Related to: 'Michael Koryta'

Hodder & Stoughton

If She Wakes

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Mulholland Books

Deception Cove

Owen Laukkanen
Authors:
Owen Laukkanen

From the acclaimed author of the Gale Force comes a compelling new thriller for fans of CJ Box and David Baldacci.Widowed while deployed overseas, former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life with little more than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a dog - Lucy, a black and white pitbull mix trained to help Jess cope with the crippling memories of her time in Afghanistan. But Jess also inherits a heap of trouble, of her late husband Ty's making. A corrupt deputy sheriff comes looking for a mysterious package - and leaves with Lucy, threatening to have the dog destroyed unless Jess delivers the goods allegedly stolen by her husband before his untimely death.The next person to appear on her doorstep is a newly released ex-convict. Surprisingly, he's there to help. The only good thing to come of Mason Burke's fifteen years in prison was the dog he trained there for a service-animal program - Lucy. She helped keep him sane; now he'll stop at nothing to keep her safe. Forced into an uneasy alliance in order to save Lucy, Jess and Mason must learn to trust each other. But finding Ty's package is only the start of their battle. To avoid becoming collateral damage in someone else's private war, they'll have to fight back - and conquer their own doubts and fears. DECEPTION COVE is a gripping story of survival and redemption set in the Pacific Northwest's most beautiful and most dangerous coastal terrain.

Hodder & Stoughton

How it Happened

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

'How it Happened is precise and thrilling with an offbeat charm. Koryta in his finest moments is reminiscent of Stephen King . . . Terrific' Metro'A remarkable achievement that rises high above the genre' Nelson DeMille'And that is how it happened. Can we stop now?'Kimberly Crepeaux is a notorious jailhouse snitch and opioid addict whose petty crimes are well known to the locals in her rural Maine community. So when she confesses to her role in the brutal murders of Jackie Pelletier and Ian Kelly, the daughter of a prominent local family and her sweetheart, few believe her story.Except FBI interrogation specialist Rob Barrett. He knows that Kimberly's story - a dope-fuelled hit and run followed by a violent stabbing - is how it happened. But one thing remains elusive: where are the bodies? Barrett stakes his name and reputation on the truth of Kimberly's confession, only to have the bodies turn up two hundred miles from where she said they'd be, shot in the back and covered in a different suspect's DNA. The case is quickly closed and Barrett forcibly reassigned. But for Howard Pelletier, the tragedy of his daughter's murder cannot be so easily forgotten. And for Barrett, whose career may already be over, the chance to help a grieving father may be the only one he has left.How It Happened is a frightening, tension-filled ride into the dark heart of rural America.

Mulholland Books

Rusty Puppy

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder Paperbacks

Rise the Dark

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Mark Novak's greatest mystery might just be his own ...Private Investigator Mark Novak's relentlessness as an investigator has been his professional calling card and curse, but the one case he has couldn't bring himself to pursue is the one closest to his heart: that of his wife's death.Returning to the scene of her murder, a country road outside Cassadaga, Florida, he uncovers disturbing leads that show how her murder might be connected to Novak's own troubled youth in Montana. The investigation leads him back to the mining towns of Montana which he thought he'd left behind forever. On returning, he discovers there are more than just bad memories to be found when you go digging up the past. Novak faces an adversary more frightening than he's ever known, and a secret that has wended its way through his entire life: from the caverns beneath Indiana to the abandoned streets of a southern gothic town to the darkest corners of the Northwest. Novak is about to discover that evil and heroism are inextricably and tragically linked.

Mulholland Books

The Two-Bear Mambo

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Words

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder Paperbacks

Those Who Wish Me Dead

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

When Jace Wilson accidentally witnesses a brutal murder, his life is changed forever. An ordinary teenager growing up in Indiana, Jace is suddenly forced into the Witness Protection Program and given a new name and history. Taken in by a couple ho run a wilderness program for young boys, Jace finds himself hiking through the Montana mountains, tortured by his memories and by the fear that he'll never be safe again.The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are two of the most heinous criminals the country has ever known. Jace was the one person to catch them in the act, and he slipped through their fingers. Now they've tracked him down and are making their way across the country, ruthlessly slaughtering anyone who gets in their way.

