Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • Clouds of Witness

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords.Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man.But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?
    • More

    Celebration of Faith

    By Austin Farrer
    Authors:
    Austin Farrer
    • More

    Cycle of the Werewolf

    By Stephen King
    Authors:
    Stephen King
    When the full moon shines, a paralysing fear descends on the isolated Maine town of Tarker Mills. No one knows who will be attacked next, but snarls that sound like human words can be heard and all around are the footprints of a monster whose hunger cannot be sated.
    • More

    The Clan of the Cave Bear

    By Jean M. Auel
    Authors:
    Jean M. Auel
    The story of Ayla begins when, as a 5-year-old orphan, she is adopted by the Clan, a group of Neanderthals. Initially she inspires surprise, then wariness and finally acceptance by the Clan. She is cared for by its medicine woman, Iza, and its wise holy man, Creb. But she makes an implacable enemy of the group's future leader, Broud. He will do all he can to destroy her - but Ayla is a survivor.Jean Auel's imaginative reconstruction of pre-historic life, rich in detail of language, culture, myth and ritual, has become a set text in schools and colleges around the world
    • More
  • The Case is Closed

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    The Everton murder case has long been closed. The culprit has been charged with the murder of his uncle and has served a year of his sentence already. Or has he?The evidence against Geoffrey Grey is convincing but his wife believes in his innocence. And so does her young cousin, Hilary, who decides to solve the mystery herself. But when Hilary herself is nearly murdered she turns in desperation to her ex-fiance for help. He calls upon the services of Miss Silver to help solve another mystery, which she does in her own original style.
    • More
  • The Clock Strikes Twelve

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    New Year's Eve, 1940, is unusual for the Paradine family. Departing from tradition, James Paradine makes a speech that changes the course of many lives. Valuable documents have disappeared. A member of the family has taken them. The culprit has until midnight to confess and return the papers.A few minutes after twelve James Paradine is dead. It is left to Miss Silver to disentangle the threads that bind the Paradine family in a strange web of dislike, hatred and fear.
    • More
  • The Chinese Shawl

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    Tanis Lyle was one of those passionate women who always get their own way. Her cousin Laura hated her. Most women did. But men found her irresistible and she used them mercilessly. So when Tanis was found murdered there seemed to be any number of suspects on hand. But Miss Silver had her own suspicions . . .
    • More

    Chain of Destiny

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    Following the murder of his father at Bannockburn in 1488, fifteen-year-old James Stewart was crowned James IV of Scotland. From those inauspicious beginnings, the inexperienced boy-king was to become one of the finest and most popular kings in Scotland's history, leading his people bravely through some of the nation's most dramatic and colourful years. Bold, vigorous, headstong and romantic, he inspired great loyalty from men, and passionate love from women. So great was his people's affection that the bravest and best of Scotland's young men finally laid down their lives for him - at the tragic Field of Flodden. Accomplished lover, able king, complex personality, James IV of Scotland is brought to memorable life in Nigel Tranter's compelling tale of drama, intrigue and treachery. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    The Crystal Cave

    By Mary Stewart
    Authors:
    Mary Stewart
    • More

    Cheap Day Return

    By R. F. Delderfield
    Authors:
    R. F. Delderfield
    Kent Stuart left the West Country town of Redcliffe Bay more than thirty years ago, pursued by the guilt and shame of a scandal that cost him his youth and happiness.Having led an exciting life as a photographer, Kent now returns to find a town that bears little physical resemblance to the one he left so many years before. Yet in spite of this, memories come flooding back of a young man swept up in a passionate affair with an older woman, which ended in tragedy.And Kent must decide whether, by revisiting Redcliffe Bay, he can come to terms with the past and start anew.
    • More

    The Chinaman

    By Stephen Leather
    Authors:
    Stephen Leather
    Stephen Leather's BESTSELLING breakthrough thriller.The Chinaman understood death.Jungle-skilled, silent and lethal, he had killed for the Viet Cong and then for the Americans. He had watched helpless when his two eldest daughters had been raped and killed by Thai pirates.Now all that was behind him. Quiet, hard-working and unassuming, he was building up his South London take-away business.Until the day his wife and youngest daughter were destroyed by an IRA bomb in a Knightsbridge department store.Then, simply but persistently, he began to ask the authorities who were the men responsible, what was being done. And was turned away, fobbed off, treated as a nuisance.Which was when the Chinaman, denied justice, decided on revenge. And went back to war.
    • More

