Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Evening Primrose

By Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
A powerful and timely novel from 'South Africa's Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie' (Bookseller) .'Heart-wrenching' Grazia .With urgency and tenderness Evening Primrose explores issues of race, gender and the medical profession through the eyes of a junior doctor.When Masechaba finally achieves her childhood dream of becoming a doctor, her ambition is tested as she faces the stark reality of South Africa's public healthcare system. As she leaves her deeply religious mother and makes friends with the politically-minded Nyasha, Masechaba's eyes are opened to the rising xenophobic tension that carries echoes of apartheid.Battling her inner demons, she must decide if she should take a stand to help her best friend, even it comes at a high personal cost.'The best kind of political novel, its turns of emotion are virtuosic. Matlwa's voice is one we need.' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Harmless Like You'Slices straight to the heart, deft and clean' Laura Jane Williams, author of Becoming 'A daring and uniquely South African story' Marie Claire, South Africa on Coconut
  • More
  • The New World

    By Scott K. Andrews
    Authors:
    Scott K. Andrews
    Kaz, Dora and Jana - three people from three different time periods, brought together by forces they don't understand, given powers they can barely comprehend.Their powers have brought them together.And nothing - not war, not betrayal, and not even death - has been able to tear them apart.And now, after everything they've been through, they're about to find the bonds of their friendship tested in ways they could never have imagined.This is the stunning, epic conclusion to the incredible story begun in TimeBomb and continued in Second Lives: a story of friendship, of love, and of learning what it means to be extraordinary.
    • More

    Almost Dead

    By Lisa Jackson
    Authors:
    Lisa Jackson
    • More
  • Real Tigers

    By Mick Herron
    Authors:
    Mick Herron
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLDSBORO GOLD DAGGER AND THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER SHORTLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON OLD PECULIAR CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR'If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers' The Spectator'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayCatherine Standish knows that chance encounters never happen to spooks.She's worked in the Intelligence Service long enough to understand treachery, double-dealing and stabbing in the back.What she doesn't know is why anyone would target her: a recovering drunk pushing paper with the other lost causes in Jackson Lamb's kingdom of exiles at Slough House.Whoever it is holding her hostage, it can't be personal. It must be about Slough House. Most likely, it is about Jackson Lamb.And say what you like about Lamb, he'll never leave a joe in the lurch.He might even be someone you could trust with your life . . .
    • More
  • Dead Lions

    By Mick Herron
    Authors:
    Mick Herron
    Winner of the 2013 CWA Gold Dagger AwardA BBC Front Row best crime novel of the yearA Times crime and thriller book of the year'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayDickie Bow is not an obvious target for assassination.But once a spook, always a spook. And Dickie was a talented streetwalker back in the day, before he turned up dead on a bus. A shadow. Good at following people, bringing home their secrets.Dickie was in Berlin with Jackson Lamb. Now Lamb's got his phone, and on it the last secret Dickie ever told, and reason to believe an old-time Moscow-style op is being run in the Service's back-yard.In the Intelligence Service purgatory that is Slough House, Jackson Lamb's crew of back-office no-hopers is about to go live . . .
    • More
  • Slow Horses

    By Mick Herron
    Authors:
    Mick Herron
    Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayYou don't stop being a spook just because you're no longer in the game.Banished to Slough House from the ranks of achievers at Regent's Park for various crimes of drugs and drunkenness, lechery and failure, politics and betrayal, Jackson Lamb's misfit crew of highly trained joes don't run ops, they push paper.But not one of them joined the Intelligence Service to be a 'slow horse'.A boy is kidnapped and held hostage. His beheading is scheduled for live broadcast on the net.And whatever the instructions of the Service, the slow horses aren't going to just sit quiet and watch . . .
    • More