Hodder Paperbacks

Envy the Night

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

It's been seven years since Frank discovered his father's dark secret: that he was a U.S. Marshal a contract killer who committed suicide to avoid prosecution. Now Devin Matteson the man who betrayed his father - drawing him into the killing game and then handing him over to the FBI - is coming home to the Wisconsin lake that was once hallowed ground for both families. But this is a homecoming Frank knows he cannot allow.But when Frank arrives at Matteson's old cabin he finds only a strange beautiful woman and a nervous man with a gun; Matteson is nowhere to be seen. When a pair of deadly assassins arrive on the scene the sensible thing would be for Frank to contact the police but Frank's father was nothing if not a good teacher and his son a willing pupil . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Silent Hour

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder Paperbacks

A Welcome Grave

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Lincoln Perry was once a rising star on the Cleveland police force, until he was kicked out after he got in a fight with Alex Jefferson, the millionaire his fiancée left him for. When Jefferson is tortured and murdered, it isn't long before the police are at Lincoln's door asking questions.Things go from bad to worse when Lincoln agrees to do a favour for Jefferson's widow - to track down the dead man's son who has unknowingly inherited his millions. What should be a routine search for a missing person ends with the son's body lying in the morgue and Lincoln in jail.Lincoln realises that Jefferson's millions are the target of a thirst for revenge that hasn't been satisfied by blood. But soon Lincoln is being pursued by a pair of deadly assailants and under pressure from the police, who are determined to put him back behind bars, if he survives long enough to make it there . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Prophet

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Two brothers with a shared tragic past, caused by a two-second decision that haunts them both. One decides to avenge it. The other, to forgive. Both will pay for their choices - more than they could ever imagine.When he was a teenager, Adam Austin made a decision that led to the death of his little sister.His brother Kent learned to forgive her murderer but he never forgave Adam.Twenty years later, Kent is the coach of the successful high school football team in Chambers, Ohio and Adam is the town's bail bondsman - someone people turn to when they need help.When the girlfriend of one of Kent's star players asks Adam to track down her father who has just been released from prison, Adam agrees. Days later, she is murdered at the address he gave her.Overwhelmed by guilt in this horrifying echo of the past - Adam is determined to atone for his mistakes.But this is a game outside of the brothers' control. And every decision they make is matter of life and death . . .THE PROPHET is the story of family, of guilt and redemption. Epic in its page-turning power, building suspense all the way to its viscerally compelling climax.

Hodder & Stoughton

7 Days

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder Paperbacks

Sorrow's Anthem

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder Paperbacks

Tonight I Said Goodbye

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Investigator and former Marine Wayne Weston is found at home, killed by a single gunshot wound to the head, the gun still lying in his right hand. There is no sign of his wife and six-year-old daughter.The police believe Wayne Weston killed his family before turning the gun on himself. Weston's father is convinced his son was murdered. He turns to Lincoln Perry, former cop, now private investigator, for help.All the evidence supports the police's conclusions, but as soon as he starts asking questions, Lincoln hears rumours of gambling, extortion, and links to Cleveland's Russian mob. When the FBI asks him to back off, followed by a second murder, Lincoln is more determined than ever to uncover the truth, even if that means putting himself in danger . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Ridge

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cypress House

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

So Cold The River

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Ninety-five-year-old millionaire Campbell Bradford is dying.His family have hired ex-filmmaker Eric Shaw to make a documentary about him, but Campbell's childhood is shrouded in mystery. The only clues to his past are the name of his hometown and an antique glass water bottle that he's kept his entire life.Arriving in West Baden with the bottle and a camera, Shaw begins to have vivid and disturbing visions. And the more he finds out about the town and the man, the more he suspects that something besides the West Baden Springs Hotel has just been restored . . . Something dark and terrifying. And cold.

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

Owen Laukkanen

Owen Laukkanen's Stevens and Windermere novels have been nominated for the Anthony, Barry, Edgar and Thriller Awards. A graduate of the University of British Columbia's Creative Writing program, Laukkanen spent three years in the world of professional poker reporting before turning to fiction. He currently lives in Vancouver with his dog, Lucy.