Related to: 'Martin Davies'

Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello
Two Roads

The Arab of the Future 2

Riad Sattouf
Authors:
Riad Sattouf
Two Roads

The Arab of the Future

Riad Sattouf
Authors:
Riad Sattouf

VOLUME 1 IN THE UNFORGETTABLE STORY OF AN EXTRAORDINARY CHILDHOODA GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015/2016 | AN OBSERVER GRAPHIC BOOK OF THE YEAR 2016 | A NEW YORK TIMES CRITICS' TOP BOOKS OF 2016 'EXUBERANTLY HERETICAL''I tore through it... The most enjoyable graphic novel I've read in a while' Zadie Smith'I joyously recommend this book to you' Mark Haddon'Riad Sattouf is one of the great creators of our time' Alain De Botton'Beautifully-written and drawn, witty, sad, fascinating... Brilliant' Simon Sebag MontefioreThe Arab of the Future tells the unforgettable story of Riad Sattouf's childhood, spent in the shadows of three dictators - Muammar Gaddafi, Hafez al-Assad, and his father.In striking, virtuoso graphic style that captures both the immediacy of childhood and the fervor of political idealism, Riad Sattouf recounts his nomadic childhood growing up in rural France, Gaddafi's Libya, and Assad's Syria - but always under the roof of his father, a Syrian Pan-Arabist who drags his family along in his pursuit of grandiose dreams for the Arab nation.Riad, delicate and wide-eyed, follows in the trail of his mismatched parents: his mother, a bookish French student, is as modest as his father is flamboyant. Venturing first to the Great Socialist People's Libyan Arab State and then joining the family tribe in Homs, Syria, they hold fast to the vision of the paradise that always lies just around the corner. And hold they do, though food is scarce, children kill dogs for sport, and with locks banned, the Sattoufs come home one day to discover another family occupying their apartment. The ultimate outsider, Riad, with his flowing blond hair, is called the ultimate insult... Jewish. And in no time at all, his father has come up with yet another grand plan, moving from building a new people to building his own great palace.Brimming with life and dark humour, The Arab of the Future reveals the truth and texture of one eccentric family in an absurd Middle East, and also introduces a master cartoonist in a work destined to stand alongside Maus and Persepolis.Translated by Sam Taylor.WINNER OF THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR GRAPHIC NOVELSNOMINATED FOR 'BEST REALITY-BASED WORK' AT THE EISNER AWARDS'ENGROSSING' New York Times'A PAGE TURNER' Guardian'MARVELLOUS... BEGS TO BE READ IN ONE LONG SITTING' Herald'AN OBJECT OF CONSENSUAL RAPTURE' New Yorker'ONE OF THE GREATEST CARTOONISTS OF HIS GENERATION' Le Monde

Mulholland Books

Shanghai Redemption

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong

Now a BBC Radio 4 Drama Series.'The system has no place for a cop who puts justice above the interests of the Party. It's a miracle that I survived as long as I did.' For years, Chen Cao managed to balance the interests of the Communist Party and the demands made by his job. He was considered a rising star until, after one too many controversial cases that embarrassed powerful men, he found himself neutralised. Under the guise of a promotion, he's been stripped of his title and his influence, discredited and isolated. Soon it becomes clear that his enemies still aren't satisfied, and that someone is attempting to have him killed - quietly. Chen has been charged with the investigation into a 'Red Prince' - a high Party figure who embodies the ruthless ambition, greed and corruption that is on the rise in China. But with no power, few allies, and his own reputation and life on the line, he knows he is facing the most dangerous case of his career.

