Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Jericho's War

By Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Selected by The Sunday Times as one of the four top thrillers of the year, JERICHO'S WAR is the new paperback from 'the best thriller writer in the world' (Daily Telegraph)In a moment of nerve-shredding suspense that will affect many thousands of lives, a handful of men and women converge on a barren stretch of Yemeni desert.The mission is to take down a high-value player in the war against Al-Qaeda. It is the brainchild of an old, fat fool called Jericho. In his striped cricket blazer, never without a G&T, he is a sweating figure of fun among the ex-pats across the border in Muscat.Yet perhaps he is not quite as old, or foolish, or even fat as he appears.Nor as harmless...Welcome to Jericho's War: its weaponry is state-of-the-art, its brutality as timeless as the desert.
  • More

Jakob's Colours

By Lindsay Hawdon
Authors:
Lindsay Hawdon
Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief.Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y. He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone.'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs.Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.
  • More

The Juliet Stories

By Carrie Snyder
Authors:
Carrie Snyder
'a coming-of-age tale about the painful and wonderful experiences of motherhood... a compelling novel told in the most beautifully crafted way, and the frequent lapse into disjointed stream of consciousness renders the style close to that of Eimear McBride's A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing. It is a wonderful rarity when a book leaves you so profoundly affected' - We Love This BookJuliet Friesen is ten years old when her family moves to Nicaragua. It is 1984, the height of Nicaragua's post-revolutionary war, and the peace-activist Friesens have come to protest American involvement. In the midst of this tumult, Juliet's family lives outside of the boundaries of ordinary life. They've escaped, and the ordinary rules don't apply. Threat is pervasive, danger is real, but the extremity of the situation also produces a kind of euphoria, protecting Juliet's family from its own cracks and conflicts.When Juliet's younger brother becomes sick with cancer, their adventure ends abruptly. The Friesens return to Canada only to find that their lives beyond Nicaragua have become the war zone.One by one, they drift from each other, and Juliet grows to adulthood, pulled between her desire to live a free life like the one she remembers in Nicaragua, and her desire to build for her own children a life more settled than her parents could provide.With laser-sharp prose and breathtaking insight, these stories herald Carrie Snyder as one of Canada's most prodigiously talented writers.
  • More

Jezebel

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
Jezebel's reception into Samaria was hailed as one of the wonders of the world. Drenched in the exotic colours of the East, the spectacle of Ahab's bride and her triumphant progress to the Ivory Palace was never to be forgotten.Yet even then, amid the cheering voices, there were those who seemed to sense a dreadful power in Jezebel's stately bearing. Her beauty brought her praise and admiration from all who served her. But as Thamar, her half-sister had foreseen, the seeds of Jezebel's glory were later to bear a terrible fruit. For her evil and tyranny would one day earn her the title of the wickedest woman in the world.
  • More

Jessica's Lover

By Louise Pennington
Authors:
Louise Pennington
It's an Indian summer - hot and sultry, brittle and oppresive. And in a small Regency crescent the heat is affecting everyone. Jessica's marriage is on the rocks; her husband is seeking solace in the bed of her sexually obsessed sister, Fay. Beautiful Fay, who destroys everything she touches. Into this doomed triangle comes a stranger. He is fatherless, homeless, a traveller and a true pagan - a charming exotic boy with a beautiful body and a mouth that promises everything. Things happen when Zak is around. And Zak is destined to become Jessica's lover, whatever the cost . . .
  • More

Just Like Proper Grown-Ups

By Christina Hopkinson
Authors:
Christina Hopkinson
'You don't really grow up until you either have a kid or one of your parents dies.' Glamorously carefree and nearing forty, Tess shows no sign of settling down. That is, until she drops a bombshell on four of her friends: she's pregnant, and has chosen them as godparents.Yet while they rally round the single mother, each one is struggling to face the realities of adulthood. Sierra may be only twenty-three but her mother is so irresponsible that she's had to grow up fast. Michael is too busy searching for Mrs Right to worry about collecting the essential accessories of spice racks or investment saucepans, while Owen eases the pain of a mid-life identity crisis with a string of unsuitable fiancées. Only Lucy has the trappings and offspring of a proper grown-up, but is terrified of ageing.On a challenging and hilarious journey through birth, Botox, bad sex and beyond, all five friends must discover that while growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional . . .
  • More

