Related to: 'Clare Hunter'

Two Roads

The House by the Loch

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark
John Murray

The Last Whalers

Doug Bock Clark
Authors:
Doug Bock Clark

'I absolutely loved this magnificent book' Sebastian Junger'A monumental achievement' Mitchell Zuckoff'[An] immersive, densely reported and altogether remarkable first book ... The Last Whalers has the texture and colouring of a first-rate novel' New York TimesAt a time when global change has eradicated thousands of unique cultures, The Last Whalers tells the stunning inside story of the Lamalerans, an ancient tribe of 1,500 hunter-gatherers who live on a volcanic island so remote it is known by other Indonesians as "The Land Left Behind." They have survived for centuries by taking whales with bamboo harpoons, but now are being pushed toward collapse by the encroachment of the modern world.Award-winning journalist Doug Bock Clark, who lived with the Lamalerans across three years, weaves together their stories with novelistic flair to usher us inside this hidden drama. Jon, an orphaned apprentice whaler, strives to earn his harpoon and feed his ailing grandparents. Ika, Jon's indomitable younger sister, struggles to forge a modern life in a tradition-bound culture and realize a star-crossed love. Ignatius, a legendary harpooner entering retirement, labors to hand down the Ways of the Ancestors to his son, Ben, who would rather become a DJ in the distant tourist mecca of Bali.With brilliant, breathtaking prose and empathetic, fast-paced storytelling, Clark details how the fragile dreams of one of the world's dwindling indigenous peoples are colliding with the irresistible upheavals of our rapidly transforming world, and delivers to us a group of families we will never forget.

Sceptre

Threads of Life

Clare Hunter
Authors:
Clare Hunter
John Murray

The Brain

Congratulations! You're the proud owner of the most complex information processing device in the known universe. The human brain comes equipped with all sorts of useful design features, but also many bugs and weaknesses. Problem is you don't get an owner's manual. You have to just plug and play. As a result, most of us never properly understand how our brains work and what they're truly capable of. We fail get the best out of them, ignore some of their most useful features and struggle to overcome their design faults. Featuring witty essays, enlightening infographics and fascinating 'try this at home' experiments, New Scientist take you on a journey through intelligence, memory, creativity, the unconscious and beyond. From the strange ways to distort what we think of as 'reality' to the brain hacks that can improve memory, The Brain: A User's Guide will help you understand your brain and show you how to use it to its full potential.

Yellow Kite

Kindfulness

Padraig O'Morain
Authors:
Padraig O'Morain

The Irish Times top 10 bestseller.Do you criticise yourself on a daily basis? Are you always comparing yourself to others? Kindfulness is there for you. This practical, uplifting guide combines the two hot topics of the moment: mindfulness and self-compassion. From the author of Mindfulness on the Go and Mindfulness for Worriers, this book teaches you how to make mindfulness your ally in everyday life, ways to accept who you are and how to lower anxiety and stress levels through a range of simple exercises. In today's chaotic world, it seems that everyone could benefit from joining the kindfulness movement.Psychotherapist Padraig O'Morain believes that through the art of self-care and ensuring that you are living in the present, you can dispel the negativity in your life. As a result of loving and accepting yourself a little bit more, you will improve your relationships with others and become a more compassionate and happier human being.'Psychologists agree that there are many real benefits - kindfulness can reduce depression and anxiety, improve relationships and leave you able to pursue your goals.' - Stella Magazine, The Telegraph'Being kind to yourself is therapy for the soul.' - The Independent

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Disrupt!

James Bidwell
Authors:
James Bidwell
John Murray

No Dominion

Louise Welsh
Authors:
Louise Welsh

'A vivid, action-packed journey through a post-apocalyptic world. Terrifying and touching in equal measure, the novel is a love story, an adventure, a road movie, a family drama and a murder mystery rolled into one' The Times Scotland'No Dominion gripped me and broke my heart in equal measure' Val McDermidIt is seven years since the Sweats wiped out most of the world's population. But for those who survived the outbreak, life has gone on. Stevie Flint and Magnus McFall are now part of a small community on the Orkney Islands, without mobile phones or TV, without antibiotics or fuel, who are trying to rebuild the rudiments of democratic civilisation.When three strangers arrive on the islands, however, they upset the fragile community, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface. Realising that a number of the islands' young are missing, Stevie and Magnus set off on a journey to the mainland to get them back - a mainland swarming with outlaw gangs, and where self-appointed autocrats and religious fanatics hold sway . . . Thrilling and breathless, No Dominion asks what happens when the scaffolding of civilisation collapses, and how far we'd go to preserve our humanity.

