Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Put Back the Clock

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
It's a dream come true. For years Tracy Shaw has kept secret her love for childhood friend Sebastian Lemaire. Tracy was a fine girl and delicate beauty, but she was the village doctor's daughter, and Sebastian was already a very wealth young man, dazzled by fast cars and fast women.Now, incredible as it seems, Sebastian comes home from a whirlwind vacation abroad - and asks Tracy to marry him. But people say he is still intoxicated by a girl named Conseulo, a worldly and sensuous jet-set beauty, who rejected him.Does Sebastian really love Tracy, or he is just on the rebound? How can Tracy be sure of the affections of the man she loves, and make him forget another woman's undeniable glamour?
  • More

Pursuit

By Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
The car crash that leaves the First Lady dead and Jessica Ford badly injured is just the beginning of a nightmare. Jess is thrilled when her law firm's senior partner asks her to meet the President's wife in a Washington hotel late one Saturday night. But the lawyer who drew her into the disaster commits suicide, his secretary is killed in yet another car accident, and the Secret Service agent on the case, Mark Ryan, believes that Jess, the only survivor, is hiding something. As her world falls apart around her, Jess realizes that everyone who knew what the First Lady was doing that Saturday night is dead - except her. And if she remembers, she'll be dead too. Terrified, certain that the car crash was no accident, Jess has only Mark Ryan to turn to.
  • More

Pursued

By Jud Wilhite
Authors:
Jud Wilhite
  • More

Puritan's Wife

By Joanna Hines
Authors:
Joanna Hines
To her neighbours in the small Cotswold town of Tilsbury she is a respectable wife and mother; to her husband Josiah she will always be his 'Doll', the child-bride he brought home from the German wars; to the painter of the family's portrait she is an enigma, remote and unknowable, a mystery perhaps even to herself. When Royalist soldiers arrive to garrison Tilsbury the tranquil rhythm of country life is shattered. Mistress Doll Taverner is more affected than anyone by the impact of the Civil War, which revives all the half-forgotten nightmares of childhood tragedy. Then a Cornish officer, Captain Stephen Sutton, begins to pose a threat of a subtler kind; as affection grows between them, she is compelled to question all the certainties by which she has lived her life.
  • More

Pure Joy

By R.T. Kendall
Authors:
R.T. Kendall
'The Christian faith and message promise joy - pure joy. Not what people call happiness, but joy. Not health or wealth, but joy. Not an easy ride and fun, but joy. We are filled with "an inexpressible and glorious joy".'In the familiar, down-to-earth and thoroughly biblical style for which he is so loved, R. T. Kendall unpacks the joy which is a gift of God for all Christians. Joy in the face of extreme trial, the joy which comes in time, the joy of God's esteem, and rejoicing in the Lord are just some of the themes explored in this wonderful book of encouragement and inspiration.
  • More
  • Pure (The Second Covenant Novel)

    By Jennifer L. Armentrout
    Authors:
    Jennifer L. Armentrout
    Enter the world of Covenant...For Alexandria, being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn't exactly awesome - especially when her 'other half' is everywhere she goes. Seth's in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom - so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her memories of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies - creatures determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods... and that includes Alex. If that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters weren't bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude... or killing her.
    • More

    Pure

    By Andrew Miller
    Authors:
    Andrew Miller
    WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD (2011) A year of bones, of grave-dirt, relentless work. Of mummified corpses and chanting priests. A year of rape, suicide, sudden death. Of friendship too. Of desire. Of love . . . A year unlike any other he has lived. Deep in the heart of Paris, its oldest cemetery is, by 1785, overflowing, tainting the very breath of those who live nearby. Into their midst comes Jean-Baptiste Baratte, a young, provincial engineer charged by the king with demolishing it. At first Baratte sees this as a chance to clear the burden of history, a fitting task for a modern man of reason. But before long, he begins to suspect that the destruction of the cemetery might be a prelude to his own.
    • More

    Puppyhood Deck

    By Cesar Millan
    Authors:
    Cesar Millan
    For the millions of people every year who consider bringing a puppy into their lives - as well as those who have already brought a dog home.Based on Cesar's own detailed experiences raising individual puppies from some of the most popular breeds, Puppyhood Deck is like having Cesar right beside you, as your own personal expert, coaching you and your dog from the first day of your life together.
    • More

