan High School, graduating in 2011. Having learnt to use a method of communication based on an alphabet grid, Naoki wrote The Reason I Jump when he was thirteen and it was published in Japan in 2007. He has published several books since, from autobiographical accounts about living with autism to fairy tales, poems and illustrated books, and writes a regular blog. Despite his communication challenges, he also gives presentations about life on the autistic spectrum throughout Japan and works to raise awareness about autism. In 2011 he appeared in director Gerry Wurzburg's documentary on the subject, Wretches & Jabberers.

An unexpected treat from David Mitchell

Slade House publishing 27th October

Carole Welch, Publishing Director of Sceptre, has acquired UK and Commonwealth (ex Canada) rights to a short novel by David Mitchell, SLADE HOUSE, from Jonny Geller of Curtis Brown, which Sceptre will publish this October.