Chambers

The Odditorium

David Bramwell, Jo Tinsley
Authors:
David Bramwell, Jo Tinsley

'I LOVE THE BOOK... A BRILLIANT READ' Chris Evans, Radio 2 Breakfast ShowALSO OUT NOW: THE MYSTERIUM, the must-have follow-up to The Odditorium'This book, that I approached with caution, turns out to be magnificent. Tested it with the Moondog entry. Passed A+' Danny Baker, Radio 5LiveA CELEBRATION OF CURIOSITY AND OBSESSIONStep into a world of gloriously unpredictable characters such as Ivor Cutler, Quentin Crisp, Joe Orton, Reginald Bray, Ken Campbell, Screaming Lord Sutch, Sun Ra, Buckminster Fuller, Timothy Leary and Ayn Rand.The Odditorium is a playful re-telling of history, told not through the lens of its victors, but through the fascinating stories of a wealth of individuals who, while lesser-known, are no less remarkable.Throughout its pages you'll learn about the antics and adventures of tricksters, eccentrics, deviants and inventors. While their stories range from heroic failures to great hoaxes, one thing unites them - they all carved their own path through life. Each protagonist exemplifies the human spirit through their dogged determination, willingness to take risks, their unflinching obsession and, often, a good dollop of eccentricity.Learn about Reginald Bray (1879-1939), a Victorian accountant who sent over 30,000 singular objects through the mail, including himself; Muriel Howorth (1886-1971), the housewife who grew giant peanuts using atomic energy; and Elaine Morgan (1920-2013), a journalist who battled a tirade of prejudice to pursue an aquatic-based theory of human evolution, which is today being championed by David Attenborough. While many of us are content to lead a conventional life, with all of its comfort and security, The Odditorium reminds us of the characters who felt compelled to carve their own path, despite risking ostracism, failure, ridicule and madness. Outsider artists, linguists, scientists, time travellers and architects all feature in The Odditorium, each of whom risked ostracism, ridicule and even madness in pursuit of carving their own esoteric path, changing the world in wonderful ways.'BRAMWELL CLEARLY HAS AN EYE FOR THE ODDBALL AND ARCANE' The Guardian

Hodder & Stoughton

Hero

Lesley-Ann Jones
Authors:
Lesley-Ann Jones
Sceptre

Harmless Like You

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

WINNER OF THE 2017 AUTHOR'S CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARD SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 BETTY TRASK PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 BAMB READERS AWARD FOR BREAKTHROUGH AUTHORLONGLISTED FOR THE 2016 JHALAK PRIZE'This brilliant debut novel by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan is cause for celebration.' LORRIE MOOREWritten in startlingly beautiful prose, HARMLESS LIKE YOU is set across New York, Berlin and Connecticut, following the stories of Yuki Oyama, a Japanese girl fighting to make it as an artist, and Yuki's son Jay who, as an adult in the present day, is forced to confront his mother who abandoned him when he was only two years old.HARMLESS LIKE YOU is an unforgettable novel about the complexities of identity, art, adolescent friendships and familial bonds, offering a unique exploration of love, loneliness and reconciliation.

Two Roads

The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark

'ORIGINAL AND ENTHRALLING' Guardian'COMPLETELY ENCHANTING' Penny Vincenzi Longlisted for the IMPAC AwardElizabeth Pringle lived all her long life on the Scottish island of Arran. But did anyone really know her? In her will she leaves her beloved house, Holmlea, to a stranger - a young mother she'd seen pushing a pram down the road over thirty years ago. It now falls to Martha, once the baby in that pram, to answer the question: why? Martha is coping with her mother's dementia and the possibility of a new life on Arran could be a new start.A captivating story for fans of Rosamund Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Rachel Joyce of the richness behind the so-called ordinary lives of women and the secrets and threads that hold them together.

Hodder Paperbacks

Trackers

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
John Murray

The Girl on the Stairs

Louise Welsh
Authors:
Louise Welsh

Jane Logan is six months pregnant and has moved to Berlin to live with her long-term lover, rich banker, Petra. The women's chic new apartment is in a trendy part of the city but Jane finds herself increasingly uneasy there. She conceives a dread of the derelict backhouse across the courtyard and begins to suspect something sinister is happening in the flat next door, where gynaecologist Alban Mann lives with his teenage daughter Anna. Petra believes her lover's pregnancy is affecting her judgement, but Jane is increasingly convinced that all is not well. Her decision to turn detective has devastating results when her own past collides with the past of the building and its inhabitants.A haunting, atmospheric novel from the acclaimed author of The Cutting Room.

Hodder & Stoughton

Triple Alliance

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Having won the Battle of Dunbar in 1650, Oliver Cromwell, Lord Protector of England, sought to bring Scotland also under his protectorate. When he eventually returned to England, leaving General George Monk in command, one of the Roundhead officers left behind was Colonel James Stansfield, who was made 'governor' of Haddingtonshire. Stansfield befriended two Haddingtonshire lairds whom he had captured at Dunbar, Patrick, Lord Elibank and George Hepburn of Monkrigg; and the three of them worked together to establishing cloth-mills at Haddington, making use of the great quantities of wool from the sheep-strewn Lammermuir Hills. This enterprise grew and acheived nationwide importance. But it also produced dramatic consequences and unforeseen developments for the trio.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

The Ascent of Media

Roger Parry
Authors:
Roger Parry
Hodder Paperbacks

Insurrection

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

GEORGINA LAYCOCK ACQUIRES THE BEST YEAR YET BY SOPHIE HOWARTH

John Murray Acquires The Best Year Yet

Rolf Dobelli’s The Art of Thinking Clearly has now sold over one million copies worldwide.

International Bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly passes One Million mark

International Bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly passes One Million mark

Chapter I

THE ROUNDABOUT MAN, by Clare Morrall

Read the first chapter of Clare Morrall's THE ROUNDABOUT MAN.

Chapter One: Suicide Corner

SCARP by Nick Papadimitriou

Read the first chapter of Nick Papadimitriou's SCARP.