Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Jericho's War

By Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Selected by The Sunday Times as one of the four top thrillers of the year, JERICHO'S WAR is the new paperback from 'the best thriller writer in the world' (Daily Telegraph)In a moment of nerve-shredding suspense that will affect many thousands of lives, a handful of men and women converge on a barren stretch of Yemeni desert.The mission is to take down a high-value player in the war against Al-Qaeda. It is the brainchild of an old, fat fool called Jericho. In his striped cricket blazer, never without a G&T, he is a sweating figure of fun among the ex-pats across the border in Muscat.Yet perhaps he is not quite as old, or foolish, or even fat as he appears.Nor as harmless...Welcome to Jericho's War: its weaponry is state-of-the-art, its brutality as timeless as the desert.
  • More

The Regenerative Business

By Carol Sanford
Authors:
Carol Sanford
What if leaders stripped away all preconceptions about how business operates, allowing the organization to go back to its core and build itself back up to become something new-something so responsive, so innovative and resilient, it becomes virtually non-displaceable in the market? The Regenerative Business sets the stage for what is now only dreamt of by most of today's forward-thinking leaders and paves the path to make it possible. The book features:-Real stories from companies leading innovation and transformation across the globe including; Google, Colgate Europe, Seventh Generation, Nike and others-A logical, comprehensive approach that factors in the complexities of the modern organization -The work of internationally-recognized leadership expert Carol Sanford, who for decades has been designing and leading systemic business change
  • More

Let Me Tell You A Story

By Rob Parsons
Authors:
Rob Parsons
Rob Parsons is a bestselling author who has travelled widely across the UK and around the world, sharing his own stories of the ups and downs of life and faith with over a million people at live events over the past 30 years.Let Me Tell You A Story brings together some of the very the best of these stories - heartwarming and challenging tales that make up a compendium of insights on faith and family, love and loss, money and priorities, dreams and goals.Pull up a chair and settle in to enjoy as the storyteller weaves his spell...
  • More
  • Ruler of the Night

    By David Morrell
    Authors:
    David Morrell
    The sensational climax to David Morrell's acclaimed Victorian mystery trilogy. In 1855, the first murder on an English train causes a wave of fear and panic. There is no escape from a killer in a closed train carriage... and yet the killer can vanish into any station and be lost in the crowd.Notorious Opium-Eater Thomas De Quincy and his irrepressible daughter, Emily, are travelling on the train where the murder takes place. As they follow the clues through the fogbound London streets, they find themselves confronting their most ruthless enemy. Inspired by real events, Ruler of the Night transports readers to the darkest shadows of Victorian England, with a thrilling tale of murder, Empire and revenge.
    • More

    I Heard You Paint Houses

    By Charles Brandt
    Authors:
    Charles Brandt
    • More

    Remote Control

    By Nnedi Okorafor
    Authors:
    Nnedi Okorafor
    One of the most exciting authors of science fiction working today, Nnedi Okorafor has won every major genre fiction prize for her writing, including the prestigious World Fantasy Award for Who Fears Death and a Hugo for her mind-bending novella 'Binti.'Remote Control is a novel of magic and monsters, of power and of privilege, from one of the most extraordinary voices in modern fiction.'There's more vivid imagination in one page of Nnedi Okorafor's work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics.' Ursula K. Le Guin
    • More

    Bertie's Gift: a heartwarming tale to fall in love with this Christmas

    By Hannah Coates
    Authors:
    Hannah Coates
    • More

    Here We Are Now

    By Jasmine Warga
    Authors:
    Jasmine Warga
    'Funny and heartfelt... fans of Sarah Dessen or Rainbow Rowell will adore this novel' - Culturefly 'Fans of High Fidelity and Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP' - PopsugarDespite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father... When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.From the bestselling author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES, this is a beautiful and heartwarming novel of music, family, and friendship.
    • More

    The Deaths of December

    By Susi Holliday
    Authors:
    Susi Holliday
    'A cracking read. The perfect Christmas gift for crime fans' C. L. Taylor, author of The Lie'A festive cracker of a crime novel' Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood'Dark and satisfying, it is a fine antidote to Christmas cheer' Daily Mail**********************************It looks like a regular advent calendar. Until DC Becky Greene starts opening doors...and discovers a crime scene behind almost every one. The police hope it's a prank. Because if it isn't, a murderer has just surfaced - someone who's been killing for twenty years. But why now? And why has he sent it to this police station? As the country relaxes into festive cheer, Greene and DS Eddie Carmine must race against time to catch the killer. Because there are four doors left, and four murders will fill them...It's shaping up to be a deadly little Christmas.*******************What Goodreads reviewers are saying about The Deaths of December:'What a beauty it is, a deeply twisted, festive murder, thriller, mystery with a good psychological twist to it.''Christmas books are normally romances so I enjoyed The Deaths of December for the anti Christmas twist. There is something about a killer on the loose when everyone is happy that racks up the tension.''The Deaths of December is the perfect festive read for those who like to be curled up in front of the fire with the lights down low ready to be thrilled and chilled in equal measure'
    • More

