Related to: 'Rory Clements'

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

'A spectacular rollercoaster ride through the labyrinthine secrets and lies of the Tudor court . . . A must read' Kate WilliamsIt is the dawn of a new world. Henry Tudor has vanquished Richard III and claimed the throne of England, taking possession of a secret map. At the glittering court of the Medici in Florence, Lorenzo the Magnificent, ruler of the republic and head of the mysterious Academy, is engaged in a dangerous game of power with the Vatican. In Spain, the Catholic Monarchs, Isabella and Ferdinand, have declared a crusade against Islam, forcing the Moors from Granada. Europe stands upon the brink of war, at the edge of a discovery that will change everything.Jack Wynter is clinging to the wreckage of the life he dreamed of living, his father's execution by Richard III destroying his hope of overcoming his status as an illegitimate son. The map entrusted to him by his father is gone, stolen by his hated half-brother, Harry Vaughan. Outlawed by Tudor, all Jack can do is follow his father's last words - and seek out the man who has answers to his past that will determine his future, Lorenzo de' Medici. But in the serpentine politics and renaissance splendour of Florence, he finds only danger. Lorenzo may have trusted Jack's father, but he is now surrounded by threats and conspiracies on all sides - not least from the rising power in the city known as the Court of Wolves. Harry, meanwhile, heads to the Spanish court on a covert mission for Tudor, who intends to deflect Queen Isabella's interest in developing a trade route west with a sailor named Columbus.Once again, Jack must risk all to prove himself, while his sworn enemy, Harry, finds himself fighting through Spain, seeking all the time to ingratiate himself with Tudor, and bring his brother down.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson

Spring, 1728. A young, well-dressed man is dragged through the streets of London to the gallows at Tyburn. The crowds jeer and curse as he passes, calling him a murderer. He tries to remain calm. His name is Tom Hawkins and he is innocent. Somehow he has to prove it, before the rope squeezes the life out of him.It is, of course, all his own fault. He was happy with Kitty Sparks. Life was good. He should never have told the most dangerous criminal in London that he was 'bored and looking for adventure'. He should never have offered to help Henrietta Howard, the king's mistress, in her desperate struggles with a brutal husband. And most of all, he should never have trusted the witty, calculating Queen Caroline. She has promised him a royal pardon if he holds his tongue but then again, there is nothing more silent than a hanged man.Based loosely on actual events, Antonia Hodgson's new novel is both a sequel to The Devil in the Marshalsea and a standalone historical mystery. From the gilded cage of the Court to the wicked freedoms of the slums, it reveals a world both seductive and deadly. And it continues the rake's progress of Tom Hawkins - assuming he can find a way to survive the noose...(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Holy Spy

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, HOLY SPY features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday TimesIn London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth, free Mary Queen of Scots - and open England to Spanish invasion. But the conspirators have been infiltrated by Sir Francis Walsingham's top intelligencer, John Shakespeare.Shakespeare, however, is torn: the woman he loves stands accused of murder. In a desperate race against time he must save her from the noose and the realm from treachery. And then it dawns that both investigations are inextricably linked - by corruption very close to the seat of power . . .(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder Paperbacks

The Queen's Man

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

Hodder & Stoughton

The Heretics

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements
Hodder & Stoughton

Traitor

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, TRAITOR is the fourth in Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday TimesThe Elizabethan navy has a secret weapon: an optical instrument so powerful it gives England unassailable superiority at sea. Spain will stop at nothing to steal it and seize the two men who understand its secrets - its operative William Ivory, known as the 'Queen's Eye', and its inventor, the maverick magician Dr Dee.With a second Armada threatened, intelligencer John Shakespeare is sent north to escort Dr Dee to safety. But his mission is far from straightforward. Dee's host, the Earl of Derby, cousin to Elizabeth, is dying in agony, apparently poisoned. Who wants him dead and why? What lies behind the lynching of the recusant priest Father Matthew Lamb? And what exactly is the connection between these events and the mysterious and beautiful Lady Eliska? While Shakespeare attempts to untangle a plot that points to treachery at the very highest reaches of government, he also faces serious accusations far closer to home. With so much at stake, must he choose between family and his duty to Queen and country?Moving from the Catholic heartlands of Lancashire to a vagabond camp in the heart of England, and from the deck of Admiral Frobisher's flagship off the Brittany coast to the secret meetings of Elizabeth's closest associates, Traitor is an intriguing and compelling novel from award-winning writer Rory Clements.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man in the Snow: A Christmas Crime (a John Shakespeare story)