    Puppy Versus Kitten

    By Andy Riley
    Authors:
    Andy Riley
    TWO PETS. ONE HOUSE. NO CLUE.'I'm a long term fan of what Andy Riley does with a pen and paper, and this is another sheer delight for the eyeballs. I ROFL'ed, then LOL'ed as the kids no longer say' AISLING BEA* * * * * *FROM the Emmy-winning creator of the immensely successful (and darkly humorous) Bunny Suicides series, comes a brand new cartoon creation, featuring a bright-eyed puppy and a philosophical kitten navigating the ins and outs of life together.Puppy Versus Kitten is the illustrated story of two adorable little creatures that have been plonked into the world knowing absolutely nothing about it. As expected, Kitten tries to use its intelligence to figure out situations, while Puppy, a much stupider creature, discovers its world by charging around and doing what comes to it naturally. Living together under one roof, they clash as they encounter one another for the first time. Kitty outsmarts Puppy over and over again, but then, they meet the humans ...
    • More

    The Puppy Diaries

    By Jill Abramson
    Authors:
    Jill Abramson
    One sparkling summer day, Jill Abramson brought home a nine-week-old golden retriever named Scout. Over the following year, as she and her husband raised their adorable new puppy, Abramson wrote a hugely popular column for The New York Times's website about the joys and challenges of training this rambunctious addition to their family. Dog-lovers from across the country inundated her with emails and letters, and the photos they sent in of their own dogs became the most visited photo album on the Times's site in 2009. Now, Abramson has gone far beyond the material in her column and written a detailed and deeply personal account of Scout's first year. Part memoir, part manual, part investigative report, The Puppy Diaries continues Abramson's intrepid reporting on all things canine. Along the way, she weighs in on such issues as breeders or shelters, adoption or rescue, raw diet or vegan, pack-leader gurus like Cesar Millan or positive-reinforcement advocates like Karen Pryor. What should you expect when a new puppy enters your life? With utterly winning stories and a wealth of practical information, The Puppy Diaries provides an essential road map for navigating the first year of your dog's life.
    • More

    A Puppy Called Aero

    By Liam Creed
    Authors:
    Liam Creed
    Liam Creed seemed like a lost cause. He was excluded from school more times than he can remember, his outbursts got him into trouble, he faced a constant struggle with medication, and his family were driven to despair. All because he was born with an inability to sit still and concentrate: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. Liam thought his life was destined for failure. Until, one life-changing day, he met a mischievous bundle of energy called Aero. Aero and Liam developed a special bond. As Liam struggled to train the mischievous dog, for once he didn't feel useless and afflicted. Against the odds, Liam made an inspirational breakthrough in his own condition and learned to believe in the future.
    • More

    The Puppet Maker

    By Danielle Ramsay
    Authors:
    Danielle Ramsay
    The fifth DI Jack Brady investigation, a gritty serial killer thriller for fans of Peter James and Tania Carver.How do you catch a killer when no one knows he's out there?How can you be saved when no one knows you're lost? No one knew about the Puppet Maker... until DI Brady found what remained of his victims. The murderer never meant them to be found. They are his private collection: each body identical, each... altered. Brady knows that now his secret is out, the killer will destroy the evidence - including his latest captive.He must find a man who has hidden the worst of crimes for over twenty years. And whose nameless victims were never even missed...
    • More

    The Punch

    By Noah Hawley
    Authors:
    Noah Hawley
    From the creator and writer of the Emmy Award-winning series Fargo.The Henry brothers could not be more different. Scott is stuck in a dead-end job and has taken to hanging out in some of San Francisco's seedier dives. David, on the other hand, is a successful travelling salesman, and has not one happy family, but two (one on each coast). Tensions run high as their father's death brings them together on a road-trip to New York, especially when their alcoholic mother is along for the ride and thinks nothing of revealing a long-held family secret . . . Noah Hawley's savagely funny and ultimately uplifting novel explores what it really means to be a family.
    • More