The Jane Austen Marriage Manual

By Kim Izzo
Authors:
Kim Izzo
It's a truth universally acknowledged that Jane Austen knew more about marriage than anyone else. (Never mind that she never got married herself...)It's in the midst of the recession when Kate, a freelance journalist and self-professed Jane Austen addict, finds herself single, unemployed and soon-to-be homeless (not to mention about to turn 40). In desperation she accepts a writing assignment to prove a theory that in the toughest economic times a wealthy man is the only must-have accessory. So, with just Jane Austen's advice for company, she sets off to see if Mr Rich can ever become Mr Right.Her mission takes her to Palm Beach, St Moritz and London. Where, in keeping company with the elite, she meets billionaires, oil tycoons, and generally men who make Mr Darcy look like an amateur. But will rubbing shoulders with men of good fortune ever actually lead her to love?
  • More

The Japanese Lover

By Rani Manicka
Authors:
Rani Manicka
Parvathi leaves her native Ceylon for Malaya and an arranged marriage to a wealthy businessman. But her father has cheated, supplying a different girl's photograph, and Kasu Marimuthu, furious, threatens to send her home in disgrace. Gradually husband and wife reach an agreement, and the naïve young girl learns to assume the air of sophisticated mistress of a luxurious estate. She even adopts his love child and treats Rubini as her own daughter - a generous act which is rewarded by a long-wished-for son.But it is a life without passion, and Parvathi dreams of loving - and being loved - with complete abandon. When the Japanese invade Malaya, in WW2, they requisition the estate. Marimuthu dies and Parvathi is forced to accept the protection of the Japanese general who has robbed her of her home. For the first time, she experiences sexual passion. And gradually, her sworn enemy becomes the lover she has always yearned for . . .
  • More

Jude the Obscure

By Thomas Hardy
Authors:
Thomas Hardy
Hardy called this story 'a deadly war waged between flesh and spirit'. It is a tale of doomed love and unfulfilled promise that revolves around Jude Fawley, an ambitious and intelligent young man, his cousin Sue Bridehead and his academic mentor Phillotson.
  • More

Johnny Come Home

By Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott
'Hypnotic, feverish and altogether wonderful' (Guardian) - the author of the bestselling Long Firm trilogy turns his eye on the anarchic 1970s. As the dreams of the 1960s give way to anger and political unrest in the '70s, the charismatic anarchist Declan O'Connell commits suicide, leaving his boyfriend Pearson and fellow squatter Nina to try to make sense of what has happened. Enter Sweet Thing, a streetwise rent boy, who has an uncanny hold over glam rock star Johnny Chrome; and in the wings lurks Detective Sergeant Walker of the newly formed Bomb Squad, who knows more about O'Connell than anyone ever suspected. The course of all their lives is about to change forever.
  • More

Jane Austen Collection

By Jane Austen
Authors:
Jane Austen
Jane Austen's novels Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility and Northanger Abbey remain hugely popular and are widely acknowledged as classics. Here Hodder Headline Audiobooks' acclaimed abridged readings of them are collected in one specially-priced pack.
  • More

Jamaica Inn

By Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Mary Yellan, recently orphaned, goes to live with her aunt at Jamaica Inn - stark and forbidding and standing alone on Bodmin Moor, its very walls tainted with corruption. This is a classic and enthralling story of smuggling and Cornish secrets and Mary who must observe it all alone.
  • More

Joanne Harris Giftpack

By Joanne Harris
Authors:
Joanne Harris
Three sublime audiobooks from the bestselling author, now available together in a specially priced pack. Includes BLACKBERRY WINE, FIVE QUARTERS OF THE ORANGE and the huge bestseller CHOCOLAT. With a gentle touch and an eye for human frailty and strength, these mouth-watering audiobooks will draw you into her enchanting worlds.
  • More

Jacko: The Great Intruder

By Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
With his genial air of an Australian innocent, Jacko Emptor is New York's most public trespasser, invading people's homes at random for a live television show. Until he undertakes the televised hunt for a missing woman and, finally, meets a barrier even he will not transgress. The dramatic tale of Jacko's exploits probes the dubious ethics behind some television programmes and illuminates how a civilized society can harbour appalling evil.
  • More

Josh Lawton

By Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
JOSH LAWTON, a young Cumbrian orphan and farm worker, is an exceptionally good man. Strong and athletic, he is trained to be a fell runner by Cedric, a garrulous ex-soldier who takes Josh under his wing. But Cedric is alienated when Josh falls in love with Maureen, a worldly girl from the neighbouring town, marries her and fathers a child. However, the quiet and simple life that Josh loves does not satisfy Maureen who seeks excitement back home in the arms of her former lover, a local bully. The betrayal brings Cedric back into Josh's life, eager to discredit the woman who had usurped him. It also leads to a climax that is both inevitable and shocking: Josh, who hates fighting, is drawn into a battle with Maureen's lover and is killed. Cedric, filled with revenge, can only turn his knife on himself. The novel's tragic ending is both a warning against simplicity and a cry for its presence in everything.
  • More
1