Related to: 'Daniel Woodrell'

Sceptre

Suicide Club

Rachel Heng
Authors:
Rachel Heng
Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

The perfect read for fans of Disclaimer, In a Dark Dark Wood and Apple Tree Yard. Who do you believe? In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim's life that is changed forever.Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear. And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something - and someone - is always in the dark...(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Sceptre

Mercury

Margot Livesey
Authors:
Margot Livesey

A Kirkus Reviews "Best Fiction of 2016" selectionA Bookpage "Best Books of 2016" selectionA Barnes and Noble "Best Books of 2016" selectionA Seattle Times "Best Books of 2016" selection'You'll be glued to the page' (People)A tense psychological drama and a taut emotional thriller exploring love, obsession, and the deceits that pull a family apart. Donald believes he knows all there is to know about seeing. An optometrist in suburban Boston, he is sure that he and his wife, Viv, who runs the local stables, are both devoted to their two children and to each other. Then Mercury - a gorgeous young thoroughbred with a murky past - arrives at Windy Hill and everything changes.Mercury's owner, Hilary, is a newcomer to town who has enrolled her daughter in riding lessons. When she brings Mercury to board at Windy Hill, everyone is struck by his beauty and prowess, particularly Viv. As she rides him, Viv begins to dream of competing again, embracing the ambitions that she had harboured, and relinquished, as a young woman. Her daydreams soon morph into consuming desire, and her infatuation with the thoroughbred escalates to obsession.Donald may have 20/20 vision but he is slow to notice how profoundly Viv has changed and how these changes threaten their quiet, secure world. By the time he does, it is too late to stop the catastrophic collision of Viv's ambitions and his own myopia.

Mulholland Books

Devil Red

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

If there's one thing Hap Collins and Leonard Pine like, it's trouble - and they especially like getting paid to find it. So when their friend and sometime boss Marvin Harmon asks the boys to look into a cold-case double homicide, they're happy to oblige. It turns out that both victims were set to inherit some serious money, and one of them ran with an honest-to-goodness vampire cult.The more closely Hap and Leonard look over the crime scene photos, the more trouble they see. The image of a red devil's head is painted on a tree. A little research turns up a slew of murders with that same fiendish signature. And if things aren't weird enough, Leonard has taken to wearing a deerstalker cap... Will this be the case that finally sends Hap over the edge?

Two Roads

Church of Marvels

Leslie Parry
Authors:
Leslie Parry

'A SKILLFUL TRIUMPH' Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist - 'IRRESISTIBLE' Emma Donoghue, author of RoomNew York, 1895. It's late on a warm city night when Sylvan Threadgill, a young night soiler who cleans out the privies behind the tenement houses, pulls a terrible secret out from the filthy hollows: an abandoned newborn baby. An orphan himself, Sylvan was raised by a kindly Italian family and can't bring himself to leave the baby in the slop. He tucks her into his chest, resolving to find out where she belongs. Odile Church is the girl-on-the-wheel, a second-fiddle act in a show that has long since lost its magic. Odile and her sister Belle were raised in the curtained halls of their mother's spectacular Coney Island sideshow: The Church of Marvels. Belle was always the star-the sword swallower-light, nimble, a true human marvel. But now the sideshow has burnt to the ground, their mother dead in the ashes, and Belle has escaped to the city. Alphie wakes up groggy and confused in Blackwell's Lunatic Asylum. The last thing she remembers is a dark stain on the floor, her mother-in-law screaming. She had once walked the streets as an escort and a penny-Rembrandt, cleaning up men after their drunken brawls. Now she is married; a lady in a reputable home. She is sure that her imprisonment is a ruse by her husband's vile mother. But then a young woman is committed alongside her, and when she coughs up a pair of scissors from the depths of her agile throat, Alphie knows she harbors a dangerous secret that will alter the course of both of their lives... On a single night, these strangers' lives will become irrevocably entwined, as secrets come to light and outsiders struggle for acceptance. From the Coney Island seashore to the tenement-studded streets of the Lower East Side, a spectacular sideshow to a desolate asylum, Leslie Parry makes turn-of-the-century New York feel alive, vivid, and magical in this luminous debut. In prose as magnetic and lucid as it is detailed, she offers a richly atmospheric vision of the past marked by astonishing feats of narrative that will leave you breathless.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dead Lands

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy
Sceptre

The Reason I Jump: one boy's voice from the silence of autism

Naoki Higashida
Authors:
Naoki Higashida
Sceptre

The Maid's Version

Daniel Woodrell
Authors:
Daniel Woodrell
Sceptre

The Outlaw Album

Daniel Woodrell
Authors:
Daniel Woodrell
Sceptre

Winter's Bone

Daniel Woodrell
Authors:
Daniel Woodrell
An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

Chapter One: Suicide Corner

SCARP by Nick Papadimitriou

Read the first chapter of Nick Papadimitriou's SCARP.

Chapter One: The House of Punk Sleep

WIDE AWAKE, by Patricia Morrisroe

Read an excerpt of the first chapter of Patricia Morrisroe's brilliant memoir about insomnia, WIDE AWAKE.

Chapter One

THE BOY NEXT DOOR, by Irene Sabatini

Read the first chapter of Irene Sabatini's THE BOY NEXT DOOR, winner of the Orange Award for New Writers.

Chapter One

CASANOVA, by Andrew Miller

Read the first chapter of Andrew Miller's CASANOVA.

First Chapter

THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN, By Siri Hustvedt

Read the first chapter of Siri Hustvedt's THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN.

Chapter One

SUNNYSIDE, by Glen David Gold

Read the first chapter of Glen David Gold's SUNNYSIDE.

Chapter One

THE MAN WHO DISAPPEARED, by Clare Morrall

Read the first chapter of Sceptre author Clare Morrall's THE MAN WHO DISAPPEARED.

Chapter One

COME SUNDAY, by Isla Morley

Read the first chapter of Isla Morley's COME SUNDAY.