Related to: 'Kate Rhodes'

Mulholland Books

Cold Bones

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

It's the coldest winter in Hull for years. When McAvoy is told by a concerned stranger that an elderly woman hasn't been seen for a few days, he goes to check on her - only to find her in the bath, encased in ice: the heating off; the windows open; the whole house frozen over. It could be a macabre accident, but McAvoy senses murder. Someone watched her die. As he starts to uncover the victim's story and her connections to a lost fishing trawler, his boss Trish is half a world away, investigating a mysterious death in Iceland. Hull and Iceland have traditionally been united by fishing - in this case, they are linked by a secret concealed for half a century, and a series of brutal killings that have never been connected. Until now - when the secrets of the dead have returned to prey on the living. PRAISE FOR DAVID MARK'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' Daily Mail'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer and an exciting young talent.' Peter James'Aficionados of the grittiest, most trenchant fare love Mark's copper Aector McAvoy, who customarily moves in a darkly realised Hull.' Financial Times

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Winter

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING RICHARD & JUDY PICK AND KINDLE CHART-TOPPING SENSATION. MEET DS AECTOR MCAVOY, AND BEGIN DAVID MARK'S ADDICTIVE CRIME SERIES.DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt. Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer. A masked man, with tears in his eyes...When two more seemingly unconnected people die, the police must work quickly. Only McAvoy can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God - and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.Hooked on Hull? Then check out the second instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Original Skin...

Mulholland Books

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark
Authors:
D.M. Mark

From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes Meshach Stone, a former soldier, lost upon his way. He's been hired as bodyguard by a Canadian academic hunting for the bones of the apostle Simon the Zealot, rumoured to lie somewhere in Lincolnshire. Stone can't see why ancient bones are of interest in a world full of them...but then a woman he briefly loved is killed. As he investigates he realises that she is just one of many... and that some deaths cry out for vengeance. From the twisted imagination of David Mark, author of the McAvoy series, THE ZEALOT'S BONES is historical crime with a difference.

Mulholland Books

Cruel Mercy

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

Two men are taken into the woods. Forced to dig their own graves. But one of them survives the gunshot...The two men travelled from Ireland to America with another man, now missing, presumed guilty. His name is Valentine Teague. Petty criminal, bare-knuckle fighter - and DS Aector McAvoy's brother in law. Back home, Val's being held responsible for the blood spilt in the snowy woods of upstate New York. If McAvoy doesn't find out the truth, all hell will break loose, putting his own family in the crossfire. Investigating proves harder than he could have imagined. New York City is a different world, with different rules. Soon, he finds himself up against squabbling cops, mafias old and new, and the culmination of a crime forty years in the making. All McAvoy can do is the right thing. Even if it kills him...

Mulholland Books

Fire of Lies

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

A gripping new short story in the DS McAvoy series by David Mark, bestselling author of the Richard & Judy pick DARK WINTER. Eight months ago, there was a body in the barrel. Now there's just a mess.DS Aector McAvoy's latest case is proving a hard one to crack.Back in November, Paul Rouse was shot, welded into a beer barrel and sent floating down the Humber. The barrel's been traced to riverside pub The Trawl. It's the kind of place where the locals have plenty of secrets to keep. None of them are talking.To anyone else, the case would be a dead end.But McAvoy always finds a way...Fire of Lies introduces gentle giant McAvoy, his fierce boss Trish, and characters you'd only ever meet in a David Mark novel. It's Hullishly good.

Mulholland Books

Blood Symmetry

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Mulholland Books

River of Souls

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Jude Shelley, the daughter of a prominent cabinet minister, was assaulted and left for dead in the river Thames. Her attacker was never caught. A year later, forensic psychologist Alice Quentin is asked to re-examine the case.Then another body is found: an elderly priest, washed up at Westminster Pier. An ancient glass bead is tied to his wrist. Alice is certain that the Shelleys are hiding something - and that there will be more victims unless she can persuade them to share what they know. The Thames has always been a site of violent sacrifice. And Alice is about to learn that some people still believe in its power...

Mulholland Books

Dead Pretty

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The fifth novel in the DS McAvoy series by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means...DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.

Mulholland Books

The Alice Quentin Collection 1-3

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Mulholland Books

A Bad Death

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

A gripping short story in the DS McAvoy series by David Mark, bestselling author of the Richard & Judy pick DARK WINTER. A Bad Death takes place between books 4 and 5 in the DS McAvoy series,Taking Pity and Dead Pretty. Will Blaylock died while on day release from prison. It was a bad death. But accidents will happen. Detective Sergeant McAvoy isn't convinced, though. And he owes a debt to Will's cellmate Owen Swainson: a debt formed in blood and fear when they came together to catch a killer. But their search for a murderer will rip open old wounds, and force old enemies out of hiding...

Mulholland Books

The Winter Foundlings

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Mulholland Books

A Killing of Angels

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

At the height of a summer heatwave, a killer stalks the City of London.The avenging angel leaves behind a scattering of feathers with each body - but why these victims? What were their sins? Psychologist Alice Quentin only agrees to help out on the case because she owes Detective Don Burns a favour. But soon she finds herself deep in the toxic heart of the Square Mile - a place where money means more than life, and no one can be counted innocent. With fascinating characters and a page-turning plot, Kate Rhodes's novels are perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid.

Mulholland Books

Crossbones Yard

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Crossbones Yard was a burial ground once. Now it's wasteland, tucked away in the back streets of Borough beneath the shadow of the Shard. The perfect place to leave a body...Alice Quentin finds the murder victim lying there - the woman's hand outstretched, as if begging for her help. A psychologist who sometimes works with the Metropolitan police, Alice is no stranger to sick minds. But this case is worse than anything she's seen before, and the killer is determined to make it personal.

Hodder Paperbacks

Killer Tune

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

A fifteen-year-old boy firebombs a building as he listens to Vivaldi's Winter Concerto splicing behind a red hot R 'n' B track. A veteran musician is found dead in an alley with the pulse of an old time reggae classic playing in his pocket. Rap sensation Lord Tribulation discovers his new found stardom threatened when he finds himself in the middle of both incidents. His music is accused of inciting the firebombing, and the dead musician is his father. With the beat of the media and government blasting down his neck, LT's search for the truth about his father's death takes him back to an old flame, and on a retro trail to 1976. A time when music was politics and politics was music. A time when the heat-drenched streets of Notting Hill burst into open rebellion. A time that, as LT gets closer to the truth, could lead straight to his own murder . . .

Claire Askew

Claire Askew is a poet, novelist and the current Writer in Residence at the University of Edinburgh. Her debut novel in progress was the winner of the 2016 Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, and longlisted for the 2014 Peggy Chapman-Andrews (Bridport) Novel Award. Claire holds a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Edinburgh and has won a variety of accolades for her work, including the Jessie Kesson Fellowship and a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award. Her debut poetry collection, This changes things, was published by Bloodaxe in 2016 and shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award and a Saltire First Book Award. In 2016 Claire was selected as a Scottish Book Trust Reading Champion, and she works as the Scotland tutor for women's writing initiatives Write Like A Grrrl! and #GrrrlCon.

Extract

GOLD by Chris Cleave

Read an excerpt of Chris Cleave's GOLD.

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.