Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • The Brading Collection

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    Lewis Brading loves only one thing - his collection of jewels. Not only are the gems extremely valuable but also every piece has a fascinating and bloody history attached to it. However Lewis is a frightened and difficult man who sees thieves around every corner. When he asks Miss Silver for help, she gives him some sound advice and turns him away. A few days later, she receives a letter from him, again asking for help. But it is too late. In the morning paper is the news of his murder.
    • More
  • Busman's Honeymoon

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.
    • More

    Bruce Trilogy

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    This trilogy tells the story of Robert the Bruce and how, tutored and encouraged by the heroic William Wallace, he determined to continue the fight for an independent Scotland, sustained by a passionate love for his land.
    • More

    The Blindfold

    By Siri Hustvedt
    Authors:
    Siri Hustvedt
    Iris Vegan, a graduate student living alone and impoverished in New York, encounters four strong characters who fascinate and in different ways subordinate her: an inscrutable urban recluse who employs her to record the possessions of a murdered woman; a photographer whose eerie portrait of Iris takes on a life of its own; an old woman in hospital who tries to claim a remnant of the ailing Iris; and a professor she has an affair with. An exploration of female identity in an age when the old definitions - as some man's daughter/wife/mother - no longer apply, fuelled with eroticism and a sense of menace.
    • More

    Black Douglas

    By Nigel Tranter
    Authors:
    Nigel Tranter
    It was almost inevitable that in the 15th century the new Scots royal house of Stewart would have to come to a reckoning with the great house of Douglas. Young Will Douglas, the eight earl, was born to vast power, influence - and trouble. And with the boy-king James II on an uneasy throne, and scoundrels ruling Scotland, the death of Will's father plunged him suddenly into a world where might prevailed and the end justified the means.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday
    • More

    Big O

    By David Delvin, Christy Webber
    Authors:
    David Delvin, Christy Webber
    • More

    By the Line

    By Thomas Keneally
    Authors:
    Thomas Keneally
    Schoolboy narrator Daniel Jordan, growing up in working-class Sydney during the Second World War, is confused by a world in which the religious dogma of his school conflicts with the communism of his family's terrifying neighbour, the 'Comrade'. Refreshingly unsentimental, this is the funny, ultimately tragic story of a boy struggling to understand a world in which concepts like innocence and guilt, good and evil are clearly open to interpretation.
    • More

    The Birthday Girl

    By Stephen Leather
    Authors:
    Stephen Leather
    Tony Freeman rescued Mersiha when she was fighting for her life in war-torn Yugoslavia. Now she is his adopted daughter, the perfect all-American girl, and the past is another country. Or so it seems.But Mersiha has been trained to kill. And when she discovers that Freeman's company is subject to a sinister takeover bid, she decides to help. Whatever the risks.The consequences of her actions are lethal, for Mersiha has unearthed a conspiracy of terrifying proportions . . .
    • More

    Bird in the Tree

    By Elizabeth Goudge
    Authors:
    Elizabeth Goudge
    Lucilla has spent a lifetime making the Hampshire estate of Damerosehay a tranquil haven for the Eliot family. When her favourite grandson, David, falls in love with an unsuitable woman Lucilla feels is unsuitable, she sees her most cherished ambitions put at risk. But can she persuade David and Nadine to put duty before love?
    • More
  • The Benevent Treasure

    By Patricia Wentworth
    Authors:
    Patricia Wentworth
    Somewhere among the dust and cobwebs of the sinister Benevent Mansion lies the legendary Benevent treasure. But a terrible death has been prophesied for whoever uncovers it.When Candida Sayle is invited to visit her elderly maiden aunts, she dismisses such gloomy thoughts. But as Candida begins to discover the family’s dark secrets she puts herself in grave danger.Thankfully Miss Silver has investigative skills of her own.
    • More

    Blues All Around Me

    By David Ritz, B B King
    Authors:
    David Ritz, B B King

    Bible And Spirituality

    By Alister McGrath
    Authors:
    Alister McGrath

    Bag of Bones

    By Stephen King
    Authors:
    Stephen King
    • More

    Biography of The Queen Mother

    By George Plumptre
    Authors:
    George Plumptre
    • More

    Bobbin Girls

    By Freda Lightfoot
    Authors:
    Freda Lightfoot
    Alena Townsen wants nothing more than to spend the rest of her life with her childhood friend, Rob, the only son of James Hollinthwaite, a wealthy landowner. Hollinthwaite, however, has other ideas and when he forces the two to part, they run away together and join a wandering group of coppicers, naively thinking they can stay hidden for ever.But they are discovered and Rob is sent away to school while Alena has to start work in the local bobbin mill. Life there is hard and her love for Rob severely tested with the arrival of the coppicer's son who becomes the mill's new foreman.Torn between the two men, Alena follows her heart and chooses her true love, Rob, but they have to fight despotism and bigotry in their quest for happiness together.
    • More

    The Bombmaker

    By Stephen Leather
    Authors:
    Stephen Leather
    Andrea Hayes was one of the IRA's most deadly killers, until a misplaced bomb ripped a group of passing kids apart, and she left all that behind her. Now, years later, she's got a whole new life with a new family and her days of violence seem a distant memory. But then her daughter is kidnapped by persons unknown, and she is blackmailed into building a huge explosive device for them - target unknown. . .
    • More

    The Blue Evening Gone

    By Jessica Stirling
    Authors:
    Jessica Stirling
    Though the Great Depression has brought misery to many, Holly Beckman has a thriving art business, a devoted husband and a son she adores. Until the holiday in Monte Carlo where for the first time she experiences romance. Almost reluctantly, Holly falls in love with the charming American dancer Peter Freeman.Then two works of art she sold turn out to be forgeries, just as her scapegrace brother Ritchie returns to London after years abroad. Maury, Holly's trusted older brother, suspects that Ritchie is plotting once more to bring the Beckman family down.'She writes in bright colours with bold, confident strokes' Glasgow Herald
    • More

    The Bird Yard

    By J Wallis Martin
    Authors:
    J Wallis Martin
    Roly's Yard is an aviary tacked on to the back of a squat in Central Manchester and Roland Barnes is a killer. Or is he? Boy after boy has come to visit the finches he raises in his aviary, and two of them have disappeared. One of them has been found dead.Detective Superindent Parker and psychological profiler Murray Hanson are closing in on Roly, but will it be in time to save Roly's latest visitor, Brogan Healey?
    • More

    Business Beyond the Box

    By John O'Keeffe
    Authors:
    John O'Keeffe
    Business Beyond the Box makes note of the self-imposed limitations each of us places on ourselves unconsciously. With a focus on applying new mindsets and achieving breakthrough results, O'Keeffe suggests working with--rather than within--boundaries. Applicable to both individuals and organizations, Business Beyond the Box will improve readers' ability to innovate.
    • More

    Bitter Seed

    By Meg Hutchinson
    Authors:
    Meg Hutchinson
    Having suffered much cruelty at the hands of her father, Isabel Kenton is shocked to hear after his death that he was not her real father. She inherits their house while her twin brother Mark is left the family steel works. When World War I breaks out, Mark joins the RAF, and the management of the business is left in Isabel's hands, which is not welcomed by the town's industrialists. She makes many enemies and has to struggle to keep her business alive. After much unhappiness, she finally finds love with the manager of a local foundry as well as the identity of her real father.
    • More