Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

The New Childhood

By Jordan Shapiro
Authors:
Jordan Shapiro
IT'S TIME FOR A NEW APPROACH TO SCREEN TIME.Jordan Shapiro believes we need to rethink parental attitudes to technology. There's a damaging orthodoxy that presents screen-time as the ultimate modern parenting evil and the only acceptable response to it is restriction. Shapiro, psychologist, educational pioneer and father of two, draws on cutting-edge research in education, philosophy, neuroscience and psychology to show we've let fear and nostalgia stand in the way of our children's best interests. In his optimistic, inspiring and practical guide to the new, digital frontier of childhood, he reframes gaming, social media and smartphones to offer fresh, evidence-based advice on how to take a more progressive approach.*Winner of the Spirituality & Practice Book Award as one of the 50 Best Spiritual Books of 2018.*'Shapiro successfully transforms our worst fears about screen time into excitement about the potential for redesigning childhood around our latest technologies ... It's a necessary book that I urge you to read.' - The Telegraph'Shapiro knows what he's talking about ... Shapiro's arguments are compelling' - USA Today'a thought-provoking, bold read. As a father of two daughters at similar ages to Jordan's children (7 and 9), facing similar challenges and dilemmas, the book provided me with an inspiring and optimistic perspective that's rare in the current media landscape.' - Variety'Timely, essential, and thought-provoking, The New Childhood is the must-read parenting guide for raising 21st century, digitally driven kids. Instead of raising a white flag and giving in to social media and the Internet, Jordan Shapiro tells parents how to embrace technology, stay involved in their children's lives, and prepare them for their future. Read it! I promise you'll rethink your parenting. I couldn't put it down' - Michele Borba, EdD, author of UnSelfie: Why Empathetic Kids Succeed In Our All-About-Me World
  • More
  • Nightblood

    By Elly Blake
    Authors:
    Elly Blake
    The explosive finale of the New York Times bestselling Frostblood Saga, perfect for fans of Red Queen and A Court of Thorns and Roses.'A fierce and vibrant world' MORGAN RHODES on Frostblood'A sucker punch of escalating evil [and] sizzling romance' KIRKUS on FirebloodFrost and fire have joined forces. Now, they must wage a war against darkness...Ruby and Arcus face a more dangerous enemy than they could ever have imagined. Once Eurus opens the Gate of Light, darkness will be unleashed upon the world for all eternity. The Frostbloods and Firebloods have formed a tentative alliance, and are now preparing for war - but Ruby is the only one who can prevent the catastrophe which is coming. With the blood of night running in her veins, the line between good and evil becomes blurred. Ruby must be strong enough to face the darkness within - or else everyone she loves will be swallowed up by the night... In this heart-pounding finale of Elly Blake's gorgeously written and action-packed Frostblood Saga, the fate of Frostbloods, Firebloods, and all of humanity is at stake
    • More
  • Night of Cake and Puppets

    By Laini Taylor
    Authors:
    Laini Taylor
    Which is what one always hopes will happen:for life to take over and be bigger and more marvellous than what we can dream up on our own.**********In the gorgeously illustrated graphic novel edition of the original e-novella NIGHT OF CAKE & PUPPETS, a night only hinted at in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy is brought to life: the magical first date of Zuzana and Mik. This is the perfect treat for fans of the series and new readers alike. **********Petite though she may be, Zuzana is not known for timidity. Her best friend, Karou, calls her 'rabid fairy', her 'voodoo eyes' are said to freeze blood, and even her older brother fears her wrath. But when it comes to the simple matter of talking to Mik, or 'Violin Boy', her courage deserts her. Now, enough is enough. Zuzana is determined to meet him, and she has a fistful of magic and a plan. It's a wonderfully elaborate treasure hunt of a plan that will take Mik all over Prague on a cold winter's night before finally leading him to the treasure: herself . . . Violin Boy's not going to know what hit him.**********'WOW. I wish I had written this book.' Patrick Rothfuss on DAUGHTER OF SMOKE & BONE
    • More

