Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Goodbye Mr Chips

By James Hilton
Authors:
James Hilton
  • More
  • Gaudy Night

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . . At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations. But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.
    • More

    God is an Englishman

    By R. F. Delderfield
    Authors:
    R. F. Delderfield
    Adam Swann is hungry for success. He is one of the new breed of entrepreneurs thrown up by the Industrial Revolution, determined to take advantage of current economic conditions to build an unrivalled business empire.And he is determined to win the beautiful, strong-minded Henrietta, and persuade her to share in his struggles and triumphs.
    • More

    Give Us This Day

    By R. F. Delderfield
    Authors:
    R. F. Delderfield
    Adam Swann has grown old, and is struggling to keep up with the changing times. The Victorian age is giving way to the Edwardian and the horse is being overtaken by the motorcar, with devastating effect on his transport business.As the new century is born, the Boer war brings tragedy, but even this cannot quench the indomitable spirit of the Swann family.
    • More

    Gossip From the Forest

    By Thomas Keneally
    Authors:
    Thomas Keneally
    In November 1918, in a railway carriage in a forest near Paris, six men meet to negotiate an end to the terrible slaughter of the First World War. Threatened by famine and anarchy at home, the Germans struggle to mitigate the punishing terms offered by the Allies. But both sides are torn by battle exhaustion and a confusion that far exceed their national differences. In this riveting combination of history, speculation and rumour, Thomas Keneally recreates the personalities, ideals, prejudices, arguments and desperate measures that resulted in the armistice which would shape the future of Europe.Price: £5.99Edition: SecondFormat:198 x 129 mmImprint: SceptreMarkets:BCN ex CanFour of Thomas Keneally's novels have been shortlisted for the Booker prize and SCHINDLER'S ARK (filmed by Steven Spielberg as Schindler's List) has sold more copies than any other Booker Prize-winner. He is also the author of several works of non-fiction, including THE PLACE WHERE SOULS ARE BORN, about the American Southwest.BIRTHPLACE: New South Wales, Australia. WHEREABOUTS: Sydney, AustraliaPREVIOUS BOOKS: INCLUDEBLOOD RED, SISTER ROSE; CONFEDERATES; THE PLAYMAKER; THE PLACE WHERE SOULS ARE BORN; A FAMILY MADNESS; TOWARDS ASMARA; WOMAN OF THE INNER SEA; JACKO; SCHINDLER'S LISTTHE PROMOTION*Part of the new Sceptre relaunchSELLING POINTS(1)Shortlisted for the Booker Prize(2) Publication will coincide with Keneally's new novel A RIVER TOWN and the paperback of JACKO.(3) Author PR on publication. Keneally will be here to take part in the Sceptre promotion.
    • More

    Gold for Prince Charlie

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    In 1745 the Highlanders limped away from the bitter field of Culloden. Soon the Duke of Cumberland was offering a huge sum for the capture of Prince Charles Edward Stuart, dead or alive. Duncan MacGregor, great-nephew of Rob Roy, volunteers to join the small band of men escorting the Prince to safety. Just one day after the Prince's escape, a large amount of French gold is landed at the very spot from which he has sailed. Thus it is that Duncan becomes involved in a desperate attempt to save Prince Charlie's gold, helped by beautiful, headstrong Caroline Cameron.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    Gifts Differing

    By Isabel Briggs Myers, Peter B. Myers
    Authors:
    Isabel Briggs Myers, Peter B. Myers
    Like a thumbprint, personality type provides an instant snapshot of a person's uniqueness. Drawing on concepts originated by Carl Jung, this book distinguishes four categories of personality styles and shows how these qualities determine the way you perceive the world and come to conclusions about what you've seen. It then explains what they mean for your success in school, at a job, in a career and in your personal relationships. For more than 60 years, the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) tool has been the most widely used instrument in the world for determining personality type, and for more than 25 years, Gifts Differing has been the preeminent source for understanding it.
    • More

    The Green Gauntlet

    By R. F. Delderfield
    Authors:
    R. F. Delderfield
    Paul and Claire Craddock have grown older in years - but not in spirit. World War II is over. But for Craddock and his family there are new battles to be fought and won. The new property laws enable speculators to reap huge profits from agricultural lands, and Paul's livelihood is threatened.With the help of his children and children's children, Paul struggles to preserve the happiness and peace he has built up over the years. In doing so, he comes to discover deeper, richer ties with those around him. Ties which hold a ripe promise for the future...
    • More

