Related to: 'Fiona Walker'

Coronet

The World Cup Of Everything

Richard Osman
Authors:
Richard Osman

In The World Cup Of Everything Richard Osman* gives you and your friends the chance to vote on some of the most controversial, and funniest arguments of our time.What is the greatest chocolate bar of all?It's the Twirl surely? Maybe Maltesers?What are the greatest crisps of all time? Frazzles of course! Anything but Ready Salted WalkersBest sitcom ever?Hmmm, 'Only Fools And Horses' or 'Blackadder'Best animal?Dog!, No wait, cat! No wait, dog!Hold on, you disagree? You think that Pickled Onion Monster Munch are the best crisps? And 'Mrs. Brown's Boys' is the best sitcom?Play along with The World Cup Of Everything and you and your family and friends can decide these things once and for all. You will be arguing about, then voting on, the best crisps, the best chocolate, the best sweets, the best sitcom, the best Christmas songs, the best Disney films, the best biscuits and so much more.It is also packed with amazing stories and incredible facts on everything from Nandos to 'Die Hard' to Jammie Dodgers.And who wins? You decide!*Richard from Pointless, you know the one.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Comfort of Others

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'Reading it on the train I had to fight not to sob in public . . . Langdale is a wonderful writer' (Daily Mail on Away from You) Perfect for readers of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell, The Comfort of Others is a heart-breaking, thought-provoking novel from the acclaimed author Kay Langdale. Minnie and her sister Clara, spinsters both, live in a dilapidated country house in the middle of a housing estate, built when their father sold off the family's land. Now in their seventies, their days follow a well-established routine: long gone are the garden parties, the tennis lessons and their suffocatingly strict mother. Gone, too, is any mention of what happened when Minnie was sixteen, and the secret the family buried in the grounds of their estate.Directly opposite them lives Max, an 11-year-old whose life with his mum has changed beyond recognition since her new boyfriend arrived. Cast aside, he takes solace in Minnie's careful routine, observed through his bedroom window.Over the course of the summer, both begin to tell their stories: Max through a Dictaphone, Minnie through a diary. As their tales intertwine, ghosts are put to rest and challenges faced, in a story that is as dark as it is uplifting.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Sceptre

Scarp

Nick Papadimitriou
Authors:
Nick Papadimitriou
Hodder & Stoughton

Lots of Love

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

When Ellen Jamieson breaks up with her long-standing boyfriend, she plans to go travelling. But first she agrees to house-sit for her parents, who are trying to find a buyer for their idyllic cottage in the Cotswold village of Oddlode. The village is full of quaint and eccentric characters, both blue-blooded and below the salt, and Ellen is the subject of much speculation. Under the wing of Ophelia ('Touchy Pheely') Gently, an impoverished local sculptor, Ellen goes to an Auction of Promises village fundraiser and wins a mysterious lot of three wishes. These have been donated by Jasper Belling, the incredibly gorgeous prodigal son of the local lord of the manor. Falling in love with a notorious hell-raiser is the last thing Ellen intended, and the convoluted scandals of the villagers put many obstacles in the way of the young lovers. Several ancient skeletons come rattling out of various cupboards before a no-holds-barred, loved-up finale.

Hodder & Stoughton

Love Hunt

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker
Hodder & Stoughton

Handbags and Halos

Bernadette Strachan
Authors:
Bernadette Strachan
Hodder & Stoughton

Between Males

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

When you have it all except true love, you still want more.Odette, who looks like Linda Lusardi in a DKNY suit and has more zeros at the end of her bank balance than an astronomer's altimeter, decides to throw up the high-powered job that doesn't leave time for relationships and start her own club/restaurant. But the venture seems doomed before it has even begun, cursed by a seductive sleeping partner who sleeps around, and a rival chef who is as gorgeous as Jean-Christophe Novelli and as temperamental as Marco Pierre White. When a tall, bullying South African game ranger joins her law suitors and triples her interest, Odette plots their downfall. If revenge is a dish best eaten cold, where better to serve it than in a restaurant? But as she jumps from the frying pan into the fire, she might end up getting her heart broken, her fingers burnt and her goose cooked . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

French Relations

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

Fancy spending the summer in a fabulous Loire chateau?Broken-hearted and jobless, Tash does, even though it means close proximity to her large and unruly family and assorted hangers-on.Sun, Sancerre and sexual tension make for deliciously bad behaviour - even Rooter the dog has a permanent hangover. And with so much French kissing, it's not surprising that at least two people fall in love . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Well Groomed

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker
Hodder & Stoughton

Snap Happy

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

A budding stand-up comic, Juno is voluptuous, hedonistic, funny and terminally untidy. On her thirtieth birthday she decides to have a wild one-night stand to mark the occasion. But seducing her new flatmate before he's had a chance to unpack his belongings is not a wise move. Just over from New York, Jay Mulligan is intense, mysterious, and as Juno joyously discovers, far better than breakfast in bed. It's only when they get out of that bed on the wrong side three days later that the problems start.

Hodder Paperbacks

Four Play

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker
Hodder Paperbacks

Tongue in Cheek

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

From the very first day that they move to the Oddlode Valley, it's inevitable that young teacher Mo Stillitoe, recently separated socialite Diana Lampeter and cool, retired dressage diva Anke Brakespear will find their lives entangled. Despite their differing generations and backgrounds, the women are on a relocation collision course. As inept removal men deliver furniture - and even horses - to the wrong houses, other moves are being made . . . Mo's bad boy lover takes Diana's eye, Anke's flirtatious husband immediately suggests Mo hop into bed with him – and Diana's local heart-throb brother comes joyfully face to face with the Danish ice-maiden he posted on his wall as a teenager.As a long, hot Indian summer burns its embers into winter, the newcomers settle into their beautiful frost-hugged surroundings, generating enough heat to melt every heart in Oddlode. New passions ignite and old flames are fanned amid the honeyed villages, enchanted gardens, haunted parkland and raucous country social life. The heat is on, and sparks fly - but is this just a flash in the pan or is somebody fuelling the fire?

Hodder Paperbacks

Lucy Talk

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker
Coronet

Kiss Chase

Fiona Walker
Authors:
Fiona Walker

16 Hilarious Dating Profiles of Famous Fictional Characters

An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.

First Chapter

THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN, By Siri Hustvedt

Read the first chapter of Siri Hustvedt's THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN.

Chapter One

BROKEN HARBOUR, by Tana French

Read the first chapter of Tana French's newest novel, BROKEN HARBOUR.

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

Chapter One

THE LIFE OF AN UNKNOWN MAN, by Andreï Makine

Read the first chapter of Andreï Makine's THE LIFE OF AN UNKNOWN MAN.