Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

The Daily Show Presidential Twitter Library

By Trevor Noah
Authors:
Trevor Noah
  • More

Treat!

By Christian Vieler
Authors:
Christian Vieler
  • More

Sunny Side Up

By Susan Calman
Authors:
Susan Calman
The Calmanifesto of Happiness. Comedian and broadcaster Susan Calman danced her way across our screens and into our hearts for 10 weeks on Strictly Come Dancing 2017, but how did this ability to find joy change her life?'One of the kindest people I have ever met - a beautiful dancer and a beautiful person' Kevin Clifton'Be good, be kind, be more like Susan Calman' Kirstie Allsopp'Be kind to yourself - read this book, keep it on your bedside table or on your Kindle - even Kindle has the word kind in it' Sandi ToksvigSusan Calman's enthusiasm at being on Strictly Come Dancing was an inspiration to all of us. Cheer Up Love, Susan's first book, had a clear aim: to help people understand depression. Sunny Side Up has a similarly clear path: to persuade people to be kinder to each other and spread more joy. These are extremely difficult and confusing times - people are cross and shouty. It's exhausting! But more than anything, people like Susan, people who don't hate other people, are apologising for the way that they think. Susan wants to make sure that they don't. That it's ok to love people, that kindness is something wonderful and brilliant and to bring on the joy. So the mission is simple. To get the nation to join her in not being negative. To bring back joy, kindness and community, to find that joy in the little things in life and defeat the hate and fear. Susan is a one-woman army of hope and joy, and she's ready to lead the nation in a different direction. This is her Calmanifesto of Happiness.
  • More

The Mysterium

By Jo Tinsley, David Bramwell
Authors:
Jo Tinsley, David Bramwell
In THE MYSTERIUM David Bramwell and Jo Keeling (authors of THE ODDITORIUM), present a user guide to the strange and unexplained corners of modern life. THE MYSTERIUM catalogues a host of bizarre, funny and intriguing stories for a post-Nessie generation still fascinated by the unknowable. Drawing on contemporary folklore, unsolved mysteries, and unsettling phenomena from the dark corners of the internet, this book celebrates the joy of asking questions and the thrill of finding answers which stop you dead in your tracks.Featuring a group of men who scared themselves to death, Space's version of the Bermuda Triangle, a cat who can sniff out the dying and the tale of Slender Man, the monster who stepped out of Photoshop and into our nightmares, this fascinating book is a catalogue of the extraordinary, the strange, the mysterious and the downright creepy.
  • More
  • Craig Revel Horwood's Ballroom Dancing

    By Craig Revel Horwood
    Authors:
    Craig Revel Horwood
    Whether you're an absolute beginner or a Strictly Come Dancing wannabe, it's time to get up and dance Craig Revel Horwood's Ballroom Dancing gives you the confidence you need to take your first steps on the dancefloor. It even includes style tips from the style guru, Len Goodman, to give you that professional look. Discover the history, foot positions, turns, and more, to all your favourite Strictly dances: · Waltz · Social foxtrot · Quickstep · Tango · Rumba · Samba · Cha cha cha · JiveBallroom dancing is totally cool, funky, and fantastically rewarding. What better way to get fit than tangoing your tension away, and foxtrotting the fat off your thighs? Happy dancing.
    • More
  • Get Started in Film Making

    By Tom Holden
    Authors:
    Tom Holden
    Get Started in Film Making is the essential guide for all budding film makers, empowering and inspiring anyone to unleash their creative side. Completely revised and updated, it is the perfect manual for smartphone Spielbergs, Go-Pro adrenaline junkies, drone-warriors, and wannabe vloggers. It covers every aspect of making films, showing you what's involved from start to finish. You won't get bogged down with technical jargon or confusing proprietary expressions. Instead it breaks things down into easy, step-by-step stages, emphasising that creativity, enthusiasm and drive are just as important as cool kit and funky editing apps. From scriptwriting, casting and cameras to lighting, financing, filming and editing, this is the most comprehensive, user-friendly guide on the market. So whether you're using a smart phone, a drone or a state of the art camera, get ready to step up from shooting clips to making films.ABOUT THE SERIESPeople have been learning with Teach Yourself since 1938. With a vast range of practical how-to guides covering language learning, lifestyle, hobbies, business, psychology, and self-help, there's a Teach Yourself book for everything you want to do. Join more than 60 million people who have reached their goals with Teach Yourself, and never stop learning.
    • More

    May On Board

    By James May
    Authors:
    James May
    • More

    Best Foot Forward

    By Adam Hills
    Authors:
    Adam Hills
    *The Sunday Times Bestseller*A hilarious and honest collection of stories, thoughts, and tales of a life in comedy from the presenter of The Last Leg, Adam HillsAdam Hills is one the UK's best-loved comedians. For thirty years he has been performing stand-up, hosting TV shows and winning the hearts of a nation.Taking us from the early days of the Sydney Stand Up scene to hosting his own radio show, touring the world and eventually landing on British TV, Best Foot Forward is a story of a life in comedy. Along the way Adam shares some childhood tales, a few backstage blunders and encounters some fairly famous faces - the likes of Whoopi Goldberg, Billy Connolly, and that guy who sang The Macarena. Yes, him. This is an utterly hilarious and honest collection of stories about Adam's ups and downs in the world of comedy. It's a lesson in following your heart, being positive and discovering that what makes you different also makes you unique.
    • More