    Game and a Half

    By Rob Andrew
    Authors:
    Rob Andrew
    • More

    Gangland Britain

    By Tony Thompson
    Authors:
    Tony Thompson
    Here is a picture of organised crime, seen within the ranks of the Hell's Angels, the Yardies, the Triads and the Yakuza, as well as the old-style East-End gangs. It is an insight into their initiation ceremonies, their methods, their money-raising tactics; a timely portrayal of Britain's worst criminal problem.
    • More
  • God the Father, God the Son

    • More
  • God the Holy Spirit

    By Martyn Lloyd-Jones
    Authors:
    Martyn Lloyd-Jones
    • More

    Good Grief

    By Keith Waterhouse
    Authors:
    Keith Waterhouse
    Returning from the memorial service for her husband, a tough tabloid editor cut down in his prime, June Pepper sets about following his instructions to keep a journal, as therapy. But both grief and the journal prove elusive. Distracted by a problem stepdaughter and by a liaison with a man she discovers wearing one of her husband's old suits, she finds bereavement far from straightforward. And as she empties skeletons from closets, she learns there is far more to life than death.
    • More
  • The Gazebo

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    For Althea Graham, suffering the whims of her malevolent invalid of a mother, the old family home is a prison. So when two strangely competitive offers for the Graham's house are made to her it suggests that house may hold some dark rewarding secret. Then old Mrs Graham is found murdered in the gazebo . . .
    • More

    The Gates of Midnight

    By Jessica Stirling
    Authors:
    Jessica Stirling
    War has come to London once more and Holly Beckman, now a widow, is forced to find new depths of courage in the face of adversity. David Aspinall, her first lover, has come back after twenty years abroad. He still holds a fatal charm for Holly but only time will tell if she can finally trust him. A new generation defies convention in the face of death, as Holly's RAF pilot son Chris and David's niece embark on a whirlwind affair. Across the channel, Ritchie Beckman - his lucrative art business crumbling as the Germans advance on Paris - risks everything to outwit the Nazis, but his plan could mean tragedy for the whole Beckman family...'She writes in bright colours with bold, confident strokes' Glasgow Herald
    • More

    God's Big Picture

    By J.I. Packer
    Authors:
    J.I. Packer

    Ghostwritten

    By David Mitchell
    Authors:
    David Mitchell
    Winner of the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize.A magnificent achievement and an engrossing experience, David Mitchell's first novel announced the arrival of one of the most exciting writers of the twenty-first century. An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what links him to a jazz buff in downtown Tokyo? Or to a Mongolian gangster, a woman on a holy mountain who talks to a tree, and a late night New York DJ?Set at the fugitive edges of Asia and Europe, Ghostwritten weaves together a host of characters, their interconnected destinies determined by the inescapable forces of cause and effect.
    • More

    The Great War: the American Front

    By Harry Turtledove
    Authors:
    Harry Turtledove
    It is 1914, and a generation lies rotting in the stinking trenches of modern warfare. A continent is crucified by a million miles of barbed wire. The cream of two powerful nationas are fighting each other to bloody stalemate. But this is not France . . . this is America. The bloodiest of conflicts is played out in the heart of the new world, where north fights south to the death - again.'The wizard of If.' Chicago Sun-Times'The standard-bearer for alternate history.' USA Today
    • More
  • Gai-Jin

    By James Clavell
    Authors:
    James Clavell
    It is 1862 and Japan is a land in chaos as the power of the Shogun wanes and the rival factions plan to restore the Emperor. In Yokohama, the gai-jin, the hated foreigners, seek to profit from the chaos. At the head of the Noble House - and heir to the title of Tai-Pan - stands Malcolm Struan, who is determined to become his own man and marry the woman he loves. At the head of the Shogunate party is the Lord Yoshi, a direct descendant of Shogun Toranaga, who shares all of his ancestor's cunning and ambition.
    • More

    Grianan

    By Alexandra Raife
    Authors:
    Alexandra Raife
    Abandoning her ordered life in England after a broken engagement, Sally flees to Grianan, the beloved Scottish home of her childhood. Running Aunt Janey's remote country house hotel is hard work, but at least it will be a complete break.Sally's brief encounter with Mike - gentle, loving but unavailable - cures the pain of her broken engagement even before she reaches the Highlands, but leaves a deeper ache in its place.Caught up in the rhythms and concerns of Grianan, Sally begins to heal, putting behind her not just her recent loss, but a whole lifetime of hurt and rejection. And when fate brings Mike into her life again, tragically altered, she has the strength and faith to hope that Grianan might help him too.
    • More