Related to: 'Kay Langdale'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'Kay Langdale has got the knack of writing books that you carry on sitting in an empty carriage for a few extra minutes to finish, to stay a little longer with her characters' Lucy Dillon (author of A Hundred Pieces of Me)'There's no doubt Langdale is a wonderful writer, plots beautifully and is brilliant at showing her characters' inner worlds' Daily Mail What happens when difficult mothering makes you a difficult woman?Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don't know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy's care who constantly watch over Anna's parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else - including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.And now Anna can't seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can't help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.'I read the book in one sitting . . . This could well be my book of 2017: so much of the moment, but completely timeless' The Book Bag. . . And in your words:'Nothing I can say can go anywhere near conveying how good it is' Vicki D'This is such a special book and I can't praise it highly enough. It's a must read' Jo'[Langdale] is educated and clever in her writing . . . This is a valuable book which pulls you right in from the start' Katharine Kirby'I can't stop thinking about these characters - they feel like real people to me' RatherTooFondofBooks

Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale

A Foyles best book of 2017'Langdale is excellent . . . The Brittle Star is a great beginning to what I hope is a long and productive career' GuardianPerfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and True Grit, The Brittle Star is the epic story of a young man's unquenchable spirit.When his mother's ranch is attacked, sixteen-year-old John Evert is wounded and left to die. But John Evert is no ordinary young man. He's a frontiersman's son, a rancher who's lived his whole life in the untamed Southern California wilderness of 1860. In a journey that will take him from the bustling young city of Los Angeles to Texas to Missouri and back, to the front lines of the American Civil War and home again, John Evert will learn the cost of vengeance and the price of forgiveness.'Pacy, thrilling, well-plotted . . . an extraordinary debut novel' Andrew Roberts, author of A History of the English-Speaking Peoples Since 1900

Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

*WINNER OF RICHARD AND JUDY AUTUMN BOOK CLUB 2017 - 'One of the most charming novels either of us has read. Don't lose it. Keep it' Richard & Judy**The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers**One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer'*Meet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'...Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters...'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily MailThis book has been published with two different covers and may be delivered with either a blue or a yellow cover. Please rest assured that regardless of the cover, the content of the book is the same.And if you loved The Keeper of Lost Things, don't miss Ruth Hogan's second novel The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, which is out now

Mulholland Books

Ruler of the Night

David Morrell
Authors:
David Morrell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Comfort of Others

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'Reading it on the train I had to fight not to sob in public . . . Langdale is a wonderful writer' (Daily Mail on Away from You) Perfect for readers of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell. Minnie and her sister Clara, spinsters both, live in a dilapidated country house in the middle of a housing estate, built when their father sold off the family's land. Now in their seventies, their days follow a well-established routine: long gone are the garden parties, the tennis lessons and their suffocatingly strict mother. Gone, too, is any mention of what happened when Minnie was sixteen, and the secret the family buried in the grounds of their estate.Directly opposite them lives Max, an 11-year-old whose life with his mum has changed beyond recognition since her new boyfriend arrived. Cast aside, he takes solace in Minnie's careful routine, observed through his bedroom window.Over the course of the summer, both begin to tell their stories: Max through a Dictaphone, Minnie through a diary. As their tales intertwine, ghosts are put to rest and challenges faced, in a story that is as dark as it is uplifting.

Two Roads

Blackout

Sarah Hepola
Authors:
Sarah Hepola

A raw, vivid and ultimately uplifting memoir of addiction and recovery from the Salon.com personal essays editor, in the spirit of Drinking: A Love Story and Wild.For Sarah Hepola, alcohol was 'the gasoline of all adventure'. She spent her evenings at cocktail parties and dark bars where she proudly stayed till last call. Drinking felt like freedom, part of her birthright as a strong, enlightened twenty-first-century woman.But there was a price. She often blacked out, waking up with a blank space where four hours should be. Mornings became detective work on her own life. What did I say last night? How did I meet that guy? She apologized for things she couldn't remember doing, as though she were cleaning up after an evil twin. Publicly, she covered her shame with self-deprecating jokes, and her career flourished, but as the blackouts accumulated, she could no longer avoid a sinking truth. The fuel she thought she needed was draining her spirit instead.A memoir of unblinking honesty and poignant, laugh-out-loud humor, BLACKOUT is the story of a woman stumbling into a new kind of adventure-the sober life she never wanted. Shining a light into her blackouts, she discovers the person she buried, as well as the confidence, intimacy, and creativity she once believed came only from a bottle. Her tale will resonate with anyone who has been forced to reinvent themselves or struggled in the face of necessary change. It's about giving up the thing you cherish most-but getting yourself back in return.