    The No-Grain Diet

    By Dr Joseph Mercola
    Authors:
    Dr Joseph Mercola
    Forget fats as the biggest dietary sin, the latest scientific evidence now shows that the real culprits in escalating weight gain are grains, starches and sugars. By eliminating grains from your diet, you actually reprogramme your mind and body to release fat and burn it, and as a result the weight you lose is kept off - permanently. This all-new low carbohydrate diet moves on from Dr Atkins, cutting out the unhealthy side-effects of that diet and including a wider range of healthy foods than Atkins or any of his successors.The No Grain diet offers three plans tailored to suit your needs: The booster plan (to ease you more gently into the plan), the core plan (for faster results), and the advanced plan (for those who need to lose a lot of weight fast for health reasons). What's more, it presents a unique psychological technique to combat cravings, bolster your self-belief and help you ride low periods, which usually lead you to break the diet. With delicious recipes and advice on additional factors to further support your new healthy lifestyle, The No Grain Diet is the last diet book you'll ever need.
    • More

    Nature

    By Jessie Booth
    Authors:
    Jessie Booth
    Colouring-in is one of the best ways to relax and reduce stress in your day to day life. This dot to dot colouring book allows you to draw on your creativity and release energy through practical exercises, whilst recreating beautiful illustrations. Nature: Dot to Dot Colouring is a beautiful collection of more than 30 scenes from the natural world. Simply choose a design that inspires you, start from number one, and watch as the drawing emerges.
    • More
  • NIV Soul Survivor Youth Bible Hardback

    By New International Version
    Authors:
    New International Version
    With over 500 added extras from the team and young people at Soul Survivor and other well-known Christian leaders, the NIV Soul Survivor Youth Bible digs deep into the Word - the key themes that run all the way through, the wisdom, stories and human lives that we can learn from. It also highlights what the Bible says about problems we face today, from tough life and world issues to the questions you really hope your mates don't ask. 'We've asked tough questions (like, 'Why does God allow suffering?' and 'What's Leviticus all about?!') as well as tackling important twenty-first century issues (like relationships, terrorism, money).There are streams on each topic for individual or group study, Bible reading plans, helpful facts and real-life stories. In short, we've packed every last thing that we could into these pages - and we've banned all jargon so it all makes sense!'Soul Survivor Each summer Soul Survivor festival gathers around 30,000 young people to worship Jesus, to learn, to pray and to hang out together in a field in Somerset. You can find out more about us and our events at www.soulsurvivor.com/uk The NIV BibleWith over 400 million Bibles in print, the New International Version is the world's most popular modern English Bible. It is renowned for its combination of reliability and readability. Fully revised and updated for the first time in 25 years, the NIV is ideal for personal reading, public teaching and group study.British Text This edition uses British spelling, punctuation and grammar to allow the Bible to be read more naturally.Royalties from all sales of the NIV Bible help Biblica, formerly the International Bible Society, in their work of translating and distributing Bibles around the world.
    • More

    NIV Women's Devotional Bible, Italian Duo-tone Raspberry

    By New International Version
    Authors:
    New International Version
    The standard in women's devotional Bibles, the NIV Women's Devotional Bible helps you apply God's Word to your everyday life. This Bible includes a full year of devotions written by women of God, who had a woman like you in mind. This group of women writers offers inspiration, candid perspectives, and guidance from the Bible.During the week, there are guided reflections to help you apply Scripture to your daily life. On the weekends, you will have the chance to get to know the women of the Bible on a more personal level. After a year is up, there are reading plans that will lead you into the next year!
    • More

    NIV Study Bible Compact Italian Duo-tone Tan/Burgundy

    By New International Version
    Authors:
    New International Version
    Since its first release in 1985, the Gold Medallion Award-winning NIV Study Bible has become the treasured and trusted companion of over nine million Bible readers. The in-depth notes are coded to highlight notes of special interest in the areas of character study, archaeology, and personal application. Visually arresting section breaks help you find your bearing in the Bible. Full-colour photos, maps, and illustrations make this study Bible accessible and friendly.Referred to daily by millions of pastors, students, church leaders, and other Bible readers around the world, the over-20,000 NIV Study Bible notes are the handiwork of the same translation team that produced this Bible's text. The very best evangelical scholarship that brought you today's most popular modern English Bible also contributed to the most celebrated and widely used study notes in existence. Like no other Bible, the NIV Study Bible places an entire resource library for Bible study in your hands.
    • More

    Nature's Masterpiece

    By Libby Purves, Libby Purves
    Authors:
    Libby Purves, Libby Purves
    • More
    1