    Done

    By Jacques Peretti
    Authors:
    Jacques Peretti
    What if the way we understand our world is wrong? What if it isn't politicians and events that shape our lives, but secret deals made by people you've never heard of?This book tells the story of the secret deals that are changing the world, and revolutionizing everything we do, including money, the food we eat, what we buy, and the drugs we take to stay well. These deals never make the news: they are made high up in boardrooms, on golf courses, and in luxury cars: each sealed by world-changing handshakes. This is the story of those handshakes.
    • More

    Lean On Me

    By Mike Gayle
    Authors:
    Mike Gayle
    • More

    It

    By Stephen King
    Authors:
    Stephen King
    • More

    NIV Audio Bible in One Year (Sept-Oct)

    By New International Version, David Suchet, Jane Collingwood
    Authors:
    New International Version
    Read by:
    David Suchet, Jane Collingwood
    Listen through the Bible in one year read by David Suchet. This download contains the readings for September and October.Acclaimed British actor David Suchet, best known for his TV portrayal of Agatha Christie's Poirot, reads the New International Version - the world's most popular translation in modern English. In this portion, the readings cover the following parts of the Bible:September: Psalms 105-115; Proverbs 21-24:4; 2 Corinthians 5-13; Galatians; Ephesians; Philippians 1-2:11; Micah 5-7; Isaiah; Nahum; Zephaniah; Jeremiah 1-2:30October: Psalm 115-119; Proverbs 24-26; Philippians 2:12-4:23; Colossians; 1 Thessalonians;2 Thessalonians; 1 Timothy; 2 Timothy; Titus; Hebrews 1-2; Jeremiah 2:31-52:34; Habakkuk; Lamentations; Philemon; ObadiahThe full NIV Bible in One Year is also available as an MP3 CD set, a digital download, and a hardback Bible.(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton Limited
    • More

    Sleeping in the Ground

    By Peter Robinson
    Authors:
    Peter Robinson
    A terrible crime. No obvious motive.Banks is on the case.'Top-notch police procedure' - Jeffery DeaverA shocking mass murder occurs at a wedding in a small Dales church and a huge manhunt follows. Eventually, the shooter is run to ground and things take their inevitable course.But Banks is plagued with doubts as to exactly what happened outside the church that day, and why. Struggling with the death of his first serious girlfriend and the return of profiler Jenny Fuller into his life, Banks feels the need to dig deeper into the murders, and as he does so, he uncovers forensic and psychological puzzles that lead him to the past secrets that might just provide the answers he is looking for. When the surprising truth becomes clear, it is almost too late.
    • More

    Acts of Love: a sizzling and sexy escapist romance perfect for summer

    By Talulah Riley
    Authors:
    Talulah Riley
    A wonderfully romantic and searingly sexy love story to make your heart soar, perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Eligible. 'A refreshing love story' - Marie Claire'A truly unique heroine' - HeatBernadette knows what she wants.Tim is perfect, and she's always had a feeling that something is about to happen between them.He might have just announced his engagement to the sickeningly wonderful Elizabeth, but the ring's not on his finger yet. And when Elizabeth starts meddling in Bernie's own love life, she knows it's time to act. Yes, Elizabeth's best friend Radley might be charming, charismatic and intelligent. But he's not Tim. And Bernadette's not a woman who takes no for an answer.'Talulah Riley is an absolute force of nature. Read and revel' - Eva Rice
    • More

    Trust No One

    By Paul Cleave
    Authors:
    Paul Cleave
    'Anyone who likes their crime fiction on the black and bloody side should move Paul Cleave straight to the top of their must-read list' Mark BillinghamThe brand new psychological thriller from the author of The Cleaner and Joe Victim. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and Ian Rankin.His novels tell of brutal murders and bad people. Was it just his imagination? Jerry Grey is better known as crime writer Henry Cutter - whose twelve books kept readers gripped for over a decade. Now he's been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's, and his writing life has ended. But the stories haven't. As his control loosens, Jerry confesses his worst secret: the books are real. He remembers committing the crimes.His friends, family and carers say it's all his head. He's just confused. If that's true, then why are so many bad things happening? Why are people dying?
    • More