Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Ideas Are Your Only Currency

By Rod Judkins
Authors:
Rod Judkins
FUTURE-PROOFING FOR THINKERS.'What skills and abilities will a student need to prosper in five, ten, or fifteen years' time?' In a world of change, where skills become out of date quickly, it is ideas that last.We all need to be prepared for a world that is fluid, global and interdisciplinary. Distinctions between specialties will blur and overlap. Change is happening at electrifying speed. In this vortex there are no maps. Featuring 100 interactive chapters to inspire groundbreaking new ideas, this is perfect for fans of Keri Smith's Wreck this Journal, Paul Arden's It's Not How Good You Are and Rolf Dobelli's global bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly.
  • More
  • In the Teeth of the Evidence

    By Dorothy L Sayers
    Authors:
    Dorothy L Sayers
    Dorothy L Sayers' amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey returns in this collection of mysteries, introduced by crime writer Elizabeth George. A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. All that was left of the garage was a heap of charred and smouldering beams. In the driving seat of the burnt-out car were the remains of a body . . . An accident, said the police. An accident, said the widow. She had been warning her husband about the danger of the car for months.Murder, said the famous detective Lord Peter Wimsey - and proceeded to track down the killer.
    • More

    I Will Teach You To Be Rich

    By Ramit Sethi
    Authors:
    Ramit Sethi
    • More

    Impact

    By Stephen Greenleaf
    Authors:
    Stephen Greenleaf
    When SurfAir 617 crashes on its way from Los Angeles to San Francisco, the disaster touches many lives.For Alec Hawthorne, an internationally famous aviation lawyer, it means money - and the chance to fight once again for safety in the skies.For Keith Tollison, a small-time lawyer, the crash has a more personal implication; Jack Donahue, the husband of the woman Keith loves, was on board the plane. On Laura Donahue's behalf, the former friends reunite to take on the airline. But as the trial progresses Alec, Keith and Laura find themselves caught in a complex web of intrigue and deceit, and the secrets revealed threaten to destroy them all.
    • More

    I Am Brian Wilson

    By Brian Wilson
    Authors:
    Brian Wilson
    They say there are no second acts in American lives, and third acts are almost unheard of. That's part of what makes Brian Wilson's story so astonishing. As co-founder member of the Beach Boys in the 1960s, Wilson created some of the most groundbreaking and timeless popular music ever recorded. With intricate harmonies, symphonic structures, and wide-eyed lyrics that explored life's most transcendent joys and deepest sorrows, songs like 'In My Room', 'God Only Knows' and'Good Vibrations' forever expanded the possibilities of pop songwriting. Derailed in the 1970s by mental illness, drug use, and the shifting fortunes of the band, Wilson came back again and again over the next few decades, surviving and - finally - thriving. Now, for the first time, he weighs in on the sources of his creative inspiration and on his struggles, the exhilarating highs and the debilitating lows. I Am Brian Wilson reveals as never before the man who fought his way back to stability and creative relevance, who became a mesmerizing live artist, who forced himself to reckon with his own complex legacy and completedSmile, the legendary unfinished Beach Boys record that had become synonymous with both his genius and its destabilization. Today Brian Wilson is older, calmer, filled with perspective and forgiveness. Whether he's talking about his childhood, his bandmates, or his own inner demons, Wilson's story, told in his own voice and in his own way, unforgettably illuminates the man behind the music, working through the turbulence and discord to achieve, at last, a new harmony.
    • More

    Is that Bike Diesel, Mate?

    By Paul Carter
    Authors:
    Paul Carter
    Oi, mate, is that monstrosity diesel? From the author of the bestsellers Don't Tell Mum I Work on the Rigs, She Thinks I'm a Piano Player in a Whorehouse and This Is Not a Drill, this is the eagerly awaited next installment of Paul Carter's rollicking life.Take one mad adventurer and a motorbike that runs on bio fuel (cooking oil i.e. chip fat to you and me) and send them with one filmmaker on a road trip around Australia just to see what happens. What you get is a story full of outback characters, implausible (but true) situations, unlikely events and unfortunate breakdowns, all at a break neck pace. Never one to sit still for long, this is what Paul Carter did next.Whether you've been shocked, delighted, entertained, horrified - or all of the above - by Paul's stories whether from oil rigs or the road one thing is for sure, they are always high octane adventures.
    • More
  • Inspector of the Dead

    By David Morrell
    Authors:
    David Morrell
    The year is 1855. The Crimean war is raging. The British government has fallen. The Empire itself hangs in the balance.And then the murders start...Someone is targeting members of London's elite - leaving with each corpse the names of men who failed to assassinate Queen Victoria. It's clear that Victoria will be the ultimate victim. As the notorious Opium-Eater Thomas De Quincey and his daughter Emily race to save her, they uncover the heart-breaking past of a man whose lust for revenge has destroyed his soul.Based on actual attempts to assassinate the queen, Inspector of the Dead brilliantly merges fact with fiction, bringing a bloody chapter of Victorian England to vivid, pulse-pounding life.
    • More
  • Inferno

