Related to: 'Jill Paton Walsh'

Hodder Paperbacks

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

An epistolary crime novel from Dorothy L Sayers, creator of the classic Lord Peter Wimsey series - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, and introduced by author and journalist Libby Purves.The bed was broken and tilted grotesquely sideways. Harrison was sprawled over in a huddle of soiled blankets. His mouth was twisted . . .Harrison had been an expert on deadly mushrooms. How was it then that he had eaten a large quantity of death-dealing muscarine? Was it an accident? Suicide? Or murder?The documents in the case seemed to be a simple collection of love notes and letters home. But they concealed a clue to the brilliant murderer who baffled the best minds in London.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller' Minette Walters

Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detection skills at their most spectacular.The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero.This book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

A Presumption of Death

Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers

In A Presumption of Death, Jill Paton Walsh tells how World War II changed the lives of Peter, Harriet and their growing family.The story opens in 1940. Harriet Vane - now Lady Peter Wimsey - has taken her children to safety in the country. But the war has followed them: glamorous RAF pilots and even more glamorous land-girls scandalise the villagers; the blackout makes the night-time lanes as sinister as the back alleys of London. Then the village's first air raid practise ends with a very real body on the ground - not a war casualty but a case of plain, old-fashioned murder. And even before the second body is found, Lord Peter Wimsey and his brilliant wife are on their way to finding the killer.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Late Scholar

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder & Stoughton

Thrones, Dominations

Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Mulholland Books

The Saint in Europe

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

Simon Templar never goes anywhere with the intention of getting into trouble, but trouble seems to like following him. In seven adventures round Europe, he discovers dead bodies, missing jewels, kidnappers and swindlers galore. He was meant to be on holiday - but when push comes to shove, he'll make sure that justice is done. 'The character of Simon Templar forms the perfect literary bridge between John Buchan's Richard Hannay and Ian Fleming's James Bond.' Mike Ripley

Hodder & Stoughton

Debts of Dishonour

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh

Hoping to attract a generous endowment, St Agatha's College, Cambridge, invites fabulously wealthy Sir Julius Farran to dine. The evening is a disaster for everyone but Imogen Quy: Farran invites her to come and work for him. She declines, but when Farran dies, suddenly and shockingly, she has to look into it. His death left a large hole in his company accounts that could mean financial ruin for St Agatha's. To save her college, Imogen starts to cast her cool eye over the financier's heirs, employees and enemies. What is right about the death of Sir Julius? What is wrong about it? And why did it happen? After all, her name rhymes with ''why''.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Piece of Justice

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder Paperbacks

The Attenbury Emeralds

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh

It was 1921 when Lord Peter Wimsey first encountered the Attenbury emeralds. The recovery of the magnificent gem in Lord Attenbury's most dazzling heirloom made headlines - and launched a shell-shocked young aristocrat on his career as a detective. Now it is 1951: a happily married Lord Peter has just shared the secrets of that mystery with his wife, the detective novelist Harriet Vane. Then the new young Lord Attenbury - grandson of Lord Peter's first client - seeks his help again, this time to prove who owns the gigantic emerald that Wimsey last saw in 1921. It will be the most intricate and challenging mystery he has ever faced . . .Since the publication of A Presumption of Death, which was set in 1941 in the wartime English countryside, readers have been eagerly asking for this story - a wholly original and utterly engrossing new detective adventure.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lord Peter Views the Body

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Hangman's Holiday

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The ninth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer David Mark - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. +1">'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily TelegraphPoisoned port . . . Pet cats in peril . . . Purloined pearls . . . Lord Peter Wimsey solves the mysteries of the man who was blown into the fourth dimension and the murder in fancy dress. He pursues miscreants across several countries and into unexpected hiding places. Dorothy L. Sayers' other detective, Montague Egg, encounters a fugitive murderer and uncovers a killer in an Oxford cloister. The travelling salesman extraordinaire solves puzzles with a unique combination of matter-of-fact practicality and brilliant deduction.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder & Stoughton

Unnatural Death

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The third book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer Minette Walters - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. 'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph'No sign of foul play,' says Dr Carr after the post-mortem on Agatha Dawson. The case is closed. But Lord Peter Wimsey is not satisfied . . .With no clues to work on, he begins his own investigation. No clues, that is, until the sudden, senseless murder of Agatha's maid. What is going on in the mysterious Mrs Forrest's Mayfair flat? And can Wimsey catch a desperate murderer before he himself becomes one of the victims?'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

The Bad Quarto

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wyndham Case

Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh

The locked library of St Agatha's College, Cambridge houses an unrivalled, and according to certain scholars, deeply uninteresting collection of seventeenth century volumes.It also contains one dead student.Tragic and accidental, of course, even if malicious gossip hints that Philip Skellow had been engaged in stealing books rather than acquiring knowledge when he'd slipped, banged his head, and bled to death overnight.Only Imogen Quy, the college nurse, has her doubts - until another student is found, drowned in an ornamental fountain...

Hodder Paperbacks

Have His Carcase

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Whose Body?

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.It was the body of a tall stout man. On his dead face, a handsome pair of gold pince-nez mocked death with grotesque elegance.The body wore nothing else.Lord Peter Wimsey knew immediately what the corpse was supposed to be. His problem was to find out whose body had found its way into Mr Alfred Thipps' Battersea bathroom.

Hodder Paperbacks

Clouds of Witness

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords.Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man.But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?

Hodder Paperbacks

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.Lord Peter Wimsey could imagine the artist stepping back, the stagger, the fall, down to where the pointed rocks grinned like teeth.But was it an accident - or murder? Six members of the close-knit Galloway artists' colony do not regret Campbell's death.Five of them are red herrings.