Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Queen Bees

By Siân Evans
Authors:
Siân Evans
'SO ENTERTAINING' The Times | 'A FASCINATING ACCOUNT' The Sunday Times'GLORIOUSLY GOSSIPY' Red Magazine | 'IRRESISTIBLE AND WITTY' Woman & HomeQueen Bees looks at the lives of six remarkable women who made careers out of being British society hostesses between the wars, including Lady Astor, who went on to become the first female MP, and Mrs Greville, who cultivated relationships with Edward VII, as well as Lady Londonderry, Lady Cunard, Laura Corrigan and Lady Colefax. Written with wit, verve and heart, Queen Bees is the story of a form of societal revolution, and the extraordinary women who helped it happen.In the aftermath of the First World War, the previously strict hierarchies of the British class system were weakened. For a number of ambitious, spirited women, this was the chance they needed to slip through the cracks and take their place at the top of society as the great hostesses of the time. In an age when the place of women was uncertain, becoming a hostess was not a chore, but a career choice, and though some of the hostesses' backgrounds were surprisingly humble, their aspirations were anything but. During the inter-war years these extraordinary women ruled over London society from their dining tables and salons - entertaining everyone from the Mosleys to the Mitfords, from millionaires to maharajahs, from film stars to royalty - and their influence can still be felt today.
  • More

Question Everything

All science begins with questions... - Why is the night sky black, even though it's full of stars? - How do pebbles skim on water? - Why doesn't your own snoring wake you up? - And why is the Large Hadron Collider so ... er ... large? And as these intriguing, imaginative and occasionally bonkers questions and answers drawn from New Scientist magazine's archives show: question everything and you might find your way to amazing, unexpected insights into our minds, bodies and the universe, and the science behind the scenes that keeps them ticking.As you would expect from New Scientist, this is top-flight science at its most accessible, unpredictable and entertaining. This latest mind-bending addition to the No. 1 bestselling series will fascinate 'Last Word' fans and new readers alike.
  • More

Quicksand

By Steve Toltz
Authors:
Steve Toltz
'A tour de force of sustained brilliance' Mail on SundayWildly funny and unceasingly surprising, Quicksand is both a satirical masterpiece and an unforgettable story of fate, family and friendship.Aldo Benjamin may be the unluckiest soul in human history, but that isn't going to stop his friend Liam writing about him. For what more could an aspiring novelist want from his muse than a thousand get-rich-quick schemes, a life-long love affair, an eloquently named brothel, the most sexually confusing evening imaginable and a brief conversation with God? 'What a joy to surrender oneself to a writer of such prodigious talent.'Peter Carey 'Tremendous' Sunday Times
  • More

Quantum Mechanics: A Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself

By Alexandre Zagoskin
Authors:
Alexandre Zagoskin
Written by Dr Alexandre Zagoskin, who is a Reader at Loughborough University, Quantum Mechanics: A Complete Introduction is designed to give you everything you need to succeed, all in one place. It covers the key areas that students are expected to be confident in, outlining the basics in clear jargon-free English, and then providing added-value features like summaries of key ideas, and even lists of questions you might be asked in your exam. The book uses a structure that is designed to make quantum physics as accessible as possible - by starting with its similarities to Newtonian physics, rather than the rather startling differences.
  • More

Quiet Impact

By Sylvia Loehken
Authors:
Sylvia Loehken
Most literature on business, communication and success is focused on extroverts, who feel comfortable networking, talking and being the centre of attention. But at least 30% of the population are introverts, and they are now finding their voice.Quiet Impact - How to Be a Successful Introvert is already an international phenomenon. Using the latest psychological research, and Dr Loehken's own extensive experience coaching introverts in the workplace, it is packed with practical advice which is easy to implement.Dr Loehken identifies 10 strengths specific strengths that introverts often have (such as independence, perseverance and writing), and also identifies ten specific hurdles they often have to overcome (such as hyperstimulation, intellectualism and fear of conflict).
  • More
  • The Queen's Man

    By Rory Clements
    Authors:
    Rory Clements
    Includes BONUS short storyFor fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN introduces the Queen's Spy John Shakespeare in the prequel to Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday TimesEngland is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?
    • More

