Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • The Silent Pool

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    First she felt herself being pushed downstairs. Then there was the bowl of poisoned mushroom soup. Finally the tampered-with tablet amongst her sleeping pills was the last straw. Adriana Ford, famous actress and mistress of the house decided to call in Miss Silver. And Maud Silver, with impeccable logic, pointed out that the person who was trying to kill her must be a member of her own household.And then the murders started...
    • More
  • Strong Poison

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.Can Lord Peter Wimsey prove that Harriet Vane is not guilty of murder - or find the real poisoner in time to save her from the gallows?Impossible, it seems. The Crown's case is watertight. The police are adamant that the right person is on trial. The judge's summing-up is also clear. Harriet Vane is guilty of the killing her lover. And Harriet Vane shall hang.But the jury disagrees.
    • More
  • Spotlight

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    • More
  • Striding Folly

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detction skills at their most spectacular.The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero.This book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.
    • More

    The Spring Madness of Mr Sermon

    By R. F. Delderfield
    Authors:
    R. F. Delderfield
    It happened on the second day of the summer term. Was it caused by the smell of lilac, the droning of the bees, or the French incense which Lane-Perkins had set alight? Nobody knew, but that spring afternoon following a heated exchange with a pupil, Sebastian Sermon, a forty-nine-year-old schoolmaster, experiences a brainstorm. Dissatisfied with his life, he leaves his job, wife and children, and takes to the road.In the months that follow, Sebastian discovers that excitement and romance are not only for the young. He does things he has never done before and finds that he has talents which no one, least of all himself, had ever suspected . . .
    • More

    Stewart Trilogy

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    • More

    The Shell Seekers

    By Rosamunde Pilcher
    Authors:
    Rosamunde Pilcher
    Artist's daughter Penelope Keeling can look back on a full and varied life: a Bohemian childhood in London and Cornwall, an unhappy wartime marriage, and the one man she truly loved. She has brought up three children - and learned to accept them as they are.Yet she is far too energetic and independent to settle sweetly into pensioned-off old-age. And when she discovers that her most treasured possession, her father's painting, The Shell Seekers, is now worth a small fortune, it is Penelope who must make the decisions that will determine whether her family can continue to survive as a family, or be split apart.
    • More

    The Second Inheritance

    By Melvyn Bragg
    Authors:
    Melvyn Bragg
    Set in the Border country of Northern England, The Second Inheritance follows two young men as they struggle with the constraints of a close-knit farming community. Amid the intimacies and tensions of their families, they discover that only through each other's passion for escape will they finally be able to live their youth.
    • More

    A Small Town in Germany

    By John Le Carré
    Authors:
    John Le Carré
    'The Germans mustn't know. Not on any account. They mustn't know he's gone; they mustn't know we're looking for him; they mustn't know there's been a leak'The missing man: Harting, refugee background, a Junior Something in the British Embassy in Bonn. The missing files: forty-three of them, all Confidential or above. The timing: appalling and probably not accidental; radical students and neo-Nazis rioting; critical negotiations in Brussels.London's security officer Alan Turner is sent to Bonn to find the missing man and files as Germany's past, present and future threaten to collide in a nightmare of violence.
    • More

    Sons of Heaven

    By Terence Strong
    Authors:
    Terence Strong
    • More

    The Silken Net

    By Melvyn Bragg
    Authors:
    Melvyn Bragg
    Half-French with an agile, inquiring mind, Rosemary Lewis cannot help being out of the ordinary in Thurston, the Cumbrian market town where she grows up between the wars. An early, bruising failure in love drives her inwards to the solace of books until she meets Edgar - vigorous, down to earth and determined to win her. Charting their life together, this powerful novel probes with exceptional acuity the heights and tortured depths of a bond that becomes a shackle.
    • More

    Shining Threads

    By Audrey Howard
    Authors:
    Audrey Howard
    When beautiful Tessa Harrison and her twin cousins take over their parents' Lancashire cotton mill, their luxurious upbringing has left them unprepared for their new responsibilities.For Tessa, there is an added but forbidden attraction at the mill. Foreman Will Broadbent, with his genuine understanding of the business and its workers, could not be more different from the dashing cousins. Yet, like the twins, he is hopelessly in love with this untameable girl.Their love for Tessa will lead one to death, one to the arms of another woman, a thrid too faint-hearted to take up his inheritance.And Tessa, the girl who could choose any man she wanted, is forced to shoulder more burdens than she could have imagined before she can be united with the one man she truly needs.'Her thousands of fans recognise the artistry of a true storyteller' Lancashire Life
    • More

    Stage Directions

    By John Gielgud
    Authors:
    John Gielgud
    • More

    Space Cadet

    By Robert A. Heinlein
    Authors:
    Robert A. Heinlein
    Matt Dodson is a member of an elite, non-military organization of leaders dedicated to preserving peace in the Solar System, the Solar Patrol. Only the best and brightest,the strongest and the most courageous ever manage to become Space Cadets...
    • More

    The Shrapnel Academy

    By Fay Weldon
    Authors:
    Fay Weldon
    'The setting of this enjoyable novel is the Shrapnel Academy, a country-house centre for the study of military excellence...Here, one winter weekend, a group of guests gather, for the eve-of-Waterloo dinner, and to hear Gen. Leo Makeshift deliver the annual Wellington lecture...Below stairs lurks a huge army of Third World servants with their illegal hangers-on, led by a lunatic African butler. Murder is plotted. Snow falls. All are trapped...that rare treat: a wildly funny, deeply serious, novel' Daily Telegraph
    • More
  • Salem Street

    By Anna Jacobs
    Authors:
    Anna Jacobs
    • More

    The Secret Pilgrim

    By John Le Carré
    Authors:
    John Le Carré
    The Berlin Wall is toppled, the Iron Curtain swept aside. The Secret Pilgrim is Ned, a decent, loyal soldier of the Cold War, who has been in British Intelligence - the Circus - all his adult life. Now, approaching the end of his career, he is forced by the explosions of change to revisit his secret years.Ned illuminates the brave past of the legendary George Smiley, his hero and mentor who, in one unforgettable evening, gives back to him the dangerous edge of memory that empowers him finally to frame the questions that have haunted him for thirty years ...
    • More

    Street Drugs

    By Andrew Tyler
    Authors:
    Andrew Tyler
    • More

    Shotgun

    By Ed Mcbain
    Authors:
    Ed Mcbain
    • More

    Spin

    By Tim Geary
    Authors:
    Tim Geary
    When Annie Martin was twenty and at acting school in New York she dreamed of becoming a star. Fifteen years later she's still waiting. Then Annie is approached by the most successful image-maker in the country. Once the President's spin-doctor, Alex Lubotsky wants to return to the Whitehouse but he needs Annie's help. Alex offers her the chance of a lifetime, but soon Annie realises that she's in a world controlled by the media, and she's been cast in a role that isn't what it seemed.
    • More