Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

The New Childhood

By Jordan Shapiro
Authors:
Jordan Shapiro
IT'S TIME FOR A NEW APPROACH TO SCREEN TIME.Jordan Shapiro believes we need to rethink parental attitudes to technology. There's a damaging orthodoxy that presents screen-time as the ultimate modern parenting evil and the only acceptable response to it is restriction. Shapiro, psychologist, educational pioneer and father of two, draws on cutting-edge research in education, philosophy, neuroscience and psychology to show we've let fear and nostalgia stand in the way of our children's best interests. In his optimistic, inspiring and practical guide to the new, digital frontier of childhood, he reframes gaming, social media and smartphones to offer fresh, evidence-based advice on how to take a more progressive approach.*Winner of the Spirituality & Practice Book Award as one of the 50 Best Spiritual Books of 2018.*'Shapiro successfully transforms our worst fears about screen time into excitement about the potential for redesigning childhood around our latest technologies ... It's a necessary book that I urge you to read.' - The Telegraph'Shapiro knows what he's talking about ... Shapiro's arguments are compelling' - USA Today'a thought-provoking, bold read. As a father of two daughters at similar ages to Jordan's children (7 and 9), facing similar challenges and dilemmas, the book provided me with an inspiring and optimistic perspective that's rare in the current media landscape.' - Variety'Timely, essential, and thought-provoking, The New Childhood is the must-read parenting guide for raising 21st century, digitally driven kids. Instead of raising a white flag and giving in to social media and the Internet, Jordan Shapiro tells parents how to embrace technology, stay involved in their children's lives, and prepare them for their future. Read it! I promise you'll rethink your parenting. I couldn't put it down' - Michele Borba, EdD, author of UnSelfie: Why Empathetic Kids Succeed In Our All-About-Me World
  • More

New Erotica for Feminists

By Caitlin Kunkel, Brooke Preston, Fiona Taylor, Carrie Wittmer
Authors:
Caitlin Kunkel, Brooke Preston, Fiona Taylor, Carrie Wittmer
Get What you Deserve Again and Again and Again with New Erotica for Feminists: the must-have provocative, subversive and wickedly funny book from the editors of The Belladonna comedy magazineHe calls me into his office and closes the door... to promote me. He promotes me again and again. I am wild with ecstasy.Your boss gives you a pay rise, the hotshot producer recognises your talents, the pizza delivery guy hopes you've got a box-set to watch with your extra-large pizza. Prepared to be satisfied...at last.Sometimes a plumber is just a plumber. Get what you really want this year with dozens of literary quickies to tantalise and titillate even the most world-weary feminist.From four brilliant women with their finger on the pulse comes a wickedly funny, provocative and subversive response to #metoo and Time's Up.
  • More

The No-Grain Diet

By Dr Joseph Mercola
Authors:
Dr Joseph Mercola
Forget fats as the biggest dietary sin, the latest scientific evidence now shows that the real culprits in escalating weight gain are grains, starches and sugars. By eliminating grains from your diet, you actually reprogramme your mind and body to release fat and burn it, and as a result the weight you lose is kept off - permanently. This all-new low carbohydrate diet moves on from Dr Atkins, cutting out the unhealthy side-effects of that diet and including a wider range of healthy foods than Atkins or any of his successors.The No Grain diet offers three plans tailored to suit your needs: The booster plan (to ease you more gently into the plan), the core plan (for faster results), and the advanced plan (for those who need to lose a lot of weight fast for health reasons). What's more, it presents a unique psychological technique to combat cravings, bolster your self-belief and help you ride low periods, which usually lead you to break the diet. With delicious recipes and advice on additional factors to further support your new healthy lifestyle, The No Grain Diet is the last diet book you'll ever need.
  • More

