Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • The Nine Tailors

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.
    • More

    Nine Coaches Waiting

    By Mary Stewart
    Authors:
    Mary Stewart
    After a rather drab existence in an English orphanage Linda Martin is appointed governess to the nine-year-old owner of the Chateau Valmy in the French Alps. During little Philippe's minority the estates are being managed by his crippled uncle Leon, and Leon's handsome son Raoul. All seems delightful, but there are tensions below the smooth surface. One sunny afternoon a bullet is fired in the beechwoods ... and the tensions become terrors.
    • More

    The Nerve

    By Melvyn Bragg
    Authors:
    Melvyn Bragg
    One August bank holiday, Ted Johnson wakes to a day of reckoning - with his past in Cumberland, his present in London and his fantasies. An inflamed nerve troubles his eye as he veers between elation and despair, overwhelmed by the noise and bustle of the streets, unable to connect even with a visiting girlfriend. Written in 1971, Melvyn Bragg's sixth novel draws a remarkable portrait of a man's courageous fight to keep his mental balance and regain a sense of identity amid the stress and intoxication of modern city life.
    • More

    The Night Manager

    By John Le Carré
    Authors:
    John Le Carré
    In the shadowy recesses of Whitehall and Washington an unholy alliance operates between the intelligence community and the secret arms trade.Jonathan Pine is ready to stand up and be counted in the fight against this ultimate heart of darkness. His mission takes him from the cliffs of west Cornwall, via northern Quebec and the Caribbean, to the jungles of post-Noriega Panama. His quarry is the worst man in the world.
    • More

    NLP

    By Charles Faulkner, Steve Andreas, The NLP Comprehensive Training Team
    Authors:
    Charles Faulkner, Steve Andreas, The NLP Comprehensive Training Team
    Neuro-linguistic programming (NLP) is a revolutionary approach to human communication and development based on the discovery that by changing how you think, you can transform what you think. It helps you to modify your thought and behavioural patterns to suit your projected goals. NLP literally "re-programs" your mind and your life - for faster learning, better relationships and greater success. NLP will change your life. It has already helped millions of people overcome fears, increase confidence, enrich relationships and achieve greater success. Now, the NLP Comprehensive Training Team, a team of counsellors, coaches and consultants, draw on years of personal and professional experience to create an effective guidebook to learning and applying this technology to achieve what you want. The reader can learn to: master powerful techniques of persuasion and negotiation; eliminate fears, phobias and low self-esteem in minutes; and learn the success secrets of top achievers. Every chapter in this step-by-step guide includes exercises to help you master specific NLP techniques, and a new 21-day programme, created especially for this book, provides the essential skills needed to achieve peak performance in business and in life. Charles Faulkner is the author of "NLP: The New Technology of Achievement" and "Success and Mastery with NLP".
    • More

    The Normal Christian Birth

    By David Pawson
    Authors:
    David Pawson
    Basing his study on the New Testament, David Pawson advocates a synthesis of the 'liberal' emphasis on repentance, the 'evangelical' on faith, the 'sacramental' on baptism and the 'pentecostal' on the Spirit. He then relates these 'spiritual dooes' to the concepts of conversion and regeneration.The Normal Christian Birth looks at crucial and controversial texts, challenging traditional interpretations. The final section on evangelistic counselling questions the adequacy of the typical 'sinner's prayer' approach. Drawing from scripture and experience, David Pawson gives many practical tips on helping potential discipes to repent, believe, be baptised and receive the Spirit.
    • More

    Nero

    By David Wishart
    Authors:
    David Wishart
    The one 'fact' that everyone knows about Emperor Nero is that he fiddled while Rome burned. But what elements of nature and nuture combined to make this notorious character? An entertaining view is presented by Titus Petronius, Nero's pleasure-loving Advisor on Taste, through whose eyes we see the tumultuous, and ultimately tragic, life of the emperor.But is it a view we can trust? As their relationship develops, Petronius finds to his dismay that his personal sympathies lie more with the mad emperor than with the forces that seek to keep him in check. Caught between his own beliefs and the political realities of his time, he finds himself walking a path which will lead him and others inevitably to disaster.
    • More

    No Regrets

    By Elizabeth Adler
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Adler
    • More

