Related to: 'Dreda Say Mitchell'

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

One False Move

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Gangland Girls Trilogy

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Three thrilling stories of women making it work in the East End - amidst violence, revenge and family secrets. Geezer GirlsTen years ago, fifteen-year-old Jade Flynn and three other girls were forced to work for a man they nicknamed 'The Geezer'. Until a shocking event made them rebel. Now, the Geezer's tracked them down. He'll kill them unless they do one last job for him. This time if they disappear they won't be coming back...Gangster GirlDaisy Sullivan's father was one of London's most infamous gangsters. Haunted by his violent death, she vows to live a respectable life. But when she gets sucked back in, things go wrong fast. She'll have to use every dirty trick her dad ever taught her to stay alive...Hit GirlsTwo kids are murdered...Their gangland family want revenge, and contact the one group of people who they trust to help him find the truth...Jackie, Anna, Roxy and Ollie. Four women with shady pasts who take the cases people don't take to the cops.

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Sister

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Sister: a free e-sampler

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Two Roads

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis
Authors:
Janet Ellis

***LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOT PRIZE 2016***'A HIGH-FINISH PERFORMANCE' Observer'DARK WEIRD AND GLORIOUSLY FEMINIST' Elle UK'A SHARP EYE AND A SHARPER WIT - A MEMORABLE HEROINE' Guardian'INIMITABLE, INGENIOUSLY BRUTAL... CRIES OUT FOR A COSTUME DRAMA SERIES' Telegraph'A BOLDNESS RARE IN A FIRST NOVEL' Mail on Sunday'A STRANGE, UNSETTLING STORY' The Times'ONE TO WATCH' Guardian'A STORY OF DISPASSIONATE, BLOODY BRILLIANCE' Sunday Express'ONE OF THE HOTTEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF THE YEAR' Glamour'A GRIPPING, GIRL-POWER STORY' Sun'A CRACKING READ' Cathy Rentzenbrink, Prima'A SPIRITED, DARK DEBUT' Woman & Home'STRANGE, DARK AND UTTERLY MESMERIC' Hannah Kent, author of Burial Rites'A MASTERFUL STORYTELLER' Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go'BEWITCHING' Antonia Hodgson, bestselling author of The Devil in the Marshalsea'A TRIUMPH' Erin Kelly, author of The Poison TreeGeorgian London, in the summer of 1763.At nineteen, Anne Jaccob is awakened to the possibility of joy when she meets Fub, the butcher's apprentice, and begins to imagine a life of passion with him. The only daughter of well-to-do parents, Anne lives a sheltered life. Her home is a miserable place. Though her family want for nothing, her father is uncaring, her mother is ailing, and the baby brother who taught her to love is dead. Unfortunately her parents have already chosen a more suitable husband for her than Fub.But Anne is a determined young woman, with an idiosyncratic moral compass. In the matter of pursuing her own happiness, she shows no fear or hesitation. Even if it means getting a little blood on her hands.A vivid and surprising tale, The Butcher's Hook brims with the colour and atmosphere of Georgian London, as seen through the eyes of a strange and memorable young woman.-~-~-~-~-~- 'Do you know what this is?' He holds a short twist of thick metal, in the shape of the letter 'S', sharpened at both ends. I shake my head. 'A butcher's hook,' he says, testing the tip of his finger against each point. 'A perfect design. Whichever way up you use it, it's always ready. One end to hook, the other to hang. It has only one simple purpose.' He stands on a stool and fixes it over the bar above him. It waits there, empty. He climbs down. 'Pleasing, isn't it?'

Hodder Paperbacks

Death Trap

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Teenager Nikki Bell is the only witness to the brutal murder of two members of her family and their cleaner. She's lucky to be alive. But the murder isn't a one-off. It's part of a bigger, more violent attack planned on affluent families in the area - and now Nikki, as the only living witness, is a dangerous threat to the well-orchestrated scheme. As the net draws tighter around the killers, DI Rio Wray must do whatever it takes to keep Nikki alive. But when you're dealing with criminals, there's no line they won't cross... In a kill-or-be-killed-world, who will be first to pull the trigger?

Hodder Paperbacks

Snatched

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

Vendetta

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

'Breathless from the first word and thrilling to the last' Lee ChildTwo murders. Two different crime scenes. One killer? Mac wakes in a smashed-up hotel room with no recollection of what has happened. With his lover's corpse in the bathroom and the evidence suggesting that he killed her, Mac is on a mission to uncover the truth and find the real killer.But he's in a race against time with less than a day to unravel the mystery. Still reeling from a personal tragedy Mac isn't afraid of pain. Hot on his heels is tenacious Detective Inspector Rio Wray. Double-crossed and in the line of fire, Mac has to swim through a sea of lies to get to the truth. But only Mac knows he's been living a double life. Can he be sure he doesn't have the blood of a dead woman on his hands?

Hodder Paperbacks

Vendetta: a free e-sampler

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Hit Girls

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

Gangster Girl

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

For fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers, a gripping, thrilling East End story of a woman trying to escape her family's legacy - though it may be the only thing that can save her life. Daisy Sullivan's father was one of London's most infamous gangsters. Haunted by his violent death, she vowed to live a respectable life. That is, until the day her mum, who abandoned her when she was young and who she barely remembers, barges back into her life. Daisy discovers her mum is the head of one of London's most feared underworld families - the Kings. She is drawn into their next criminal act - a bank job that turns out to be no ordinary robbery. Soon she is running for her life. The only person she can trust is up-and-coming gangland bad boy, Ricky Smart. And she'll have to use every dirty trick her dad ever taught her to stay alive . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Geezer Girls

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Fifteen-year-old Jade Flynn and three other girls were the sole occupants of the fourth floor of St Nicholas Care Home for Children. They were forced to take part in 'special community projects' - drug dealing, money laundering, gun running. Required to work for a man they called The Geezer. Until a shocking event made them rebel. Steal something that wasn't theirs. So they ran. Disappeared. 10 YEARS LATER . . .Jade Flynn is now living a respectable life as Jackie Jarvis and is getting married. She invites her three best friends to be her maids of honour. But someone else turns up as well - The Geezer. He'll kill them, unless they do one last job for him, then they can return to their normal lives. But can they trust him? This time if they disappear they won't be coming back . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Killer Tune

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

A fifteen-year-old boy firebombs a building as he listens to Vivaldi's Winter Concerto splicing behind a red hot R 'n' B track. A veteran musician is found dead in an alley with the pulse of an old time reggae classic playing in his pocket. Rap sensation Lord Tribulation discovers his new found stardom threatened when he finds himself in the middle of both incidents. His music is accused of inciting the firebombing, and the dead musician is his father. With the beat of the media and government blasting down his neck, LT's search for the truth about his father's death takes him back to an old flame, and on a retro trail to 1976. A time when music was politics and politics was music. A time when the heat-drenched streets of Notting Hill burst into open rebellion. A time that, as LT gets closer to the truth, could lead straight to his own murder . . .

An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.

Chapter One: Suicide Corner

SCARP by Nick Papadimitriou

Read the first chapter of Nick Papadimitriou's SCARP.

Chapter One

TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY, by John le Carré

Read the first chapter of John le Carré's acclaimed TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY, now a major film.

Chapter One

BROKEN HARBOUR, by Tana French

Read the first chapter of Tana French's newest novel, BROKEN HARBOUR.

Extract

GOLD by Chris Cleave

Read an excerpt of Chris Cleave's GOLD.