    The Question that Never Goes Away

    By Philip Yancey
    Authors:
    Philip Yancey
    Some days, the news seems too much to bear. Yet another tsunami or earthquake or flood or fire or war atrocity. One more gun-toting madman stalking young people in idyllic Norway or moviegoers in Colorado or schoolchildren in Newtown, Connecticut. We turn off the news only to get a phone call about expectant parents with a stillborn baby, or a loved one whose cancer has returned. If we have faith in God, it gets shaken to the core. What was God doing in the moment when that tragedy could have been prevented? If we can't trust God to keep our children safe or our loved ones from dying in agony, what can we trust God for?In his classic book WHERE IS GOD WHEN IT HURTS?, Philip Yancey gave us permission to doubt, reasons not to abandon faith, and practical ways to reach out to hurting people. Now, with new perspectives and stories gathered across nearly twenty-five years, once again he tackles the hard questions head-on. His visits to three places in 2012 raised the old problems with new urgency. More veteran pilgrim than curious journalist in his later years, Yancey faces with his trademark honesty the issues that often undermine faith, yet he emerges with comfort and hope. Along the way, he shows that Christians have an important role to play in bringing healing to a deeply wounded world.There are hopeful reasons to ask, once again, the question that never goes away...
    • More

    Queenie's Castle

    By Lena Kennedy
    Authors:
    Lena Kennedy
    Falling asleep on the bus after a hard day's work, Joe finds himself stranded in the East End, disorientated in the heavy fog and innocently embroiled in a violent encounter. The incident ends in murder and Joe is accused - of the real villains there remains not a trace.But his memory of that fateful night, and a clue to the identity of the murderers, helps him through his time in prison and fuels his desire to uncover the truth. His quest leads him back to the East End and to the Ship and Castle pub, run by the mysterious and formidable Queenie . . .
    • More

    The Queen's Vow

    By C W Gortner
    Authors:
    C W Gortner
    • More

    Qur'an: Bullet Guides Everything You Need to Get Started

    By Victor W Watton
    Authors:
    Victor W Watton
    Open this book and you will- Learn how the Qur'an came into being - Understand how it is used today- Ocercome misconceptions - Tackle issues of interpretation
    • More

    Quantum Theory: Bullet Guides

    By Jacob Dunningham
    Authors:
    Jacob Dunningham
    What's in this book?Open this book and you will...- Grasp Quantum theory- Understand its importance- Examine paradoxes- Explore the atomLearn about Quantum Theory:- Quantum paradoxes- Tunneling- Entanglement and non-locality- Inside the atom- Waves and particles- The random universe- Scaling things up- Applying the theoryWhat are Bullet Guides?The answers you need - now.Clear and concise guides in a portable format. Information is displayed in an easy-to-read layout with helpful images and tables. Bullet Guides include all you need to know about a subject in a nutshell. Get right to the point without wading through loads of unnecessary information.
    • More

    Quick Sudoku: Flash

    By James Pitts
    Authors:
    James Pitts
    Quick Sudoku is a short, simple and no-fuss little book which contains not just puzzles of all levels, but hints and tips on how to solve them. Easy to fit in a pocket or bag, and great for travelling, it contains all the puzzler needs, especially if you're looking for some extra help with the tricky ones! At just 96pp, it is ideal for anyone who's new to the concept, but keen to sharpen their skills - and their brain.get to grips with the basicsquick tips to help you plenty of beginner-level puzzlesquick reference answers if you're stuck!
    • More

    Queen Victoria: Demon Hunter

    By A E Moorat
    Authors:
    A E Moorat
    'There were many staff at Kensington, fulfilling many roles; a man who was employed to catch rats, another whose job it was to sweep the chimneys. That there was someone expected to hunt Demons did not shock the new Queen; that it was to be her was something of a surprise.'London, 1838. Queen Victoria is crowned; she receives the orb, the sceptre, and an arsenal of blood-stained weaponry. Because if Britain is about to become the greatest power of the age, there's the small matter of the demons to take care of first... But rather than dreaming of demon hunting, it is Prince Albert who occupies her thoughts. Can she dedicate her life to saving her country when her heart belongs elsewhere? With lashings of glistening entrails, decapitations, and foul demons, this masterly new portrait will give a fresh understanding of a remarkable woman, a legendary monarch, and quite possibly the best Demon Hunter the world has ever seen . . . A E Moorat weaves a seamlessly lurid tapestry of royal biography, gothic horror and fist-gnawing comedy as he lifts the veil on what really took place on the dark and cobbled streets of 19th-century England.
    • More