Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • Latter End

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    Things had never been quite the same at Latter End since Lois had taken over. Suddenly life seemed to be an endless succession of bitter family rows which Lois, needless to say, invariably won.More than one person at Latter End found themselves stretched to the limit by Lois and her bullying, and it was only a matter of time before somebody snapped. It was unthinkable of course . . . but if anyone ever murdered Lois Latter, it would be very embarrassing to discover just how many people might have wished her dead.
    • More

    Landscape into Art

    By Kenneth Clark
    Authors:
    Kenneth Clark
    • More

    LADIES BANE HPB

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    • More
  • Lord Peter Views the Body

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.One solution requires expertise in fine wines; another calls on his knowledge of fine art. Lord Peter has the knack of being on the spot at just the right time to spot a thief or blackmail a blackmailer. Or even prevent a murder . . .Whatever the occasion, the aristocratic detective uses his razor-sharp mind and unerring instincts to unmask the guilty and go to the aid of their victims.
    • More

    The Last Enchantment

    By Mary Stewart
    Authors:
    Mary Stewart
    With the great sword Caliburn in his hand and Merlin the enchanter at his side, Arthur comes out of hiding to claim the crown he was born to wear. Merlin, Arthur's protector, sees the glories and horrors that await the new king . . . and to save him Merlin musters all his power to weave one last enchantment. He is showing signs of age and he gradually realises he is losing his powers of prophecy and clairvoyance to a younger generation. But he is able to accept this because he knows that they will be at the service of his beloved monarch whose fabled victories, marriage and the building of Camelot shine through these pages.
    • More
  • Lonesome Road

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    There were times when Rachel Treherne fervently wished that her beloved father had left his fortune to somebody else, so overburdened did she feel with the administration of her estate. And never more so than now for, although she was surrounded by relatives who depended on her, whom she loved and who must surely love her, there was no doubt in her mind that somebody was trying to kill her.Threatening letters could be ignored, odd tasting chocolates can be rejected but when snakes are left in her bed, Rachel is convinced that someone means here terrible harm. Her only chance of a future life lay with Miss Silver, and Miss Silver was well on the way to unmasking the murderer when they struck again.
    • More

    The Longest Journey

    By E M Forster
    Authors:
    E M Forster
    First published in 1907, The Longest Journey is the most personal of E.M. Forster's novels, and the one he was most glad to have written. Rickie Elliot, sensitive, idealistic and gifted with a powerful imagination, misleads him-self through his conventional desire for marriage and fatherhood. Falling for the beautiful yet superficial Agnes Pembroke, he gives up his writing ambitions and becomes a schoolmaster at a minor public school in order to marry her. So begins his journey away from the philosophical ideals of his Cambridge youth and his slow descent into a hollow world of rigid conformity and moral decay.
    • More

    Lion Let Loose

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    James the First of Scots was an extraordinary man: poet, thinker warrior, athlete and statesman. And prisoner - for he was held captive for almost half his adult life.He possessed that fatal Stewart capacity to arouse both love and hatred; to attract both undying loyalty and the darkest treachery. His romance with the proud English beauty Joanna Beaufort is one of the great love stories of history, and the love for him of Catherine Douglas, one of the most poignant.In this compelling novel, Nigel Tranter vividly recreates the turbulent life of a remarkable man and the troubled times in which he lived.
    • More

    Letters to Alice

    By Fay Weldon
    Authors:
    Fay Weldon
    Alice is an eighteen-year-old student and aspiring novelist with green spiky hair, a child of the modern age who recoils at the idea of reading Jane Austen. In a sequence of letters reminiscent of Jane Austen's to her own neice, 'aunt' Fay examines the rewards of such study. Not only is her correspondence a revealing tribute to a great writer - it is also an original and rewarding exploration of the craft of fiction itself.
    • More

    The Lesson of her Death

    By Jeffery Deaver
    Authors:
    Jeffery Deaver
    When Detective Bill Corde looks at the beautiful face of the murdered girl in the mud, he does not know his own life is about to turn into a terrifyingly real nightmare. For the girl's killer is now on the trail of Corde and his unsuspecting family: his wife, teenage son, and imaginative but vulnerable daughter, Sarah. Sarah, who alone knows the identity of the killer...
    • More

