Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Username: Uprising

By Joe Sugg, Amrit Birdi
Authors:
Joe Sugg
Illustrated by:
Amrit Birdi
BOOK 3 IN THE USERNAME SERIES BY JOE SUGGEvie longs to put her e.scape adventures behind her. She's battle-scarred and determined to move on, but an outcast from her digital paradise is set on revenge.Knox roams the streets and pledges to punish the girl who dismissed his kind from the real world. Soon, his plans go beyond personal, and Knox plots an uprising that could bring life as we know it to an end.Faced with an uprising on a global scale, as well as issues on the friendship and romance frontline, Evie must stage a fight back that calls her own existence into question.
  • More

Username: Regenerated

By Joe Sugg, Amrit Birdi
Authors:
Joe Sugg
Illustrated by:
Amrit Birdi
BOOK 2 IN THE USERNAME SERIES BY JOE SUGGEvie is safe at home, but her heart remains in e.scape, the virtual world her father created for her. She's desperate to return, but the app that transports her has corrupted in the great reboot. When besotted geek, Lionel, offers to help, he doesn't just restore the gateway as she had planned. He opens up a series of revelations that calls into question everything Evie treasures in life. With a momentous discovery to be unearthed in the virtual realm, and an e.scape fugitive on the loose in reality, can our sidelined schoolgirl save not one world but two?
  • More

The Undesired

By Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
A chilling modern horror novel from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award - perfect for fans of Let the Right One In.The light spilling in from the corridor would have to do. Though weak, it was sufficient to show Aldís a boy sitting in the gloom at the furthest table. He had his back to her, so she couldn't see who it was, but could tell that he was one of the youngest. A chill ran down her spine when he spoke again, without turning, as if he had eyes in the back of his head. 'Go away. Leave me alone.''Come on. You shouldn't be here.' Aldís spoke gently, fairly sure now that the boy must be delirious. Confused, rather than dangerous.He turned, slowly and deliberately, and she glimpsed black eyes in a pale face. 'I wasn't talking to you.' Aldis is working in a juvenile detention centre in rural Iceland. She witnesses something deeply disturbing in the middle of the night; soon afterwards, two of the boys at the centre are dead.Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the centre following the unexplained death of the colleague who was previously running the investigation. The more he finds out, though, the more it seems the odd events of the 1970s are linked to the accident that killed his ex-wife. Was her death something more sinister?Yrsa Sigurdardottir is a huge European bestseller both with her crime and horror novels. You might want to sleep with the light on after reading THE UNDESIRED . . .
  • More

Username: Evie

By Joe Sugg, Joe Sugg, Amrit Birdi
Authors:
Joe Sugg, Joe Sugg
Illustrated by:
Amrit Birdi
BOOK 1 IN THE USERNAME SERIES BY JOE SUGGLike anyone who feels as though they just don't fit in, Evie dreams of a place of safety. When times are tough, all she wants is a chance to escape from reality and be herself. Despite his failing health, Evie's father comes close to creating such a virtual idyll. Passing away before it's finished, he leaves her the key in the form of an app, and Evie finds herself transported to a world where the population is influenced by her personality. Everyone shines in her presence, until her devious cousin, Mallory, discovers the app... and the power to cause trouble in paradise.
  • More

The Undertaker's Dozen

By David Forrest
Authors:
David Forrest
Terror can have such simple beginnings -- a child's letterto Father Christmas...a pretty girl glimpsed in a Londonstreet...a trip down the Brighton Road...a night spent in an empty mansion for a bet?And the consequences can be fearsome, as the unsleepingdead walk again, as strange emotions stir inanimate things to murderous life, as horrors beyond our imagining cross thethreshold into our world; can anyone be sure that all is as itseems. After you read these thirteen tales of terror, can you?
  • More

UR (digital download)

By Stephen King, Holter Graham
Authors:
Stephen King
Read by:
Holter Graham
Tapping into our primal fears of modern technology, which made Cell a number-one best seller, Stephen King sets his sights on the latest high-tech gadget in UR, in which a mysterious e-book reader opens a disturbing window into other worlds.Reeling from a painful break-up, English instructor and avid book lover Wesley Smith is haunted by his ex-girlfriend's parting shot: "Why can't you just read off the computer like everyone else?" He buys an e-book reader out of spite, but soon finds he can use the device to glimpse realities he had never before imagined, discovering literary riches beyond his wildest dreams...and all-too-human tragedies that surpass his most terrible nightmares.From vintage cars (Christine and From a Buick 8) to household appliances (Maximum Overdrive) to exercise equipment (Stationary Bike), Stephen King has mesmerized us with tales of apparently ordinary machines that take on lives of their own. UR gives this classic theme an up-to-the-minute spin, resulting in a horror masterpiece for our time and for the ages.(P)2010 Simon & Schuster Inc
  • More
1