    The New Negotiating Edge

    By Gavin Kennedy
    Authors:
    Gavin Kennedy
    Gavin Kennedy aims to go beyond tough guy tactics to reveal how people actually negotiate. This text is not about what people ought to do, rationally or otherwise - it is about how people really behave and what you can do about it. His thesis is that the two usual modes of negotiating behaviour should be blended. The "red style" is the use of manipulative tactics and agressive ploys, whilst the "blue style" is the antidote to this, suggesting the use of principled negotiation and rational problem solving prescriptions. Kennedy presents his "purple style", which says: "give me some of what I want ("red style") and I will give you some of what you want ("Blue style")". "Red" is taking behaviour, "blue" is giving behaviour, and "purple" is trading behaviour. "Purple" behaviour deals with people as they are, and not how you assume them to be. It is biased towards how negotiators behave and prefers the evidence of their behaviour to affirmations of their good intentions, but it is not a rationale for cynicism. The author sets-out a simplified, 4-phase process of this theory: prepare; debate; propose; and bargain.
    • More

    No Mercy

    By David Buckley
    Authors:
    David Buckley
    • More

    No Place of Angels

    By Meg Hutchinson
    Authors:
    Meg Hutchinson
    Carys Beddows has never understood why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way, and throws Carys out of the house to fend for herself. Befriended by Alice, a young woman in domestic service, Carys herself takes a job as a housemaid and is lucky enough to find in the mistress of the house a friend and patron. Maria continues with her vicious schemes until fate intervenes to punish her wicked ways; but for Carys, the reward of virtue is lasting love.
    • More

    Not a Bird Will Sing

    By Audrey Howard
    Authors:
    Audrey Howard
    Set on a 19th century farm in rural Lancashire near Liverpool, this heartwarming saga is the story of Poppy Appleton, a girl who grew up in ignorance and poverty but has been adopted by a prosperous farmer's wife.  At Long Reach farm, Eliza Goodall teaches Poppy all the skills she would have passed on to her own daughter: the skills that would enable a young lady to become the mistress of a farm just like Long Reach.  And when the time comes for Eliza's son Richard to choose a wife, it seems only natural that he should choose Poppy.  But though she feels nothing but affection for Richard and all her new family, the only man for whom she has ever felt love is an Irish boy, Conn MacConnell.  And when he returns unexpectedly, Poppy has to choose between loyalty and love.
    • More
  • Noble House

    By James Clavell
    Authors:
    James Clavell
    Over one hundred years have passed since Dirk Struan founded Hong Kong’s oldest trading company. But now, the Noble House is in danger. As Hong Kong itself becomes the deadly playground of the CIA, the KGB and the People’s Republic of China, rival tai-pans, seeking revenge for blood feuds over a century old, gather for the kill.
    • More

    Now We Are Sixty

    By Christopher Matthew
    Authors:
    Christopher Matthew
    When Christopher Matthew was six, the poems of Milne always reassured him that other children were as naughty as he was, so on reaching sixty he decided that he should adapt Now We Are Six for an older audience.Now We Are Sixty is often hilarious, sometimes rueful and always thought-provoking. Some verses are about realising we are not as young as we thought, while some are about the more disconcerting problems of modern life; mobile telephones on trains, anti-social behaviour, traffic jams and the internet.
    • More

    NIV Every Day Devotional Bible

    NIV Mark's Gospel

    By David Prior
    Authors:
    David Prior

    NIV Matthew's Gospel

    By David Prior
    Authors:
    David Prior

    NIV John's Gospel

    By David Prior
    Authors:
    David Prior

    Naked Face

    By Sidney Sheldon
    Authors:
    Sidney Sheldon
    • More

    Nathaniel's Nutmeg

    By Giles Milton
    Authors:
    Giles Milton
    In 1616, an English adventurer, Nathaniel Courthope, stepped ashore on a remote island in the East Indies on a secret mission - to persuade the islanders of Run to grant a monopoly to England over their nutmeg, a fabulously valuable spice in Europe. This infuriated the Dutch, who were determined to control the world's nutmeg supply. For five years Courthope and his band of thirty men were besieged by a force one hundred times greater - and his heroism set in motion the events that led to the founding of the greatest city on earth.A beautifully told adventure story and a fascinating depiction of exploration in the seventeenth century, NATHANIEL'S NUTMEG sheds a remarkable light on history.
    • More