Related to: 'Jacqueline Winspear'

Hodder Paperbacks

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello
Hodder Paperbacks

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Edge of the Light

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

On Whidbey Island, secrets never stay buried . . .Becca's ability to hear the broken thoughts of others has not turned out to be a fabulous gift after all. It has got in the way of her being able to function in the world normally. More seriously, it makes her think she knows things that she doesn't know at all. Becca's friends are also dealing with stressful situations and coming to terms with troubling discoveries about themselves. Seth Darrow's learning disability makes him vulnerable. The girl he loves is not what she appears to be. His grandfather might lose his property and be thrust into care. Jenn has to come to terms with her sexuality, while Derric finds out that the cover-up he has engaged in for the last ten years was never necessary in the first place. Acclaimed author Elizabeth George brings her extraordinary talents to this intriguing story that blends mystery and myth. In this final book in the Edge of Nowhere series, Becca and her friends do their best to navigate a difficult world and come to a resolution - and acceptance - of their futures.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Banquet of Consequences

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind. But what was the cause of his tragedy and how far might the consequences reach? Is there a link between the young man's leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge?Following various career-threatening misdemeanours, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter with bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott and her pushy personal assistant Caroline Goldacre gives her a connection to the Cambridge murder, Barbara begs DI Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime.Soon, Lynley finds himself investigating the London end of an ever more darkly disturbing case, while Havers and DS Winston Nkata look behind the peaceful façade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit.Full of shocks, intensity and suspense from first page to last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under pressure, and author Elizabeth George writing at the very height of her exceptional powers.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Edge of the Shadows

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Whidbey Island is ablaze.Late summer on Whidbey Island after nine weeks of no rain and fire season has arrived . . . along with a fire starter who soon begins tormenting the residents of this peaceful Pacific Northwest idyll with fires that escalate in intensity. Becca King and her friends Jenn and Derric are with her at the county fair when the third fire starts in a shed housing animals. The shed is destroyed, some of the animals are killed, and Becca hears from the nearby forest the 'whispers' of the fire starter who has remained to watch the havoc. More fires ensue and the situation escalates until someone dies. Becca thinks she knows who's behind it all, but only with the help of her friends and the development of her own incipient psychic talents can the perpetrator be brought to justice.

Hodder Paperbacks

Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas.But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that's exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk's wedding season as well as the mystery. Between age-old traditions and brand-new horrors, Dandy must think the unthinkable to solve her grisliest case yet.Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.

Sceptre

The Maid's Version

Daniel Woodrell
Authors:
Daniel Woodrell
Sceptre

The Yellow Birds

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers
Hodder Paperbacks

In The Presence Of The Enemy

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

As the editor of a popular left-wing tabloid, Dennis Luxford has made a career out of scandal. But this time the scoop involves his own daughter. To save the life of his child, Luxford must expose the girl's mother - Eve Bowen, now Under Secretary of State for the Home Office. And Eve refuses to involve the police, convinced that Charlotte's disappearance is just one more shabby tabloid ploy.Only when events take an unbearable turn is New Scotland Yard brought in, in the guise of Inspector Thomas Lynley and his partner, Barbara Havers. And as their investigations move from Westminster to Wiltshire, Lynley and Havers discover that treachery and betrayal lie perilously close to home.

Hodder & Stoughton

Careless in Red

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

It is barely three months since the murder of his wife and Thomas Lynley takes to the South-West Coast Path in Cornwall, determined to walk its length in an attempt to distract himself from his loss. On the forty-third day of this walk, he sees a cliff climber fall to his death, apparently witnessed by a surfer in a nearby cove. Shortly afterwards, Lynley encounters a young woman from Bristol whose personal history is a blank before her thirteenth year. These events propel him into a case that brings Barbara Havers from London and thrusts both detectives into a world where revenge is only one of the motives they must sift through to identify a killer.