A Nick Drake Companion

By Pete Paphides
Authors:
Pete Paphides
This short book, taken from Remembered For A While, tells the stories and circumstances that surround every known recording in Nick Drake's canon (as well as a few unrecorded songs). The result is like a detailed, extended series of liner notes, something to read while sitting in your favourite chair, in your favourite room, listening to the imperishably beautiful music they describe. A Nick Drake companion.
  • More

Never Google Heartbreak

By Emma Garcia
Authors:
Emma Garcia
A refreshingly honest, achingly funny read for fans of Bridesmaids, Caitlin Moran, and Pinot Grigio.When her fiancé Rob breaks off their engagement for the third time, Viv does what any girl would do - she Googles heartbreak.Confronted by tales of misery, she decides to set-up her own self-help website for the broken-hearted. But as Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it's not too late to try and get Rob back. When things get out of hand after a drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment, Viv's scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Viv starts to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all this time, and now - one ex and a massive error of judgement later - she has to face the question:What's the craziest thing you'll do for love?Readers of Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella and Paige Toon won't be able to put this down. Never has heartbreak been so hilarious...
  • More
  • NIV Holy Bible - Anglicised Black Gift and Award

    By New International Version
    Authors:
    New International Version
    With over 400 million Bibles in print, the New International Version is the world's most popular modern English Bible. It is renowned for its combination of reliability and readability. Fully revised and updated for the first time in 25 years, the NIV is ideal for personal reading, public teaching and group study.This Bible also features:Clear, readable 7.25pt texteasy-to-read layout shortcuts to key stories, events and people of the Bible reading plan quick links to find inspiration and help from the Bible in different life situations.British Text This edition uses British spelling, punctuation and grammar to allow the Bible to be read more naturally.More about the translationThis revised and updated edition of the NIV includes three main types of change, taking into account changes in the way we use language day to day; advances in biblical scholarship and understanding; and the need to ensure that gender accurate language is used, to faithfully reflect whether men and women are referred to in each instance. The translators have carefully assessed a huge body of scholarship, as well as inviting peer submissions, in order to review every word of the existing NIV to ensure it remains as clear and relevant today as when it was first published.Royalties from all sales of the NIV Bible help Biblica, formerly the International Bible Society, in their work of translating and distributing Bibles around the world.
    • More

    Never Eat Shredded Wheat

    By Christopher Somerville
    Authors:
    Christopher Somerville
    Bognor Regis...Aberystwyth...Glasgow...Can you place them on a map? Most people can't these days. What kind of countryside do you pass through on your way to the Cairngorms, or the Fens, or Northumberland? What's north of the Pennines? And what's it like when you get there? Most folk wouldn't have a clue. Increasing numbers of us don't have a basic geographical notion of these islands. Blame it on a decline in formal geography teaching, or Sat-Nav and other 'A to Z and nothing in between' devices that make us lazy - we are becoming the best travelled and least well orientated Britons ever seen. Now Christopher Somerville, bestselling author of Coast and many other books of UK exploration, presents the basics of what belongs where, which counties border one another, and what lies beyond the Watford Gap. He reminds us of the watery bits, the lumpy bits and the flat bits, and gets to grips with the smaller islands surrounding Britain - and much more. Never Eat Shredded Wheat is a reminder of all the fascinating British geography once learned at school - geography that brings our islands vividly to life - geography which we have forgotten, or never even knew.
    • More

    Nature's Masterpiece

    By Libby Purves, Libby Purves
    Authors:
    Libby Purves, Libby Purves
    • More

    Now We Are Sixty

    By Christopher Matthew
    Authors:
    Christopher Matthew
    When Christopher Matthew was six, the poems of Milne always reassured him that other children were as naughty as he was, so on reaching sixty he decided that he should adapt Now We Are Six for an older audience.Now We Are Sixty is often hilarious, sometimes rueful and always thought-provoking. Some verses are about realising we are not as young as we thought, while some are about the more disconcerting problems of modern life; mobile telephones on trains, anti-social behaviour, traffic jams and the internet.
    • More
    1