Related to: 'Jill Paton Walsh'

Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello

'Utterly gripped me from beginning to end' Victoria Hislop'Move over Ferrante, there's a new Elena in town' Independent'There is much beauty and sadness in this slim novel' The Times'A novel of crime and darkness that eschews straightforward domestic noir' GuardianIn the August of 1978, the summer I met Anna Trabuio, my father took a girl into the woods...I was sixteen.He had been gone a long time already, but that was it - not even a year after he lost his job and that boy disappeared - that was when everything broke.1978. Ponte, a small community in Northern Italy. An unbearably hot summer like many others.Elia Furenti is sixteen, living an unremarkable life of moderate unhappiness, until the day the beautiful, damaged Anna returns to Ponte and firmly propels Elia to the edge of adulthood. But then everything starts to unravel.Elia's father, Ettore, is let go from his job and loses himself in the darkest corners of his mind.A young boy is murdered.And a girl climbs into a van and vanishes in the deep, dark woods...Translated by Alex Valente | Winner of an English PEN Award

Hodder Paperbacks

Hangman's Holiday

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Have His Carcase

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Lord Peter Views the Body

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The fourth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by thriller writer Christopher Fowler - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Lord Peter Wimsey - expert on subjects as diverse as crosswords and cats - displays his detective genius in some of the cleverest mysteries ever devised.One solution requires expertise in fine wines; another calls on his knowledge of fine art. Lord Peter has the knack of being on the spot at just the right time to spot a thief or blackmail a blackmailer. Or even prevent a murder... Whatever the occasion, the aristocratic detective uses his razor-sharp mind and unerring instincts to unmask the guilty and go to the aid of their victims. 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

Whose Body?

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The first book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series introduced by crime writer Laura Wilson - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. It was the body of a tall stout man. On his dead face, a handsome pair of gold pince-nez mocked death with grotesque elegance.The body wore nothing else.Lord Peter Wimsey knew immediately what the corpse was supposed to be. His problem was to find out whose body had found its way into Mr Alfred Thipps' Battersea bathroom.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detection skills at their most spectacular.The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero.This book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

A Presumption of Death

Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

The Late Scholar

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder & Stoughton

Debts of Dishonour

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder & Stoughton

A Piece of Justice

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh

Biography is usually a safe profession. Even rather sedate. But more than one biographer has found that writing about the late great mathematician Gideon Summerfield leads to a hasty retreat. Or something more deadly... Imogen Quy, the coolly competent college nurse at St. Agatha's College, Cambridge, first notices the pattern when her enthusiastic lodger Fran becomes the latest Summerfield biographer. Before she realises how deadly the Summerfield secret is, Fran's life is in danger. And Imogen may be next...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Attenbury Emeralds

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh

It was 1921 when Lord Peter Wimsey first encountered the Attenbury emeralds. The recovery of the magnificent gem in Lord Attenbury's most dazzling heirloom made headlines - and launched a shell-shocked young aristocrat on his career as a detective. Now it is 1951: a happily married Lord Peter has just shared the secrets of that mystery with his wife, the detective novelist Harriet Vane. Then the new young Lord Attenbury - grandson of Lord Peter's first client - seeks his help again, this time to prove who owns the gigantic emerald that Wimsey last saw in 1921. It will be the most intricate and challenging mystery he has ever faced . . .Since the publication of A Presumption of Death, which was set in 1941 in the wartime English countryside, readers have been eagerly asking for this story - a wholly original and utterly engrossing new detective adventure.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Bad Quarto

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder Paperbacks

The Fourth Bear

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wyndham Case

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh

The locked library of St Agatha's College, Cambridge houses an unrivalled, and according to certain scholars, deeply uninteresting collection of seventeenth century volumes.It also contains one dead student.Tragic and accidental, of course, even if malicious gossip hints that Philip Skellow had been engaged in stealing books rather than acquiring knowledge when he'd slipped, banged his head, and bled to death overnight.Only Imogen Quy, the college nurse, has her doubts - until another student is found, drowned in an ornamental fountain...

Hodder & Stoughton

Thrones, Dominations

Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh

It is 1936 and Lord Peter Wimsey has returned from his honeymoon to set up home with his cherished new wife, the novelist Harriet Vane. As they become part of fashionable London society they encounter the glamorous socialite Rosamund Harwell and her wealthy impressario husband Laurence. Unlike the Wimseys, they are not in love - and all too soon, one of them is dead. A murder case that only Lord Peter Wimsey can solve.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

About Sceptre

Sceptre is the literary imprint of Hodder & Stoughton, publishing fiction and non-fiction from around the globe.

History

Find out about the history of Sceptre, the literary imprint of Hodder & Stoughton.

The Shortlist for the Sceptre Writing Prize has been Announced

Writing the future for Scottish novelists