Mulholland Books

Enigma of China

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Mulholland Books

Don't Cry, Tai Lake

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Mulholland Books

The Inspector Chen Collection 1-3

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Hodder & Stoughton

Havana Sleeping

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies
Two Roads

A Century of Wisdom

Caroline Stoessinger
Authors:
Caroline Stoessinger
Hodder Paperbacks

The Year After

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies

DECEMBER 1919. Tom Allen, uncomfortable in London after five years in uniform, receives an invitation to spend Christmas at Hannesford Court.It's almost as if nothing has changed. Cards in the library after dinner. The Boxing Day shoot. The New Year ball. Margot.But Tom hasn't forgotten the professor. A strange meeting in Germany has raised a question in his mind: in all his visits to Hannesford before the War, all those years observing the glittering life of its owners, how much did he ever really see?

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

This Is Not A Drill

Paul Carter
Authors:
Paul Carter
Hodder Paperbacks

Lasting Damage

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The unnervingly good sixth psychological thriller from bestselling crime writer Sophie Hannah, not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Jaw-droppingly assured' Daily Express'A first-class whodunnit' Scotsman Don't go into the other woman's house . . . It's 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she's logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it's for sale; she saw the estate agent's board in the front garden less than six hours ago.Soon Connie is clicking on the 'Virtual Tour' button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there's a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room . . .

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Is that Bike Diesel, Mate?

Paul Carter
Authors:
Paul Carter

Oi, mate, is that monstrosity diesel? From the author of the bestsellers Don't Tell Mum I Work on the Rigs, She Thinks I'm a Piano Player in a Whorehouse and This Is Not a Drill, this is the eagerly awaited next installment of Paul Carter's rollicking life.Take one mad adventurer and a motorbike that runs on bio fuel (cooking oil i.e. chip fat to you and me) and send them with one filmmaker on a road trip around Australia just to see what happens. What you get is a story full of outback characters, implausible (but true) situations, unlikely events and unfortunate breakdowns, all at a break neck pace. Never one to sit still for long, this is what Paul Carter did next.Whether you've been shocked, delighted, entertained, horrified - or all of the above - by Paul's stories whether from oil rigs or the road one thing is for sure, they are always high octane adventures.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Unicorn Road

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies
Mulholland Books

The Mao Case

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Hodder Paperbacks

Will You Be There?

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso

If you could go back in time, what would you do differently? For Eliott, there is no question. To all appearances, his life has been a success. At 60, he is an esteemed surgeon with a daughter he adores. The only thing missing is Ilena - a girl who died thirty years ago. But then he is given an extraordinary opportunity to revisit his past: to go back to San Francisco, when the seventies were in full swing, and find the passionate young doctor who has yet to lose the love of his life.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Conjuror's Bird

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies

A bestselling Richard and Judy Book Club title, The Conjuror's Bird is a dazzling debut novel, spanning three centuries of secrets and surprises.It seems a long time ago that Fitz and Gabby were together, with his work on extinct species about to make him world-famous. Now, it's his career that is almost extinct.Suddenly, though, the beautiful Gabby reappears in his life. She wants his help in tracing the history of The Mysterious Bird of Ulieta, a creature once owned by the great 18th Century naturalist Joseph Banks.It soon becomes clear that Fitz is getting involved in something more complicated - and dangerous - than the search for a stuffed bird.To solve the puzzle, he must uncover the identity of the amazing woman Banks loved - a woman who has disappeared from history as effectively as the specimen he is hunting.A mixture of detection, romance and history, The Conjuror's Bird has all the makings of a word-of-mouth bestseller.

Chapter One

A MOST WANTED MAN, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's A MOST WANTED MAN.

Paul Carter

Paul Carter was born in England in 1969. His father's military career had the family moving all over the world, relocating every few years. Paul has worked in the oil industry now for fifteen years, relocating every few years (old habits). Paul has lived, worked, gotten into trouble and been given a serious talking to in England, Scotland, Germany, France, Holland, Norway, Portugal, Tunisia, Australia, Nigeria, Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, Borneo, Columbia, Vietnam, Thailand, Papua New Guinea, Sumatra, the Philippines, Korea, Japan, China, USA and Saudi Arabia. Today he lives in Perth with his wife, baby daughter and two motorbikes. But who knows where he'll be tomorrow . . .