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

*****FANS OF THE EXPLOSIVE BBC TV SERIES 'GUNPOWDER' STARRING KIT HARRINGTON will love the bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers from Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award*****'[Clements] does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times**********When a reluctant John Shakespeare answers a plea for help from Joshua Peace, Searcher of the Dead, a few days before Christmas, he cannot know what lies ahead. A naked man has been found in a snowdrift, a wreath of holly crowning his head and a bullet in his back. But it is no ordinary corpse. Shakespeare recognises him as Giovanni Jesu, a black man from Venice, a close associate - and some say much more - of the disgraced Earl of Oxford. Who would kill such a man and why? As all around him prepare for the festive season, Shakespeare must unravel a complex plot of passion and treachery and confront a cold-blooded murderer who will not hesitate to kill again.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Poison Tide

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams

A tense story of a spy undercover during the First World War, Andrew Williams recreates the early years of the Secret Service as evocatively as anything by John le Carré or Robert Harris. The Poison Tide is the first in a series of loosely linked novels set in that world and 'possesses a richness of characterisation and intelligence that few thrillers can match . . .' Sunday Times 1915. German guns are on their way to Ireland. The British government faces its worst nightmare; insurrection at home while it struggles with bloody stalemate on the Western Front. A British spy, Sebastian Wolff of the new Secret Service Bureau, is given the task of hunting down its enemies: one a traitor reviled by the society that honoured him as a national hero; the other a German-American doctor who, instead of healing the sick, is developing a terrifying new weapon that he will use in the country of his birth. Wolff's mission will take him undercover into the corridors of power in Berlin, then across the Atlantic in a race against time to prevent the destruction of the ships and supplies Britain so desperately needs to stave off defeat.

Hodder & Stoughton

Martyr

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements
Hodder & Stoughton

Revenger

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements
Hodder & Stoughton

Prince

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, PRINCE is the third in Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday TimesSpring 1593. England is a powder keg of rumour and fear. Plague rages, famine is rife, the ageing Queen's couriers scheme: Elizabeth's Golden Age is truly tarnished. Meanwhile Spain watches and waits - and plots.Into this turmoil a small cart clatters through the streets of London, carrying a deadly load. It is the first in a wave of horrific bombing attacks on the Dutch immigrant community that will change John Shakespeare's life for ever.Driven on by cold rage, Shakespeare's investigations will take him from magnificent royal horseraces to the opulent chambers of Black Luce's brothel, from the theatrical underworld of Marlowe and Kyd to the pain-wracked torture cells of priest-hunter Richard Topcliffe, and from the elegant offices of master tactician Robert Cecil to the splintering timbers of an explosive encounter at sea.As Shakespeare delves ever deeper, he uncovers intricate layers of mystery and deception that threaten the heart not only of the realm, but of all that he holds dear.(P)2011 John Murray

Hodder & Stoughton

To Kill a Tsar

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

The Interrogator

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams
07 Nov
Bookmark, 18-20 The Crescent, Spalding, PE11 1AF

Rory Clements and Rose Melikan talk at Bookmark, Spalding

7:15pm

Come and meet Rory Clements

25 Apr
Menzies Welcombe Hotel, Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37 0NR

John Murray Creative Writing Workshop: Historical Fiction

2pm - 4:30pm
Prize-winning publications from Hodder & Stoughton

Prize-winners

Our prize-winning publications and authors.

15 Mar
Holt Bookshop, 10 Appleyard, Norfolk, NR25 6AR

Rory Clements will be at the Holt Bookshop

06 Mar
Waterstones Scarborough

Rory Clements at Waterstones Scarborough

Rory Clements will be talking about and signing copies of his new book The Heretics

07 Mar
Waterstones Lincoln High Street

Rory Clements Talk and Signing

Rory Clements will be talking about and signing copies of The Heretics

29 Apr
Leighton Buzzard Library Theatre, Lake St, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1RX

‘Traitors, Conspirators and Secrets’ talk at Leighton Buzzard Library Theatre with Rory Clements, Aly Monroe and William Ryan

7:30pm

'Traitors, Conspirators and Secrets' evening at Leighton Buzzard Library Theatre