Related to: 'Fiona Walker'

Coronet

The World Cup Of Everything

Richard Osman
Authors:
Richard Osman

In The World Cup Of Everything Richard Osman* gives you and your friends the chance to vote on some of the most controversial, and funniest arguments of our time.What is the greatest chocolate bar of all?It's the Twirl surely? Maybe Maltesers?What are the greatest crisps of all time? Frazzles of course! Anything but Ready Salted WalkersBest sitcom ever?Hmmm, 'Only Fools And Horses' or 'Blackadder'Best animal?Dog!, No wait, cat! No wait, dog!Hold on, you disagree? You think that Pickled Onion Monster Munch are the best crisps? And 'Mrs. Brown's Boys' is the best sitcom?Play along with The World Cup Of Everything and you and your family and friends can decide these things once and for all. You will be arguing about, then voting on, the best crisps, the best chocolate, the best sweets, the best sitcom, the best Christmas songs, the best Disney films, the best biscuits and so much more.It is also packed with amazing stories and incredible facts on everything from Nandos to 'Die Hard' to Jammie Dodgers.And who wins? You decide!*Richard from Pointless, you know the one.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Comfort of Others

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'Reading it on the train I had to fight not to sob in public . . . Langdale is a wonderful writer' (Daily Mail on Away from You) Perfect for readers of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell, The Comfort of Others is a heart-breaking, thought-provoking novel from the acclaimed author Kay Langdale. Minnie and her sister Clara, spinsters both, live in a dilapidated country house in the middle of a housing estate, built when their father sold off the family's land. Now in their seventies, their days follow a well-established routine: long gone are the garden parties, the tennis lessons and their suffocatingly strict mother. Gone, too, is any mention of what happened when Minnie was sixteen, and the secret the family buried in the grounds of their estate.Directly opposite them lives Max, an 11-year-old whose life with his mum has changed beyond recognition since her new boyfriend arrived. Cast aside, he takes solace in Minnie's careful routine, observed through his bedroom window.Over the course of the summer, both begin to tell their stories: Max through a Dictaphone, Minnie through a diary. As their tales intertwine, ghosts are put to rest and challenges faced, in a story that is as dark as it is uplifting.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Sceptre

Scarp

Nick Papadimitriou
Authors:
Nick Papadimitriou
Hodder & Stoughton

Lots of Love

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

When Ellen Jamieson breaks up with her long-standing boyfriend, she plans to go travelling. But first she agrees to house-sit for her parents, who are trying to find a buyer for their idyllic cottage in the Cotswold village of Oddlode. The village is full of quaint and eccentric characters, both blue-blooded and below the salt, and Ellen is the subject of much speculation. Under the wing of Ophelia ('Touchy Pheely') Gently, an impoverished local sculptor, Ellen goes to an Auction of Promises village fundraiser and wins a mysterious lot of three wishes. These have been donated by Jasper Belling, the incredibly gorgeous prodigal son of the local lord of the manor. Falling in love with a notorious hell-raiser is the last thing Ellen intended, and the convoluted scandals of the villagers put many obstacles in the way of the young lovers. Several ancient skeletons come rattling out of various cupboards before a no-holds-barred, loved-up finale.

Hodder & Stoughton

Love Hunt

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

The announcement of a grand Treasure Hunt sets the Lodes Valley ladies' hearts aflutter. The cash is only part of the appeal: a win could solve several romantic dilemmas. Pixie Guinness sees the quest as a route back to her wayward husband while Pheely is spurred into a covert affair. Faith hopes to snare true love, Rory; and Liv - well, Liv just wants distraction from the boredom of country life.But it is Trudy who finds the trail of clues leads her in quite a different direction, and one closer and closer to temptation. Is she chasing a rainbow or just chasing her own tail? As the hunt reaches its climax, the competitors find they are fighting for the highest prize of all - their own happy ending.(P)2009 ISIS Publishing Ltd

Hodder & Stoughton

Handbags and Halos

Bernadette Strachan
Authors:
Bernadette Strachan

Nell Fitzgerald worries that her life is shallow and meaningless. She's right - it is. Stricken by an acute pre-mid-life crisis, she's walked out on her obstreperous boyfriend, moved in with her icy Knightsbridge grandmother and been forced to assume the role of faux girlfriend to closet gay TV presenter, Blair Taylor, by her merciless boss at the Morgan theatrical agency.In a desperate bid to inject a little depth into her existence, Nell enrols at 'Helping Hands' volunteer centre. There the frighteningly grown up coordinator, Phred, looks on in bemusement as a series of mishaps lead her to discover that 'doing good' doesn't offer the immediate rewards she'd bargained for.Can Nell juggle the demands of her two very different worlds as well as her eccentric family, perplexed girlfriends and unexpected feelings for Phred?