John Murray

Among the Mad

Jacqueline Winspear
Authors:
Jacqueline Winspear

Christmas Eve, 1931. On the way to see a client, Maisie Dobbs witnesses a man commit suicide on a busy London street. The following day, the Home Secretary receives a letter threatening a massive loss of life if certain demands are not met. Maisie is invited into Scotland Yard's elite Special Branch as a special adviser on the case - and becomes involved in a race against time to find a man who soon proves he has the knowledge, and will, to murder thousands of innocent people. Before this harrowing case is over, Maisie must negotiate her way through a darkness not encountered since she was a nurse in wards filled with shell-shocked men.'Absorbing and exciting . . . what charms most is Dobbs herself' Wall Street Journal

John Murray

An Incomplete Revenge

Jacqueline Winspear
Authors:
Jacqueline Winspear
John Murray

Messenger of Truth

Jacqueline Winspear
Authors:
Jacqueline Winspear
Hodder & Stoughton

What Came Before He Shot Her

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

The shocking conclusion of Elizabeth George's previous bestseller, WITH NO ONE AS WITNESS, saw the wife of New Scotland Yard's Thomas Lynley gunned down in the street outside her home. Under arrest for the crime is a twelve-year-old boy, Joel Campbell. What possible motive could he have? What chain of events could have led such a child from the housing estates of North Kensington to the elegant streets of Belgravia with such deadly intent? The answer to these questions is a complex mixture of fate and circumstance. Abandoned (albeit involuntarily) by his parents, Joel and two siblings are dumped on the doorstep of his aunt's house. Kendra, childless and with two marriages behind her, is doing her best to turn her life around; responsibility for three troubled children is not what she had in mind. Drugs, neglect, violence and poverty are commonplace in North Kensington. Joel does his best to look out for his family, but that involves a Faustian pact. And the Devil will have his pay.

John Murray

Pardonable Lies

Jacqueline Winspear
Authors:
Jacqueline Winspear
John Murray

Birds of a Feather

Jacqueline Winspear
Authors:
Jacqueline Winspear

'A terrific mystery . . . Both intriguing and full of suspense' ObserverLondon, 1929. Joseph Waite is a man who knows what he wants. With his Havana cigars and Savile Row suits, he is one of Britain's wealthiest men. And the last thing he needs is a scandal. When his unmarried daughter runs away from home, he is determined to keep the case away from the police and the newspapers. So he turns to a woman renowned for her discretion and investigative powers - the extraordinary Maisie Dobbs.Maisie soon discovers that there are many reasons why Charlotte Waite might have left home and instinctively feels the women is in safe hands. Yet the investigator suddenly finds herself confronting a murder scene.With wonderful characters and a page-turning plot, Birds of a Feather is a brilliant mystery. Fans of Maisie Dobbs will be delighted to see Maisie's sleuthing abilities back in action, while the emotional heart of her second mystery will appeal to yet more fans.

John Murray

Maisie Dobbs

Jacqueline Winspear
Authors:
Jacqueline Winspear

A favorite mystery series of Hillary Clinton (as mentioned in What Happened, The New York Times Book Review, and New York Magazine)A New York Times Notable Book of the YearAgatha Award Winner for Best First NovelMacavity Award Winner for Best First NovelAlex Award WinnerFiercely independent Maisie Dobbs has recently set herself up as a private detective. Such a move may not seem especially startling. But this is 1929, and Maisie is exceptional in many ways.Having started as a maid to the London aristocracy, studied her way to Cambridge and served as a nurse in the Great War, Maisie has wisdom, experience and understanding beyond her years. Little does she realise the extent to which this strength of character is soon to be tested. For her first case forces her to uncover secrets long buried, and to confront ghosts from her own past . . .'In Maisie Dobbs, Jacqueline Winspear has given us a real gift' Alexander McCall Smith

Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

An excerpt from the Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing

CLOUD ATLAS, by David Mitchell

Read an excerpt of David Mitchell's international bestseller, CLOUD ATLAS, now also releasing as a film.