    Love From Nancy

    By Charlotte Mosley
    Authors:
    Charlotte Mosley
    • More

    Lord of the Isles

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    By the power of his sword arm, his dragon fleet and his sheer personality, Somerled Norse Slayer carved an enduring name for himself in Scottish legend.  Inheriting his father's shattered thanedom in Argyll in the twelfth century, he enlarged it by courage, initiative, military shrewdness and diplomacy. For decades his navy held the balance of power in the northern seas, and it was he who cleared the Vikings out of the Hebrides.  Set against the romantically celebrated West Highlands and Western Isles of Scotland, the story of the conquests and courage of this hero king is a living tribute to a renowned legend.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    The Long Shot

    By Stephen Leather
    Authors:
    Stephen Leather
    • More

    The Life and Loves of a She Devil

    By Fay Weldon
    Authors:
    Fay Weldon
    Ruth Patchett never thought of herself as particularly devilish. Rather the opposite in fact - simply a tall, not terribly attractive woman living a quiet life as a wife and mother in a respectable suburb. But when she discovers that her husband is having a passionate affair with the lovely romantic novelist Mary Fisher, she is so seized by envy that she becomes truly diabolic. Within weeks she has burnt down the family home, collected the insurance, made love to the local drunk and embarked on a course of destruction and revenge.A blackly comic satire of the war of the sexes, THE LIFE AND LOVES OF A SHE DEVIL is the fantasy of the wronged woman made real.
    • More

    Lord in Waiting

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    This is the second book in the Mary Stewart trilogy, a sequel to PRICE OF A PRINCESS.    In 1460, when clan feuds were rife and the threat of English invasion was ever-present, James the Third, one of Scotland's weakest monarchs, came to the throne.  Before long, John, Lord of Douglas, a born leader and a man of conscience and vision, found himself wishing that James's wise and strong-minded sister Princess Mary had succeeded in her brother's place.  For the feeble king had a habit of ignoring the advice of his high-born nobles and succumbing instead to the influence of the astrologer and alchemist William Sheves, archdeacon of St Andrews, who was one of the cleverest and most unscrupulous individuals in Scotland's history.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    Luckpenny Land

    By Freda Lightfoot
    Authors:
    Freda Lightfoot
    Life is hard for Meg Turner. She lives on a lonely farm in the bleak but beautiful mountains of the Lake District with a bully of a father and a brother who resents her. They want to keep her stuck at home, but Meg knows there's more to life than the kitchen sink and she's determined to find it.Meg wants to be a sheep farmer - unusual for a woman - and life in this man's world proves tougher at times than she expected. For love and comfort, she turns to her best friend, Kath, and to Lanky Lawson, who's more of a father figure to her than her own will ever be.But it's Lanky Lawson's son, Jack, with his dark good looks she loves and hopes to marry one day. But loyalties are threatened as World War II approaches, and Meg gradually realises that the only thing she can really count on is her passion for the haunting land she loves so much . . .
    • More

    Long Summer Day

    By R. F. Delderfield
    Authors:
    R. F. Delderfield
    Paul Craddock is still young when he is invalided out of the army after the Boer War and he discovers the neglected estate of Shallowford in a secluded corner of Devon. It seems remote from the march of progress. But as storm clouds gather over Europe, Paul learns that no part of England, however remote, can escape the challenge of the times.
    • More

    Last Act of All

    By Aline Templeton
    Authors:
    Aline Templeton
    • More

    A Long Walk in Wintertime

    By Libby Purves, Libby Purves
    Authors:
    Libby Purves, Libby Purves
    Alice McDonald has escaped all the obvious traps that lie in wait for women. She loves her job but enjoys her clever, spirited children too; her husband (Dan the New Man) does his share at home, and their London house is always full of friends. At her thirty-seventh birthday party, Alice reflects that their life has been a pretty successful production so far.But love can be treacherous, and children are never quite what they seem. Two months later, far from home and alone on a desperate quest through the bleak lanes of Norfolk, Alice wonders how it fell apart so quickly. Were things ever as good as they seemed? Had the McDonalds really been happy, or was it no more than a stage illusion?
    • More

    Life After Lunch

    By Sarah Harrison
    Authors:
    Sarah Harrison
    Laura and Susan have had a love/hate relationship since their schooldays. Laura presides hopefully over a large, unruly family as she approaches her silver wedding; Susan is exuberantly independent and a most spirited advocate of the single life. At their regular lunches they view each other with a mixture of deep affection and even deeper suspicion. But when the balance suddenly alters, the two friends are surprised to discover something new and potentially wonderful about ... life after lunch.
    • More