Hodder & Stoughton

Kiss Chase

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

Felix Sylvian is a charming, silken-tongued dilettante; he has the sex-appeal of a school-girl's day-dream and the soul of a poet. But he has one nasty habit he can't seem to break: a sadistic tendency to ride rough-shod over any girl foolish enough to fall for him.Saskia Seaton is Felix's latest victim. Once a beautiful, precocious, aspiring actress, she is now a suicidal wreck after a whirlwind affair with Felix and a force ten finale. Retreating to lick her wounded pride, she decides she wants poetic justice.And her friend Phoebe's the one to get it. With Saskia's help, Phoebe will become Felix's dream woman. She will pursue him across his London playground and seduce him until he falls in love with her and then she will drop him just as he has so many women in the past. But Phoebe doesn't realise that when she tries to break Felix's nasty habit, she'll find herself breaking her own heart.

Hodder & Stoughton

Between Males

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

When you have it all except true love, you still want more.Odette, who looks like Linda Lusardi in a DKNY suit and has more zeros at the end of her bank balance than an astronomer's altimeter, decides to throw up the high-powered job that doesn't leave time for relationships and start her own club/restaurant. But the venture seems doomed before it has even begun, cursed by a seductive sleeping partner who sleeps around, and a rival chef who is as gorgeous as Jean-Christophe Novelli and as temperamental as Marco Pierre White. When a tall, bullying South African game ranger joins her law suitors and triples her interest, Odette plots their downfall. If revenge is a dish best eaten cold, where better to serve it than in a restaurant? But as she jumps from the frying pan into the fire, she might end up getting her heart broken, her fingers burnt and her goose cooked . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

French Relations

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker
Hodder & Stoughton

Well Groomed

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

When Tash French's potty grandmother mistakes a Christmas cracker engagement ring for the genuine article, a wedding of astronomical proportions is planned. Swept away by everyone's enthusiasm, Tash and her partner Niall can do little but laugh and go along with it. After all, they had meant to marry all along, hadn't they?As the wedding plans escalate, however, Tash starts to have doubts. Niall, a rising acting star, is always working away from home, forgetting important dates and falling in love with his leading ladies, and her own eyes keep wandering to a roguish fellow event rider. Even if the best man wins, Tash looks likely to give away more than her hand in marriage - she may lose her head and her heart as well . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Snap Happy

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

A budding stand-up comic, Juno is voluptuous, hedonistic, funny and terminally untidy. On her thirtieth birthday she decides to have a wild one-night stand to mark the occasion. But seducing her new flatmate before he's had a chance to unpack his belongings is not a wise move. Just over from New York, Jay Mulligan is intense, mysterious, and as Juno joyously discovers, far better than breakfast in bed. It's only when they get out of that bed on the wrong side three days later that the problems start.

Hodder Paperbacks

Four Play

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

Despite her broken heart, when Dilly Gently joins Magnus Olensen's new band, the chemistry between them is explosive. Both impossibly romantic dizzy blondes with the souls of poets, they could be made for each other. But before they have chance to declare themselves, Dilly's friend Nell confides that she has a huge crush on Magnus, and Dilly nobly steps down in order to play reluctant matchmaker. Nell returns the favour by setting her friend up with her dashing twin brother Flipper. But Flipper the bounder is not a good rebound for a true romantic. He hides a secret that could break Dilly's heart all over again . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Tongue in Cheek

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker
Hodder Paperbacks

Lucy Talk

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

16 Hilarious Dating Profiles of Famous Fictional Characters

An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.

First Chapter

THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN, By Siri Hustvedt

Read the first chapter of Siri Hustvedt's THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN.

Chapter One

BROKEN HARBOUR, by Tana French

Read the first chapter of Tana French's newest novel, BROKEN HARBOUR.

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

Chapter One

THE LIFE OF AN UNKNOWN MAN, by Andreï Makine

Read the first chapter of Andreï Makine's THE LIFE OF AN UNKNOWN MAN.