Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

~Unallocated Products 20

By Mariolina Freeth, Giuliana Checketts
Authors:
Mariolina Freeth, Giuliana Checketts
  • More
  • The Zurich Numbers

    By Bill Granger
    Authors:
    Bill Granger
    Devereaux has lived on the edge for long enough to know trouble when it comes his way. He has been out of action for a year, but he is still a target. The Opposition won't forget the November Man and won't make the same mistakes again. Even R Section can't offer him much protection but, as Devereaux said himself, all the king's horses and all the king's men won't stop the Russians getting what they want. So with a KGB issued contract on his life drawing Soviet hitmen onto US soil, Devereaux is out on his own. Precisely where he wants to be...
    • More

    Zulu Hart

    By Saul David
    Authors:
    Saul David
    GEORGE HART just wants to serve his Queen and honour his family. It's not that simple.BASTARDHe doesn't know his father, only that he's a pillar of the Establishment. His beloved mother is half Irish, half Zulu.ZULU In a Victorian society rife with racism and prejudice, George's dark skin spells trouble to his regimental commander.WARRIORBut George has soldiering in his blood - the only question is what he's really fighting for: ancestry or Empire. In the heat of battle he must decide . . .
    • More

    Zodiac Station

    By Tom Harper, Piers Wehenr
    Authors:
    Tom Harper
    Read by:
    Piers Wehenr
    An extraordinary thriller set at the frozen edge of the world, perfect for fans of Dan Simmons, Michael Crichton and Dan Brown.In the Arctic Ocean, the US Coast Guard icebreaker Terra Nova batters its way through the pack ice. There shouldn't be anyone near them for hundreds of miles. But then a lone skier, half-dead with cold, emerges out of the snow. His name is Tom Anderson, and he is the only survivor of a disaster at Zodiac Station, a scientific research base deep in the Arctic Circle. He tells an incredible story of scientists and spies, of lust and greed, of jealousy, mayhem and murder. But his tale simply doesn't add up. Whose blood is smeared across his clothes? Why is there a bullet hole through the jacket he's wearing, and why is that jacket labelled with someone else's name? It's clear that more was going on at Zodiac Station than Anderson is telling. And someone else may have survived the disaster, as well... someone who has killed before, and who is willing to kill again.(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton
    • More

    The Zero Game

    By Brad Meltzer
    Authors:
    Brad Meltzer
    Come play the Zero Game - you can bet your life on it...Matthew Mercer and Harris Sandler are best friends who have plum jobs as senior staffers to well-respected congressmen. But after a decade in Washington, idealism has faded to disillusionment, and they're bored. Then one of them finds out about the clandestine Zero Game.It starts out as good fun - a simple wager between friends. But when someone close to them ends up dead, Harris and Matthew realise the game is far more sinister than they ever imagined - and that they're about to be the game's next victims.On the run, they turn to the only person they can trust: a sixteen-year-old Senate page who can move around the Capitol undetected. As a ruthless killer creeps closer, this idealistic page no only holds the key to saving their lives, but is also determined to redeem them in the process.
    • More

    The Zealot's Bones

    By D.M. Mark
    Authors:
    D.M. Mark
    From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes Meshach Stone, a former soldier, lost upon his way. He's been hired as bodyguard by a Canadian academic hunting for the bones of the apostle Simon the Zealot, rumoured to lie somewhere in Lincolnshire. Stone can't see why ancient bones are of interest in a world full of them...but then a woman he briefly loved is killed. As he investigates he realises that she is just one of many... and that some deaths cry out for vengeance. From the twisted imagination of David Mark, author of the McAvoy series, THE ZEALOT'S BONES is historical crime with a difference.
    • More

    Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

    By Therese Anne Fowler
    Authors:
    Therese Anne Fowler
    'I wish I could tell everyone who thinks we're ruined... Look closer, and you'll see something extraordinary, mystifying, something real and true. We have never been what we seemed.'When beautiful, reckless Southern belle Zelda Sayre meets F. Scott Fitzgerald at a country club dance in 1918, she is seventeen and he is a young army lieutenant. Before long, Zelda has fallen for him, even though Scott isn't wealthy or prominent or even a Southerner and keeps insisting, absurdly, that his writing will bring him both fortune and fame. When he sells his first novel, she optimistically boards a train to New York, to marry him and take the rest as it comes.What comes, here at the dawn of the Jazz Age, is unimagined success and celebrity that will make Scott and Zelda legends in their own time. Each place they go becomes a playground: New York City, Long Island, Hollywood, Paris, and the French riviera - where they join the endless party of the glamorous, sometimes doomed Lost Generation that includes Ernest Hemingway, Sara and Gerald Murphy, and Gertrude Stein.Everything seems new and possible, but not even Jay Gatsby's parties go on forever. Who is Zelda, other than the wife of a famous - sometimes infamous - husband? With brilliant insight and imagination, Therese Anne Fowler brings us Zelda's irresistible story as she herself might have told it.
    • More