    By Julian Stockwin
    Authors:
    Julian Stockwin
    Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's famous sea action aboard Tyger has snatched his reputation from ignominy. He is the hero of the hour. But though Britain's Navy remains imperious, a succession of battles has seen Napoleon victorious on mainland Europe. In an attempt to prevent the French from taking control of Denmark's navy, Kydd's great friend Nicholas Renzi - now Lord Farndon - is sent on a desperate diplomatic mission to persuade the Danes to give up their fleet to Britain. But the Danes are caught between two implacable forces and will not yield, opting instead for the inferno of battle . . .
    • More

    I Heard You Paint Houses

    By Charles Brandt, Scott Brick
    Authors:
    Charles Brandt
    Read by:
    Scott Brick
    Soon to be a major film directed by Martin Scorsese.'I heard you paint houses' are the first words Jimmy Hoffa ever spoke to Frank 'the Irishman' Sheeran. To paint a house is to kill a man. The paint is the blood that splatters on the wall and floors. In the course of nearly five years of recorded interviews Frank Sheeran confessed to Charles Brandt that he handled more than twenty-five hits for the Mob, and for his friend Hoffa. Sheeran learned to kill in the US Army, where he saw an astonishing 411 days of active combat during World War 2. After returning home he became a hustler and a hit man, working for legenday crime boss Russell Bufalino. Eventually Sheeran would rise to a position of such prominence that he was named as one of only two non-Italians on a list of the twenty-six most wanted Mob figures. When Bufalino ordered Sheeran to kill Hoffa, the Irishman did the deed, knowing that if he refused, he would have been killed himself. Sheeran's important and fascinating story includes brand new information on other famous murders, and provides rare insight into an infamous chapter in US and Mafia history. This is a page turner that is destined to become a true-crime classic.(P) 2008 Penguin Random House Audio
    • More

    In the Shelter

    By Padraig O Tuama
    Authors:
    Padraig O Tuama
    It is in the shelter of each other that the people live.Drawing on this Irish saying, poet, storyteller and theologian Pádraig Ó Tuama relates ideas of shelter and welcome to journeys of life, using poetry, story, biblical refelction and prose to open up gentle ways of living well in a troubled world. The fourth gospel tells of Jesus arriving in the room where the disciples are gathered, full of fear, on Easter Sunday. He does not chide or admonish; instead he says 'Peace be with you', which, in the Aramaic of his day, was simply a greeting. To people locked in a room of fear he said 'Hello,' welcoming them to a place of deep encounter: encounter with themselves, with their fear, with each other and with the incarnate one in their midst.Interweaving everyday stories with narrative theology, gospel reflections with mindfulness and Celtic spirituality with poetry, In the Shelter reveals the transformational power of welcome.
    • More

    In the Beginning

    By Irina Ratushinskaya
    Authors:
    Irina Ratushinskaya
    IN THE BEGINNING goes back to the poet's life before her arrest, interweaving her experiences of growing up in Odessa with those of her childhood friend and future husband Igor Geraschenko. With wit and simplicity Irina describes a biased and turbulent education, being pressured to work for the KGB, the growth of faith that became so important to her in later life, and an impromptu wedding. Ratushinskaya shows how her early experiences moulded her personality, enabling her at a time of almost unbearable pressure to remain true to her own convictions.
    • More

    In Real Life

    By Nev Schulman
    Authors:
    Nev Schulman
    If there's anyone who knows about the darker side of online dating, it's Nev Schulman. The 29-year-old rose to fame after his documentary Catfish, about an online flirtation of his which turned sour, became a breakout hit. He followed it up with a series on MTV which followed similar stories of digital deception across America.Nev has become the go-to expert in online relationships for millennials, a generation who have never known a world without Facebook. His clout in this area springs from his own experience which led him to coin the term 'catfish', referring to someone who creates a false online persona to reel someone into a romantic relationship. Now Nev takes his investigation to the page. Woven throughout with Nev's personal stories this book explores relationships in the era of social media, delving deeply into the complexities of dating in a digital age and continuing the cultural dialogue his show has begun about how we interact with each other online.In IN REAL LIFE Nev explores the pressing issue of connectivity versus genuine connection which is plaguing our relationships with each other, and he provides the advice that his fans have been desperately seeking.
    • More

    It's All Greek to Me!

    By John Mole
    Authors:
    John Mole
    UPDATED EDITION WITH A NEW CHAPTERIntoxicated with dreams of a Greek paradise, John Mole inflicts upon his family a tumbledown ruin on a hillside with no water, no electricity, no roof, no floor, no doors, no windows and twenty years of goat dung... far away from the tourist resorts and posh hotels. Through hard work and comic misadventures a bond is formed with a vivid cast of village characters - from Elpida who cures back pain with raw eggs to beautiful Eleni yearning for Düsseldorf - over bottles of ouzo, whisky and wine. If only Hector the dog would calm down.
    • More