    Saffron Barker Vs Real Life

    By Saffron Barker
    Authors:
    Saffron Barker
    #SaffronBarkerVSRealLifeIn world of airbrushing and perfectly constructed social media lives, one girl is battling to make it through completely unfiltered (well, almost). Immerse yourself in Saffron Barker's wonderful, comical, and often challenging universe as she slays her teenage years with flair and enthusiasm (sometimes).Relationships! Confidence! Make-up fails! No tricky stone is left unturned as we follow Saffron over a year of her crazy life while she sets herself a series of goals, tries ever more elaborate ways to convince her brother to appear in a video, and tells the world she's coming to get it.
    • More

    Parenting The Sh*t Out Of Life

    By Mother Pukka, Papa Pukka
    Authors:
    Mother Pukka, Papa Pukka
    'This is the stuff no one tells you! Honest, real and tear-inducingly funny' Giovanna Fletcher, author of Happy Mum Happy Baby'Snort-tea-through-nose funny' Cherry Healey, author of Letters to my Fanny***BY THE CREATORS OF MOTHERPUKKA.COM AND THE DIRTY MOTHER PUKKA PODCAST (#3 ON THE ITUNES PODCASTS CHARTS)******FOR FANS OF HURRAH FOR GIN, THE UNMUMSY MUM, GIOVANNA FLETCHER AND THE SCUMMY MUMMIES*** From the minds behind the wildly successful parenting blog MotherPukka.com and the creators of the Dirty Mother Pukka podcast, comes a memoir told from both parents' perspectives that doesn't scrimp on the shits, giggles or tears that accompany life with a small human (or small humans). MOTHER PUKKA AND PAPA PUKKA at last offer you this: a book that will not help you grow or raise a human successfully, but a book that might, if you're not too emotionally battered - and can see past the permanent eye twitch - help you laugh a little more than you cry.This is one couple's take on the horrors and humour of modern parenting told from his side and hers: honest, sad and laugh-out-loud funny. It will speak to anyone with a child or children of their own - or to those hoping to take that monumental step. It may not be easy and you might have no idea what you are doing but, as the Pukkas demonstrate, with a bit of teeth-gnashing, tongue-chewing and joke-cracking, you too will be parenting the sh*t out of life.
    • More

    Teach Yourself Motoring

    By Dudley Noble
    Authors:
    Dudley Noble
    Learn how to own a classic car and treat it with the care it deserves; this beautiful reproduction of a classic motoring handbook is a charming window into a glorious period of motoring history. Indulge your love of the road and take it for a test drive.Since 1938, millions of people have learned to the things they love with Teach Yourself. Welcome to the how-to guides that changed the modern world.FIRST PUBLISHED IN 1951.
    • More

    The Owl at the Window

    By Carl Gorham
    Authors:
    Carl Gorham
    The Owl at the Window is a dramatic, moving and funny memoir. An emotional, ultimately uplifting tale of loss and hope.'Amazing and completely compelling...both funny and sad, and so moving, I couldn't put it down.' - Alison Steadman'Devastatingly moving and hilarious in equal measure. I have laughed and cried during the reading of a single sentence.' - Caroline QuentinWinner of Best Memoir at the East Anglian Book Awards'She is dead. She was here just now and she was alive. How can she suddenly be dead? People in history are dead. Old people are dead. Grandparents are dead. Other people are dead. Not people like me. Not this person. The person I was married to. Had a child with. Not the person who was standing next to me. Chatting. Laughing. Being.'Shock is just one of many emotions explored in award-winning TV comedy writer Carl Gorham's account of his bereavement which is by turns deeply moving and darkly humorous.Part love story, part widower's diary, part tales of single parenting, it tells of his wife's cancer, her premature death and his attempts to rebuild his life afterwards with his six -year old daughter. Realised in a series of vivid snapshots, it takes the reader on an extraordinary journey from Oxford to Australia, from Norfolk to Hong Kong through fear, despair, pain and anger to hope, laughter and renewal.The Owl at the Window is a fresh and original exploration of what it means to lose a partner in your forties, and how Carl learned to live again.
    • More

    Forever Outnumbered

    By Simon Hooper
    Authors:
    Simon Hooper
    'This is the story of my journey into parenthood, from being a 24 year old man-child with no idea of what being a dad involved, to where I find myself today: the single male representative in a household of five women, or in other words, outnumbered. Our house is now known as "the place where silence came to die". It's also where you'll find carpets that are made up of 50% glitter and where there are more pink stuffed animals than at a colour-blind taxidermy specialists. But I wouldn't change a thing. These people are my life.'From uninitiated parents-to-be to those who know the ropes in families large or small, everyone will find something to relate to in Simon's hilarious and chaotic tales of his own home life. His observations of being a father have delighted his hundreds of thousands of followers on Instagram: before now dads are often the forgotten ones who carry the luggage, open stiff jars, take photos on holiday, fix broken bikes, go back to work, do the night feeds and make a mean beans on toast with melted cheese without so much as a pat on the back. All too often dads shrink into the background. But not in this book. Forever Outnumbered is an incredibly funny yet emotionally heartfelt ode to modern family life.
    • More