    Z Cars Again

    By Allan Prior
    Authors:
    Allan Prior
    Z Victor One takes to the streets once more when a spate of school burglaries attracts the attention of P.C. Jock Weir and P.C Fancy Smith. Based on the classic BBC series, voted one of the 100 Greatest British Television Programmes of the 20th century.
    • More

    Yuki Means Happiness

    By Alison Jean Lester
    Authors:
    Alison Jean Lester
    Diana is young and uneasy in a new relationship when she leaves America and moves halfway around the world to Tokyo seeking adventure. In Japan she takes a job as a nanny to two-year-old Yuki Yoshimura and sets about adapting to a routine of English practice, ballet and swimming lessons, and Japanese cooking.But as Diana becomes increasingly attached to Yuki she also becomes aware that everything in the Yoshimura household isn't as it first seemed. Before long, she must ask herself if she is brave enough to put everything on the line for the child under her care, confronting her own demons at every step of the way. Yuki Means Happiness is a rich and powerfully illuminating portrait of the intense relationship between a young woman and her small charge, as well as one woman's journey to discover her true self.
    • More

    Your Writing Coach

    By Jurgen Wolff
    Authors:
    Jurgen Wolff
    Have you always wanted to write a book, short story or screenplay but never quite known where to start? Do you worry you won't be able to think of a plot, or create vivid characters, or find the time? Whatever is stopping you from becoming a writer, Your Writing Coach has the answers. It will guide you ever after you've finished your writing project by showing you how to get an agent and how to market what you ve written. Jurgen Wolff is highly qualified to be your writing coach. He is a successful author with experience in feature films, television, radio, books, newspapers, plays and credits from Hollywood to the BBC. The book covers not only the craft of writing, but also how to overcome procrastination, get and stay motivated, and banish writer's block by transforming your harsh inner critic into a constructive inner guide. This new edition includes up-to-date information and guidance on social media and e-books, as well as Getting Started guides for a range of projects.
    • More

    Your Words Have Power

    By R.T. Kendall
    Authors:
    R.T. Kendall
    'I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.' (Matthew 12:36) R. T. Kendall admits that this Bible verse worries him, as he knows he will one day have some explaining to do! If you are honest, how does it make you feel? Controlling the tongue - having the wisdom to know what to say and when to say it - is one of the toughest biblical commandments we face. We often fail to realise the power of the spoken word, and our careless talk can sometimes be more damaging than we realise. But in this unique book R. T. demonstrates that, with the help of the Holy Spirit, the challenge is not beyond us. Learning to control the tongue will not only make you faithful to God's call but will also strengthen your character, making you more like Jesus.
    • More

    Your Money or Your Life

    By Alvin Hall
    Authors:
    Alvin Hall
    The most popular question Alvin Hall is asked is 'Where does my money go?'. In this updated edition of his bestselling financial guide, Alvin helps everyone get their finances in order.Helping you to understand your money psychology, Alvin beats a clear pathway through the financial maze of mortgages, insurance and pensions, provides a practical understanding of credit card debt and interest rates, and advises how to set up balance sheets for budgeting personal finances.Here is the easy-to-follow advice for a brighter, sounder financial future.
    • More

    Your Creative Writing Masterclass

    By Jurgen Wolff
    Authors:
    Jurgen Wolff
    If you dream of being a writer, why not learn from the best? In Your Creative Writing Masterclass you'll find ideas, techniques and encouragement from the most admired and respected contemporary and classic authors, including Charles Dickens, Jane Austen and Anton Chekhov. Jurgen Wolff, bestselling author of Your Writing Coach, helps you translate these insights into action to master your craft and write what only you can write. From Robert Louis Stevenson to Mary Shelley, Alice Munro to Stephen King, Your Creative Writing Masterclass guide you through: finding your style, constructing powerful plots, generating story ideas, overcoming writer's block, creating vivid characters and crafting your ideal writer's life. Brimming with support and suggested activities to develop your writing skills, the book also features unique bonus advice, exercises, resources and sharing capabilities via the website www.YourCreativeWritingMasterclass.com.
    • More