Related to: 'Martin Davies'

Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello
Two Roads

The Arab of the Future 2

Riad Sattouf
Authors:
Riad Sattouf

VOLUME 2 IN THE UNFORGETTABLE STORY OF AN EXTRAORDINARY CHILDHOODA GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE YEAR | AN OBSERVER GRAPHIC BOOK OF THE YEARA NEW YORK TIMES CRITICS' TOP BOOKS OF 2016 'EXUBERANTLY HERETICAL''I tore through it... The most enjoyable graphic novel I've read in a while' Zadie Smith'I joyously recommend this book to you' Mark Haddon'Riad Sattouf is one of the great creators of our time' Alain De Botton'Beautifully-written and drawn, witty, sad, fascinating... Brilliant' Simon Sebag MontefioreThe first volume of Riad Sattouf's The Arab of the Future introduced young Riad as his family shuttled back and forth between France and the Middle East. Here is the continuation of his heart-rending, darkly comic story. Now settled in his father's village of Ter Maaleh near Homs, Riad finally begins school, where he dedicates himself to becoming a true Syrian in the country of the dictator Hafez Al-Assad. Told simply yet with devastating effect, Riad's story takes in the sweep of Middle Eastern life of the 1980s, but it is steered by acutely observed small moments: the daily sadism of his schoolteachers, the cruelty and vulnerability of his fellow students, and the obsequiousness of his father in the company of those close to the regime. And as the family strains to fit in, one chilling, barbaric act drives the Sattoufs to take the most dramatic of steps. Immediate and gripping, The Arab of the Future 2 once again reveals the inner workings of a tormented country and a tormented family, delivered through Riad Sattouf 's dazzlingly original graphic style.Translated by Sam Taylor.***THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE - THE INTERNATIONAL SENSATION*** #1 BESTSELLER IN FRANCE | GUARDIAN 'BEST GRAPHIC BOOKS OF 2015' PICK | NYTIMES EDITOR'S CHOICE | SELECTED AS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LATIMES, SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, AMAZON.COM, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, NPR | WINNER OF THE FAUVE D'OR PRIZE FOR BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR AT THE ANGOULÊME INTERNATIONAL COMICS FESTIVAL | WINNER OF THE LATIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR GRAPHIC NOVELS | NOMINATED FOR 'BEST REALITY-BASED WORK' AT THE EISNER AWARDS

Two Roads

The Arab of the Future

Riad Sattouf
Authors:
Riad Sattouf
Mulholland Books

Shanghai Redemption

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Mulholland Books

Enigma of China

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Mulholland Books

Don't Cry, Tai Lake

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Mulholland Books

The Inspector Chen Collection 1-3

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong

Chief Inspector Chen wanted to be a poet, but the authorities gave him a job in the Shanghai Police Department. He is an excellent detective, but he can never escape the struggle between what the Party wants and what justice demands. The first three novels in Qiu Xiaolong's awardwinning series offer a glimpse into a fascinating country on the rise and an honourable man making his way in a world that does not always reward honesty.

Hodder Paperbacks

Havana Sleeping

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies
Two Roads

A Century of Wisdom

Caroline Stoessinger
Authors:
Caroline Stoessinger
Hodder & Stoughton

The Year After

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies

DECEMBER 1919. Tom Allen, uncomfortable in London after five years in uniform, receives an invitation to spend Christmas at Hannesford Court.It's almost as if nothing has changed. Cards in the library after dinner. The Boxing Day shoot. The New Year ball. Margot.But Tom hasn't forgotten the professor. A strange meeting in Germany has raised a question in his mind: in all his visits to Hannesford before the War, all those years observing the glittering life of its owners, how much did he ever really see?

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Is that Bike Diesel, Mate?

Paul Carter
Authors:
Paul Carter

Oi, mate, is that monstrosity diesel? From the author of the bestsellers Don't Tell Mum I Work on the Rigs, She Thinks I'm a Piano Player in a Whorehouse and This Is Not a Drill, this is the eagerly awaited next installment of Paul Carter's rollicking life.Take one mad adventurer and a motorbike that runs on bio fuel (cooking oil i.e. chip fat to you and me) and send them with one filmmaker on a road trip around Australia just to see what happens. What you get is a story full of outback characters, implausible (but true) situations, unlikely events and unfortunate breakdowns, all at a break neck pace. Never one to sit still for long, this is what Paul Carter did next.Whether you've been shocked, delighted, entertained, horrified - or all of the above - by Paul's stories whether from oil rigs or the road one thing is for sure, they are always high octane adventures.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lasting Damage

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The unnervingly good sixth psychological thriller from bestselling crime writer Sophie Hannah, not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Jaw-droppingly assured' Daily Express'A first-class whodunnit' Scotsman Don't go into the other woman's house . . . It's 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she's logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it's for sale; she saw the estate agent's board in the front garden less than six hours ago.Soon Connie is clicking on the 'Virtual Tour' button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there's a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Unicorn Road

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies

A young woman leaves her home, summoned to the emperor's court and a husband she barely knows. On the other side of the world, a famous scholar is sent to find and collect the mysterious beasts of legend in the unknown lands of the East. He takes with him an interpreter, Venn, famous for his special gift with language.The two groups of travellers are destined to cross paths, revealing the secret motives and hidden passions of those who are brought together.

Mulholland Books

The Mao Case

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong

Now a BBC Radio 4 Drama Series.Tucked away from the building sites of modern Shanghai are the beautiful mansions once owned by the smartest families in 1930s China. They have since been bought by rich businessmen and high-ranking members of the Communist Party. All except one. The owner is an old painter who holds a glittering party each night: swing jazz plays for his former neighbours, who dance, remember old times and forget for an evening the terrors that followed. But questions are being asked. How can he afford such a lifestyle? His paintings? Blackmail? A triad connection? Prostitution? Inspector Chen is asked to investigate discreetly what is going on behind the elegant façade. But, before he can get close to anyone, one of the girls is found murdered in the garden and another is terrified she will be next.Chen's quest for answers will take Chen to a strange businessman, triads, Chairman Mao himself and a terrible secret the Party will go to any length to conceal.

Hodder Paperbacks

Will You Be There?

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso

If you could go back in time, what would you do differently? For Eliott, there is no question. To all appearances, his life has been a success. At 60, he is an esteemed surgeon with a daughter he adores. The only thing missing is Ilena - a girl who died thirty years ago. But then he is given an extraordinary opportunity to revisit his past: to go back to San Francisco, when the seventies were in full swing, and find the passionate young doctor who has yet to lose the love of his life.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Conjuror's Bird

Martin Davies
Authors:
Martin Davies
Hodder & Stoughton

Ingenious Pain

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Chapter One

A MOST WANTED MAN, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's A MOST WANTED MAN.

Paul Carter

Paul Carter was born in England in 1969. His father's military career had the family moving all over the world, relocating every few years. Paul has worked in the oil industry now for fifteen years, relocating every few years (old habits). Paul has lived, worked, gotten into trouble and been given a serious talking to in England, Scotland, Germany, France, Holland, Norway, Portugal, Tunisia, Australia, Nigeria, Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, Borneo, Columbia, Vietnam, Thailand, Papua New Guinea, Sumatra, the Philippines, Korea, Japan, China, USA and Saudi Arabia. Today he lives in Perth with his wife, baby daughter and two motorbikes. But who knows where he'll be tomorrow . . .