    The Maid's Room

    By Fiona Mitchell
    Authors:
    Fiona Mitchell
    • More

    An English Christmas

    By John Julius Norwich
    Authors:
    John Julius Norwich
    'If I could work my will,' said Scrooge indignantly, 'Every idiot who goes about with "Merry Christmas" on his lips, should be boiled with his own pudding, and buried with a stake of holly through his heart.'This year go carol-singing in the Cotswolds with Laurie Lee or attend church with a grumpy Samuel Pepys. Make plum puddings for bemused French villagers with Elizabeth David; go present shopping with Virginia Woolf or eat far too much with Agatha Christie. Celebrate Christmas at Chatsworth, in the workhouse or marooned in the ice with Shackleton ... For the last forty-five years, the arrival of John Julius Norwich's latest Christmas Cracker has become as essential a part of the Christmas experience as holly and mistletoe. In An English Christmas the legendary popular historian has finally gathered all the best writing about this strangest and most memorable time of year into one book and his brilliant eye for a story is evident on every page.Vividly evoking all the good things about the festive season, this unexpected anthology is just as entertaining about its darker aspects. Eight-year-old Princess Margaret's thank-you list jostles with moving letters home from the trenches. Sherlock Holmes solves his trickiest case. George Orwell writes about indigestion; Jane Austen about reluctant socialising and Thomas Hardy about the old folk belief that all animals kneel at midnight on 24 December. There are ghost stories, games and bizarre recipes. Diary-entries, recipes and letters sit alongside poems and short stories. An English Christmas could convert any Scrooge into an instant enthusiast.
    • More

    Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe: a feel-good rom-com to fall in love with this Christmas

    By Melissa de la Cruz
    Authors:
    Melissa de la Cruz
    'I absolutely adored this novel; it's the perfect holiday romance!' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 starsDarcy Fitzwilliam simply doesn't have time to fall in love. But this Christmas, a kiss under the mistletoe will change everything...As partner at a major New York hedge fund, Darcy's only serious relationship is with her work cellphone. The truth is, she's too busy being successful and making money to have time for Christmas... let alone to allow romance into her life. But this year Darcy is coming home to Pemberley, Ohio, for the holidays. There, she runs into her old neighbour and high-school foe Luke Bennet - the oldest of five wayward brothers. When Darcy's enmity with Luke is re-opened, along with a hefty dollop of sexual chemistry... well, sparks are sure to fly. Can Darcy fall in love - or will her pride, and Luke's prejudice against big-city girls, stand in their way?This sparkling retelling of Pride and Prejudice will warm your heart over the festive season. Perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.Read what everyone's saying about Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe'What a delightful, heart-warming, romantic and feel-good read!' Waterstones reviewer'The perfect Christmas-time read and the ultimate guilty pleasure!' Netgalley reviewer'I absolutely adored it; perfect for anyone who loves a good holiday romance!' Goodreads reviewer'Readers will love this modern updated version of the story. Absolutely superb!' Netgalley reviewer'The perfect holiday rom-com!' Netgalley reviewer'For those looking for a feel-good read just in time for the holiday season, this is the book for you!' Netgalley reviewer'I adored this fun, quirky holiday re-telling...perfect for fans of the original!' Netgalley reviewer'Hilarious and sweet... a great read' Netgalley reviewer'A cute story that has all the characters and a twist from the classic' Netgalley reviewer'A sprightly, entertaining Christmas tale that turns the Austen classic on its head' Netgalley reviewer'I would recommend this to any Jane Austen fan' Netgalley reviewer
    • More

    The Delusions of Certainty

    By Siri Hustvedt
    Authors:
    Siri Hustvedt
    Prizewinning novelist, feminist, and scholar Siri Hustvedt turns her brilliant and critical eye toward the metaphysical issues of neuropsychology in this lauded, standalone volume. Originally published in her collection A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women, The Delusions of Certainty exposes how the age-old, unresolved mind-body problem has shaped - and often distorted and confused - contemporary thought in neuroscience, psychiatry, genetics, artificial intelligence, and evolutionary psychology.
    • More