Hodder Paperbacks

Those Who Wish Me Dead

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

Away From You

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Choose Me

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

Billy is only nine years old, but he's already learned that when your mum dies, you get your own social worker. He's also learned that once you are ten, the odds of finding a family to adopt you don't look so good. That's the part he wasn't supposed to overhear. Miriam Riley is up against a deadline to give Billy the 'forever family' that every child deserves. Determined to cut through red tape, she finds three very different couples who might fit the bill, though prospective parents come with issues of their own. Through Billy's watchful eyes, the summer unfolds. What does he really need? Will anyone choose him?

Hodder Paperbacks

Dead at Daybreak

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder Paperbacks

Heart Of The Hunter

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

The big man known as 'Tiny' has a past littered with violence and death. An assassin's past that he hopes never to face again.But when his best friend is kidnapped, Tiny suddenly finds himself on the back of a stolen motorbike, speeding away from his child and the woman he loves.Tiny has only 72 hours in which to deliver a computer disk that one group of people would kill to possess, and another would kill to destroy. If he fails, his best friend dies.HEART OF THE HUNTER is the tale of one man's struggle for survival against a corrupt government, a group of bloodthirsty killers and most of all, against his past.

Hodder Paperbacks

Devil's Peak

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

Her Giant Octopus Moment

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

When a surrogate mother pretends the pregnancy has miscarried, and bears a daughter - to whom does the child belong? To her runaway birth mother, or her grieving father and his wife? Scout, born as a result of a surrogacy arrangement, is kept by her biological mother, Joanie, who has deliberately deceived both the clinic and Scout's intended parents by claiming to have had a miscarriage. When this deception comes to light ten years later, a compelling moral dilemma unfolds as Joanie makes her situation worse in the eyes of the law and social services by going on the run. Scout is shown to be a resourceful, anxious, perceptive child. She craves normality in the face of her mother's restlessness and unaccountability. There is pathos in her attempts to create order and routine in her life. She focuses on trying to home-school herself, and on maximising the adult relationships around her. She is loyal to her mother, and loves her deeply, despite being aware of her inconsistencies. Will the Family Court make the right decision for this vulnerable and determined little girl?

Hodder & Stoughton

Trackers

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Pile of Stuff at the Bottom of the Stairs

Christina Hopkinson
Authors:
Christina Hopkinson

Mary doesn't know what makes her angrier - the way he doesn't quite reach the laundry basket when he throws his dirty clothes at it (but never walks over and picks them up and puts them in), or the balled-up tissues he leaves on the bedside table when he has a cold, or the way he never completely empties the dishwasher, but leaves the 'difficult' things for her to put away. Is it that because she is 'only working part-time' she is responsible for everything on the domestic front? Or is it, simply, that he puts used teabags in the sink? Mary is the mother of two young boys - she knows how you're supposed to get the behaviour you want. So now she's designing the spousal equivalent of a star chart. Every little thing her husband does wrong is going on it. And yes, she know you're supposed to reward the good behaviour rather than punish the bad, but obviously the rules for those in middle age are different than the rules for those not even in middle school . . .(P)2011 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Thirteen Hours

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

About Kay Langdale

Kay Langdale is the author of four novels: CHOOSE ME, HER GIANT OCTOPUS MOMENT, WHAT THE HEART KNOWS (Rowohlt, Germany) and REDEMPTION (Transita; published as IF NOT LOVE by Thomas Dunne Books.) Born in Coventry, she lives in Oxfordshire with her husband...

Kay Langdale on Away From You

Kay Langdale discusses her latest novel, AWAY FROM YOU.

Chapter One

RIVER OF SMOKE, by Amitav Ghosh

Read the first chapter of Amitav Ghosh's RIVER OF SMOKE, the second book of his Ibis trilogy.

Chapter One

A MOST WANTED MAN, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's A MOST WANTED MAN.