Related to: 'Danielle Ramsay'

Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello

'Utterly gripped me from beginning to end' Victoria Hislop | 'Move over Ferrante, there's a new Elena in town' Independent | 'There is much beauty and sadness in this slim novel' The Times | 'A novel of crime and darkness that eschews straightforward domestic noir' Guardian **The Times bestseller. Longlisted for the CWA International Dagger. Shortlisted for the TA First Translation Prize.**In the August of 1978, the summer I met Anna Trabuio, my father took a girl into the woods...I was sixteen.He had been gone a long time already, but that was it - not even a year after he lost his job and that boy disappeared - that was when everything broke.1978. Ponte, a small community in Northern Italy. An unbearably hot summer like many others.Elia Furenti is sixteen, living an unremarkable life of moderate unhappiness, until the day the beautiful, damaged Anna returns to Ponte and firmly propels Elia to the edge of adulthood. But then everything starts to unravel.Elia's father, Ettore, is let go from his job and loses himself in the darkest corners of his mind.A young boy is murdered.And a girl climbs into a van and vanishes in the deep, dark woods...Translated by Alex Valente | Winner of an English PEN AwardLonglisted for the CWA International Dagger Award 2018

Sceptre

Factfulness

Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Authors:
Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Cut

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay
Mulholland Books

The Puppet Maker

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay
Mulholland Books

Blood Reckoning

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

A brutal killer is on the loose in this page-turning DI Jack Brady investigation. Fans of Peter James and Tania Carver will love this gripping serial killer thriller.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David Mark on BLIND ALLEYIn the 1970s, a terrifying serial killer stalked the streets of Tynemouth. The press called him the Joker. The crimes stopped - but the man was never caught. And now he's back. A body has been found in a sleazy motel room, murdered in exactly the same way as the Joker's first victims. Is it a copycat? A trick? Or is the Joker at work once more? It's only DI Jack Brady's first day back - and this will be his most twisted case yet. As Brady digs into both the old murders and the new, he must confront revenge, betrayal, love and lies...and a truly ruthless killer.

Mulholland Books

Blind Alley

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

The third Jack Brady case - a gritty murder mystery perfect for fans of Peter James and Tania Carver.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David MarkThree brutal attacks. One near-fatal beating. And a deadly score to settle. DI Jack Brady is riding high after the successful outcome of his previous case, but his world is about to come crashing down.There's a serial rapist plaguing the streets of Whitley Bay. Three young women have been horribly abused, and his boss and the press are screaming for answers. Everything seems to point to his old friend and foe, gangster Martin Madley, though Brady still struggles to believe he's capable of such acts. With time running out before the villain strikes again, Brady must follow every scrap of evidence. But there are forces at work he knows nothing about, and his persistence is leading both him and those close to him ever further into danger...

Hodder Paperbacks

Beyond Belief

Colm O'gorman
Authors:
Colm O'gorman
Hodder Paperbacks

Scarred

Sophie Andrews
Authors:
Sophie Andrews

The shocking story of how exceptionally violent abuse turned one girl to desperate self-harm before turning her life around.Growing up, Sophie carried a terrible secret. She was her father's slave, in the most horrific ways imaginable. At just a few months old she was adopted by a couple that seemed comfortably well off and perfectly respectable to the outside world. But behind closed doors, Sophie's childhood was a living hell. Her father spent the next decade grooming her for abuse and when Sophie's mother left for good, that very night, he told Sophie that from now on she would sleep in his bed. Unable to cope, Sophie spiralled into suicidal misery. She began to self-harm to try and escape the agony. But one day she went too far and at 16, ended up in a psychiatric unit. It was here that she finally confronted the horrors of home and began the painful journey of rebuilding her life. A phenomenally courageous woman, Sophie now works for the Samaritans and helps other young people in need. Harrowing yet compelling, this is a searing and truly inspirational account of overcoming the worst abuse and self-harm.

Chapter One

A MOST WANTED MAN, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's A MOST WANTED MAN.

Chapter One

BROKEN HARBOUR, by Tana French

Read the first chapter of Tana French's newest novel, BROKEN HARBOUR.

Chapter One: A Morning in Vermillion

SHADES OF GREY, by Jasper Fforde

Read the first chapter of Jasper Fforde's brilliant SHADES OF GREY.

Chapter One: Suicide Corner

SCARP by Nick Papadimitriou

Read the first chapter of Nick Papadimitriou's SCARP.

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

Extract

GOLD by Chris Cleave

Read an excerpt of Chris Cleave's GOLD.

By Hodder's Creative Director, Auriol Bishop

January 2011 titles to read by the fire

Creative Director Auriol Bishop takes you through her top picks for January 2011.

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.

Danielle Ramsay talks about the inspiration behind her gritty crime series

Writing the DI Jack Brady Series

Like many writers I knew I wanted to write from an early age, and read voraciously as a child. As I grew older I was drawn to crime fiction but it was the African-American writer Walter Mosley who inspired me to begin the DI Jack Brady series. It was a combination of Mosley’s Easy Rawlins series and his non-fiction book This Year You Write a Novel that gave me the confidence to get started. When I began the first DI Brady book I was advised to write about what I knew which is exactly what I did. I set the series in the small, run-down seaside resort where I lived (and still live despite my bleak depiction of the place) and coupled it with my interest in the darker side of humanity. The town of Whitley Bay offered me the ideal setting for a crime series – and still does. It has a dark element to it and, like any other small town, has its fair share of serious crime which is regularly reported in the local weekly paper. In its heyday Whitley Bay was a popular family seaside resort. Now stag and hen weekend breaks make it a close second to Amsterdam as a party destination. The fact that I live where I write about makes it easier to bring the location to life. Admittedly, I embellish and darken the setting but the stretches of wild beaches and boarded-up buildings along the Promenade make Whitley Bay one of the most atmospheric and inspirational places to write. It offers a dramatic, gritty backdrop for my series and is a continuous source of inspiration. However, I’m not sure that the Whitley Bay Tourist Board appreciates my portrayal of the town, nor some of the residents. I knew from the outset that I wanted to write a series and not a stand-alone. With a series the writer gets the opportunity to build and develop the characters with each book. DI Jack Brady is the archetypal maverick male cop who is typically flawed and the series begins with his personal life in shambles and his career in jeopardy. Ultimately Brady is a good man, albeit a very damaged one with a dark and troubled past. Through the continuation of the series he can be seen to be slowly rebuilding both his private and professional life. I tend to start the day early with a run along the coast and if I can manage it, a horse-ride along the fields and farms beyond Whitley Bay before I start writing. When I am not writing, I immerse myself in the crime genre by either reading or watching something connected to it. Walter Mosley suggests writing for at least three hours every day which I think is a very sensible rule. However, when I am completely submerged in a book then that can change to as much as ten hours, if not more, until I have the first manuscript written. The ideal for me is to work in isolation for at least a month. This is understandably hard to achieve as ‘life’ has a habit of interrupting. Then the hard work begins of editing the manuscript and rewriting it until both myself and my editor are happy with it.

Chapter One

TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's acclaimed TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY, now a major film.

Chapter One: The Old Long Since

RULES OF CIVILITY, by Amor Towles

Read the first chapter of Amor Towles' RULES OF CIVILITY.

Chapter One

THE YELLOW BIRDS by Kevin Powers

Read the first chapter of Kevin Powers' THE YELLOW BIRDS - described by the Guardian as 'a must-read book'.