Related to: 'Richard Carlson'

Sceptre

The Mercy Seat

Elizabeth H. Winthrop
Authors:
Elizabeth H. Winthrop

An unforgettable novel - a riveting, heart-wrenching story of injustice and racism in 1940s Louisiana that is as powerful and profound as it is timely.As the sun begins to set over Louisiana one October day in 1943, a young black man faces the final hours of his life: at midnight, eighteen-year-old Willie Jones will be executed by electric chair for raping a white girl - a crime some believe he did not commit. In a tale taut with tension, events unfold hour by hour from the perspectives of nine people involved. They include Willie himself, who knows what really happened, and his father, desperately trying to reach the town jail to see his son one last time; the prosecuting lawyer, haunted by being forced to seek the death penalty against his convictions, and his wife, who believes Willie to be innocent; the priest who has become a friend to Willie; and a mother whose only son is fighting in the Pacific, bent on befriending her black neighbours in defiance of her husband. In this exceptionally powerful novel, Elizabeth Winthrop explores matters of justice, racism and the death penalty in a fresh, subtle and profoundly affecting way. Her kaleidoscopic narrative allows us to inhabit the lives of her characters and see them for what they are - complex individuals, making fateful choices we might not condone, but can understand.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy thriller 2017, and the #1 ebook bestseller

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

**THE #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER**'Darkly sexy and compelling' HEAT'Fans of The Girls will love this' RED ONLINE'You'll be gripped' RICHARD MADELEY'One of the best books I've read' REBECCA DONE'This book is stunning. Wow' CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN***EVERYONE WANTS TO BE A ROANOKE GIRL. BUT YOU WON'T WHEN YOU KNOW THE TRUTH.The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken. Either the girls run away... or they die.Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?***FOR FANS OF SWEET LITTLE LIES, GOOD ME BAD ME AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, THIS IS THE MOST SHOCKING THRILLER YOU'LL READ ALL YEAR.***'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS'A mini-masterpiece' JUDY FINNIGAN'One of the most unsettling and thought-provoking books I've read... stunning and gripping' LISA CUTTS'You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets' LAURA MCHUGH'Deliciously written...pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' AVA MARSH'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY'One of the most disturbingly gripping books I have ever read' RUTH DUGDALL

Hodder & Stoughton

An Hour to Live, an Hour to Love

Kristine Carlson, Richard Carlson
Authors:
Kristine Carlson, Richard Carlson

If you had one hour to live and could make just one phone call, who would you call? What would you say?Why are you waiting?Richard Carlson's sudden, tragic death in December 2006 left his millions of fans reeling, but even their many letters, calls, and emails couldn't erase the loss felt by his wife Kristine.To try and come to terms with her loss, she pored over 25 years of love letters, reliving the memories and cherishing her late husband's memory.But one letter stood out. Richard had written to his wife on their 18th wedding anniversary and attempted to answer the question: if you had one hour to live, what would you do, who would you call, and what would you say?AN HOUR TO LOVE is a profoundly moving book that shows the importance of treasuring each day as the incredible gift it is.

Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Mothers

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson
Sceptre

December

Elizabeth H. Winthrop
Authors:
Elizabeth H. Winthrop

Eleven-year-old Isabelle hasn't spoken in nine months, and as December begins the situation is getting desperate. Her mother has stopped work to devote herself to her daughter's care. Four psychiatrists have already given up on her, and her school will not take her back in the New Year. Her parents are frantically trying to understand what has happened so they can help their child, but they cannot escape the thought of darker possibilities. What if Isabelle is damaged beyond their reach? Will she never speak again? Is it their fault? As they spiral around Isabelle's impenetrable silence, she herself emerges as a bright young girl in need of help yet too terrified to ask for it. By the talented young author of FIREWORKS, this is a compelling, ultimately uplifting novel about a family in crisis, showing the delicate web that connects a husband and wife, parents and children, and how easily it can tear.

Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff... Omnibus

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

In this omnibus Richard Carlson shows you how to stop letting the little things in life drive you crazy; how to interact more peaceably and joyfully with colleagues, clients and bosses; and provides strategies for achieving financial success by giving up stress, worry, anger and fear.

Hodder & Stoughton

What About The Big Stuff?

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

Carlson's "Don't Sweat" series have given advice on tackling perceptions of and getting through life's annoying little problems. Rising above the "small stuff" in order to gain perspective helps find a more peaceful and fulfilled life. But what about the big problems? The book explores exactly that, suggesting ways of dealing with the incredibly difficult issues of life, including divorce, death of a loved one, financial setbacks, illness and difficulties at work. His ideas and advice should enable readers to find the necessary strength to conquer and move forward when faced with the worst.

Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Women

Kristine Carlson
Authors:
Kristine Carlson

The Don't Sweat series has helped countless readers rethink the way they address life's big and small problems.. Now in a book written specifically for women, Kristine Carlson offers the same calming and encouraging advice in 100 short and spirited essays. It addresses such important and timely issues as balancing family and work demands, debating effectively with spouses and partners, dealing with children and friendships, finding time for reflection and self-care, and much more.Kristine Carlson helps readers focus on what's really important, keep in touch with their feelings, live with spirit, and - when all else fails - learn to laugh. A true life-saver, this potent book is full of sage advice and comforting thoughts, from one busy woman to another.

Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Men

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

Richard Carlson has shown people how not to sweat the small stuff with their families, in love, at work and at home. His wife Kris has shown women how to live more peacefully, and now Richard devotes an entire book to helping men to relax and live in a more productive and calm manner. The book includes such topics as:-Be a quitter-Get out of the serious mode-Rid yourself of a busy mind-Grant yourself one hour-See stress as non-sexy-Learning from other 'sweaters'

Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Teens

Richard And Kris Carlson, Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard And Kris Carlson, Richard Carlson

With their calm and reassuring advice Richard and Kris Carlson show teenagers how not to stress out about homework, peer pressures, dating, parents, and other potentially difficult areas. Topics include:* Be creative in your rebellion* Start a mutual listening club* Notice your parents doing things right* Be okay with your bad hair day* Turn down the drama meter* Don't sweat the future

Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat The Small Stuff in Love

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

Richard Carlson has helped millions of readers to reduce the stress in their everyday lives, with their families and in their jobs. Now he shows readers how to apply his immensely popular and helpful philosophy to one of the most difficult aspects of life - the romantic relationship.While depression, heartache, anger, and insecurity are widely associated with romantic love, the concept of stress is rarely identified as a problem. In one hundred brief, beautifully written essays, Richard Carlson shows readers how not to overreact to a loved one's criticism, how to appreciate your spouse in new ways, how to get past old angers, and many other ways to improve and increase the joy and pleasure that can and should be a part of any partnership.

Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Fathers

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

In Carlson's trademark short essay style, this little book provides insightful and inspirational advice for fathers. Compiled from his other bestselling "Don't Sweat" books, this will make a small but perfectly formed gift.

Hodder Paperbacks

You Can Be Happy No Matter What

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson
Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff Workbook

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson
Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff at Work

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson
Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff with Your Family

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

Hodder Paperbacks

Slowing Down to the Speed of Life

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson
Hodder Paperbacks

Don't Sweat the Small Stuff

Richard Carlson
Authors:
Richard Carlson

Richard And Kris Carlson

The late Richard Carlson, PhD, was the author of the internationally bestselling Don't Sweat the Small Stuff series. He lived with his wife and two children in northern California until his tragic death in December 2006.

Chapter One: The House of Punk Sleep

WIDE AWAKE, by Patricia Morrisroe

Read an excerpt of the first chapter of Patricia Morrisroe's brilliant memoir about insomnia, WIDE AWAKE.