Related to: 'Jill Dawson'

Sceptre

The Language of Birds

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

Drawing on the infamous Lord Lucan affair, this compelling novel explores the roots of a shocking murder from a fresh perspective and brings to vivid life an era when women's voices all too often went unheard. In the summer of 1974, Mandy River arrives in London to make a fresh start and begins working as nanny to the children of one Lady Morven. She quickly finds herself in the midst of a bitter custody battle and the house under siege: Lord Morven is having his wife watched. According to Lady Morven, her estranged husband also has a violent streak, yet she doesn't seem the most reliable witness. Should Mandy believe her? As Mandy tries to shield her young charges from harm, her friend Rosemary watches from the wings - an odd girl with her own painful past and a rare gift. This time, though, she misreads the signs.

Mulholland Books

The Binding Song

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton. Welcome to HMP Halvergate.If you're lucky, you'll get to leave. Dr Janet Palmer was glad to take a new job as lead psychologist at a remote Norfolk prison. She may live to regret it...The staff are hostile, violence can break out at any time, no one will tell her what happened to her predecessor, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, driving the prisoners to suicide. Janet is determined to find answers. But the deeper she digs, the more she realises: something is rotten in Halvergate. And it's nothing as simple as ghosts...

Sceptre

Harmless Like You

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

WINNER OF THE 2017 AUTHOR'S CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARD SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 BETTY TRASK PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 BAMB READERS AWARD FOR BREAKTHROUGH AUTHORLONGLISTED FOR THE 2016 JHALAK PRIZE'This brilliant debut novel by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan is cause for celebration.' LORRIE MOOREWritten in startlingly beautiful prose, HARMLESS LIKE YOU is set across New York, Berlin and Connecticut, following the stories of Yuki Oyama, a Japanese girl fighting to make it as an artist, and Yuki's son Jay who, as an adult in the present day, is forced to confront his mother who abandoned him when he was only two years old.HARMLESS LIKE YOU is an unforgettable novel about the complexities of identity, art, adolescent friendships and familial bonds, offering a unique exploration of love, loneliness and reconciliation.

Sceptre

The Crime Writer

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Sceptre

The Tell-Tale Heart

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Sceptre

Lucky Bunny

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

Crime's a man's business. So they say. Who was that small figure then, slender enough to trot along the moonlit track, swift and low, virtually invisible? Who was it that covered the green signal with a glove to stop the train, while the two others took care of the driver and his mate? Could it have been one Queenie Dove, survivor of the Depression and the Blitz, not to mention any number of scrapes with the law?Queenie Dove is a self-proclaimed genius when it comes to thieving and escape. Daring, clever and sexy, she ducked and dived through the streets of London from the East End through Soho to Mayfair, graduating from childhood shop-lifting to more glamorous crimes in the post-war decades. So was she wicked through and through, or more sinned against than sinning? Here she tells a vivacious tale of trickery and adventure, but one with more pain and heartbreak than its heroine cares to admit. Yes, luck often favoured her, but that is only part of the story.

Hodder & Stoughton

Wild Boy

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Sceptre

Fred and Edie

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

In December 1922 Edith Thompson, a smart, bright, lower-middle class woman who worked in a milliner's shop, was tried for conspiring with her young lover Frederick Bywaters to murder her husband, Percy. The sensational trial, which took place in front of heaving crowds at the Old Bailey, unravelled a real life drama as exciting as any blockbuster: an illicit love affair, a back-street abortion, domestic violence, murder and a double execution. Fred and Edie draws together powerful threads between personal memory and public lives, between innocence and responsibility, and between fact and fiction. It is an exploration of a woman caught in the net of her own private fantasy and the conflicts of the era in which she lived, of her muddled attempt to defy convention and reshape her own destiny, and, finally, of the devastation she left in her wake.

Sceptre

The Great Lover

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

In the summer of 1909, seventeen-year-old Nell Golightly is the new maid at the Orchard Tea Gardens in Cambridgeshire when Rupert Brooke moves in as a lodger. Famed for his looks and flouting of convention, the young poet captures the hearts of men and women alike, yet his own seems to stay intact. Even Nell, despite her good sense, begins to fall for him. What is his secret?This captivating novel gives voice to Rupert Brooke himself in a tale of mutual fascination and inner turmoil, set at a time of great social unrest. Revealing a man far more complex and radical than legend suggests, it powerfully conveys the allure - and curse - of charisma.

Sceptre

Watch Me Disappear

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

A ten-year-old girl vanishes without trace from a Fenland village, her body never found. Thirty years on, she comes sharply back to life in the mind's eye of her childhood friend, Tina Humber, who has done her best to put the past behind her. But now, as Tina returns home for a family wedding, she replays her memories in search of what happened, fearing that deep down she has always known who killed Mandy Baker.

Sceptre

Magpie

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

In the dead of night, Lily Waite and her 5-year-old son, Matthew, arrive at their new home on a council estate in East London; their only possessions, two suitcases and a bag of charred remains. Their past is a mystery, Matthew's father nowhere in evidence, and Lily resolute in her need for privacy. But Lily has to come to terms with the events that precipitated her flight from Yorkshire and, as she relaxes enough to allow new relationships into her and her son's life, the secrets of the past finally begin to relinquish their hold on the future.

Sceptre

Trick Of The Light

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Reading Group Guide

THE GREAT LOVER by Jill Dawson

Reading group guide for Jill Dawson's THE GREAT LOVER.

History

Find out about the history of Sceptre, the literary imprint of Hodder & Stoughton.

Jill Dawson, author of LUCKY BUNNY, writes about inspiration for the character of Queenie Dove

Making Mischief

Jill Dawson on the joys of creating a character who always does things her way.

Chapter One: A Morning in Vermillion

SHADES OF GREY, by Jasper Fforde

Read the first chapter of Jasper Fforde's brilliant SHADES OF GREY.

The Sceptre author asks: What do people know of the poet Rupert Brooke?

Jill Dawson writes about Rupert Brooke

Whitebread Award shortlisted author Jill Dawson discusses researching Rupert Brooke for her novel THE GREAT LOVER.

Chapter One

CASANOVA, by Andrew Miller

Read the first chapter of Andrew Miller's CASANOVA.

Extract

GRACE WILLIAMS SAYS IT LOUD, by Emma Henderson

Read an excerpt of Emma Henderson's GRACE WILLIAMS SAYS IT ALL, shortlisted for the Orange Prize 2011.

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.