    Crusader

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    Alexander III of Scotland was just seven years old when he inherited the throne. South of the border, England's King Henry III saw this as his chance to assert his paramouncy over the kingdom. At the age of ten, the boy was married to Henry's daughter. But through the hazards of power politics and dynastic marriage - one man stood by the young monarch. Whether it was shooting wild geese, helping him escape from the prison-like confines of Edinburgh Castle or teaching him to stand up both to his ever-threatening English father-in-law and the unending feuds of his own countrymen, David de Lindsay of Luffness in East Lothian was Alexander's one true and constant friend Even though David's only wish was to be a crusader, a wish he was finally to fufil when the boy became a man. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    Chambers Murray Latin-English Dictionary

    By Chambers
    Authors:
    Chambers
    First published in 1933, the Chambers Murray Latin-English Dictionary is the standard reference text for all advanced students of Latin.
    • More

    Crystal Rooms

    By Melvyn Bragg
    Authors:
    Melvyn Bragg
    Young Harry, an orphan from an impoverished council estate, becomes the link between starkly contrasting worlds: north and south, the deprived and the over-privileged, the powerful and the defenceless. With this compelling story of blackmail, media politics, corrupted innocence and redemptive love, Melvyn Bragg delivers an unforgettable portrait of modern life.
    • More

    Children of the Mist

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    'Our race is royal,' is the proud claim of the MacGregors. Yet for all their history and fighting prowess, they are a small clan and their lands too close for comfort to the great Clan Campbell. By the end of the 16th century, the heritage of their new young chieftain, Alastair MacGregor, is a poisoned chalice indeed. Not only has much of their land been lost, but their principal threat is Black Duncan of the Cowl, Campbell of Glenorchy. Campbell is as clever as he is unscrupulous - and he has the ear of King James VI.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    The Captive Crown

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    With the heir to the throne murdered, King Robert III a sick weakling, and his remaining son a child, Scotland and the Stewarts were in a bad way three generations on from the great Bruce. But two young men stood out: Alex Stewart, bastard son of the notorious Wolf of Badenoch, and his cousin, Brave John of Coull, a son of the hated regent. With their fortunes are entwined those of Sir Jamie Douglas, through whose eyes the story is told. The Captive Crown concludes the great trilogy of novels which charts the rise against all odds of the royal House of Stewart. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    Cross-Cultural Dialogues

    By Craig Storti
    Authors:
    Craig Storti
    How much culture lurks in common conversation? According to Craig Storti, so much that many of our most common, seemingly innocent exchanges-in social settings, on the job, in the world of business-are cultural minefields waiting to explode. These explosions-cultural misunderstandings-can cause confusion, irritation, even alienation. At the workplace and in the world of business these explosions undermine communication, threaten important relationships, and cost a great deal of time and money; away from work, they strain, even endanger, personal relations. Cross-Cultural Dialogues is a collection of brief conversation (4-8 lines) between an American and someone from another country and culture. Short as each dialogue is, it has buried within it at least one, and usually several breaches of cultural norms which the reader is challenges to figure out. And a challenge it is: the exchanges are so brief and innocuous that even the wariest among us are sandbagged by the dialogue's hidden subtleties. Ten cultures are represented by the non-Americans in the dialogues: Arab/Middle Eastern, British, Chinese, French, German, Hispanic, Indian, Japanese, Mediterranean/European, and Russian, and the dialogues are grouped according to the setting in which they occur: social, workplace, and business. Whether you're a learner, trainer, educator, or an armchair interculturalist, you'll enjoy solving these cultural riddles-and increase your cultural awareness in the bargain.
    • More

    Confederates

    By Thomas Keneally
    Authors:
    Thomas Keneally
    With a new introduction by Thomas Keneally.'The best novel of the Civil War since The Red Badge of Courage'NewsweekAs the Civil War tears America apart, General Stonewall Jackson leads a troop of Confederate soldiers on a long trek towards the battle they believe will be a conclusive victory. Through their hopes, fears and losses, Keneally searingly conveys both the drama and mundane hardship of war, and brings to life one of the most emotive episodes in American history.
    • More

    Caesar

    By Allan Massie
    Authors:
    Allan Massie
    'Massie's achievement is to infuse the mythical emperor with blood . . . he invigorates his characters with voices that seem to echo the present, not the past, and which are utterly convincing . . . a piece of bravura invention' Independent
    • More

    Calling The Horses

    By Peter O'Sullevan
    Authors:
    Peter O'Sullevan
    • More